Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    2/27/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 225  Reviewed: 223  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's hard not give this course credit for offering something that no other course does in the area. This course has trees. It forcers discers to throw lines. After a full day in South Florida, this was very much needed. I can appreciate a mostly open course, especially if has a lot of water, aesthetic beauty and hopefully some elevation. But for me, it's just more fun when I'm bending a disc around a certain point in the fairway. If I'd played this in North Carolina, I would have considered it average. In South Florida, I was thrilled.
It does have a little water, however. 1 is the best of those holes, it sports a nice carry and a half, with the basket on the left of the second inlet you cross. A safely placed first shot will cross water and leave you with an approach that could traverse the second carry and fade left or approach the basket straight over land. An excellent first drive will carry both bodies of water and fade towards the basket.
5 is monster carry that makes less sense at this course but 6 offers a nice choice between hyzering over the water and approaching safely over land, but the land shot require switching to forehand.
But forget the water, if you're discing here, you're looking for the treed holes. There isn't really a signature hole among them. They are pretty much all solid but unremarkable. Adequately placed, with identifiable fairways and in some cases a choice of gaps.
It's a fun play, but nothing that you will remember at the end of the day. Unless you've never played north of here. Still, probably my favorite of the older courses in the area.
Cons: No way to tell which position the pin is in and the baskets do blend in to the background. It would be nice to add some color there are a system of indicating the position on the tee sign.
Typically, the nest tee is visible from the previous basket but for the few times it isn't, an arrow or colored spoke would be welcome.
There are a few occasions where imperfect shots cross into the fairways of adjacent holes. There is also 17, which runs along a fence that will trouble inexperienced RHBH throwers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    1/29/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 128  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is far more wooded than the other courses I encountered in the Ft Lauderdale area. The rough is not bad, and finding your disc is not too much trouble.

The holes tend to be pretty short, so birdie opportunities abound.

You'll have some good technical shots here, and the all-out bomber will not be rewarded on most holes.

Tee pads are concrete. Tee signs are mediocre.
Navigation is decent. although the transition from 13 to 14 wasn't obvious, and going from 1 to 2 was confusing at first.
Cons: The water holes here are strangely designed. I spent a minute or two trying to figure out what kind of shot I was supposed to throw on the first hole. You can't really lay on the little peninsula straight ahead, and unless you have a big arm, there isn't a legit line.

Holes 4 and 5 have big water carries, but the gaps look like you could easily get knocked into the water with a ticky tack branch. All three water carries favor RHBH if you're going for the big throw.

Some of the wooded holes lack a real line.

Hole 17 is right next to a fence with rail road tracks on the other side. Bad design. I just threw a forehand roller and moved on.

No real elevation here.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure who this course is intended for. Rec players will definitely lose discs to the water. Advanced players will find the holes too short to be interesting.

I like that they found a place to put in a technical course, and honestly it was enjoyable. But it all feels a little crammed in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tricky, Wooded Course

5+    1/10/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: AS_Gator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly short holes, but still challenging because of the amount of trees. It also has some nicely set up holes with shots over the lake.
I appreciate this course because it involves throws that are risky but can lead to plenty of birdies.
Cons: Trees. Avoid this course if you get aggravated easily when you hit a tree, because it will happen. It almost seems that there are no true "fairways", but there is enough spacing in the trees for a well placed shot.

It's a small park, so the design can get tight especially on the back nine. Also, some holes are situated too close to the fence, where you can nail the fence off your drive and birdie the hole.

Not the most well maintained park.
Other Thoughts: Unique park that gets the most use from Disc golfers. Located next to the railroad tracks and I-95. It is not the cleanest or nicest park in the area, the lake is an ugly shade of brown.

Overall, I like the challenge to this course. It is unlike any course in Broward County, but it could definitely be better if the park was larger.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

5+    2/14/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 85  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New baskets, cement tee pads, tee signs also indicate next tee direction, restrooms. Mix of short open holes and light woods. Large lake adds to aesthetics and challenge with three shots that the lake comes into play. Free to enter park on weekdays.
Cons: Busy multi use park. Watch for walkers, soccer balls, etc.
Other Thoughts: Small park with short fun holes. $1.50 each to enter weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby at all

5+    1/31/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've done well laying out the course with the space they have to work with, while on the weekend you may encounter groups of people and may have to wait on some to get out of your way, I haven't had any unreasonable delays.

Variety; depending on where the pole holes are at the time, there are straight shots, dog legs in both directions, water hazards, and the occasional grumpy goose or psychotic squirrel running around.

The course requires a bit of finesse in some areas, a good challenge

Decent signage
Cons: The back 9 (and some of the front) is very woody; while I personally consider this a plus, I can see many getting quite frustrated at continually whacking trees with discs, as stated above, a degree of finesse is required here - if you're looking to grip it and rip it, go up to Tradewinds.

Closes at 6pm, only enough time to get 1 round in after work.

On weekends in addition to paying the (cheap) $1.50 fee, you may have to deal with groups of kids and families, dogs, etc.

Holes 16 & 17 are close to the fence; be wary on 17 especially as a hard hook left will send you over the fence near the railroad tracks & of course, you aren't *supposed* to climb the fence for retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I'm still new to the sport, and have only played here & at Tradewinds however, I like Easterlin a great deal; while compact and a little confusing in places, once you've been there a couple times you can easily find your way around - rumor has it they'll be installing concrete tees soon too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Round

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs, not bad tee pads (rugs); Great over-the-lake tosses. Well maintained when I played (January 2012), decent flow to the course.
Cons: A little tight on the back nine through the woods, but there are certainly playable lanes to the hole. Tee pads could get messy after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Used to come to this park years ago (pre-DG course); Course seems to have really helped in cleaning up the park - really enjoyed our time here. Would give it a 3.75 if I could.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible

1    4/24/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Only a couple holes here that I enjoyed. One was over a body of water where the hole was between two small trees. Other things to do at this park and it did seem like a nice place to relax.
Cons: Not well maintained at all. If you don't bring a map of the course you will be lost looking for the next tee. Far too many holes that have no line to the basket. Just clusters of trees that make it impossible to reach the basket. Roll shots are your best option for about half the course and even then there is no guarantee your getting set up for birdie. Very short holes as well. Too many holes under 200 ft. Some holes even had 2 baskets set up that got confusing. I would not play this course again unless someone was to redesign it. Seems like you could cut a few trees down and move a few holes to get a much better experience. Just a thought.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Easterlin Park DGC

2-4    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Disckid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This disc golf course is a course that has a lot of variaty to the types of shots you need to take. To real have a good round, you need to be able to have a strong strait, hyzer, and anhyzer shot in your inventory to come out on top.
Another thing that also makes this course unique is that there are a variety of different types of holes. Some holes are wide open, some are wooded, and you will also need to throw directly over water on a handful of holes.
Another thing that I liked about the course is that you have several options that you can take to get to the basket on a select few holes. For example, on hole 6, you have the option to throw from left to right around a string of trees or you could risk it to throw right over the water to make an ace run for the basket.
Cons: I could only find a few cons about this course. One thing I wouldve liked would be longer holes. Im only fourteen and I could throw comet or a buzz and easily reach the basket
One other con about the course is the tee pads. They weren't horrible, but having carpet as a tee in the middle of a park was just different if you asked me
Other Thoughts: This course is one that if you live in the Broward County area, this is a course to check out. It`s $1:50 per person, but that isn't a bad price. All I can say is to give it a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/11/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course the average player in the area is going to enjoy the most. You don't have to have a canon to reach any of the pins. There is enough variety to keep the course interesting (just missing length). This course will test your short game. You can tell a lot of thought went into the layout as there are many holes that are short but challenging due to the pin being placed in a difficult spot to reach on account of trees. The water is in play in some creative ways that really make you pick your line carefully and you will end up in the water if you pick the wrong line or pull it to close to the trees. Friendly players on the course and a place for disc lost and found. There actually are a few honest people on this course who will call and return your discs.
Cons: Tees could use updating. Spiders all over the woods so watch out. Train tracks with speedy trains with a forest of spiders over the fence on hole 17 so watch out. There are 1-2 holes on the back nine where the trees are on the ridiculous side with no obvious route to the pin whatsoever. Those become more a game of luck than skill for most players.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that has everything that would tell you your score is going to be good and then throw out just enough tree limbs and water to fight you all along the way. Accuracy pays a premium on this course and make sure to bring a disc you can throw with confidence over the water and finish left.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Make the Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is all about the trees. "Don't hit wood and you do good" is my slogan. Most pins give you Birdie opportunities if you manuever between trees.
A good course for the finese player and those who can't throw 300 feet.
Shade is welcome during hot Florida summers. Good drainage following rain.
Scenic, with wildlife living there.
Multiple basket positions keeps course interesting.Discs easily found,except if they go in lake

Cons: Terrible pads. Carpet with roots under them or holes in dirt at end can be dangerous. Impossible to find Pro pads. Takes time to learn tees and pads, Woods full of spiders, beware of webs in back 9. Murky lake is shallow but discs can't be seen even if 3 feet from shore.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to have discs that float-Dragons, Hydra, etc as at least 2 holes (3 and 5) force you to throw over lake. That's about the only chance to "let it rip" as trees stop long shots at other pins.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center