Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: Big Wave Dave Hole #8
3 / 345ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Not to bad of a course

1    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Barneybboy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: The course is located in a park so it makes it good for that family to be able to play there while others throw the course. The park/course is really nice with some open areas and some trees in others. Makes for a good variety of throwing.
Cons: Course is not signed very well and is difficult to navigate. There was a big picture on the pavilion in the park showing the course and where the holes should be, however when I went to follow that map the holes were numbered differently and some of the baskets were not where they said they would be. This is what made the navigation kind of ruff. However, after having thrown this course it is easier to find the holes because I know where I am going. It was really hard the first round though. The baskets are not very visible at all. They are just all metal with no bright markers or flags on top of them. Hard to throw at things you can't see.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is a good one. Like I said it was just hard to navigate on the first time. My recommendation is to walk the course first so you know where you are going and it will make it a lot easier and more fun to play.

Probably the best course in Utah

1    6/11/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
Pros: - Very nice course, with great scenery and requiring a variety of shot selection
- Some fun elevation, and the creek is a decent water hazard
- Nice people
Cons: - Pretty crowded
- Signage is missing
- A little tricky to navigate in a couple of spots, I had to ask locals for help
Other Thoughts: Definitely a don't miss course in the SLC area. Not terribly difficult, but not a wide open pitch course either. Very good intermediate disc golf.

Great Course!!!

2-4    4/25/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Open holes, tree holes, river holes, up shots, down shots, grassy, nice baskets and tee pads, new signs on each hole, tunnel shots, 2 extra holes plus a bonus hole which comes out to 21 holes, nice locals, tournaments, dubs, bathrooms, multiple pin variations.
Cons: Not many cons, some would say the river, but that's just a challenge, not a con.
Other Thoughts: Overall very good course. I played here 4/25/14. Was here from SoCal for work, and got in a practice round with some locals, followed by a Dubs tourney. Course was in great condition, with great views of the surrounding mountains. All the locals were cool, the course was dog friendly. I would recommend if in the area, and even if your'e not in the area, still worth playing...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/1/2013   11/6/2013
Review By: thenewguy
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Requires all types of shots and disc use. Great course to work on technique.Very easy to find a pick up game
Cons: Very hard to navigate. Baskets seem clustered together and every tree is painted orange, not sure what is OB anymore.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Run down but still fun

2-4    10/29/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: protravler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Solid, large Tee Pads. Just enough Technical challenge. Very well played-in, son few places left on the fringes for discs to hide.
Cons: 95% of all signage has been ripped out or vandalized, very hard course for a first-timer to figure their way around, lots of crossing patterns and overlaps to make that worse, crowded scene plus crowded course design.
Other Thoughts: OK, so I get this course is an oldie, and that shows. Probably my biggest complaint since spending hours trying to navigate this thing the first couple times I played was just the overall crowded feel. That said though, the course is a fun mix of technical challenges and it's one of those short courses where there's a birdie available on just about ever hole for the better players with accuracy off the tee. A good 'locals' course for sure.

 Creekside

1    5/22/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: Tay.anderson82
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course, but set up very well. I'm still very new to DG so I sucked at this course, but its nice to have a challenge to be able to get better.
Cons: Wait time is about it but that's not to bad if you're patient.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

so good, but so crowded

2-4    5/29/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with grass, woods, hills, a creek (more of a river by Utah standards) with crystal clear water that makes it easy to spot discs

the design of the individual holes is great. lots of variety and character. super fun that some of the baskets are perched just a couple feet from the roaring creek, making what would normally be a good drive or approach, a frantic wade into the creek to save your disc.

Tee pads are great.

baskets are my favorite--dga mach Vs

The map here on DGCR makes for easy navigation, otherwise you will get very lost.
Cons: Number one con--incredibly crowded. This is the only good course in SLC so it gets all the crowds. I was there on a Wednesday from 11 am to 4 pm. I was on vacation visiting from TN, and apparently so was every disc golfer in SLC because it seemed like they were all there. It was especially crowded around noon, probably because people were playing during their lunch hour.

Slow play-- I think the locals are accustomed to the crowds and have adapted by learning to play very slowly. I am used to playing quickly and I almost jog through my local courses, so it was frustrating to see players sitting at a tee bench for extended periods even when no players were in front of them and then they would stand up and tee off right when we approached the tee instead of letting us play through. Most players we encountered here were very friendly and courteous.

Layout-- I mentioned that the design of the holes is excellent, however, the layout of the holes has a lot of overlapping fairways and backtracking, on a less crowded course this wouldn't be so much of an issue.
Vandalism--there are frames for signs at every tee, but the signs have all been destroyed. I have heard rumors that there is some hate against disc golf in this park. Bummer.
Other Thoughts: loved playing here, even with the crowds. beautiful park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    9/30/2012   3/3/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that is pretty much devoted to disc golf. There are other activities present here, but it seems the course is well separated from everything else. Shouldn't be any interference.
- First section of the course plays in some pretty thick woods, which require accurate line shaping and control. #2 is a low RHFH flick into the treeline on the right, #3 shoots into the woods with a sharp left turn to get to the long pin, #3a is a tighter wooded hyzer, as well as #3b. #11 and #13 are pretty heavily populated too.
- Lots of other holes play next to dense forest or tree coverage as well; #4 is a long anny line with a hill left and the woods right, with the long pin tucked into a gap. #6 has woods lining the entire right side, #7 shoots through a gap in a thick line of trees, and #8 is a long anny shot with the treeline on the right.
- Rest of the holes are located in a more open area that has a combination of thick patches of trees/schule and individual trees. Lots of places where an errant shot can lead to big trouble due to rough, jail, or general bad lines to the basket. Decent mix of hyzer, straight, and anny lines, with some low ceilings and well protected baskets.
- Fair amount of elevation changes here, which are pretty good. #1 is a valley shot, #3b has an elevated teepad, #4 plays along a hill, #5 and #6 play on top of that hill with slopes left and right, and #7-#10 also have elevated teepads. Adds a lot of variety to the course, well utilized.
- Creek is in play on many holes, adding another element of difficulty to the course. #7 shoots directly over from the teepad; clipping a branch could be disastrous. It is also pretty close to the right of #8 and part of #13. #14 shoots directly over it, though it is possible to go way left to take it out of play.
- Good concrete pads, though #3a and #3b are natural. Tee signs are good with a few vandalized a bit, baskets are good. Navigation can be pretty tough; having a map is a big, big help. Practice basket in front.
Cons: - Biggest con at this course is some serious layout trouble. #7 and #8 have crossing fairways, #7 and #9's teepads are pointed across each other, #12's basket is just off of #13's fairway, and some holes are just generally close together in the more open area. Heads up at all times, or else.
- First half of the course is very interesting, the back half is kind of lackluster. Still challenging, but not nearly as fun.
Other Thoughts: - Solid course overall. A lot of different types of holes, from tightly wooded, to open bombers, to water holes, elevated pads and dangerous rollaways, a little bit of everything. Lots of different pin positions can influence the length and difficulty as well. No matter what positions are currently in, this course is probably a bit tough for beginners, better suited for more experienced players. Have seen groups skip #3a, #3b, #7 and #8 to make things easier.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awesome Beautiful Course

5+    3/30/2013   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot of fun. The holes have a variety of challenges which will make you use all kinds of throws and types of disks. They range from long open bombs to tight tunnels.

All the holes are well marked. Most of the cages even have bright pink flags on them to make them easy to see through the trees and such.

The cages are moved very often, making it different all the time so you don't get bored with it.

The people are friendly for the most part, but with some of the holes throwing at others it's important to make people aware that you're throwing. It's all about common courtesy.
Cons: As I mentioned several of the holes throw right at other tee pads. I didn't really notice it too much till someone from out of state mentioned it to me and I realized just how many times it happens. This problem is exacerbated by the following con:

This is one of the best courses in the state which has one big con, (thus the 4 instead of 4.5+), it attracts a TON of people.

This isn't all bad, I've played with some great people, but it also means that you have to contend with crowds, annoying and inconsiderate people at times, and lots of people leaving garbage, (which is usually quickly cleaned up).

I've also awakened a few bums who make the pad for 3B their bed some nights.
Other Thoughts: This park is beautiful most of the time. It is almost everything you could ask for in a course, except the crowds and the other cons mentions, of course.

Don't bother coming on Wed evenings unless you enjoy tons of young men and young women throwing with frisbees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This is what disc golf is all about

5+    6/2/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: JakeLaPutka
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --It has Everything. Short, Long, Open, Wooded, Tunnels, Right, Left, Up, Down, Water, Mandys.
--Average of 4 pin positions per hole, always being changed.
--It is hard, but not so hard that beginners can't play. Is friendly for all skill levels.
--Water hazard that doesn't always steal your disc. about 60% of the time you can find your disc and wade in/use a stick to get your discs.
--Not really windy. Windy days will usually be guarded by the trees. Don't get me wrong though wind can come into play!
--Doubles is HUGE here every tuesday. Big payout usually, and great time to learn from better golfers. There is a B pool so less experienced players can play.
--Uses all the shots in your bag
--There is a bathroom and potable water
--A Disc golf park. Rarely (although it does happen) are there people in your way like walkers, runners, etc.
--Very well maintained by Team Utah Disc Golf, with garbage cans about every 5 holes and benches on 16/23 of the holes
Cons: Not too many.
--Crowds. No way to play a <2 hour round on the weekends. The front 9 is hazardous with 6's teepad being prone to shots from 4 and 5. Many people think 3A and 3B are "too hard" so they skip from 3 to 4, so often youre stuck playing through big groups twice. A lot of people are not very nice here. Lose your disc and get called back 2% of the time, Big groups not letting people play through, massive groups not splitting into 2 groups and holding everyone up.
--Conflicting holes can cause some positions to stay the same, for example hole 13 is almost always short because there is only 1 position on 12 that allows 13 to be in any other position than short.
Other Thoughts: The reason the cons did not bring this course from 5 to 4.5 is because they are cons that can't really be changed. I guess people could just be nicer haha. It is understandable why this course is so crowded because it is so awesome!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.