Ashtabula, OH 
Lake Shore Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 189ft.   3 / 228ft.   4 / 303ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good course on one of the Great Lakes

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm a believer that a good course doesn't have to be necessarily super difficult or complex to play so long as it has variety and rewards skill; this course really shows that. When you play here, don't expect 500+ foot holes or super technical throws every time. What you will experience, however, is a very well-rounded 18 holes of disc golf that has:

- Three different tees (red, white, blue) for varying skill levels. Unlike some courses--which tend to just space out the three tees, this course respositions the more advanced tees into lines that are progressivly harder to hit. Also, the tees have the par/length info on them, so it's like an extra set of signs!

- Elevation is key here. Who'd have guessed that a park right next to Lake Erie would have such elevation? Shots go way uphill, way downhill, and have those rolling blind shots that are always interesting. Elevation is definitely the key signature of this park, and it doesn't disappoint.

- Water hazards (hole #8), fenced in structures, and the road all play OB for safety and strategical reasons. I'll get to the water hazard hole later, but it's definitely the best shot on the course.

- A few chances to really rip your drives and get some big air. I didn't experience any wind (thank goodness), but I can see that really affecting a round here due to the lake and the elevation changes.

- Multiple pin positions on a few holes to add difficulty.

- Concession stand, beach, and ample parking near the first tee. The views of the lake from the higher elevation holes are outstanding.
Cons: - The pars here are kind of ridiculous--even for the blue tees. If the pars are correct, I scored not one, but two of my first ever eagles* here on a pair of par 5 holes. We'll put an asterisk next to my eagles because there's no hole on this course, IMO, that are true par 5's. A lot of the holes, even for the blue tees, are antiquated for today's PDGA blue rating standards.

- Course can get very crowded. A lot of groups were playing that day. I asked if there were leagues playing, and apparently it was just a bunch of people showing up independently. Keep this in mind, as you might have to wait on some holes to throw.

- No real super duper "WOW!" holes, although I'll note some unique/fun holes below.

- Few slight doglegs come into play, but most shots are fairly straight. Some holes do pepper the fairways, but doesn't make for any impossible shooting.
Other Thoughts: Signature holes:

#3: Great roller shot--uphill with trees peppering the fairway. You have at least 5-6 lines to hit with the tee on the very top of the hill. Putting is definitely a risk/reward shot.

#8 - Water hole! from the blue tee. Power lines directly overhead make the shot almost low ceiling. Red/White tees give throwers a chance to avoid the pond altogether. Clear the pond and it's another 150 feet to the basket.

#15-18 all play up and down a giant depression in a rolling hillside. Crosswinds from the lake can really affect your shot, so throw low and adjust your nose angle accordingly!

I'm so glad I made the trip here to play. It was actually easier than I had imagined, but I still had a blast. You can tell that the course is very well-maintained by the local DG community, as there's no underbrush and the paths are clearly marked. No litter or trash to speak of and the locals are very friendly.

Fun story about the peacocks: When I was teeing off on hole 12 or 13 (I forget now), I didn't know that there were peacocks in the cage. Right as I was running up, it squawked very loud and messed up my timing. I went over to check out the beautiful creature and then teed off again. Check the peacocks out if you get a chance!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful course

1    7/7/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nicely laid out and beautifully kept up. the course has a nice flow to it. the view of lake erie is gorgeous.
Cons: alot of goose poo everywhere. the pars on the tee boxes don't match the pars anywhere else.
Other Thoughts: i would play this course over and over again if i lived close to it

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    7/11/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course located in a nice park right on the shores of Lake Erie. Three sets of distinct concrete tees per hole really add to the value of the course, as all three layouts offer very different challenges. By itself this course would probably be a solid 3, but the addition of the teepads, the onsite concession stand, and the beach, the course gets bumped up for me. The elevation is awesome in the course, and holes 8, 13, 16, and 17 really stand out. Hole 8 requires you to carry a small pond and then play through a tight gap of trees, or go way around the trees to the right. The pro tees offer a good challenge, as I have shot around 58 both times playing the long tees, and I would consider myself a solid player. If you are in the area you should consider this course, as it is the only course in the area!
Cons: The course really doesn't feature any signature holes - as I stated above, the course itself is above average, offering three sets of distinct challenges. I have played both the pro and am tees, and some of the pro tees have become difficult because of overgrowth of trees. In particular, hole 18 doesn't appear to have a gap through the trees (my partner and I made a gap around the trees, but I don't know if that was the intention of the hole). Also, the navigation is somewhat difficult after holes 2 and 4, but just walk across the road both times and you will find the holes. Also, one of the pro tees did force you to walk back near the fairway of the prior hole (holes 6 and 7), but it wasn't that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play Lake Shore park, you won't regret it. Spend 90 minutes playing the course, and then head over to the concession stand to get some ice cream and finish it off at the beach to relax your body! All in all this is a nice course that doesn't have anything "spectacular" in terms of the holes but offers some nice amenities. Very worthy of a Very Good rating.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: AdamNaumann
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow what a great course! Sits on Lake Erie so there are great views to be had as well as some great disc golf.
Three pads for every hole, and some holes have mulitple pin locations as well.
Pad locations change the course completely. You can go from a 450'+ par 5 to a 200' par 3 in the same hole depending on which pads you play from. Great for beginners, intermediates, and pros. Wind from Lake Erie makes for some interesting shots as well. The course will never play the same twice. Great elevation shots, good tree placement for forcing accuracy, and well thought out setup makes this one of the most fun courses Ive played. Props to the designers and the "Shoot the Breeze" DG club for sponsoring and maintaining such a great course.
Cons: In a VERY busy public park with lots of other activities going on. Several time playing we had to wait on/avoid hitting other patrons of the park. However, while I put this in the con category, this was not really a problem because everyone was friendly, and most people understood what was going on and would get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: GREAT COURSE!!!! if you get to go to Ashtabula, play this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic course

1    6/4/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course in a very nice park right on Lake Erie. The course was well maintained- clean, with mowed fairways. Course plays up on and down a couple of large hills providing for nice views of the Lake from some tees. There are 3 sets of tees providing for a good variety of length and difficulty on each hole. Nice variety of holes- short/long, up/down, open/trees. The baskets are well-placed with trees to navigate around. A pond is in play on one hole. The peacock pen on the course is a unique feature!

There are other park/lake activities close by.
Cons: 3 tees per hole can actually be a little confusing. The tees sit low in the ground with no vertical signage- it was hard to find them all- we often just played from the first one we came to!
Other Thoughts: Lake Shore is a gorgeous course that is challenging and fun. I enjoyed this course a lot and would recommend it to everyone.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great scenery

2-4    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of fun, scenic holes. Somewhat technical at times. Well-designed course. Nice variation of terrain. Course is in a park, and primarily away from other activities.
Cons: The goose pond eats discs - beware! Course hops the park road a few times and you need to throw near roads for a moderate chunk of the holes.
Other Thoughts: HIlly terrain, a good mix of technical and distance holes. This course was definitely designed by a disc golfer. Full refreshment stand in the park as well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Lake is stunning

6/3/2007   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2008
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the most beautiful disc golf course I have played. It is a little confusing but the views of the lake are fabulous.
Cons: Again the layout is a little confusing. There also seems to be a peacock couple on the premises. (at least while we were there) and they were loud.
Other Thoughts: I loved this place. It was situated perfectly on our route and was well worth the stop.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.