Frankfort, KY 
East Frankfort Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ibekent Hole #1
3 / 268ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 I Like This Course

5+    11/15/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty park with some creative holes that require precision landings. It is well kept and has nice (if narrow) tees and baskets. It has benches, garbage cans, and restrooms betwen 5 & 6 as well as between 12 & 13. It's short enough that I can play it after work but demanding enough that I don't get bored with it. It's never crowded but rarely vacant.

Errant shots can land in significant undebrush, but this isn't vicious bramble. You'll have a tricky shot to get back in play, but you aren't going to lose discs or skin. There are some elevation shots, but no major hills.

Long tees are (sometimes) marked on the ground in orange and make this a more challenging course for experienced players. (Long tees are marked on the map found on the "Links/Files" tab.) I am particularly fond of 5 and 11 long.
Cons: This course has poor flow and no directional signs. The walks between 3-4, 5-6, 10-11, 14-15, & 17-18 can be perplexing. BUT, there is an excellent map at hole 1 which helps. Also, holes 12 - 14 circumnavigate a playground. On the rare occasions when the playground is crowded, you must throw cautiously.
Other Thoughts: There're some sketchy folk who hang out in cars in the back parking lot - I'm just sayin'. Do with that information what you will.

The first hole is the second hardest on the course. If you are new to disc golf, just keep going. You will find easier shots and some open fairways before you are done.

There was some talk about re-ordering the holes as follows: 1-3, 5, 17, 15, 16, 6-14, 18, 4. It plays much better in this order - particularly if you are throwing from the long tees - and has only one awkward walk between 16 and 6.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tom & Sara's Walk in the woods

1    10/25/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: kytopbutton
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is woven into the woods and fields surrounding the park and makes good use of a limited amount of space. The hole number and distance are stamped into the concrete tee pads.
Cons: The first three holes have very narrow fairways surrounded by trees. This type of course is very intimidating for amateurs.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared to hike up and down hills through the woods.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not one I care to play again

1    7/15/2006   9/11/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Pretty park, lots of shade. Signs and teepads were ok.
Cons: The whole course is way too short and heavily wooded for my tastes. 200 foot holes where you throw the disc and cross your fingers hoping that it weaves it's way through 50 trees is not my kind of course.
Other Thoughts: We saw a scene straight from the show "Cheaters" during our round. Apparently homeboy was up at the park chillin' with his mistress, when his regular girl rolled up and BOOM! She wasn't happy about the 3 years she'd wasted on him, and everyone in the park could hear it!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 seen better, seen worse

5/3/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: dwain
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of space in a fairly small park (in DG terms) with some incredibly tight fairways. A technical course that requires a lot of gentle sidearm shots and a prayer for a good roll. It's a really nice park with some pretty walks from hole to hole, a creek or two, and a great dog park. I know those things aren't related to disc golf, but the course wasn't that remarkable, so I'm reaching for other things!
Cons: Short and seriously tight fairways--some only 100-150--in which it's too easy to get a bad bounce and end up waist deep in brush. Course can be hard to follow and may require a little bit of exploration. By far the greatest con, though, is the insane underbrush. I don't mind a short, technical course, but this was almost too much.
Other Thoughts: When I went in May 2008, a tree was crashed down on the pad for one of the holes (6?).

Also, the pool there has the most serious security surrounding it. Two fences, one with prison-style barbed wire on type!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

3/5/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Russell Gore
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 21.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Neat little course, very tight wooded shots. Decent terrain change. No water. Well worth the drive.
Cons: Can get lost trying to find holes if you aren't familiar with the layout. Could use signs stating where the next hole is!
Other Thoughts: Doesn't get a lot of maintenance since Frankfort disc golf club was abolished. Still a nice course none the less!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

12/27/2007   12/27/2007
Review By: NoeDisc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's a great course for beginners. There are a verity of shots. It is not a long course, which that will help new players to gain confidence.
Cons: Heavily wooded.
Other Thoughts: It is an overall nice course. There are nice numbered tees with distance and Par limit stamped into nice concrete tees. Would recomend this course to anyone, beginner, or even pros.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.