Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good Technical-Wooded Course!

2-4    1/24/2016   1/24/2016
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wooded course in south Florida!
- Tight lines off the tee; the course demands percision accuracy.
- Good mix of both hyser and anhyser lines.
- Water adds a good (but not impossible) challenge for 4 holes and then the rest are wooded.
- Plastic poles with bolt at each water hole allow for assisted disc retrieval.
- Good map at the start; signs, tee pads, and pins all in good condition.
- Clean and very well maintained with bathrooms and trash cans.
- Friendly/helpful locals!
Cons: - Course not ideal for beginners because of the narrow fairways and tight wooded lines.
- The course is short; none of these holes will test your arm (for distance).
- Close fence line on a couple holes presents a problem; the fence along the 17th hole is also barbed.
- Possibility to throw near campsites and walkers.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: It is a wooded course in SOFLO so you got to check it out. Hole 18 was my favorite because of the beautiful trees and incredibly tight fairway. This is a great course to work on the timing of your release.

This is a good technical course, which compliments Tradewinds since it is a big open course only 15 minutes away. Playing both Easterlin and Tradewinds in the same day made for a great day of DG!!! I will be back to Easterlin soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant Course

2-4    1/17/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean
Well maintained
Bathrooms and water fountain available.
Good mix of left and right shots
benches at each tee pad
Trash Bins everywhere
Concrete pads
lots of tight technical shots through the woods
Locals were nice
Beautiful trees and wildlife

Cons: Course design had people throwing towards one another several times.
Water challenge has no build up, it consumes most of the first 5 shots.
Water is hard to deal with if you have to, even rollers vanish in it..VERY murky. No gators though so people were giving it a go.
Finding some pads is not that easy but the course is so tight that you will eventually find it.
Tee pads were close to the previous pad's basket, causing concern.
Other Thoughts: No Open Bomb shots (You don't really even need a driver here)

This course has really short shots (250' avg?), so you wind up finishing it faster than you expect and you'll want to play another round because you have so much time left. An hour away from my house, so I may only visit here for events.

Overall, It was a pleasant course. No Epic holes really, just nice short shots that sometimes require some finesse and a few over the water that require a little more oomph.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Easterlin

1    12/12/2015   12/12/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 87  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course, a prototypical par 54, with Chainstar baskets in fair shape. Course starts out with a mix of slightly more open holes with some trees and intimidating water carries (always fun) then you get into the woods for a short yet tight back nine. The water carries are long but not too long. No hole really stands out, but it is a string of solid holes that with good, precise drives will yield you some birdie opportunities. Tee signs are pretty accurate (but see cons). Well shaded, nice to play on those days when it is brutal and you still have the urge to throw.
Cons: Some of the back nine plays close to a fence that you're not supposed to go over. The biggest concern with that fence would be hole 17. It is not the best design, and that fence can't be more than 8-10 feet high, so either keep it low, or better yet, throw a roller if you have one. That's what I should have done. The holes on the back nine are really tight, and so if there are groups nearby, give them the few minutes to clear out before playing the next hole (esp. 11 and 15). Tee sign does not tell you what position the basket is in. Also be careful with the entrance road that comes into play on a few holes (1 and 9 come to my mind).
Other Thoughts: I want to give the locals credit for doing something with the land. By all means this is no destination course, but it is fun if you want to break out the midranges, the putters, and a few "no biggie if this goes in the lake" discs and go have some fun. When I get settled down here, I will be back, and if you're in the area and want to throw a round, give Easterlin a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good course, great locals

1    10/4/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Holes that bend left and right
-Active local crowd of friendly, dedicated golfers
-Color score card and map available at entrance
-Almost every hole has a fair line
-Nice use of water and trees to add challenge to an otherwise flat plot of land
-Plenty of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines
-It's pretty easy to find discs in the rough
-No fire ants, unlike other courses I've played in FL
-While there is only one tee per hole, each hole has multiple pin positions and they supposedly change them regularly.
Cons: -It's pretty easy to lose discs several of the water carries.
-Navigation would have been hard if I hadn't played my round with a really nice group of locals. I can't detail this because I was chauffeured from hole to hole by four great guys.
-The fairways are a little too tight on a couple of holes, but this course is about accuracy, not distance. And you don't get punished that badly for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting family. I showed up at 8AM on a Sunday and there saw one group of 10 people and was quickly invited to join another group of 4. I had a fantastic time playing with Dan, Jake, David, and Paul. Great guys and they took great care of me. Hanging with them made navigation a breeze, they showed me the lines on every hole, and helped me look for my disc that went in the lake.

Most of the holes are about 250 feet. Trees and water carries add challenge to the course, which is a nice change of pace compared to Tradewinds. I really like the flow of the course and how there are no long walks between holes. It's scenic and the shade is very pleasant. The cypress roots are really cool. The $1.50 I spent was a total bargain. This makes for a great local course and certainly worth a 30 minute drive for someone in the area. It's right off I-95 and anyone looking to play should make the trip.

This course could easily reach a 3.5 if navigation was improved. The tee signs are good, but it's hard to find the next hole and see some of the baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tricky, Wooded Course

5+    1/10/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: AS_Gator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly short holes, but still challenging because of the amount of trees. It also has some nicely set up holes with shots over the lake.
I appreciate this course because it involves throws that are risky but can lead to plenty of birdies.
Cons: Trees. Avoid this course if you get aggravated easily when you hit a tree, because it will happen. It almost seems that there are no true "fairways", but there is enough spacing in the trees for a well placed shot.

It's a small park, so the design can get tight especially on the back nine. Also, some holes are situated too close to the fence, where you can nail the fence off your drive and birdie the hole.

Not the most well maintained park.
Other Thoughts: Unique park that gets the most use from Disc golfers. Located next to the railroad tracks and I-95. It is not the cleanest or nicest park in the area, the lake is an ugly shade of brown.

Overall, I like the challenge to this course. It is unlike any course in Broward County, but it could definitely be better if the park was larger.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/11/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course the average player in the area is going to enjoy the most. You don't have to have a canon to reach any of the pins. There is enough variety to keep the course interesting (just missing length). This course will test your short game. You can tell a lot of thought went into the layout as there are many holes that are short but challenging due to the pin being placed in a difficult spot to reach on account of trees. The water is in play in some creative ways that really make you pick your line carefully and you will end up in the water if you pick the wrong line or pull it to close to the trees. Friendly players on the course and a place for disc lost and found. There actually are a few honest people on this course who will call and return your discs.
Cons: Tees could use updating. Spiders all over the woods so watch out. Train tracks with speedy trains with a forest of spiders over the fence on hole 17 so watch out. There are 1-2 holes on the back nine where the trees are on the ridiculous side with no obvious route to the pin whatsoever. Those become more a game of luck than skill for most players.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that has everything that would tell you your score is going to be good and then throw out just enough tree limbs and water to fight you all along the way. Accuracy pays a premium on this course and make sure to bring a disc you can throw with confidence over the water and finish left.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Make the Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is all about the trees. "Don't hit wood and you do good" is my slogan. Most pins give you Birdie opportunities if you manuever between trees.
A good course for the finese player and those who can't throw 300 feet.
Shade is welcome during hot Florida summers. Good drainage following rain.
Scenic, with wildlife living there.
Multiple basket positions keeps course interesting.Discs easily found,except if they go in lake

Cons: Terrible pads. Carpet with roots under them or holes in dirt at end can be dangerous. Impossible to find Pro pads. Takes time to learn tees and pads, Woods full of spiders, beware of webs in back 9. Murky lake is shallow but discs can't be seen even if 3 feet from shore.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to have discs that float-Dragons, Hydra, etc as at least 2 holes (3 and 5) force you to throw over lake. That's about the only chance to "let it rip" as trees stop long shots at other pins.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in a Small Space

1    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Signage
Multiple Pins on Some Holes
Multiple Tee Pads on Most Holes
Varying Hole Layouts
Water Hazard (over on 3, 5A & 6 - Behind 4)
Open, Tightly Wooded & In Between Holes
Great for Honing Your Accuracy
Cons: Some Tee Pads too Narrow
Carpeted Tee Pads (May not be con for some)
Tee Pads Can be too Close to Other Fairways
No Elevation Change
No Number Plates on Holes
Not Going to Rip Long Drives Here
Other Thoughts: Was on vacation and had to get a little DG in. A nice little course given the amount of space they had to work with. I was able to get a course map at the office and had little trouble navigating the course (although a couple of the numbers on the map didn't seem to match the course layout). I recommend noting the walkout path before you move past the tee as you won't find a walkout sign to guide you to the next hole (Only an issue b/c of the close proximity of holes). While my game caters more to open holes with longer distances, I still enjoyed the finesse and accuracy required to shoot low scores on what is a shorter than average course. Had the pleasure of talking with one of the local club co-directors who was out working on the course - didn't catch his name, though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what they have to work with

1    1/23/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is nice that they fit in 18 holes on such a small area. The park is well maintained. Tees have signs that acurately show the hole and the next tee.
Cons: Because the park is small all of the holes are short, I dont think there was one over 300 ft, which means you cant really let loose. There are a LOT of trees, pretty much every hole has trees in the way, and often its hard to find the holes. Also they are palm trees so the brances are very hard and even the limbs will make your disc bounce as if it hit a wall.
Other Thoughts: I can see how having to play around the trees adds difficulty, otherwise the short holes would be too easy and be boring. But to me the trees were just a pain, they made getting birdies almost impossible but getting par almost garunteed. Ultimately it is a decent course and is fun if you dont get upset about hitting the trees.

PS: The map provided by the front office had the holes shown out of order, I believe holes 6 and 8 were swapped as were 11 and 13.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/7/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: holmslice
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course with some interesting layouts and multiple pins and tee pads on several holes.
Cons: Some of the carpet tee pads are torn or have tree roots growing under them. Be aware of spider webs on some of the heavy wooded holes on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Course is not for the first time player but is not a very difficult course. This course will challenge your game and will require you to use some shots that you don't normally use including some big hyzers off the tee. This is a great course for work on your short game and for adding some shots to your bag.

Notes about the park: Easterlin Park is free during the week and costs $1.50 per person on the weekend. The park is closed on Tuesday (due to buget cuts). League night is on Wednesday at 4:00.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.