Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #10 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 152ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Technical-Wooded Course!

2-4    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded course in south Florida!
- Tight lines off the tee; the course demands percision accuracy.
- Good mix of both hyser and anhyser lines.
- Water adds a good (but not impossible) challenge for 4 holes and then the rest are wooded.
- Plastic poles with bolt at each water hole allow for assisted disc retrieval.
- Good map at the start; signs, tee pads, and pins all in good condition.
- Clean and very well maintained with bathrooms and trash cans.
- Friendly/helpful locals!
Cons: - Course not ideal for beginners because of the narrow fairways and tight wooded lines.
- The course is short; none of these holes will test your arm (for distance).
- Close fence line on a couple holes presents a problem; the fence along the 17th hole is also barbed.
- Possibility to throw near campsites and walkers.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: It is a wooded course in SOFLO so you got to check it out. Hole 18 was my favorite because of the beautiful trees and incredibly tight fairway. This is a great course to work on the timing of your release.

This is a good technical course, which compliments Tradewinds since it is a big open course only 15 minutes away. Playing both Easterlin and Tradewinds in the same day made for a great day of DG!!! I will be back to Easterlin soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Course

2-4    1/17/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Well maintained
Bathrooms and water fountain available.
Good mix of left and right shots
benches at each tee pad
Trash Bins everywhere
Concrete pads
lots of tight technical shots through the woods
Locals were nice
Beautiful trees and wildlife

Cons: Course design had people throwing towards one another several times.
Water challenge has no build up, it consumes most of the first 5 shots.
Water is hard to deal with if you have to, even rollers vanish in it..VERY murky. No gators though so people were giving it a go.
Finding some pads is not that easy but the course is so tight that you will eventually find it.
Tee pads were close to the previous pad's basket, causing concern.
Other Thoughts: No Open Bomb shots (You don't really even need a driver here)

This course has really short shots (250' avg?), so you wind up finishing it faster than you expect and you'll want to play another round because you have so much time left. An hour away from my house, so I may only visit here for events.

Overall, It was a pleasant course. No Epic holes really, just nice short shots that sometimes require some finesse and a few over the water that require a little more oomph.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

1    12/12/2015   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 89  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course, a prototypical par 54, with Chainstar baskets in fair shape. Course starts out with a mix of slightly more open holes with some trees and intimidating water carries (always fun) then you get into the woods for a short yet tight back nine. The water carries are long but not too long. No hole really stands out, but it is a string of solid holes that with good, precise drives will yield you some birdie opportunities. Tee signs are pretty accurate (but see cons). Well shaded, nice to play on those days when it is brutal and you still have the urge to throw.
Cons: Some of the back nine plays close to a fence that you're not supposed to go over. The biggest concern with that fence would be hole 17. It is not the best design, and that fence can't be more than 8-10 feet high, so either keep it low, or better yet, throw a roller if you have one. That's what I should have done. The holes on the back nine are really tight, and so if there are groups nearby, give them the few minutes to clear out before playing the next hole (esp. 11 and 15). Tee sign does not tell you what position the basket is in. Also be careful with the entrance road that comes into play on a few holes (1 and 9 come to my mind).
Other Thoughts: I want to give the locals credit for doing something with the land. By all means this is no destination course, but it is fun if you want to break out the midranges, the putters, and a few "no biggie if this goes in the lake" discs and go have some fun. When I get settled down here, I will be back, and if you're in the area and want to throw a round, give Easterlin a try.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good course, great locals

1    10/4/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Holes that bend left and right
-Active local crowd of friendly, dedicated golfers
-Color score card and map available at entrance
-Almost every hole has a fair line
-Nice use of water and trees to add challenge to an otherwise flat plot of land
-Plenty of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines
-It's pretty easy to find discs in the rough
-No fire ants, unlike other courses I've played in FL
-While there is only one tee per hole, each hole has multiple pin positions and they supposedly change them regularly.
Cons: -It's pretty easy to lose discs several of the water carries.
-Navigation would have been hard if I hadn't played my round with a really nice group of locals. I can't detail this because I was chauffeured from hole to hole by four great guys.
-The fairways are a little too tight on a couple of holes, but this course is about accuracy, not distance. And you don't get punished that badly for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting family. I showed up at 8AM on a Sunday and there saw one group of 10 people and was quickly invited to join another group of 4. I had a fantastic time playing with Dan, Jake, David, and Paul. Great guys and they took great care of me. Hanging with them made navigation a breeze, they showed me the lines on every hole, and helped me look for my disc that went in the lake.

Most of the holes are about 250 feet. Trees and water carries add challenge to the course, which is a nice change of pace compared to Tradewinds. I really like the flow of the course and how there are no long walks between holes. It's scenic and the shade is very pleasant. The cypress roots are really cool. The $1.50 I spent was a total bargain. This makes for a great local course and certainly worth a 30 minute drive for someone in the area. It's right off I-95 and anyone looking to play should make the trip.

This course could easily reach a 3.5 if navigation was improved. The tee signs are good, but it's hard to find the next hole and see some of the baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Cypress sanctuary course

5+    5/25/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: Wook1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting little 18 hole course, perfect for playing multiple rounds in a day as well to disc down and leave the drivers at home. This course requires and rewards finesse over distance. 2 pin placements on each hole, layout rotates once a month. Most holes are in the 150-250 range depending on pin placement. Easterlin is on the shorter side,but the tight cypress trees force concentrations and planning lines before each throw. In the last year or two there was a redesign of park roads slightly changing the layout. First hole is one of the changes and IMO the one I see most people going into the drink. Tee off to left of practice basket, really fun throw.It plays over water, a small peninsula, and water again. Option to go for it or lay up to next peninsula for the easy 3 (and no lost plastic).I really like how the water hazards are incorporated here, with each tempting the throw over but also giving you a fair "safer" route over land. Hole 6 is a perfect example, with two distinct options. RHBH hyzer out over the water or a longer RHFH out around guardian plams. Holes 8-11 are all mid/putter shots with a few possible ace runs if your on point. Especially 10, basket is next to OB chain link fence that substitutes for a nice backboard. 16 in B is one of my favorites at easterlin, very tight lines and lets you use a fairway driver off the tee. Pin is nestled back in the corner of fence.

Great local crowd, always friendly & welcoming to new comers.

Perfect for FL summer heat/sun, thick cypress canopy gives valuable shade during rounds.

Very little "rough" & only a few places to deal with the jungle in the event of a poor throw.

Trash and recycle bins throughout the 18
Cons: IMO some holes/fairways are too close to each other, 6-7 comes to mind. If you throw in the pond chances are you probably won't see that plastic again, very murky/brown water. No pin placement info at tee areas
Other Thoughts: I'm always jealous of the locals and all their custom carts/strollers

There is a store at the corner of powerline that sells disc.

$1.50 on weekends & holidays -free all other days

Thursday random draw dubs round @ 5pm

Sunday random draw dubs round @ 10am

Campsites and RV sites available on location.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    2/27/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 275  Reviewed: 274  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's hard not give this course credit for offering something that no other course does in the area. This course has trees. It forcers discers to throw lines. After a full day in South Florida, this was very much needed. I can appreciate a mostly open course, especially if has a lot of water, aesthetic beauty and hopefully some elevation. But for me, it's just more fun when I'm bending a disc around a certain point in the fairway. If I'd played this in North Carolina, I would have considered it average. In South Florida, I was thrilled.
It does have a little water, however. 1 is the best of those holes, it sports a nice carry and a half, with the basket on the left of the second inlet you cross. A safely placed first shot will cross water and leave you with an approach that could traverse the second carry and fade left or approach the basket straight over land. An excellent first drive will carry both bodies of water and fade towards the basket.
5 is monster carry that makes less sense at this course but 6 offers a nice choice between hyzering over the water and approaching safely over land, but the land shot require switching to forehand.
But forget the water, if you're discing here, you're looking for the treed holes. There isn't really a signature hole among them. They are pretty much all solid but unremarkable. Adequately placed, with identifiable fairways and in some cases a choice of gaps.
It's a fun play, but nothing that you will remember at the end of the day. Unless you've never played north of here. Still, probably my favorite of the older courses in the area.
Cons: No way to tell which position the pin is in and the baskets do blend in to the background. It would be nice to add some color there are a system of indicating the position on the tee sign.
Typically, the nest tee is visible from the previous basket but for the few times it isn't, an arrow or colored spoke would be welcome.
There are a few occasions where imperfect shots cross into the fairways of adjacent holes. There is also 17, which runs along a fence that will trouble inexperienced RHBH throwers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    1/29/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 156  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is far more wooded than the other courses I encountered in the Ft Lauderdale area. The rough is not bad, and finding your disc is not too much trouble.

The holes tend to be pretty short, so birdie opportunities abound.

You'll have some good technical shots here, and the all-out bomber will not be rewarded on most holes.

Tee pads are concrete. Tee signs are mediocre.
Navigation is decent. although the transition from 13 to 14 wasn't obvious, and going from 1 to 2 was confusing at first.
Cons: The water holes here are strangely designed. I spent a minute or two trying to figure out what kind of shot I was supposed to throw on the first hole. You can't really lay on the little peninsula straight ahead, and unless you have a big arm, there isn't a legit line.

Holes 4 and 5 have big water carries, but the gaps look like you could easily get knocked into the water with a ticky tack branch. All three water carries favor RHBH if you're going for the big throw.

Some of the wooded holes lack a real line.

Hole 17 is right next to a fence with rail road tracks on the other side. Bad design. I just threw a forehand roller and moved on.

No real elevation here.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure who this course is intended for. Rec players will definitely lose discs to the water. Advanced players will find the holes too short to be interesting.

I like that they found a place to put in a technical course, and honestly it was enjoyable. But it all feels a little crammed in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tricky, Wooded Course

5+    1/10/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: AS_Gator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly short holes, but still challenging because of the amount of trees. It also has some nicely set up holes with shots over the lake.
I appreciate this course because it involves throws that are risky but can lead to plenty of birdies.
Cons: Trees. Avoid this course if you get aggravated easily when you hit a tree, because it will happen. It almost seems that there are no true "fairways", but there is enough spacing in the trees for a well placed shot.

It's a small park, so the design can get tight especially on the back nine. Also, some holes are situated too close to the fence, where you can nail the fence off your drive and birdie the hole.

Not the most well maintained park.
Other Thoughts: Unique park that gets the most use from Disc golfers. Located next to the railroad tracks and I-95. It is not the cleanest or nicest park in the area, the lake is an ugly shade of brown.

Overall, I like the challenge to this course. It is unlike any course in Broward County, but it could definitely be better if the park was larger.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

5+    2/14/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 123  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 22.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Baskets are still in good shape, cement tee pads, tee signs also indicate next tee direction, clean restrooms. Mix of short open holes and light woods. Large lake adds to aesthetics and challenge with three shots that the lake comes into play. Free to enter park on weekdays. Practice basket by hole 1. Lots of challenge despite the small size of the park. Hole 1 starts right off with a tight long water shot. Holes 2 & 3 give you a taste of the wooded holes to come. Hole 5 is a bit more open of a signature RHBH hyzer bomb over the water and a real forehand or turnover test for a lefty. Another signature hole would be 6 as the basket is hiding in the palm bushes across the lake with options of a RHBH over the water or a lefty land route. Holes 10 - 18 go into the cypress trees where your shot shaping skills will be tested by some tight lines. No heavy rough to hide discs that may smack a tree and fly off the fairway.
Cons: Busy multi use park. Watch for walkers, soccer balls, etc. Only one tee pad per hole.
Other Thoughts: Small park with short fun holes and lots of shade. Close to Turnpike & I95 make this a good choice for visitors from out of town. $1.50 each to enter weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby at all

5+    1/31/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 27  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've done well laying out the course with the space they have to work with, while on the weekend you may encounter groups of people and may have to wait on some to get out of your way, I haven't had any unreasonable delays.

Variety; depending on where the pole holes are at the time, there are straight shots, dog legs in both directions, water hazards, and the occasional grumpy goose or psychotic squirrel running around.

The course requires a bit of finesse in some areas, a good challenge

Decent signage
Cons: The back 9 (and some of the front) is very woody; while I personally consider this a plus, I can see many getting quite frustrated at continually whacking trees with discs, as stated above, a degree of finesse is required here - if you're looking to grip it and rip it, go up to Tradewinds.

Closes at 6pm, only enough time to get 1 round in after work.

On weekends in addition to paying the (cheap) $1.50 fee, you may have to deal with groups of kids and families, dogs, etc.

Holes 16 & 17 are close to the fence; be wary on 17 especially as a hard hook left will send you over the fence near the railroad tracks & of course, you aren't *supposed* to climb the fence for retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I'm still new to the sport, and have only played here & at Tradewinds however, I like Easterlin a great deal; while compact and a little confusing in places, once you've been there a couple times you can easily find your way around - rumor has it they'll be installing concrete tees soon too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center