Disc Golf Store
Fort Worth, TX 
Eagle Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 174ft.   3 / --   3 / 174ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: (Basket Is Missing) This one plays along the creek that runs along your right side. The basket was actually at the other end of the row of trees right in front of you.The pole is still there to play as a object hole.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Eagle Ranch Rundown!!!

1    6/24/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -ALL THE BUCKETS ARE THERE!!!
-Great signage
-Concrete t-pads, both long and short
-Nice use of bland hillside with rock embankments built in where the pins sit.
-Nice flow to the course
-Short and long tee-pads on a few holes

Terrain: Dramatic elevation changes, water hazards (pond and small drainage creek), mix of open holes and trees.

Great use of what little land they had to work with. In a nice area of town too. Great view of the lake midway through the course.
Cons: -Only a 7hole course.
-Makes for a very quick round. Could play twice or three times through. It's fun enough.
-Throwing in to the pond is a lost-disc guarantee
Other Thoughts: Fun course now that all the baskets are back. Good course to learn the sport of disc golf on.

It's really not worth a huge drive or anything, unless you want another course under your belt :-).

Good course. I'll play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 5 hole course in Texas

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads and signs were all there.
Pro/Am tee pads on #1, #4, #7
Great use of the land.
Creek and pond both come into play
Cons: #6 and #7 baskets are both missing making it a 5 hole course.
#3 tee box had 1" of water and muck on it. I did fix it to drain for now though.
Even if the basket was not missing, hole #6 is not a good hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course today.

for those of you who think the course can be expanded, it can't. There is a ball golf course back there.

However, I don't see why John didn't make a shorter 9 hole course. The area that has #1 could easily hole 3 holes playing back and forth. There is room.

but with only 7 holes and baskets missing, it is not worth playing on a regular bases.

Me, I played it to finish out every DFW course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Negatives outweigh positives but has good potential

2-4    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 2 instead of a 1 or 1.5 because it does have some interesting holes and lots of potential. It is a John Houck designed course and it shows. Hole 1 is the premier shot on this course. It looks downhill with many large trees in the way. You can shoot straight through a narrow gap or take wide shots around. Hole 2 and 3 are uphill shots that are fun to shoot at. Hole 4's Blue Tee is an interesting uphill shot over a small pond, the red tee is on the other side of the pond and less than 200 ft. Hole 5 shoots back down this hill, major elevation drop, 344 ft. I DON'T like this kind of shot because the basket is 20 ft from the creek and small pond. It is a classic risk vs. reward shot but I feel like it punishes you for booming one. Maybe that's the point though! Hole 6 is a short RHBH easy hyzer around a line of trees. As of 3-18-09, the basket is missing but the pole is still in place-just play object dg and hit the pole. Hole 6 is the only hole on the course without elevation change. Hole 7 is missing the basket, as stated before. This shot is a tomahawk or thumber over some large willow trees, or you can try to shoot it through the growth.
Cons: This park is not maintained. The creek is a mess and overgrown. Hole 3's teebox is covered in slime and can easily become submerged in heavy rains.

No baskets on 6 and 7 means you only have 5 baskets to shoot into...it doesn't really make you want to drive to Eagle Mountain Lake for 5 holes.

Also, they have much more room to expand this course-they just need to hurry up and do it!

If you're honest with yourself, it's hard to leave this course without a sour taste in your mouth.
Other Thoughts: Expand this course! It's worth going to in a group and circling around a few times, if nothing else for a change of scenery.

I'm looking forward to the improvement of this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/23/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good use on land.
Cons: seems to always be muddy on the hill, never mowed basket 7 missing and i heard basket 6 is gone also.
Other Thoughts: there is alot more land behind basket 5 with good level change, i would like to see used to put in 18 baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.