Ashtabula, OH 
Lake Shore Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 160ft.   3 / 184ft.   4 / 244ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 White Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 passing through

1    4/21/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great park - easy to find off I-90. Holes flow well. most have 3 tees, some have 2 baskets - easy to adjust to different levels (I was with a newbie). Wide open, rolling terrain. Tough to lose a disc - no undergrowth, only water hazards.
Cons: very wet/muddy in spring. no map available - too early in season. Could see multiple baskets from some tees and confusing which was which.
Other Thoughts: Will definitely come back in drier weather. If you are flying down I-90, stop for a round!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 wow was it windy!!

1    6/15/2007   7/25/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good course with lots of variations of shots/elevations. ob comes into play for a few holes... but the wind. wow, add a few strokes.
Other Thoughts: hooked up with a local that had a hand in the course.. great guy . I can play in wind, but this was getting crazy. another course played just passing thru on a vacation.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    7/11/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 139  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course located in a nice park right on the shores of Lake Erie. Three sets of distinct concrete tees per hole really add to the value of the course, as all three layouts offer very different challenges. By itself this course would probably be a solid 3, but the addition of the teepads, the onsite concession stand, and the beach, the course gets bumped up for me. The elevation is awesome in the course, and holes 8, 13, 16, and 17 really stand out. Hole 8 requires you to carry a small pond and then play through a tight gap of trees, or go way around the trees to the right. The pro tees offer a good challenge, as I have shot around 58 both times playing the long tees, and I would consider myself a solid player. If you are in the area you should consider this course, as it is the only course in the area!
Cons: The course really doesn't feature any signature holes - as I stated above, the course itself is above average, offering three sets of distinct challenges. I have played both the pro and am tees, and some of the pro tees have become difficult because of overgrowth of trees. In particular, hole 18 doesn't appear to have a gap through the trees (my partner and I made a gap around the trees, but I don't know if that was the intention of the hole). Also, the navigation is somewhat difficult after holes 2 and 4, but just walk across the road both times and you will find the holes. Also, one of the pro tees did force you to walk back near the fairway of the prior hole (holes 6 and 7), but it wasn't that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play Lake Shore park, you won't regret it. Spend 90 minutes playing the course, and then head over to the concession stand to get some ice cream and finish it off at the beach to relax your body! All in all this is a nice course that doesn't have anything "spectacular" in terms of the holes but offers some nice amenities. Very worthy of a Very Good rating.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Shore Park Fun

5+    2/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Brillo Mick
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a great course! multiple tees and hilly terrain make it a very fun tough course.Starts you out on a hill and weaves throughout the park.Great Tournys ,Played in the Ice Bowl there this year .Very friendly Club.Great Lake Erie views.A few very good long holes and a couple water hazzard holes too!!A few Multi basket holes too!
Cons: Christmas lights in the winter.Bathrooms in the winter.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing here even with the 45 min drive .Well worth checking out if you are anywhere near Cleveland or Ashtabula. My favorite course that I have played in Ohio

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/11/2009   2/24/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, interesting layout, challenging holes, many differentiated holes, great park.
Cons: wind - but that really just adds to the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Wish I could play this course more often. It's quite fun. The Shoot the Breeze Open is a great tournament run by the local club.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/26/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: AdamNaumann
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow what a great course! Sits on Lake Erie so there are great views to be had as well as some great disc golf.
Three pads for every hole, and some holes have mulitple pin locations as well.
Pad locations change the course completely. You can go from a 450'+ par 5 to a 200' par 3 in the same hole depending on which pads you play from. Great for beginners, intermediates, and pros. Wind from Lake Erie makes for some interesting shots as well. The course will never play the same twice. Great elevation shots, good tree placement for forcing accuracy, and well thought out setup makes this one of the most fun courses Ive played. Props to the designers and the "Shoot the Breeze" DG club for sponsoring and maintaining such a great course.
Cons: In a VERY busy public park with lots of other activities going on. Several time playing we had to wait on/avoid hitting other patrons of the park. However, while I put this in the con category, this was not really a problem because everyone was friendly, and most people understood what was going on and would get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: GREAT COURSE!!!! if you get to go to Ashtabula, play this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

1    6/20/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three Tee Pads Per Hole
Very Clean and Well Manicured
Baskets are in Great Shape
Concession Stand Near First Tee
Tee Signs on Every Hole
Great Elevation Changes
Beautiful Mature Trees Throughout
Multiple Restrooms
Picnic Areas with Grills and Pavilions
Great Views of Lake Erie
Each Tee Pad Has Par and Distance On It
Cons:
Navigation Can Be Confusing (Print Map)
Can Get Swampy After Hard Rains
Other Thoughts:
Beautiful course located right on the shores of Lake Erie. Course is beautifully maintained, and I don't remember seeing one piece of litter on the course. Course has many ammenties, pretty much anything you could really want. There was a concession stand right by the first hole as well as a picnic pavillion and bathrooms. We didn't go to the concession stand, so I'm not sure what they sell, but it is fairly large so they should have a good selection. There is plenty of parking near the first tee as well, and even though the park gets a lot of traffic from other park go-ers, the course is pretty well set away from the traffic and they won't get in the way on most holes. The course starts across the road from the concession stand, and the first hole is up the hill from the restrooms.

If you are a first timer to the course I would suggest getting a course map. There are definitly a couple places where you could find yourself looking for the next hole, and the map with also help you to locate all of the tee pads.

There are three tee pads for each hole, all are marked on the map and tee signs. Also each tee pad has the distance, par, and sponser engraved into the concrete. This was a great feature that I wish more courses would implement. It allows for only one tee sign per hole, but you still know the distance to the pin from each tee pad. Another thing that could get really confusing without a map is the two basket holes. Holes 3, 5, 13, and 17 each have two baskets that are permanent, they don't swtich back and forth, they are always there. They are marked on the map, but not on the tee signs.

As I mentioned before there are also a couple places where you might find yourself wondering where to go next. After hole #2, you will probably find yourself looking for hole #3. Behind the basket for #2, you will some stairs going up and down the hill. You will want to head down the stairs. You will see the tee pad for #3 across the park road, the basket is up near the restrooms.

After hole #4 it can start to be a bit confusing as well. You will want to head down the hill and cross the road to get to #5, not the main park road, but the side entrance, if you are looking at the basket from the tees it will be over the hill and towards the left.

For holes #6 and 7, you will want to look up towards the highway that runs next to the park. The tee pads will be in the trees near the edge of the park.

Hole #8 has a great water hazard, the long tee finds you throwing over the smaller of the two duck ponds in the park. If throwing over the pond isn't your style or you just don't feel like losing a disc, I did, then the shorter tees are on the other side of the pond.

After Hole #9 head back across the road for the rest of the holes. Navigation is pretty straight forward from this point on. There are a couple blind holes, but you should be able to see most of them without having to walk too far from the tee.

One con that I did forget to mention above was the large amount of bugs that were throughout the course. I have never seen so many bugs, there were lots of mosquitos, and they were huge, so you definitely want to bring the bug spray, and a lot of it. Another thing that I would recommend is using the restrooms at the start of the course, or the ones located near the basket for #11. DO NOT even try to go in the ones at hole #3. I got about a foot from the door and saw that they entire restroom was covered in bugs, it was insane, like something straight out of a horror flick. The other restrooms however were spotless, so just stay away from the ones near #3.

I would recommend this course to anyone. The long tees are all pretty long, but the medium and short tees allow for anyone to enjoy a round here. The wind off the lake can also add a lot of challenge to this course, even from the short tees. If it is windy, 50-60 mph is not unheard of, plan on having a rough round, but the wind can also be a much needed relief during the hot, humid months as well.

Just a little side note. When we were playing it started to rain while we finished up. We made our way to one of the pavillions to get some shelter from the rain. The rain quickly passed, cutting out much of the heat and humidity, and a giant rainbow appear over the course. It was a great end to a great day of disc golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic course

1    6/4/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course in a very nice park right on Lake Erie. The course was well maintained- clean, with mowed fairways. Course plays up on and down a couple of large hills providing for nice views of the Lake from some tees. There are 3 sets of tees providing for a good variety of length and difficulty on each hole. Nice variety of holes- short/long, up/down, open/trees. The baskets are well-placed with trees to navigate around. A pond is in play on one hole. The peacock pen on the course is a unique feature!

There are other park/lake activities close by.
Cons: 3 tees per hole can actually be a little confusing. The tees sit low in the ground with no vertical signage- it was hard to find them all- we often just played from the first one we came to!
Other Thoughts: Lake Shore is a gorgeous course that is challenging and fun. I enjoyed this course a lot and would recommend it to everyone.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, great scenery

2-4    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of fun, scenic holes. Somewhat technical at times. Well-designed course. Nice variation of terrain. Course is in a park, and primarily away from other activities.
Cons: The goose pond eats discs - beware! Course hops the park road a few times and you need to throw near roads for a moderate chunk of the holes.
Other Thoughts: HIlly terrain, a good mix of technical and distance holes. This course was definitely designed by a disc golfer. Full refreshment stand in the park as well.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shoot the BREEZE!!

5/24/2008   5/29/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 20 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful scenery. Great mix of holes. 3 sets of concrete tees for all skill levels. Very challenging greens and the wind is almost always a factor. Concession stand with food. Good bathrooms also.
Cons: Don't get to play here enough
Other Thoughts: I love Ashtabula. By far the windiest course I have ever played. Have seen the winds get up to 60 MPH here and have watched discs fly 300 feet backward. I had a putt for a 2 once on hole 1 and ended up with an 11 because the wind was so intense.

I love this course, the rolling hills, view of Lake Erie, cool duck pond, peacocks and just a great mix of holes. The greens are super fast with almost every pin placement on some sort of hill. And the wind makes putting even more of a challenge. The course is also nice because there is no thorns or nasty rough. It is all just beautiful grass everywhere. Great park that you should play. You will not be disapointed.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.