Disc Golf Store
Frankfort, KY 
East Frankfort Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ibekent Hole #3
3 / 202ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Way Underrated

1    12/27/2013   1/13/2014
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 43  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I think of favorite courses that I have played, I have 3 categories: challenging, memorable, fun. This course is above all else FUN. I enjoy playing it every time.

This is a perfect place to work on your upshot. Basically, every teepad shot here would be an upshot at a larger course. It is easy to score well here if you are good at the 250 and in game. If you struggle here, guess what you need to work on...

There are a few holes that are very creative. Hole 11 comes to mind.
Cons: -Only one open field crush of a throw... but if you want to throw bombers, this is not the right course to come to.
- Front 9 is sort of confusing in layout.
Other Thoughts: Again... this course does not get enough love.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/12/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Within earshot of the Kentucky State University's football stadium, East Frankfort is a busy family park with a variety of activities for the whole family: a dog park, tennis courts, fields, shelters, playgrounds…I even saw a couple of dedicated croquet courts! The disc golf course wanders in and out of the wooded areas, using the elevation and tree lines to define some interesting shots to the DISCatcher baskets. The very nice concrete tees have been stamped with par, hole number and distance, at least as of the date the concrete set up (otherwise, there is minimal signage). There are nice, durable benches and trash containers on or near almost every hole, and the maintenance is very good.

Scaled to challenge the casual to recreational player, all but one of the holes range between 142 and 266 feet, and demand fades, hooks and s- shaped shots in both directions, as well as a decent feel for how slight elevation changes affect shot selection. In all, that makes this a good course to learn on. There is one uphill 366 footer that bends right and enters the woods, to test the bigger ams, but most of the holes require reading the line and executing a reasonable shot, to get into deuce range.

There is ample parking in three different areas of the course, a practice basket set under a spreading tree by the center lot, and well-worn paths (most of the time) to lead you to the next tee. An excellent kiosk style message board and map await you at the first tee, and the infrastructure, such as bridges, is firm and safe.
Cons: …however… You WILL want to take a map the first couple of times you play this course because there are some unusual transitions (theoretically necessitated by the existing park amenities). For instance, it's totally unclear that you need to walk back around the driveway to the far corner of the center parking lot between holes 3 and 4. You cross the south (?) parking lot, the T-junction of the driveway(s) and through the fence gap to get from the 5th basket to the 6th tee, then cross the next parking lot to 7. You go beyond the 10th basket and up the path, turning right (there IS a sign) to get to the 11th tee. You walk from the 14th basket toward the tennis courts and into the corner of the woods to find the 15th tee. You emerge from the path to the middle of both the 16th and the 17th fairways (giving you a chance to locate both blind pin positions, though). And finally, you walk back toward the tennis courts, turn right, and cross the driveway to get from 17 to 18, then walk down the path to the center parking lot where you started on 1. All this with no elevated tee sign posts to look for, because of the stamped info down on the pads.

That stamping is cool, but obviously makes it impossible to adjust hole distance info as pin positions have been changed or improved. Some of the holes seem to play at different distances now.
Other Thoughts: The main takeaway I get from this course is that it is really fun to play, because the distances are well within my 'wheelhouse', and the woods are relatively forgiving, BUT the layout meant there are four or five awkward transitions in the course flow. Don't get me wrong, if this was in my neighborhood, I'd play it every week for the fun and experience. I'd just wish it flowed more smoothly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Short but Tough

5+    6/12/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: FrankfortGlider
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Course to learn the game. A little bit of everything incuding straights, dog leg lefts and rights, uphill and downhill. Don't have to worry about water. Good practice course if you want to try different throws with different discs.
Cons: Heavily wood through most of the course which can make it easy to lose a disc. If it is your first time on this course then make sure to read the map at hole one or you will get lost looking for holes.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to bring bug spray or wear long pants or tall socks because you will walk in some tall brush.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and technical

2-4    9/20/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded holes, but a few more open ones that were still challenging and not just thrown in. A lot of hole variety that required you to hit the line. The longest hole was only 366, but the course made up for the lack of distance with technical shots and tight fairways. All of the tees and signs were present and in good shape. Sweet tee pads with hole number and length on them. The fairways were clean and mowed, the park seemed pretty well taken care of.
Cons: Some of the holes, 11 and 17 in particular, seemed a bit too technical. They were almost U-turns instead of doglegs. The tees and the signs disagree on lengths, but I'm not sure how far off they are. The only other thing I noticed was the long walks between some holes. Definitely print out the map for this one.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course quite a bit. You really have to be able to control the disc well in order to finish with a decent score, no huck and luck here.

Make sure you know where you're going. The walk to 4(tee is next to where you park), 15(across the road by the tennis courts), and then back 18(the tee you thought was 15) are a bit confusing at first.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded fun with SOME challenge

1    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love a course that has both open and wooded shots, and this has both.

All concrete tee pads, plenty of length and in great shape. Discatcher baskets in very good condition. Some tee signs are there, but the map on here is just adequate to navigate the course. Facilities are nice (bathrooms, parking, etc).

The park is nice size, and very well maintained. There are very nice playgrounds, a dog park, and what appears to be a defunct pool (likely a casualty of our severely anemic budget I'm sure). Fairways are mowed pretty well, and not cut too short.

My memorable holes:
1 - Tough uphill hyzer into the woods. Challenging shot that plays longer than it is.
7 - Tough long anhyzer (RHBH) with trees on the right, playing uphill to the basket in the trees.
11 - Hard hyzer (short hole) and by hyzer I mean more of a boomerang shot, too bad a tree had fallen right in the typical throw area. Looked to be recent, so hopefully it will be removed soon. Luckily I still got a decent line to the basket.
15 - Long soft hyzer through the trees, nicely laid out.
17 - Anhyzer…to the max. Seriously, the fairway goes about 100 feet straight then 90 degrees to the right. I tried a forehand and still couldn't cut the corner.
Cons: Tee signs are only partially present. What seems to be a neat feature of having the hole number and distance in the concrete for each tee is actually deceiving, since it appears the original layout has been changed significantly and those distances are not longer accurate.

Most holes are very short, and sometimes ridiculously tree-laden, while others (like 4 and 5) are super easy straight no-risk shots. Several holes could benefit from a little bit of tree removal to make a more playable hole, or just redesign the hole altogether.

Course navigation. There are some decent walks between holes a total of SEVEN times, including walking back to the parking lot after 18. Without the map, this would be a nightmare to follow.
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 2.5 is based on the fact that the course is fun, but could really stand to have a thorough going-over. The terrain and trees are there, but the design aspect is a little lacking since the holes are either so-so, depend on a lucky shot, or way too easy.

Overall I feel this course is a good course to catch to add one to your repertoire, or if you need to kill some time in the Frankfort, KY area. It was by no means unenjoyable to play, but I was disappointed to see the potential that this course COULD have with the right mind laying it out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Wooded Course

1    5/17/2009   5/17/2009
Review By: QbertPrime
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful layout, mostly in the woods. Concrete tee boxes with distances on them. The course is a little on the short side, but a bad tee shot will not automatically eliminate a par attempt.
Cons: A lot of anhyzer shots for a righty. I got a lot of work on these while playing this course. A lot of the holes where very far apart, especially from 17 to 18. Would of been very confusing without the course map.
Other Thoughts: I don't typically like courses that are heavily wooded, but I loved this course! It was a great challenge for an average disc golf player. There is a lot of variety in the shots that are needed to successfully complete the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/24/2011   3/31/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short course where 2/3 of the holes are wooded. Some of the holes can be fairly techinical and have a good variety of hyzer, straight and anhyzer shots.

There are elevation changes on many of the holes. A couple of the baskets have tough putting greens to add to the challenge.

The pins are in good condition and have yellow bands around the top making them easy to spot through the trees.

This course has fairly new concrete tee pads that are in great shape. The hole number and distance is stamped into the concrete on the pad which looks really nice.
Cons: If you haven't played here before, you MUST print the map or else you will waste a lot looking for the next hole. There are small arrows on the pins pointing you towards the next hole but it isn't enough. I really hope some signs are installed here to help with navigation.

There are some good sized walks in between holes that aren't well marked.

The distance on the pad is not the same as the distance on the sign. Sometimes the two distances aren't even close to each other. Since the pads are newer, that would lead me to believe the distances on the pads are correct, but who knows.

Very short holes with only a few over 250 feet.
Other Thoughts: East Frankfort Park is a short, fun course that is great for newer players to sharpen their technical game and local players. Because more advanced players will not be challenged here, I would not recommend this course to them.

If the walks between holes were marked better I would probably give the course a 2.5. But as it is now, if you don't have a map you're going to waste so much time looking for holes 4, 6, 11 and you'll probably miss holes 15 - 17 all together.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  a gem in the rough

5+    1/6/2009   1/6/2009
Review By: bigjb
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice tee's that have a approximate distance on them. equal amount of left/right/straight holes. need all your shots.
Cons: it is short and the rough needs some refining. there tends to be some errosion issues that are in the works of being fixed.
Other Thoughts: the course is undergoing some slow changes. the course pro has been deployed to iraq for 3 of the past 4 years but has returned to propel the course to a updated look. alternate pin placements are also in the works.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a fan..

1    5/10/2006   12/10/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love playing disc golf in the woods, and this course provides that basic requirement.

All of the baskets seemed to be in good shape, and there were several nice holes that used elevation change.
Cons: Layout is confusing... I had to walk the front 9 backwards just to figure it out. Directions were non-existant.

Most of the holes felt like they were a little out of place. Hard to describe, but there were only 4 or 5 holes that felt like good golf holes to me.

Many of the holes felt way too short. Plenty of birdie opportunities here. The holes that were challenging seemed to be that way because of poor design (lack of fairway).
Other Thoughts: Not many people play this course - I believe most disc golfers in the area drive to Lexington to play instead.

This course has potential to be a nice course, but it needs a lot of work.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Woodpecker.

2-4    12/7/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: MulliganStew
Played: 26  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/19/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: T Pads have distance stamped in cement. Well manicured, tough technical course, good elevation changes, lots of benches and trash cans. Lots of anhyzers, some hyzers, and just a few open field shots. The woods really make you work on your midrange turns and acuracy.
Cons: It is a short course, with complex tree placement. My biggest gripe would have to be how far you have to walk to the next Tpad. You probably walk 27 holes worth of space to play 18. If you do not have a map with you you will have a very hard time finding the next hole on several occasions. There are also a couple occasions that you are driving perpendicular to a road, where a car could definitly get hit. A tight course shoe horned into a small multiuse park.
Other Thoughts: Glad I played it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.