Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #4 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    2/27/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's hard not give this course credit for offering something that no other course does in the area. This course has trees. It forcers discers to throw lines. After a full day in South Florida, this was very much needed. I can appreciate a mostly open course, especially if has a lot of water, aesthetic beauty and hopefully some elevation. But for me, it's just more fun when I'm bending a disc around a certain point in the fairway. If I'd played this in North Carolina, I would have considered it average. In South Florida, I was thrilled.
It does have a little water, however. 1 is the best of those holes, it sports a nice carry and a half, with the basket on the left of the second inlet you cross. A safely placed first shot will cross water and leave you with an approach that could traverse the second carry and fade left or approach the basket straight over land. An excellent first drive will carry both bodies of water and fade towards the basket.
5 is monster carry that makes less sense at this course but 6 offers a nice choice between hyzering over the water and approaching safely over land, but the land shot require switching to forehand.
But forget the water, if you're discing here, you're looking for the treed holes. There isn't really a signature hole among them. They are pretty much all solid but unremarkable. Adequately placed, with identifiable fairways and in some cases a choice of gaps.
It's a fun play, but nothing that you will remember at the end of the day. Unless you've never played north of here. Still, probably my favorite of the older courses in the area.
Cons: No way to tell which position the pin is in and the baskets do blend in to the background. It would be nice to add some color there are a system of indicating the position on the tee sign.
Typically, the nest tee is visible from the previous basket but for the few times it isn't, an arrow or colored spoke would be welcome.
There are a few occasions where imperfect shots cross into the fairways of adjacent holes. There is also 17, which runs along a fence that will trouble inexperienced RHBH throwers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/14/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 103  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 21.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New baskets, cement tee pads, tee signs also indicate next tee direction, restrooms. Mix of short open holes and light woods. Large lake adds to aesthetics and challenge with three shots that the lake comes into play. Free to enter park on weekdays.
Cons: Busy multi use park. Watch for walkers, soccer balls, etc.
Other Thoughts: Small park with short fun holes. $1.50 each to enter weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for local arborists or individuals wanting to work on accuracy...

1    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice signs at each hole
2. Course map at office
3. Lots of shade for the summer months
4. Multiple basket positions
5. Friendly local disc golfers
Cons: 1. Majority of holes are shorter distances
2. Course map at office has error where tee pads for 8 and 6 are swapped and mixed up #'s 11, 12, & 13
3. Baskets don't have numbers on them
4. Tee pads are carpet pads, not cement
5. Crowded areas around holes 5-8 due to picnic areas, park patrons, and slight mixing of fairway for holes 6 and 7
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing the course, and I had a nice round with my wife and parents. We found the locals to be quite friendly and helpful. The course layout was good (takes advantage of limited space), but not great as there were a few holes where fairways were shared (6+7 & 11+12).
The water holes were fun (due to limited amount of water and shorter distances to throw over it) and not as stressful as some of the ones at Tradewinds Park.
While carpet tee pads are not my fav, it didn't have much of an impact on the play because most holes don't require any steps due to shorter distances.
I thought that the tee signs were helpful, but there were a couple of areas where the basket was difficult to find and/or nearly impossible to find without assistance (#9 was in the middle of some palms, preventing you from seeing it from less than 20 ft out). It really would have helped if the baskets had the hole numbers on their tops for first timers or casual players, but after getting a round or two in on the course, I don't think you'd have trouble finding your way.
While I enjoy the shade, some of the "fairways" required shots between windows that were less than 6ft wide...some holes lacked even that much space from tee pad to basket. There were tons of trees on the back nine, which made for a lot of laughs and some frustration. Without the trees, however, the course would be much too easy.

In the end, I happen to prefer Tradewinds Park over Easterlin Park, but if you're in the area or the park is close to home you really can't lose by giving it a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I give it a 6 on the fun meter... but it's not going to teach you anything

2-4    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 32.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's good tee signs on all of the holes. Pay attention to where the tee sign says to go for the next hole or you will be wandering around looking for a while. The course is crammed in to a little park but there are some good holes here. You'll be straddle putting and using trick shots to get out of trouble a lot. Unfortunately those trick shots will not require you to throw far because the holes are all very short.
Cons: The tee pads are kind of weird. They're just pieces of carpeting attached to the ground but they work ok. Just a little weird. There are many holes here with no fairway. Just trees all over the place. Some of the basket positions are way too close to the trees. This is a muti use park so there's always a chance of hitting someone here. Especially with all the trees around.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe they fit 18 holes in to this little park. There's only 1 hole that I can remember that's over 300 feet. Everything else is short but that certainly doesn't mean it's easy. This place is pinball waiting to happen. The holes in the woods are super tight.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.