Fort Worth, TX 
Eagle Ranch Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 174ft.   3 / --   3 / 174ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: (Basket Is Missing) This one plays along the creek that runs along your right side. The basket was actually at the other end of the row of trees right in front of you.The pole is still there to play as a object hole.



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
What could of been

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: texhop58
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete tees
*great use of land
*great layout. Someone knew what they were doing.
*tee signs (hole one missing)
*pretty dedicated to disc golf only area
*great view
Cons: *limited parking
*overgrown
*multiple baskets broke deformed.
*teepads need weed eating
*did I say overgrown?
*
Other Thoughts: If kept up this course could be a 3 star course even though it only has 7 holes. And if expanded to 18 using the area I see. This could easily be a top level course in dfw. . Instead it looks unplayed and not cared for. Tore up from locals. It's so sad to see so much potential wasted like this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park Needs mowed

1    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 59  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty nice Course over close to the lake. Very nice Innova Baskets. Hole 2 basket is a little bent prob from kid jumping on it. All baskets are in place only last basket is really hard to throw to and hard to cross. Its a jungle. Going to load a Aerial view of the course layout. Was on the list to complete in DFW but was actually pretty fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Tragedy

2-4    7/27/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are concrete tee pads. There is good signage with par, distance, and a simple illustration of the fairway and pin location. Good discatcher baskets. Easy to follow layout mostly. Elevation comes into play on most holes which makes them more fun to play.
Cons: This course only has 7 holes. The tee box for hole 3 was unusable when I was there in July, 2010. It was covered in water and mud and had a fallen tree covering it up. I totally missed it the first time through the course. Hole 6 is a poorly designed hole, or is just badly overgrown due to poor maintenence. The basket is in the junk right by the creek. Hole 5 would be a good hole if it was on a decent 18 hole course, but as it is, it is not worth the risk of going into the nasty creek right beside it on a 7 hole course. There is no reason to even take the risk for the birdie or ace run there IMO. Hole 1 is the only challenging hole. Holes 2, 3, and 4, although fun due to the elevation, are very straight forward, easy holes to birdie.
Other Thoughts: When I stepped up to hole 1 I thought this course had promise. Hole 2 was also fun, although very easy. But it went downhill VERY quickly after that and I see why it has so many bad reviews.
This is truly a disc golf tragedy as this course has promise and probably was a little gem of a course at one time. Poor maintanence and vandals have taken their toll. This course is not worth a 10 minute drive to play. If I lived in the neighborhood, it would make a good little practice course, but that is about all it is good for. It is a shame that thousands of dollars went into the baskets, tee signs, and concrete tees on this course for absolutely no reason. Total waste. I wish we could transplant some of those amenities to a better, more often played course.
Absolutely tragic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ranch Rundown!!!

1    6/24/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -ALL THE BUCKETS ARE THERE!!!
-Great signage
-Concrete t-pads, both long and short
-Nice use of bland hillside with rock embankments built in where the pins sit.
-Nice flow to the course
-Short and long tee-pads on a few holes

Terrain: Dramatic elevation changes, water hazards (pond and small drainage creek), mix of open holes and trees.

Great use of what little land they had to work with. In a nice area of town too. Great view of the lake midway through the course.
Cons: -Only a 7hole course.
-Makes for a very quick round. Could play twice or three times through. It's fun enough.
-Throwing in to the pond is a lost-disc guarantee
Other Thoughts: Fun course now that all the baskets are back. Good course to learn the sport of disc golf on.

It's really not worth a huge drive or anything, unless you want another course under your belt :-).

Good course. I'll play it again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

unique and fun

1    3/15/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome plot of land, great course design
-major elevation changes
-concrete tees and great baskets
-dual tees on 1, 4, 7
-many trees, creek and hillside baskets
-broken/missing baskets have been replaced
Cons: -drainage issues near the creek, causes flooding on hole 3's tee
Other Thoughts: ***Update***
The missing and/or broken baskets have been replaced. Course looks to be in better condition now.
***

This is a great little course that got neglected for awhile, I assume due to its out of the way location inside a gated housing development. It is in much better condition now.

I had a blast playing here. The holes are really well designed and it fits perfectly on the plot of land making great use of the features available: elevation, creek, pond. Hole 1 is a great downhill bomb.

It is hard to justify going out of your way for only 7 holes but this place really has its charm. Definitely worth playing if you are nearby or if you're willing to drive a bit for a fun little course that you can play several times for a nice outing.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best 5 hole course in Texas

1    1/12/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads and signs were all there.
Pro/Am tee pads on #1, #4, #7
Great use of the land.
Creek and pond both come into play
Cons: #6 and #7 baskets are both missing making it a 5 hole course.
#3 tee box had 1" of water and muck on it. I did fix it to drain for now though.
Even if the basket was not missing, hole #6 is not a good hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course today.

for those of you who think the course can be expanded, it can't. There is a ball golf course back there.

However, I don't see why John didn't make a shorter 9 hole course. The area that has #1 could easily hole 3 holes playing back and forth. There is room.

but with only 7 holes and baskets missing, it is not worth playing on a regular bases.

Me, I played it to finish out every DFW course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course!

2-4    10/29/2011   9/6/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and easy course designed by the best course designer in disc golf, John Houck. The course is short and sweet with elevation changes playing a big role throughout most of the course. The layout of this course is very simple being there are only seven holes, so navigation should not be an issue when playing here. It is short but still fun as you start off on hole # 1 with a nice long downhill shot to the basket, which is the longest hole on the course. The rest of the course is basic pretty simple with straight short shots up rocky sided hills. There are a few chances to hit an ace on a couple of holes since there fairly short. All holes have nice concrete tee pads which are the perfect size and give you plenty of room for a good run up. I believe only two holes have multiple concrete tee pads and the rest of the course only have one per hole. The yellow DISCatchers are in great shape and are visible from each tee. The course is very clean and well maintained and is never crowded, so you probably have this course to yourself when playing here.
Cons: There is no parking lot for park users so you have to park on the side of road by hole # 1. I noticed there were not any trashcans on the course, so any trash you bring in, make sure you take it with you. Hole # 3 tee pad seems to be soggy all the time so the ground is probably saturated in that area since it is by the pond. I'm not sure what the deal is with hole # 7. There is a basket but it is sitting on top of a hill and you have to throw over a creek through a wall of trees to get to it. There is no fairway on this hole, good luck trying to throw a tomahawk or thumber on this hole with having your disc fall in that poison Ivy infested creek. I just skipped this hole. They need to move the basket on the left side of the creek just before you have to cross it. I think the basket actually used to be there in the first place.
Other Thoughts: This course was designed for beginners so more advanced players will not be challenged when playing here. The course is still fun for players who don't feel like playing big and just want to throw a nice and easy, simple game. I will play this course again when I'm in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Negatives outweigh positives but has good potential

2-4    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 80  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I gave this course a 2 instead of a 1 or 1.5 because it does have some interesting holes and lots of potential. It is a John Houck designed course and it shows. Hole 1 is the premier shot on this course. It looks downhill with many large trees in the way. You can shoot straight through a narrow gap or take wide shots around. Hole 2 and 3 are uphill shots that are fun to shoot at. Hole 4's Blue Tee is an interesting uphill shot over a small pond, the red tee is on the other side of the pond and less than 200 ft. Hole 5 shoots back down this hill, major elevation drop, 344 ft. I DON'T like this kind of shot because the basket is 20 ft from the creek and small pond. It is a classic risk vs. reward shot but I feel like it punishes you for booming one. Maybe that's the point though! Hole 6 is a short RHBH easy hyzer around a line of trees. As of 3-18-09, the basket is missing but the pole is still in place-just play object dg and hit the pole. Hole 6 is the only hole on the course without elevation change. Hole 7 is missing the basket, as stated before. This shot is a tomahawk or thumber over some large willow trees, or you can try to shoot it through the growth.
Cons: This park is not maintained. The creek is a mess and overgrown. Hole 3's teebox is covered in slime and can easily become submerged in heavy rains.

No baskets on 6 and 7 means you only have 5 baskets to shoot into...it doesn't really make you want to drive to Eagle Mountain Lake for 5 holes.

Also, they have much more room to expand this course-they just need to hurry up and do it!

If you're honest with yourself, it's hard to leave this course without a sour taste in your mouth.
Other Thoughts: Expand this course! It's worth going to in a group and circling around a few times, if nothing else for a change of scenery.

I'm looking forward to the improvement of this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/23/2008   3/15/2009
Review By: superh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: good use on land.
Cons: seems to always be muddy on the hill, never mowed basket 7 missing and i heard basket 6 is gone also.
Other Thoughts: there is alot more land behind basket 5 with good level change, i would like to see used to put in 18 baskets.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Eagle Ranch Park

1    1/14/2009   1/14/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Real nice concrete tee pads, multiple tee pads on a couple holes. Good signage. Love the use of elevation!!!
Good mix of long and short holes, also some technical shots.
Cons: Lots of rocks around the baskets, that can be a little hard on the plastic. Basket missing on # 6. Basket and pole missing on # 7.
Other Thoughts: I really wish this course was in my neighborhood!!! I absolutely loved the elevation changes in this course. Was pretty fun and challengeing. This course definately has room to expand and I hope they take advantage of that. It's really sad that some people have to do things like steal baskets. Like I said this course could really be great with a little work. I will definately play it again!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.