Rochester, MN 
East Park Share
Uploaded By: lazy42 Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
6 / 450ft.   5 / 325ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice park for everyone

5+    6/2/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: nelson22
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dual concrete teepads, lots of variance in hole types, some long, some short, some with trees, some without. Well kept park. No water hazards or tall grasses. Some nice wooded holes but without the brush and tall grass on the ground, whole course is all mowed grass.
Cons: Surrounded by public roads, playground equipment and basketball courts in the middle of the park, but the course is designed well so they dont get in the way too bad. Flat.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play for beginners and advanced with the dual tees and varying hole types.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Start Here in Rochester

5+    4/25/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: krainiac
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: Dual tees are welcoming sites for novices and experienced players
Course has challenging holes with several long distances and baskets guarded by trees.
No water so you can feel confident in knowing you are walking away with the discs you brought (unless you tomahawk something into a tree).
Very clean and well-kept park!
Cons: very flat so not much variation in how a majority of the holes play
The course is lined with city streets which can be distracting on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is my favorite disc golf course in Rochester. Beginners will love the ability to develop their skills, while experienced players can boom drives from the longer tees. Even on a windy day, the course was enjoyable. East Park is designed well and easy to navigate with the tee maps.

 Good Learning Course

5+    9/20/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: sharpekid
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for working on your mechanics
Almost impossible to lose a disc
Great for Beginners, but still fun for all
Well Kept
Very Easy to Navigate
Cons: No Elevation
Can be very busy
Posted pars are overly generous. Play everything as a par 3.
Other Thoughts: Although this course is basic, it offers a lot. Most of the holes are of reasonable distance. This is my home course and I'm here several times a week. Having played over 100 rounds on this course, I still enjoy it!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has its flaws

2-4    6/18/2010   9/18/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 26  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course winds through a well-kept multi-use city park. Flat, with many mature trees as obstacles. Although the park is fairly small, this course is of decent length.

There are dual tees and nice signage on every hole. The park is well-groomed, so it is almost impossible to lose a disc.

Hole 5 is definitely the most difficult and in my opinion best hole. It has a large number of mature randomly placed trees in the middle of the fairway, making tree hitting a definite possibility.

A fun park to bring beginners. Even though most of the fairways are open, a lot of the baskets are protected by trees.
Cons: Surrounded by city streets which are pretty close to the fairway in a few places. Also, be careful of the volleyball and basketball players. This park gets a lot of play, so it will probably be busy.

Aside from hole 5, the park is fairly open, and there are no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: The posted pars are fairly generous, try playing everything as a par 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice city park

1    10/20/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiuse city park. Porta Johns available. Nice long parking lot. Sand volleyball court. Basketball courts. Horseshoe courts. Nice playground for the kids. Trashcans around park. A few picnic benches to rest. Open shelter house.

Dual tees. Detailed map of park on each tee sign. Lots of fully grown trees used as obstacles, some protect the pin, some are in the fairways.

Even on a windy day (30 - 40 mph gusts), park was busy, not just the course, but other areas too.

For a small park, it had a nice variation of short and long holes. I was pleasantly surprised.
Cons: No elevation. Missing tee sign on # 2 red tee.

Navigation could have been better. After 3 you walk across 7 fairway to get to 4. After 9, you walk back almost the entire distance of 8 to get to the red tee. Maps do keep you straight though, even if you do have to do a little extra walking.

I could see this park being incredibly busy on a nice day. Play may be slow, or even waiting on other groups is possible.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes to note: Hole 4 starts open, but surrounding the pin is a bunch of large trees. Makes getting into the pin difficult, though you do have an opportunity to go left to right or right to left here. Hole 5 is a long hole, with no real line to the basket, as trees riddle the fairway.

I had more fun on this course vs. the other I played that day (Slatterly). I enjoyed holes 4 and 5 as noted, but none of the holes were like the last, each was different and that made game play enjoyable. When I first pulled up, I thought this would be a pitch and putt course, but some of the lengths surprised me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty fun

1    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very easy course to follow. The signs that are at each hole a terrific for those who are playing for the first time there. It was pretty difficult to get lost.

There were some nice long shots and trees. The variety of open and wooded was nice to have.

There are also two sets of tee boxes so you can play it twice and have each hole seem different.
Cons: It was a pretty busy park, not just with DGers, but with regular park goers. You will have to watch your shots to make sure that they don't get in anyones way.
Other Thoughts: Pretty easy to find, but be careful of other park goers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Choose your own par

5+    5/31/2008   1/17/2009
Review By: Crusher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Weaving in and out of trees makes some holes pretty challenging. Some longer holes.
Cons: This is a course within a park, so there is a lot of other activity going on. Make sure to not hit a volleyball or basketball player or just someone strolling the park! Don't follow the par, it is ridiculously generous. I think I par'ed the course my very first time and now if you don't shoot -10 something's wrong.
Other Thoughts: Scoring is relative, so maybe track your total score instead of under par.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 East but Not Least....

5+    8/3/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: Treewacker9
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout. Multiple concrete tees & good signs with maps. Nicely wooded holes which rewards a good throw & penalizes a bad one.
Cons: Sees a LOT of play. You'd think you're in the Metro area...It weaves in & out through the park so there's usually quite a bit of traffic,esp. on weekends. Surrounded by city streets so be wary of OB.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like East Park & apparently everyone else does too.... But aside from the course traffic, it's a solid disc golf course in an in-town park setting. I do think that they're overly generous with par there. (One of the holes is a par 6)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.