Oil City, LA 
Earl G. Williamson Park Share
Uploaded By: teamudgp Hole #5 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Below potential

1    4/17/2014   4/18/2014
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 132  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 34.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is in a pretty park
- Easy to get to (if you happen to be in Oil City)
- Course is in a 'wildflower area' so there are beautiful wildflowers and their attendant insects. (Sisyrichium, blue-eyed grass, was in bloom when I played and absolutely gorgeous!)
- Holes 3 through 6 are in open woods along a creek: interesting throws and visually appealing.
- Not crowded
Cons: - 'Wildflower area' may mean no mowing (or other management/ upkeep). Course looks very neglected.
- Tee pads are knee high grass with no worn area, which makes driving weird.
- The invasive weed, Torilis arvensis (hedge parsley), is fairly common on the course. Expect to spend some time removing the tiny burrs from your clothing and pet.
- Golf discs are hard to find in tall grass.
- OB fence/ball fields are a potential user conflict
Other Thoughts: This course looked as if it is not played regularly. I was pretty amazed that my dog and I did not pick up any ticks after walking through the tall grass that is the entire course - I guess the fire ants keep the tick population in check. It is a pretty cool feeling playing in knee to waist high grass and it gives the course a certain 'je ne sais quoi'. Minimal mowing of landing zones for drives, around the baskets, and at tee pads would greatly improve this course's play and fun factor - you shouldn't have to search for discs within 20' of the basket. This course is mostly well laid out, easy to navigate, and fun. With a little care, it could be an interesting course for beginners. As it is now I would not recommend the course for beginners because losing discs in tall grass is not fun for new players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fences Arenít Fun

1    6/21/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This first hole is setup just past the ball field on the right when you pull into the park. This course has some holes with decent trees and open holes alike. There are some OB and risk/reward holes. The baskets were in ok condition and the grass/dirt tee pads were in fine shape. My favorite hole was #6, because I liked navigating the trees. #9 made me laugh, because it did give you the option to throw a field goal if you choose on you drive (but try not to hit the kid, see picture).
Cons: The first couple of holes have baskets set next to an outfield fence of the ball field. This, in my opinion is bad design. I understand making OB areas like a ball field, but to put the basket right next to it makes the risk/reward option, more of a "if I go for it, will I hit someone or interfere with that ball game?" So this is a big negative for me. Also, I don't mind one or two risk/reward holes, but it is not necessary to just keep putting each basket next the same creek and outfield fence over and over. Consecutive holes where baskets are put really close to a drop off to a creek just becomes redundant, not creative. These are fairly short holes, almost all less than 300 feet, which is not really a negative but I needed to mention it somewhere. The tee signs were probably decent at one time, but their condition has gotten weather worn.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was nil. Too many OB or Creek Bound holes in a row just made this the same thing over an over. I liked the wooded area. It did not have tons of trees, but they were fun nevertheless. I will not likely be returning here. It just was not my cup of java.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not worth the drive

1    8/22/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: after hole three it got interesting. it has a basket in the curve of a deep creek that u can easily loose a disk, believe me, i did.
Cons: very short. it took 45 minutes to play. except for when ur in the woods there are no obstacles. i think i over drove each hole.
Other Thoughts: dont go out of ur way going to this course. it was over so fast i drove 23 more miles to shreveport to one of the best courses in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ZZZZ

1    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of a small piece of land. Course was very easy to navigate and had nice baskets. Wooded holes were real touchy with creek so close, but doesn't make the course great.
Cons: Just isn't fun.
Mowing seems to be a problem out there.
Other Thoughts: If you having a family outing at Caddo lake, it may be fun to squeeze a round in. Otherwise, save your gas money.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short and technical rec course.

5+    1/3/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has 3 baskets that sit next to a creek and can suck in your disc and you won't be getting her back. All open shots have obstacles. Hole 1 is about 250. The obstacle is a fence about 245 and 9ft high so your disc must come down above the 9ft fence at a sharp downward almost tomahawk type angle to ace it. It is quick and fun to play. You could play 36 holes in 2 hours and not be tired. If your are finishing up at sundown there is always an incredibly picturesque sundown shot looking out across the lake. I have lost 2 discs to the creek so far. never busy.
Cons: Not very long. No elevation. No restrooms. This is not a very challenging course and should not be played by pros. Of course any 9 holer that is 2100 ft. 99% of the time will not challenge any pro level player. This web site if used correctly would save any pro the waste of a trip as long as the pro uses this site and uses his brain also to their maximun.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play if you are passing through but not worth driving a long distance. After 4pm on Hwy 1 heading back towards Shreveport on the right before MLK drive is
Southern Maid Donuts. They fry them when you order and put the glaze on while they are hot and give them to you hot and you sit in your car and inhale them and if you are from out of town you will probably go back in and get 2 more dozen to take home. Or if you are not hungry, Ford Park DGC is about 25 minutes from this park. 2 contrasting styles of course to play that together will be over 9000 ft.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.