Salt Lake City, UT 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: xcad3ncex Hole #11 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 288ft.   3 / 298ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Creekside in Holladay Utah

2-4    7/31/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: successwarrior
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The trees and the creek make for some tough approaches. On the day we went, the tee placement for some of the shots made birdies almost impossible, which we liked.
Cons: The course criss-crosses in places and not all the pads are labeled so you might find yourself confused the first time through. There were plenty of locals the day we went so we just asked for directions and they were glad to guide us in the right direction.

Some of the criss-crosses meant that you had to wait for players on one teepad to throw before you could throw on your teepad.

The course is set up tight. "Fore" is yelled a lot because disks end up on other fairways and teepads often.
Other Thoughts: The course is set up to be a challenging par 3 course but it seemed that the holes were too close together and there were a lot of players on the day that we went (which was a Thursday at 1:00 pm). Our second time through, we ended up behind a group of 8 that didn't offer to let the two of us play through.

We had a fun time and the course was challenging with all the low hanging branches.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 SLC's Best Park Course

1    7/1/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 110  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course played around a very nice park in a great part of Salt Lake City. The course has great variety with some really interesting shots with most of the challenge being mental. There is a good deal of variety with length and shot selection. There are some longer tees for a few holes. Interesting pin placements made you think about approach shots, specifically those holes by the creek.
Cons: The creek that runs through the park and part of the course was moving very swiftly and would make it difficult to retrieve wet discs, particularly an issue on hole 14 where you have to throw over the creek. It is harder to figure out the long tees unless you know the course well enough to know which tee goes with what hole. There were too many easy par or you should birdie this hole to give it any better of a rating. Only a couple of very minor navigation problems, the worst of which was finding hole 14 which did not have a tee sign. I ran in too a good amount of disc traffic on this course though that only confirms my suspicion that for serious players this is the best course in the city. A few of the holes are built right on top of eachother.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that you just feel like you should have shot better than you actually did because of all the challenge that it did provide you still think you should have shto better. 14 is the signature hole, forcing you to throw over the creek which with all the recent rain was moving really fast. The city parks department does not want anyone going in the creek and have posted signs to make you aware of that fact. Hole one is near the bathrooms.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty & Variety

1    6/25/2004   6/25/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 123  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty course with a beautiful backdrop of mountains.

Holes range from open to semi-open to tight wooded. Some holes have good elevation changes, but there are also many flat ones so you're not climbing hills all day.
Cons: A few water holes where you can lose discs.

Some wooded holes or greens are heavily treed, so some shots have to weave and find tight gaps.

I only played once, so the multiple pin placements weren't a "pro" to me; it was sometimes confusing figuring out where to throw, as the signs showed sometimes 2 or 3 baskets, all invisible from the tee.
Other Thoughts: The "creek" is not a ditch with water---it's halfway to being a river, with plenty of water flow. So it's scenic, but a potential disc-robber.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    6/8/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out
Nice variety of obstacles
Other players are generally fun to play with/against
Fun basket variations
Well maintained by park crew/volunteers
Nice location/near SLC
Cons: Nothing longer than par 3
Can be crowded later in the afternoons
Other Thoughts: Great place to play, been playing Creekside since '98 and I still get a kick out of playing there. The course can get backed up and a little crowded in the summer months June-August if you try to play later in the day (4 or later). Since this course is combined with a small public park area you'll sometimes have to deal with park goers that aren't aware they are picnicking or lounging in/on the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    5/14/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: B Stone
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of different configurations. Good pin placements. Sweet holes running beside the creek adding an additional element to the mix.
Cons: Busy all the time.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course since I moved to Park City in November. Check out Rotary Park course in Huntington, WV.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Creekside in SLC

2-4    6/16/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: mharpste
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Varied hole obstacles - a few water hazards via a creek, lots of trees, and a couple wide open grip and rip holes. A great course for all skill levels.
Cons: Way too crowded. Perhaps its time to create a few more courses in the SLC area?
Other Thoughts: Great scenery for those not from SLC.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/16/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight fairways, challenging course. Multiple pin locations, provide a little variety for frequent players. A good variety of grassy fairways (at the beginning and end), and unimproved backwoods areas around the creek.
Cons: Plenty of places to lose your disc (the creek/dam, and surrounding foliage). Popular course, can get a little crowded.
Other Thoughts: Recent improvements include new signs and benches.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 creekside park slc utah

1    5/6/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 165  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes, well maintained by local club, mulitple pins placements. easy to get around course, caters to most disc golf levels.
Cons: too crowded, very popular course. a little conflict with fairways, the course is squeezed into a fairly small area for eighteen holes. only one or two long shots to challenge the younger big-arm players if the pin placements are set up that way. dog walkers dont pick up poopy-poops.
Other Thoughts: the course plays in an old water retention area so is a little limited in space, and sometimes flooding occurs in the spring, but this doesnt detract from the great course layout which is altered weekly by the local club. no crossing fairways but an errant shot will put you on another fairway very easily. the course itself plays more technical and will challenge you to put your drives where they need to be, hyzer and turnover shots are needed to do well here. lots of trees to plays through but ont overly. this course is the oldest course in utah and has lots of history. if you dont mind waiting for big groups to play at peak hours, it wont be a problem. it would get a better rating but there are too many people playing there nowadays and its a bit limited as to length.

10-13-08 TICKET ALERT!!! - If you are caught with alcohol in the park you will receive a $750 citation. This is an attempt to stop people drinking in the park. So heads up....

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Utah's Finest!

7/26/2004   2/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2008
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a nice course on the east side of SLC with some beautiful, Utah mountain scenery. The park itself is pretty and green. I think there are enough basket placements to keep everyone interested and coming back. There's some elevation change. Signature Hole is # 14. A slight, right turn over a creek, a pretty disc golf hole.
Cons: Can get a little crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: # 14 is lovely! If you're in Salt Lake City, it's a must do. Best of the the five courses I played in Utah.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 SLC's Main Course

5+    7/16/2007   7/16/2007
Review By: waywu2001
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/22/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Test of Length and Accuracy. Rewards different DG skills. Multiple Pin Locations make each hole a challenge each time.
Cons: Course can be crowded. Some holes play too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: I often bring my family when I go throw. At those times, I notice that there's a lot of people drinking and smoking which isn't very family-friendly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.