Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #16 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 207ft.   3 / 244ft.   3 / 253ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best use of flood basin ever

5+    9/17/2011   1/17/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course seems to have it all---open and grassy, wooded, volumnous creek, elevation changes, isolated bowl holes, varied clientele, alternate pin placements. Not much pro/long-armed, but not really a beginner's course either. Most of the lovely, dewey field fairways are in the first 9; the holes start flirting with the creek about halfway through. The creek helps mediate the temp in the park, and can provide a cool dip on a blistering summer day, or steal your disc when its up and muddy. The trees start to really kick in and affect shots starting on #9. I think its a great course with educational opportunities for the improving discer; if you can excell here, you should be able to handle all but the most overgrown, mountainous, abysmally long courses.
Except for 1-2, 15, and 17-18, you're pretty much hidden from the rest of the park, a nice amenity for those who like an "its my country-club" atmosphere. A nice selection of tees with benches, and the bathroom might be 300 yds. from the most distant hole.
Cons: Major hindrances are other discers [lots on weekends], other park users[dogs, kids, strung-out LDS/LSDers], obscenely hot temps in summer and fairway/tee encroachment. The creek can be hazardous in late spring-mid summer: if its muddy you should have your life insurance policy paid-up if you risk going in.
Other Thoughts: Too bad there's not another course of this style in the Greater Salt Lake area---the flatter, longer, blander courses are why this one is so popular.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun park course

5+    10/16/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: baylor90505
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and great layout. Great concrete tees and challenging hole locations. Awesome little river runs along some of the holes. Great flow to the course and pretty hard to get lost.
Cons: Some areas of the park never seem to dry up and can be very muddy. Can be very busy at times and sometimes have to wait on holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really fun and challenging course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  FORE!

1    7/10/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: mallardthrasher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety from a few wide open holes to tight wooded fairways on the back 9 that require control shots rather than the monster drives on almost every hole at Valley Regional, Water hazards make it challenging and fun, No Joggers/Walkers to wait for or hit!
Cons: Lots of people, overlapping fairways and tees (You have to wait for people to tee of on the next hole before you can throw or else you may hit them in some cases). Sprinklers were going the whole time I was playing (very soggy back 9). Lots of discs flying in every direction on a few holes making it a bit dangerous. Confusing hole layout and lack of markings for someone that has never played the course before.
Other Thoughts: I have to say it is a cool course especially with the control needed to score well on the back nine. However, I am not a big fan of having discs thrown at me the whole time I was playing, but all in all it wasn't too bad. With as many people that were playing, it is a little too crowded for my taste, but it does help to not have the joggers and walkers all over that have no idea what is going on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Creekside AKA A packed house

5+    6/27/2013   5/25/2011
Review By: JDee
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Creekside is the staple course in Salt Lake for year round play.
-Multiple hole placement is a bonus. It's nice to show up even 2 days later and a few holes are in new locations. different hole location add different challenges to the over all excitement of this course.
-Trees, shrubs, water, mudd, and people add to the difficulty and fun of this course. You will hit a tree, you will hesitate before you throw over the water, and you will have to yell FORE because there are peeps everywhere!
I enjoy a challenge, therefore the difficulty and challenge of this course is a pro.
-One of the better courses to be able to use multiple discs that do different things to your advantage. And you will be able to throw your long distance drivers at least a few times.
Cons: -To. Many. Damn. People!!
-When it's nice out, it doesn't matter what time of day, this place is a mad house. A packed house! Prepare to wait. If you go with less then 2 people most groups are totally awesome about letting you play through. But still, it's a hassle.
Other Thoughts: You can't go wrong with Creekside. It's a legit, fun, sometimes difficult course. There are two bonus holes. hole 3a and 3b that are fun as well if you would like to play 2 extra holes.
Play with a group and enjoy taking your time. Or come with less then two and rip through all the tons of people and huge groups. Enjoy salt lakes staple disc golf course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good and challenging

5+    3/28/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: climbingbubba
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has a lot of basket placements per hole so the course is rarely the same.

Has double tournaments every tuesday night which is always good times.

Very challenging with some heavily wooded holes.
Cons: Lots of places to lose your disc if you mess up.

Holes 4-6 can get backed up and you need to watch out for incoming discs.

Gets really crowded and it seems a majority of people there have no sense of proper disc golf etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Its a very challenging course that is probably the most frustrating one around. Due to this it definitely helps build skill and lets you take many interesting shots that you wouldn't encounter on more open courses.

Not my favorite around (I am still pretty new) but a must for anyone coming to visit salt lake.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical course

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well marked and positioned. There are a number of different pin placements (up to 4 for each hole) making it nice for variety and a change up. The pins are moved very often and I've even seen it changed 3 times in one week.

The tee pads are concrete, and the course is really easy to follow. The terrain is parklike - grass with some trees. A small creek runs through the park (not too much of a hazard for experienced players - if a disc is thrown in, it is easy to fish out).
Cons: There are two main cons to this course: First - it is compact and there is overlap on holes. This wouldn't be a problem except for the fact that (Second Con) it is extremely busy. I've even shown up at 6:00 am and had to wait. Overall it is worth the wait though and you wont be disappointed in making the trip to the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course, from the signature hole 12 through the tunnel of trees to the pleasant park like setting, you wont be disappointed with this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

2-4    8/5/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Best course in the valley. The course is well laid out giving you grass/water/woods. Pretty much a constant shade for most of the course so it's not bad to play in the middle of the day. Concrete tee pads and benches at most holes.
Cons: Traffic. That's the main thing. This is a busy course since it is arguably the best in the valley. Some holes are too close, which causes some wait time between throws because it's easy to throw into another holes green. Heads up if you're allergic to cottonwood trees.
Other Thoughts: Great course and the whole valley knows it, so be prepared for a crowd.

 THE BEST COURSE EVER!!!!!!!

5+    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2010
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: there are so many psotions on ever hole now the lowest is 2 and the most is is 6 positions on one hole and tight fariways a couple of mandos on 13 long and short and mandy and 11 we have 2 new holes to the course betewwen 3 and 4 they are called 3-A 3-B. there are alot of shots rigth next to the creek so almost the hole course u can risk losing discs the course is a more accurate player in mind and over grown trees and u dont stay on the fairway ur SCREWED. this is my homecourse and im very blessed to live right across the street. with awsome cement teepads and signs we mow it every 2 weeks there is water by the first hole theres a practice basket
Cons: the only bad thing i can say it gets way to crowded
Other Thoughts: play tuesday doubles 5:00- 6:30 some time throught out the year is when we tee off
I have aced 14A 5/6/10 dx viking for my first ace 13Short twice champ groove 167 13th ace then with a discraft impact on 6/28/10 for my 19th ace 13 mandy champion orc for my 3rd ace 8/22/09 gumbputt for my 5th ace 10/09/09 the flx drone for my 8th ace 1/22/10
10A on 1/17/10 with a champion valkyrie for my 7th ace then 3b-a for my 15th ace with a first run cro on 5/31/10

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid SLC Option

1    7/1/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.6 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Course setting and hole design. Parts of the course are heavily wooded with the baskets wedged in the trees (use a guide...some of the baskets are a chore to locate) and other parts are more wide open. The open holes require lots of three-dimensional planning. Many are on the top or side of steep hills. 200' rolls after missing a 30' putt are not uncommon. Not a cheap or easy hole to be found at Creekside.
-Water in play. Moving water. Water that will wisp your plastic away, never to be seen again. Sometimes it's between the thrower and the target. Other times its directly behind the target, making for some interesting up-shot restrictions. The signature hole is a shorty (about 260') with 3/4 of that distance over wooded water.
-Accurate tee signs denoting multiple pin locations. I understand the baskets are rotated regularly.
-Solid, clean concrete tees
-Plenty of parking
-Practice basket near tee one
-Restrooms near tee one
Cons: -Cottonwoods everywhere. Apparently I am highly allergic to them. :(
-Some weird course flow. The area that houses holes 4-6 is a cluster-****. Can't see the people teeing off on hole five until they are actually on the tee due to the hills. There is a real risk of some yahoo cracking you on the back of the head as you tee off on six (said yahoo missed me by about an ear's width). Equally his fault and whom ever decided to put a tee right in the MAIN FLIGHT LINE of the previous hole. Expect a wait here and around holes seven and eight (which, for all intents and purposes, use the same fairway). Serious course flow problems.
-Crowds. Yahoos who throw before one is finished putting and whose dogs start barking at you when you putt, no owner to be seen. This is a popular spot and the crowds weren't as bad as I had anticipated, but the people I encountered were rudely unaware of course etiquette and resistant to learning/practicing it.
Other Thoughts: Creekside has a lot going for it. Medium sized steep hills add a note of texture to the overall flat course. Trees and holes to thread galore. The water is cold and flowing fast, perfect respite from the summer heat.
Play early to avoid the legions of noobz that appear to run the course.
This course contains many really great holes and I struggled giving it the rating I did. The hole design, when looked at individually, hole by hole, is second to none. Elevation changes and tight wooded fairways make for some really fun line selection. To play this course with nobody around is the way to go.
That said, I understand that this course has crowding issues. It wasn't all that crowded when I played it, but the guys behind us were playing up our bums and didn't want to play through. I can't imagine a course full of that type of yahoo. It's actually my vision of the sixth level of hell. Combine that caliber of yahoo with the dangerous course design and I don't see how it can get a better grade than a 3.5 disc.
Do yourself a favor. Play this course at the crack of dawn. Preferably with a guide. But play it. One of the best courses in the area...one best enjoyed in as much solitude as possible.:)

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome except crowded

1    5/26/2010   6/26/2010
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great mix of simple and technical shots
-great use of existing trees and brush
-you only have to throw over the creek once, which is good because it can get relatively deep and is quite swift
-my experience was the people were very friendly
-multiple possible pin locations
Cons: -HUGE CROWDS
-kind of hard to locate next tee/basket on some holes
Other Thoughts: I would have rated this as a 4.5 or 5 if it wasn't for the crowds and the layout. I have never had to wait 10-20 minutes to play before.. My group played twice, once early in the morning and we didn't have to wait, and then again at around noon and we had 2-3 groups we'd have to wait on before we could tee off. The layout was a tad confusing about 3/4 of the way through, but I played with a buddy who had played there recently so we didn't end up throwing out of order or to the wrong baskets.

I highly recommend this course to anyone, but I also highly recommend you go in the early morning and on weekdays as this seems to be the best way to avoid crowds.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.