Disc Golf Store
Ashtabula, OH 
Lake Shore Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 160ft.   3 / 184ft.   4 / 244ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New Favorite Course

5+    8/21/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great fun with a variety of shots required and some nice bits of strategy. The three sets of tees and long and short baskets on several holes will challenge all levels while still being fun to play. I am not yet quite skilled enough to throw rollers and thumbers and the like, but the course seems to be open for a variety of shots. Some tee shots are wide open, while others are crowded by trees. Some of the holes are placed precariously along the ridge of a hill and if you are off or go for a long putt your disc can roll 100+ feet away! Great use of the hills and trees. The course spreads out well enough with holes spaced apart so as not to have lots of run-ins with other players.

The tees are really well marked and the routing is pretty easy to find (a higher-resolution map would be nice) once you get past the third hole. :)

The course has a variety of holes and shots, and was really quite fun to play. I can see driving to Ashtabula quite often despite the 40-minute drive one way.
Cons: Besides the fact that it's farther away from me than I'd like!?

There's goose poop everywhere. A few of the trees seem kind of thick, and you could lose your disc in them.

The hole locations could be marked with some fluorescent orange tape or something to make them clearer from long distances.
Other Thoughts: I've only played four courses but this is BY FAR the best. I took my nine-year-old daughter (she shot 106), my wife (she shot 108 including throwing one disc into the fenced-off area :(), and my brother-in-law (89). We all had a BLAST.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I could play here all day long!

1    5/28/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful setting: on a hilly section of a clean, well maintained, community park that overlooks Lake Eerie. Several holes feature gorgeous views of the lake.
• Relatively open for the most part, but brilliantly treed to create a challenge from every tee pad.
• Rolling terrain and elevation are a factor on pretty much every single hole. Has you throwing uphill, downhill, over gullies and rises. Pins placed on or near steep slopes make you consider upshots and placement; the consequences of missing a putt may be more than a stroke...maybe you oughta layup?
• Red, white, and blue tees offer increasing challenge and present unique looks at the basket, often bringing different trees and lines into play. All tees are concrete and well-marked with a small tile in the corner engraved with hole #, color, and distance. Most holes have three separate concrete pads, but there are four holes(7,8,13,18) where white shares either the red or blue pad, and one (11) with one pad for all layouts - clearly indicated on the tee marker tile. Water is in play on Hole 8, but only if you want to play from the blue pad; that risk is eliminated from the red/white tee.
• Four holes (3, 5, 13, 17) feature a second (longer) pin for increased challenge and variety. Depending on the tee pad, some holes play as a straight or hyzer route to one pin, but as forehand or annie shot to the other. Some locals told me they keep both baskets installed all the time. With three sets of pads and the extra pins, you can play this course several times with different layouts.
• Hole lengths may seem somewhat similar on paper, but when you consider how much longer/shorter they play because of the terrain, there's really a pretty decent balance overall. Factor in all the tees and additional baskets, and they've covered everything up to about 500 feet or so pretty well.
• Some may complain about the walk between holes, or say the course feels disjointed /lacks flow - I say hogwash. Lake Shore is wonderfully laid out to make the most of each hole and avoid stupid filler holes. Layout takes you all around the park, and over a few roads, but is well worth it IMO.
• No annoying underbrush (which really doesn't do anything to shape shots anyway) to obscure discs. Pretty much the only obstacles here are trees and terrain.
• Spread out and open layout means people familiar with the course can easily start at different holes and circle back to their car. Also makes it easy to skip holes then come back to work around slower players/large groups.
• Amenities: multiple clean rest rooms with running water, snack bar/concession stand, picnic benches, several covered pavilions, playground, plenty of paved parking, and a wonderful beach where you can take an after-round dip to cool off.
• Absolutely free - no fee for park entry, parking or to play.
• Spectacular views of Lake Eerie- what a backdrop!
Cons: Despite everything I love about this course, I can't overlook the following:
• Potential interaction between discs and cars/other park patrons is never a good thing. With the way it's laid out and all the other activity happening here, Lake Shore scores low in that aspect. Several holes play near roads, pavilions, paths, etc. Patience and caution must be exercised when playing here, as other park visitors have every right to not be part of your round.
• Most holes play relatively straight, requiring no more than moderate hyzer or annie lines to work around trees - no true doglegs or holes that require shots that hook sharply left or right at any point along the fairway. Given the other park patrons, maybe keeping shots fairly straight is a wise choice, but it detracts from disc play, nonetheless.
• Navigation: PRINT THE MAP! Map seems busy and confusing at first, but once you figure it out, it's a huge help. Admittedly, the way this course is splayed around the park, navigation is a bit tricky. However, I didn't ding my rating for this because IMO, course flow seems to have been sacrificed for individual hole quality, and doesn't really affect disc play.
Other Thoughts: Wind coming off the lake can be formidable, and can really affect how you approach a given shot.

Quite simply, this is one of the most enjoyable courses I've ever played; fun-factor is EXTREMELY high. I hit this course as an afterthought on my return from the Pittsburgh area - very glad I did, well worth the drive. A few reviews cite lack of a signature hole… perhaps none stand out as head and shoulders above the rest, but Lake Shore has many fun and challenging holes - I'm not going to ding ratings for my inability to love one more than the others. The first two cons I listed are the only things that kept me from rating it a 4.5

Searching for a championship caliber course? ...not so much.
Want a truly beautiful course that's amazingly fun? …look no further.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ON THE LAKE: WHAT A VIEW

1    7/8/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course. Easy to read signs. Multiple Tees (Red/White/Blue) makes for the chance of various skill levels to play together. Challenging short holes. Some open space to launch and a water hazard - #8 Blue Tee. Not so bad!. Just backhand or sidearm over the pond. It is fenced in so make sure you won't mind losing a disc if you miss or the wind takes it!. A very fun course to play and the walk is nice. About 3-1/2 miles to walk and the view of Lake Erie is spactacular.
Cons: Not too many. Maybehe a few benches here and there. There are pavillions scattered around so trash cans are conveniently located. Watch for "picnickers" Fri - Sun. They like to sit on the concrete tees and not move. They were there "first" ya know. Yeah like that was the best spot to sit - with a "whole park" to choose from. Give me a break.
Other Thoughts: Awesome Course. Most of the day my son and I played the white tees.Holes #1-#4 are pretty basic. Point and shoot. Get around some trees and get a par. Hole #5 get the thru the first set of trees and your on your way to the basket. Get stuck and it will be along day. The same for many of the holes on this course. If you play it right and get past the trees you can hit below par. Hole #15 - You may think you will hit the wire but you won't. It's the big oak you have to watch for. Throw 3 discs take the mulligan. It's fun launching off this tee. A good hole for 2's/3's. Hole #18 was difficult. If you play in summer the trees are heavily leaved. this hole would be better in spring/fall. Couldn't decide how to throw this one. Tomahawk might be the better choice. I threw RHBH and went threw some trees slowed down a bit. If you go down the hill to find the basket first it's a hike back up. Just Throw - Let It Go. A 3 is what I ended up with. It's respectable.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic!

2-4    6/26/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Multiple parking lots and pavilions
- Playground for the kids and a concession stand with ice cream
- Beach for swimming and fishing
- Three sets of bathrooms!
- The map is very accurate
- Premium multiple concrete tees with a label/sign embedded in the tee itself. Most holes have three tees and some holes have two permanent basket locations.
- Accurate tee signs. Note that there is one per hole located at the original single tee position which could now be any of the three positions.
- Baskets are in excellent condition.
- Many challenging basket placements on steep hills and mounds which make you have to decide to play it safe or risk 3-putting.
- Good flow. Hole #18 ends at Hole #1 which is near the parking area/bathroom and pavilion.
- Fantastic mix of shots required. Right when you think you have this course figured out, all you have to do is switch to another tee/basket position and your entire game is changed! After three rounds mixing tee and basket position I had literally thrown every type of throw that I know the name for.
- The distances of the shots has something for everyone. Plenty of ace runs and a lot of looooong bomb shots with obstacles to get around.
- Gorgeous scenery with a very intense rolling landscape on a well manicured park and an awesome view of Lake Erie. Once here, many will say that this is the most picturesque park they've been too.
- First class upkeep
- Water obstacle for two different holes
- No vandalism
- Benches located around the course
Cons: - Busy, Busy, Busy. Very popular park for non disc golfers and disc golfers alike. You will always have to have a sharp eye out for walkers on the sidewalks and families walking outward on the grass from the many pavilions placed throughout the course.
- Even though this course is quite large, it can get very cramped. Over half of the Holes have a chance of throwing into another Hole's space. I was in a tournament there and you will constantly here, "FORE!". Just play smart when there are a lot of other groups out there. Having said that, it was a very intelligent use of the land provided for the course.
- Mosquitoes! I've never been eating alive like this before.
Other Thoughts: - Depending on what Tee/Basket combination you are hitting that day, this can be a VERY challenging course or a course that seems simpler to you. Because there are so many combinations it can be a little confusing so I highly suggest grabbing a scorecard/map from concession stand.
- This course is loaded with challenging holes, but for me the most challenging is #3. There are quite a few routes to take here and every one has a large window of opportunity to hit a tree. Not only is there a wall of trees to get through, but rolling hills and a mando on the left!
- My favorite hole is #13 from the Blue Tee (Long). The fenced in bird area along with the peacock pen and rolling hills make this the most beautiful hole here. It's long and runs up and alongside a hill with a water hazard to your right. Very difficult and intimidating but also beautiful and enjoyable.
- This is absolutely a destination course that I personally will make an attempt to travel to every year! Huge thanks to the very active club that keeps this course one of the top around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 wow was it windy!!

1    6/15/2007   7/25/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good course with lots of variations of shots/elevations. ob comes into play for a few holes... but the wind. wow, add a few strokes.
Other Thoughts: hooked up with a local that had a hand in the course.. great guy . I can play in wind, but this was getting crazy. another course played just passing thru on a vacation.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Shore Park Fun

5+    2/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Brillo Mick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great course! multiple tees and hilly terrain make it a very fun tough course.Starts you out on a hill and weaves throughout the park.Great Tournys ,Played in the Ice Bowl there this year .Very friendly Club.Great Lake Erie views.A few very good long holes and a couple water hazzard holes too!!A few Multi basket holes too!
Cons: Christmas lights in the winter.Bathrooms in the winter.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing here even with the 45 min drive .Well worth checking out if you are anywhere near Cleveland or Ashtabula. My favorite course that I have played in Ohio

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2009   2/24/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, interesting layout, challenging holes, many differentiated holes, great park.
Cons: wind - but that really just adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play this course more often. It's quite fun. The Shoot the Breeze Open is a great tournament run by the local club.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three Tee Pads Per Hole
Very Clean and Well Manicured
Baskets are in Great Shape
Concession Stand Near First Tee
Tee Signs on Every Hole
Great Elevation Changes
Beautiful Mature Trees Throughout
Multiple Restrooms
Picnic Areas with Grills and Pavilions
Great Views of Lake Erie
Each Tee Pad Has Par and Distance On It
Cons:
Navigation Can Be Confusing (Print Map)
Can Get Swampy After Hard Rains
Other Thoughts:
Beautiful course located right on the shores of Lake Erie. Course is beautifully maintained, and I don't remember seeing one piece of litter on the course. Course has many ammenties, pretty much anything you could really want. There was a concession stand right by the first hole as well as a picnic pavillion and bathrooms. We didn't go to the concession stand, so I'm not sure what they sell, but it is fairly large so they should have a good selection. There is plenty of parking near the first tee as well, and even though the park gets a lot of traffic from other park go-ers, the course is pretty well set away from the traffic and they won't get in the way on most holes. The course starts across the road from the concession stand, and the first hole is up the hill from the restrooms.

If you are a first timer to the course I would suggest getting a course map. There are definitly a couple places where you could find yourself looking for the next hole, and the map with also help you to locate all of the tee pads.

There are three tee pads for each hole, all are marked on the map and tee signs. Also each tee pad has the distance, par, and sponser engraved into the concrete. This was a great feature that I wish more courses would implement. It allows for only one tee sign per hole, but you still know the distance to the pin from each tee pad. Another thing that could get really confusing without a map is the two basket holes. Holes 3, 5, 13, and 17 each have two baskets that are permanent, they don't swtich back and forth, they are always there. They are marked on the map, but not on the tee signs.

As I mentioned before there are also a couple places where you might find yourself wondering where to go next. After hole #2, you will probably find yourself looking for hole #3. Behind the basket for #2, you will some stairs going up and down the hill. You will want to head down the stairs. You will see the tee pad for #3 across the park road, the basket is up near the restrooms.

After hole #4 it can start to be a bit confusing as well. You will want to head down the hill and cross the road to get to #5, not the main park road, but the side entrance, if you are looking at the basket from the tees it will be over the hill and towards the left.

For holes #6 and 7, you will want to look up towards the highway that runs next to the park. The tee pads will be in the trees near the edge of the park.

Hole #8 has a great water hazard, the long tee finds you throwing over the smaller of the two duck ponds in the park. If throwing over the pond isn't your style or you just don't feel like losing a disc, I did, then the shorter tees are on the other side of the pond.

After Hole #9 head back across the road for the rest of the holes. Navigation is pretty straight forward from this point on. There are a couple blind holes, but you should be able to see most of them without having to walk too far from the tee.

One con that I did forget to mention above was the large amount of bugs that were throughout the course. I have never seen so many bugs, there were lots of mosquitos, and they were huge, so you definitely want to bring the bug spray, and a lot of it. Another thing that I would recommend is using the restrooms at the start of the course, or the ones located near the basket for #11. DO NOT even try to go in the ones at hole #3. I got about a foot from the door and saw that they entire restroom was covered in bugs, it was insane, like something straight out of a horror flick. The other restrooms however were spotless, so just stay away from the ones near #3.

I would recommend this course to anyone. The long tees are all pretty long, but the medium and short tees allow for anyone to enjoy a round here. The wind off the lake can also add a lot of challenge to this course, even from the short tees. If it is windy, 50-60 mph is not unheard of, plan on having a rough round, but the wind can also be a much needed relief during the hot, humid months as well.

Just a little side note. When we were playing it started to rain while we finished up. We made our way to one of the pavillions to get some shelter from the rain. The rain quickly passed, cutting out much of the heat and humidity, and a giant rainbow appear over the course. It was a great end to a great day of disc golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Shoot the BREEZE!!

5/24/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful scenery. Great mix of holes. 3 sets of concrete tees for all skill levels. Very challenging greens and the wind is almost always a factor. Concession stand with food. Good bathrooms also.
Cons: Don't get to play here enough
Other Thoughts: I love Ashtabula. By far the windiest course I have ever played. Have seen the winds get up to 60 MPH here and have watched discs fly 300 feet backward. I had a putt for a 2 once on hole 1 and ended up with an 11 because the wind was so intense.

I love this course, the rolling hills, view of Lake Erie, cool duck pond, peacocks and just a great mix of holes. The greens are super fast with almost every pin placement on some sort of hill. And the wind makes putting even more of a challenge. The course is also nice because there is no thorns or nasty rough. It is all just beautiful grass everywhere. Great park that you should play. You will not be disapointed.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.