Fort Worth, TX 
Eagle Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 186ft.   3 / --   3 / 280ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: The basket is missing, so locals play to the #1 Blue Tee Sign. This hole goes straight to the tree line, then turns right, through the trees, over a rock bridge, & uphill.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Eagle Ranch Rundown!!!

1    6/24/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -ALL THE BUCKETS ARE THERE!!!
-Great signage
-Concrete t-pads, both long and short
-Nice use of bland hillside with rock embankments built in where the pins sit.
-Nice flow to the course
-Short and long tee-pads on a few holes

Terrain: Dramatic elevation changes, water hazards (pond and small drainage creek), mix of open holes and trees.

Great use of what little land they had to work with. In a nice area of town too. Great view of the lake midway through the course.
Cons: -Only a 7hole course.
-Makes for a very quick round. Could play twice or three times through. It's fun enough.
-Throwing in to the pond is a lost-disc guarantee
Other Thoughts: Fun course now that all the baskets are back. Good course to learn the sport of disc golf on.

It's really not worth a huge drive or anything, unless you want another course under your belt :-).

Good course. I'll play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best 5 hole course in Texas

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads and signs were all there.
Pro/Am tee pads on #1, #4, #7
Great use of the land.
Creek and pond both come into play
Cons: #6 and #7 baskets are both missing making it a 5 hole course.
#3 tee box had 1" of water and muck on it. I did fix it to drain for now though.
Even if the basket was not missing, hole #6 is not a good hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course today.

for those of you who think the course can be expanded, it can't. There is a ball golf course back there.

However, I don't see why John didn't make a shorter 9 hole course. The area that has #1 could easily hole 3 holes playing back and forth. There is room.

but with only 7 holes and baskets missing, it is not worth playing on a regular bases.

Me, I played it to finish out every DFW course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Negatives outweigh positives but has good potential

2-4    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 80  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 2 instead of a 1 or 1.5 because it does have some interesting holes and lots of potential. It is a John Houck designed course and it shows. Hole 1 is the premier shot on this course. It looks downhill with many large trees in the way. You can shoot straight through a narrow gap or take wide shots around. Hole 2 and 3 are uphill shots that are fun to shoot at. Hole 4's Blue Tee is an interesting uphill shot over a small pond, the red tee is on the other side of the pond and less than 200 ft. Hole 5 shoots back down this hill, major elevation drop, 344 ft. I DON'T like this kind of shot because the basket is 20 ft from the creek and small pond. It is a classic risk vs. reward shot but I feel like it punishes you for booming one. Maybe that's the point though! Hole 6 is a short RHBH easy hyzer around a line of trees. As of 3-18-09, the basket is missing but the pole is still in place-just play object dg and hit the pole. Hole 6 is the only hole on the course without elevation change. Hole 7 is missing the basket, as stated before. This shot is a tomahawk or thumber over some large willow trees, or you can try to shoot it through the growth.
Cons: This park is not maintained. The creek is a mess and overgrown. Hole 3's teebox is covered in slime and can easily become submerged in heavy rains.

No baskets on 6 and 7 means you only have 5 baskets to shoot into...it doesn't really make you want to drive to Eagle Mountain Lake for 5 holes.

Also, they have much more room to expand this course-they just need to hurry up and do it!

If you're honest with yourself, it's hard to leave this course without a sour taste in your mouth.
Other Thoughts: Expand this course! It's worth going to in a group and circling around a few times, if nothing else for a change of scenery.

I'm looking forward to the improvement of this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/23/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good use on land.
Cons: seems to always be muddy on the hill, never mowed basket 7 missing and i heard basket 6 is gone also.
Other Thoughts: there is alot more land behind basket 5 with good level change, i would like to see used to put in 18 baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.