Ashtabula, OH 
Lake Shore Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
5 / 240ft.   5 / 360ft.   3 / 435ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Blue Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Over the Hills and Far Away

2-4    6/8/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 96  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) 3 sets of tees on many holes
3) 2 sets of targets on some holes
4) Numerous elevation changes
5) Stunningly scenic
6) Beach with bikini clad babes everywhere
Cons: 1) High park goer traffic
2) Lack of true dog leg holes
3) Goose poop
Other Thoughts: Wow. I traveled quite a distance to play this course blind at the Shoot the Breeze Open and I'm glad I did. What a course. Over two days, I got to shoot red tee to short target, white tee to long target, and blue tee to short target, so I got a good taste of the whole course.

The first thing I noticed upon entering the park were the hills. This course has an amazing amount of elevation changes, especially for one right on the shores of Lake Erie. These hills make up for the lack of severe dog leg holes that make other courses get high ratings. The hills add the challenge that the dog legs would normally provide. You could have a great drive, but your disc rolls down the hill. Or you could try a putt on a target perched on the crest of a hill and have it roll 50' away if you miss. This adds excitement and challenge.

The next thing I noticed was the expert placement of the tees. Because this course is on rolling hills with scattered deciduous trees, it's kind of an open style course; however, the tees are placed in such a way to force shot shaping through the trees that are there and with the shape of the hills as well. Hole 3 comes to mind.

The next huge draw for this course is the scenery. The course is located on very hilly property, but in between the course and the water is a flat strip of land with a beach. This allows for some incredible views of Lake Erie while you play. Hole 16's basket is perched high up on a hill with a breathtaking view of Lake Erie in the background. Hole 17's tees allow for a similar view. Hole 1 has you starting right by the beach, giving you optimal views of the hot babes that are present during the warmer months.

My only real complaint with the course is that on a few holes you are a little close to the public for my taste. Hole 3's blue tee is right next to a road. Hole 11's basket is right next to a road. Hole 13 has walkways alongside and criss-crossing through the fairway, hole 18's red tee is right next to a picnic shelter, etc. Just be careful and aware and you should be fine, but you might have some distractions to deal with (When I was teeing off on hole 17, some guy started leaf blowing the shelter right beside me to use for some family outing) and some time to wait for people to get out of your way.

The other complaint is the huge amount of goose poop. Not going to ding the course rating a whole lot for me, but I certainly don't like walking through it and don't relish the idea of my disc landing in it.

All in all, I would rate this course a 4.25 if they had 1/4 point ratings, but since they don't, I'm bumping it up to 4.5/5. Great course. Will be back again someday for sure!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Favorite Course

5+    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great fun with a variety of shots required and some nice bits of strategy. The three sets of tees and long and short baskets on several holes will challenge all levels while still being fun to play. I am not yet quite skilled enough to throw rollers and thumbers and the like, but the course seems to be open for a variety of shots. Some tee shots are wide open, while others are crowded by trees. Some of the holes are placed precariously along the ridge of a hill and if you are off or go for a long putt your disc can roll 100+ feet away! Great use of the hills and trees. The course spreads out well enough with holes spaced apart so as not to have lots of run-ins with other players.

The tees are really well marked and the routing is pretty easy to find (a higher-resolution map would be nice) once you get past the third hole. :)

The course has a variety of holes and shots, and was really quite fun to play. I can see driving to Ashtabula quite often despite the 40-minute drive one way.
Cons: Besides the fact that it's farther away from me than I'd like!?

There's goose poop everywhere. A few of the trees seem kind of thick, and you could lose your disc in them.

The hole locations could be marked with some fluorescent orange tape or something to make them clearer from long distances.
Other Thoughts: I've only played four courses but this is BY FAR the best. I took my nine-year-old daughter (she shot 106), my wife (she shot 108 including throwing one disc into the fenced-off area :(), and my brother-in-law (89). We all had a BLAST.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Worth the Drive

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course on Lake Erie
-Great hole layout
-3 well constructed and marked tees per hole
-Interesting hole designs
-Each hole had a Par marker and general hole layout
-Secluded from the rest of the park (for the most part)
Cons: -Some holes were difficult to navigate to.
Other Thoughts: Easily my favorite course I've played at. The hole landscaping and maitenance is phenominal. Many of the holes are on the sides of hills, which adds the aspect of landing shots flat, adding a new aspect to the game. I love this course and would easily drive 2 hours to be able to play there!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course on one of the Great Lakes

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a believer that a good course doesn't have to be necessarily super difficult or complex to play so long as it has variety and rewards skill; this course really shows that. When you play here, don't expect 500+ foot holes or super technical throws every time. What you will experience, however, is a very well-rounded 18 holes of disc golf that has:

- Three different tees (red, white, blue) for varying skill levels. Unlike some courses--which tend to just space out the three tees, this course respositions the more advanced tees into lines that are progressivly harder to hit. Also, the tees have the par/length info on them, so it's like an extra set of signs!

- Elevation is key here. Who'd have guessed that a park right next to Lake Erie would have such elevation? Shots go way uphill, way downhill, and have those rolling blind shots that are always interesting. Elevation is definitely the key signature of this park, and it doesn't disappoint.

- Water hazards (hole #8), fenced in structures, and the road all play OB for safety and strategical reasons. I'll get to the water hazard hole later, but it's definitely the best shot on the course.

- A few chances to really rip your drives and get some big air. I didn't experience any wind (thank goodness), but I can see that really affecting a round here due to the lake and the elevation changes.

- Multiple pin positions on a few holes to add difficulty.

- Concession stand, beach, and ample parking near the first tee. The views of the lake from the higher elevation holes are outstanding.
Cons: - The pars here are kind of ridiculous--even for the blue tees. If the pars are correct, I scored not one, but two of my first ever eagles* here on a pair of par 5 holes. We'll put an asterisk next to my eagles because there's no hole on this course, IMO, that are true par 5's. A lot of the holes, even for the blue tees, are antiquated for today's PDGA blue rating standards.

- Course can get very crowded. A lot of groups were playing that day. I asked if there were leagues playing, and apparently it was just a bunch of people showing up independently. Keep this in mind, as you might have to wait on some holes to throw.

- No real super duper "WOW!" holes, although I'll note some unique/fun holes below.

- Few slight doglegs come into play, but most shots are fairly straight. Some holes do pepper the fairways, but doesn't make for any impossible shooting.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes:

#3: Great roller shot--uphill with trees peppering the fairway. You have at least 5-6 lines to hit with the tee on the very top of the hill. Putting is definitely a risk/reward shot.

#8 - Water hole! from the blue tee. Power lines directly overhead make the shot almost low ceiling. Red/White tees give throwers a chance to avoid the pond altogether. Clear the pond and it's another 150 feet to the basket.

#15-18 all play up and down a giant depression in a rolling hillside. Crosswinds from the lake can really affect your shot, so throw low and adjust your nose angle accordingly!

I'm so glad I made the trip here to play. It was actually easier than I had imagined, but I still had a blast. You can tell that the course is very well-maintained by the local DG community, as there's no underbrush and the paths are clearly marked. No litter or trash to speak of and the locals are very friendly.

Fun story about the peacocks: When I was teeing off on hole 12 or 13 (I forget now), I didn't know that there were peacocks in the cage. Right as I was running up, it squawked very loud and messed up my timing. I went over to check out the beautiful creature and then teed off again. Check the peacocks out if you get a chance!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I could play here all day long!

1    5/28/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful setting: on a hilly section of a clean, well maintained, community park that overlooks Lake Eerie. Several holes feature gorgeous views of the lake.
• Relatively open for the most part, but brilliantly treed to create a challenge from every tee pad.
• Rolling terrain and elevation are a factor on pretty much every single hole. Has you throwing uphill, downhill, over gullies and rises. Pins placed on or near steep slopes make you consider upshots and placement; the consequences of missing a putt may be more than a stroke...maybe you oughta layup?
• Red, white, and blue tees offer increasing challenge and present unique looks at the basket, often bringing different trees and lines into play. All tees are concrete and well-marked with a small tile in the corner engraved with hole #, color, and distance. Most holes have three separate concrete pads, but there are four holes(7,8,13,18) where white shares either the red or blue pad, and one (11) with one pad for all layouts - clearly indicated on the tee marker tile. Water is in play on Hole 8, but only if you want to play from the blue pad; that risk is eliminated from the red/white tee.
• Four holes (3, 5, 13, 17) feature a second (longer) pin for increased challenge and variety. Depending on the tee pad, some holes play as a straight or hyzer route to one pin, but as forehand or annie shot to the other. Some locals told me they keep both baskets installed all the time. With three sets of pads and the extra pins, you can play this course several times with different layouts.
• Hole lengths may seem somewhat similar on paper, but when you consider how much longer/shorter they play because of the terrain, there's really a pretty decent balance overall. Factor in all the tees and additional baskets, and they've covered everything up to about 500 feet or so pretty well.
• Some may complain about the walk between holes, or say the course feels disjointed /lacks flow - I say hogwash. Lake Shore is wonderfully laid out to make the most of each hole and avoid stupid filler holes. Layout takes you all around the park, and over a few roads, but is well worth it IMO.
• No annoying underbrush (which really doesn't do anything to shape shots anyway) to obscure discs. Pretty much the only obstacles here are trees and terrain.
• Spread out and open layout means people familiar with the course can easily start at different holes and circle back to their car. Also makes it easy to skip holes then come back to work around slower players/large groups.
• Amenities: multiple clean rest rooms with running water, snack bar/concession stand, picnic benches, several covered pavilions, playground, plenty of paved parking, and a wonderful beach where you can take an after-round dip to cool off.
• Absolutely free - no fee for park entry, parking or to play.
• Spectacular views of Lake Eerie- what a backdrop!
Cons: Despite everything I love about this course, I can't overlook the following:
• Potential interaction between discs and cars/other park patrons is never a good thing. With the way it's laid out and all the other activity happening here, Lake Shore scores low in that aspect. Several holes play near roads, pavilions, paths, etc. Patience and caution must be exercised when playing here, as other park visitors have every right to not be part of your round.
• Most holes play relatively straight, requiring no more than moderate hyzer or annie lines to work around trees - no true doglegs or holes that require shots that hook sharply left or right at any point along the fairway. Given the other park patrons, maybe keeping shots fairly straight is a wise choice, but it detracts from disc play, nonetheless.
• Navigation: PRINT THE MAP! Map seems busy and confusing at first, but once you figure it out, it's a huge help. Admittedly, the way this course is splayed around the park, navigation is a bit tricky. However, I didn't ding my rating for this because IMO, course flow seems to have been sacrificed for individual hole quality, and doesn't really affect disc play.
Other Thoughts: Wind coming off the lake can be formidable, and can really affect how you approach a given shot.

Quite simply, this is one of the most enjoyable courses I've ever played; fun-factor is EXTREMELY high. I hit this course as an afterthought on my return from the Pittsburgh area - very glad I did, well worth the drive. A few reviews cite lack of a signature hole… perhaps none stand out as head and shoulders above the rest, but Lake Shore has many fun and challenging holes - I'm not going to ding ratings for my inability to love one more than the others. The first two cons I listed are the only things that kept me from rating it a 4.5

Searching for a championship caliber course? ...not so much.
Want a truly beautiful course that's amazingly fun? …look no further.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ON THE LAKE: WHAT A VIEW

1    7/8/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course. Easy to read signs. Multiple Tees (Red/White/Blue) makes for the chance of various skill levels to play together. Challenging short holes. Some open space to launch and a water hazard - #8 Blue Tee. Not so bad!. Just backhand or sidearm over the pond. It is fenced in so make sure you won't mind losing a disc if you miss or the wind takes it!. A very fun course to play and the walk is nice. About 3-1/2 miles to walk and the view of Lake Erie is spactacular.
Cons: Not too many. Maybehe a few benches here and there. There are pavillions scattered around so trash cans are conveniently located. Watch for "picnickers" Fri - Sun. They like to sit on the concrete tees and not move. They were there "first" ya know. Yeah like that was the best spot to sit - with a "whole park" to choose from. Give me a break.
Other Thoughts: Awesome Course. Most of the day my son and I played the white tees.Holes #1-#4 are pretty basic. Point and shoot. Get around some trees and get a par. Hole #5 get the thru the first set of trees and your on your way to the basket. Get stuck and it will be along day. The same for many of the holes on this course. If you play it right and get past the trees you can hit below par. Hole #15 - You may think you will hit the wire but you won't. It's the big oak you have to watch for. Throw 3 discs take the mulligan. It's fun launching off this tee. A good hole for 2's/3's. Hole #18 was difficult. If you play in summer the trees are heavily leaved. this hole would be better in spring/fall. Couldn't decide how to throw this one. Tomahawk might be the better choice. I threw RHBH and went threw some trees slowed down a bit. If you go down the hill to find the basket first it's a hike back up. Just Throw - Let It Go. A 3 is what I ended up with. It's respectable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    7/7/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nicely laid out and beautifully kept up. the course has a nice flow to it. the view of lake erie is gorgeous.
Cons: alot of goose poo everywhere. the pars on the tee boxes don't match the pars anywhere else.
Other Thoughts: i would play this course over and over again if i lived close to it

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Views and Fun DG

1    6/18/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Shore Park sits atop a bluff with the vast waters of Lake Erie providing a stunning backdrop. The course is very easy to get to and is well mowed and maintained.

Specific to the design of the course, water (though not the lake) is factored into several of the holes, including a few fenced areas, which pushes the risk vs. reward aspect. Although the park is mostly open, trees are included in the design of nearly every hole, creating some additional challenge. Whenever possible, the elevation changes are incorporated into the layout of the fairways, adding some more variety to the course.

Multiple concrete tees are available on every hole, with as many as three being available on any given hole. Tee signs are still in decent shape (despite being very old school) and show distance, par, intended throwing lines, and the direction of the next tee. The baskets at the course are in good condition.
Cons: The biggest danger for any DG course is that of the saftey of the general public. Several of the fairways at Lake Shore Park are too close to frequently-used public areas, paths, and pavillions with a few holes that danced a bit too close to parking lots.

Despite the use of trees and elevation, the basic design of most of the fairways are straight from the tee to the basket, with little variation in throwing lines. Additionally, even with the multiple tees, the holes are all around the same length with very few topping 400' and the vast majority at or under 300'.

Although the concrete tees are in good shape, they're quite small and can't accommodate an elongated run-up.

Even though the tee signs have a "next tee" arrow, there are a few places where navigation from the basket to the next tee is confusing (specifically going to hole #3).
Other Thoughts: One of the ponds that is incorporated into the design of the course doesn't seem to have much in the way of flowing water, so the summer months can be mosquito prone with swarms lurking around half the course.

Although no signs are posted, the main gates to the park were still closed prior to 7:00AM.

Given the straight, short layout of many of the fairways, this course would be great for newer players and provides excellent birdie and ace runs for more seasoned players. All things considered, I'd put this course at a 3.25. Because the course lacks significant variety and challenge (which I know is subjective), I'd have to log it in at a 3.0. If some of the saftey conerns were alleviated and the fairways modified to create some additional variety, there's no reason why this course shouldn't be a 3.5.

With it's proximity to Erie, PA (which is currently devoid of quality disc golf), Lake Shore Park is a very viable disc golf option for the NE Ohio/NW PA area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

2-4    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple parking lots and pavilions
- Playground for the kids and a concession stand with ice cream
- Beach for swimming and fishing
- Three sets of bathrooms!
- The map is very accurate
- Premium multiple concrete tees with a label/sign embedded in the tee itself. Most holes have three tees and some holes have two permanent basket locations.
- Accurate tee signs. Note that there is one per hole located at the original single tee position which could now be any of the three positions.
- Baskets are in excellent condition.
- Many challenging basket placements on steep hills and mounds which make you have to decide to play it safe or risk 3-putting.
- Good flow. Hole #18 ends at Hole #1 which is near the parking area/bathroom and pavilion.
- Fantastic mix of shots required. Right when you think you have this course figured out, all you have to do is switch to another tee/basket position and your entire game is changed! After three rounds mixing tee and basket position I had literally thrown every type of throw that I know the name for.
- The distances of the shots has something for everyone. Plenty of ace runs and a lot of looooong bomb shots with obstacles to get around.
- Gorgeous scenery with a very intense rolling landscape on a well manicured park and an awesome view of Lake Erie. Once here, many will say that this is the most picturesque park they've been too.
- First class upkeep
- Water obstacle for two different holes
- No vandalism
- Benches located around the course
Cons: - Busy, Busy, Busy. Very popular park for non disc golfers and disc golfers alike. You will always have to have a sharp eye out for walkers on the sidewalks and families walking outward on the grass from the many pavilions placed throughout the course.
- Even though this course is quite large, it can get very cramped. Over half of the Holes have a chance of throwing into another Hole's space. I was in a tournament there and you will constantly here, "FORE!". Just play smart when there are a lot of other groups out there. Having said that, it was a very intelligent use of the land provided for the course.
- Mosquitoes! I've never been eating alive like this before.
Other Thoughts: - Depending on what Tee/Basket combination you are hitting that day, this can be a VERY challenging course or a course that seems simpler to you. Because there are so many combinations it can be a little confusing so I highly suggest grabbing a scorecard/map from concession stand.
- This course is loaded with challenging holes, but for me the most challenging is #3. There are quite a few routes to take here and every one has a large window of opportunity to hit a tree. Not only is there a wall of trees to get through, but rolling hills and a mando on the left!
- My favorite hole is #13 from the Blue Tee (Long). The fenced in bird area along with the peacock pen and rolling hills make this the most beautiful hole here. It's long and runs up and alongside a hill with a water hazard to your right. Very difficult and intimidating but also beautiful and enjoyable.
- This is absolutely a destination course that I personally will make an attempt to travel to every year! Huge thanks to the very active club that keeps this course one of the top around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun Course from the Blue Tees

1    6/18/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is much better than its first impression as we drove into the park. The baskets looked crowded together, and wedged into the relatively open park grounds. Once we started our round, we could focus on our shots and ignore the encroaching distractions, well, at least most of them. It's near impossible to ignore the caged peacock between the number 8 and 13 tees.

We aren't especially strong players, but even for us it makes the course a lot better to play from the blues. It adds a lot of distance and challenge to the layout. Tee pads are somewhat thin and short, but well-marked with engraved insets at the back.

The grass was very well-groomed everywhere. The geese were a fun distraction on the 4th and 13th, and on the walk from the 2nd to the 3rd.

Favorite holes:

#4 slight downhill with an wide open fairway to invite a long drive, then into trees for the putt

#13 bends slightly right and uphill, with a pond framing the right side of the fairway

#18 downhill then back up again, a strong challenge to close out the round
Cons: It's hard to come up with much to say about favorite holes, and that's probably the biggest drawback to the course. The holes aren't all similar, but there aren't any great standouts either. There's very little need to stray from a favorite reliable shot off the tee or fairways - whether forehand or backhand.

Equally important, the overall layout feels uninspired. #8, for example, could be a great hole with its drive about 180 feet across a pond. But the entire pond is fenced in - almost definitely an understandable park safety measure, but it detracts from the natural design. The occasional cluster of baskets doesn't hurt the play, but again, it gives the course much more of a small-scale feel.

Even though the course is cramped, there's a couple long walks from basket to tee. And no directional signs. It would have been near impossible to figure out how to get from #2 to #3 without a scorecard. Highly recommended to pick one up at the concession stand across the road from the first tee.

The marked pars don't reflect quality disc golf standards, but that wasn't a big issue for us. None of the holes deserve a par 5, even from the blues.
Other Thoughts: The course plays primarily across two small hills, with a few nice views of Lake Erie. Lots of sidehill lies and steep slopes for the basket placements. The park has a beach with swimming, but the water is cold, even in summer. Less than 60 degrees in late June when we visited - it took me five minutes to get my head under water.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center