Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #18 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Cypress sanctuary course

5+    5/25/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: Wook1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting little 18 hole course, perfect for playing multiple rounds in a day as well to disc down and leave the drivers at home. This course requires and rewards finesse over distance. 2 pin placements on each hole, layout rotates once a month. Most holes are in the 150-250 range depending on pin placement. Easterlin is on the shorter side,but the tight cypress trees force concentrations and planning lines before each throw. In the last year or two there was a redesign of park roads slightly changing the layout. First hole is one of the changes and IMO the one I see most people going into the drink. Tee off to left of practice basket, really fun throw.It plays over water, a small peninsula, and water again. Option to go for it or lay up to next peninsula for the easy 3 (and no lost plastic).I really like how the water hazards are incorporated here, with each tempting the throw over but also giving you a fair "safer" route over land. Hole 6 is a perfect example, with two distinct options. RHBH hyzer out over the water or a longer RHFH out around guardian plams. Holes 8-11 are all mid/putter shots with a few possible ace runs if your on point. Especially 10, basket is next to OB chain link fence that substitutes for a nice backboard. 16 in B is one of my favorites at easterlin, very tight lines and lets you use a fairway driver off the tee. Pin is nestled back in the corner of fence.

Great local crowd, always friendly & welcoming to new comers.

Perfect for FL summer heat/sun, thick cypress canopy gives valuable shade during rounds.

Very little "rough" & only a few places to deal with the jungle in the event of a poor throw.

Trash and recycle bins throughout the 18
Cons: IMO some holes/fairways are too close to each other, 6-7 comes to mind. If you throw in the pond chances are you probably won't see that plastic again, very murky/brown water. No pin placement info at tee areas
Other Thoughts: I'm always jealous of the locals and all their custom carts/strollers

There is a store at the corner of powerline that sells disc.

$1.50 on weekends & holidays -free all other days

Thursday random draw dubs round @ 5pm

Sunday random draw dubs round @ 10am

Campsites and RV sites available on location.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby at all

5+    1/31/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've done well laying out the course with the space they have to work with, while on the weekend you may encounter groups of people and may have to wait on some to get out of your way, I haven't had any unreasonable delays.

Variety; depending on where the pole holes are at the time, there are straight shots, dog legs in both directions, water hazards, and the occasional grumpy goose or psychotic squirrel running around.

The course requires a bit of finesse in some areas, a good challenge

Decent signage
Cons: The back 9 (and some of the front) is very woody; while I personally consider this a plus, I can see many getting quite frustrated at continually whacking trees with discs, as stated above, a degree of finesse is required here - if you're looking to grip it and rip it, go up to Tradewinds.

Closes at 6pm, only enough time to get 1 round in after work.

On weekends in addition to paying the (cheap) $1.50 fee, you may have to deal with groups of kids and families, dogs, etc.

Holes 16 & 17 are close to the fence; be wary on 17 especially as a hard hook left will send you over the fence near the railroad tracks & of course, you aren't *supposed* to climb the fence for retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I'm still new to the sport, and have only played here & at Tradewinds however, I like Easterlin a great deal; while compact and a little confusing in places, once you've been there a couple times you can easily find your way around - rumor has it they'll be installing concrete tees soon too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Round

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs, not bad tee pads (rugs); Great over-the-lake tosses. Well maintained when I played (January 2012), decent flow to the course.
Cons: A little tight on the back nine through the woods, but there are certainly playable lanes to the hole. Tee pads could get messy after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Used to come to this park years ago (pre-DG course); Course seems to have really helped in cleaning up the park - really enjoyed our time here. Would give it a 3.75 if I could.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its nice to be in the trees for a change. Fun course watter adds a chalange. Peaceful place nice local disc players.
Cons: No elivation which is the norm down here.
Other Thoughts: I like it much more then Tradewinds you feel like you are on a disc course insted of a park alot of the time. Short holes make for many birdie attempts which i feel adds excitment.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course, odd park....

5+    12/28/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good design
*Nice flow
*Good variation: lefts, rights, straights, over water, along water
*Most of the course is through the trees, and the open holes are made more interesting by wind and water...
*Pretty short, allowing for quick, easy rounds
*Challenging enough to punish errant shots
Cons: *The park is a little sketchy, there seems to be a lot of middle-aged men that like to sit in their cars for hours on end, which for some reason, seemed a bit too "George Micheals" for my liking...

*The water is a stagnant, murky pond that makes you feel dirty just looking at it. I threw a sweet champ sidewinder about 10 ft from the shore, and in most other instances, would have waded out, but there was no way...
Other Thoughts: On a trip home, I played this and Tradewinds a bunch, and I like this course better of the two. I liked how technical, but forgiving this course seemed to be. I also enjoyed how much time this course spent in the trees.

This course is short, so if you're looking to "grip-n-rip", go up to Tradewinds. I pulled out a mid or a putter more often than a driver, but that doesn't mean its easy-breezy all the way through.

The front-9 starts out fairly easy with two shortish holes through the trees, then introduces you to the water by having you throw right over it (about 170 ft. carry) then going around the lake, finishing with a couple of easier, open holes.

The back 9 is entirely in the trees, some holes have more defined fairways, some are nearly a crap-shoot, but all are fun, and birdie-able with a good / lucky drive.

Most of the other players I ran into seemed pretty cool, and even though I got a weird vibe from some of the park patrons, I'd highly recommend this course, especially on windy days when Tradewinds would be a bear....

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.