Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #4 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Easterlin

5+    2/14/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets, cement tee pads, tee signs also indicate next tee direction, restrooms. Mix of short open holes and light woods. Large lake adds to aesthetics and challenge with three shots that the lake comes into play. Free to enter park on weekdays.
Cons: Busy multi use park. Watch for walkers, soccer balls, etc.
Other Thoughts: Small park with short fun holes. $1.50 each to enter weekends.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby at all

5+    1/31/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've done well laying out the course with the space they have to work with, while on the weekend you may encounter groups of people and may have to wait on some to get out of your way, I haven't had any unreasonable delays.

Variety; depending on where the pole holes are at the time, there are straight shots, dog legs in both directions, water hazards, and the occasional grumpy goose or psychotic squirrel running around.

The course requires a bit of finesse in some areas, a good challenge

Decent signage
Cons: The back 9 (and some of the front) is very woody; while I personally consider this a plus, I can see many getting quite frustrated at continually whacking trees with discs, as stated above, a degree of finesse is required here - if you're looking to grip it and rip it, go up to Tradewinds.

Closes at 6pm, only enough time to get 1 round in after work.

On weekends in addition to paying the (cheap) $1.50 fee, you may have to deal with groups of kids and families, dogs, etc.

Holes 16 & 17 are close to the fence; be wary on 17 especially as a hard hook left will send you over the fence near the railroad tracks & of course, you aren't *supposed* to climb the fence for retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I'm still new to the sport, and have only played here & at Tradewinds however, I like Easterlin a great deal; while compact and a little confusing in places, once you've been there a couple times you can easily find your way around - rumor has it they'll be installing concrete tees soon too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Round

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signs, not bad tee pads (rugs); Great over-the-lake tosses. Well maintained when I played (January 2012), decent flow to the course.
Cons: A little tight on the back nine through the woods, but there are certainly playable lanes to the hole. Tee pads could get messy after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Used to come to this park years ago (pre-DG course); Course seems to have really helped in cleaning up the park - really enjoyed our time here. Would give it a 3.75 if I could.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible

1    4/24/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Only a couple holes here that I enjoyed. One was over a body of water where the hole was between two small trees. Other things to do at this park and it did seem like a nice place to relax.
Cons: Not well maintained at all. If you don't bring a map of the course you will be lost looking for the next tee. Far too many holes that have no line to the basket. Just clusters of trees that make it impossible to reach the basket. Roll shots are your best option for about half the course and even then there is no guarantee your getting set up for birdie. Very short holes as well. Too many holes under 200 ft. Some holes even had 2 baskets set up that got confusing. I would not play this course again unless someone was to redesign it. Seems like you could cut a few trees down and move a few holes to get a much better experience. Just a thought.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Easterlin Park DGC

2-4    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Disckid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This disc golf course is a course that has a lot of variaty to the types of shots you need to take. To real have a good round, you need to be able to have a strong strait, hyzer, and anhyzer shot in your inventory to come out on top.
Another thing that also makes this course unique is that there are a variety of different types of holes. Some holes are wide open, some are wooded, and you will also need to throw directly over water on a handful of holes.
Another thing that I liked about the course is that you have several options that you can take to get to the basket on a select few holes. For example, on hole 6, you have the option to throw from left to right around a string of trees or you could risk it to throw right over the water to make an ace run for the basket.
Cons: I could only find a few cons about this course. One thing I wouldve liked would be longer holes. Im only fourteen and I could throw comet or a buzz and easily reach the basket
One other con about the course is the tee pads. They weren't horrible, but having carpet as a tee in the middle of a park was just different if you asked me
Other Thoughts: This course is one that if you live in the Broward County area, this is a course to check out. It`s $1:50 per person, but that isn't a bad price. All I can say is to give it a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/11/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the course the average player in the area is going to enjoy the most. You don't have to have a canon to reach any of the pins. There is enough variety to keep the course interesting (just missing length). This course will test your short game. You can tell a lot of thought went into the layout as there are many holes that are short but challenging due to the pin being placed in a difficult spot to reach on account of trees. The water is in play in some creative ways that really make you pick your line carefully and you will end up in the water if you pick the wrong line or pull it to close to the trees. Friendly players on the course and a place for disc lost and found. There actually are a few honest people on this course who will call and return your discs.
Cons: Tees could use updating. Spiders all over the woods so watch out. Train tracks with speedy trains with a forest of spiders over the fence on hole 17 so watch out. There are 1-2 holes on the back nine where the trees are on the ridiculous side with no obvious route to the pin whatsoever. Those become more a game of luck than skill for most players.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that has everything that would tell you your score is going to be good and then throw out just enough tree limbs and water to fight you all along the way. Accuracy pays a premium on this course and make sure to bring a disc you can throw with confidence over the water and finish left.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trees Make the Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is all about the trees. "Don't hit wood and you do good" is my slogan. Most pins give you Birdie opportunities if you manuever between trees.
A good course for the finese player and those who can't throw 300 feet.
Shade is welcome during hot Florida summers. Good drainage following rain.
Scenic, with wildlife living there.
Multiple basket positions keeps course interesting.Discs easily found,except if they go in lake

Cons: Terrible pads. Carpet with roots under them or holes in dirt at end can be dangerous. Impossible to find Pro pads. Takes time to learn tees and pads, Woods full of spiders, beware of webs in back 9. Murky lake is shallow but discs can't be seen even if 3 feet from shore.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to have discs that float-Dragons, Hydra, etc as at least 2 holes (3 and 5) force you to throw over lake. That's about the only chance to "let it rip" as trees stop long shots at other pins.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: mfgator
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of long, short, trees, left, right, water. For the 45+ crowd most of the holes can be reached for a birdie opportunity. Many heavily wooded holes so great for accurate golfers.
Cons: Not just because it is my home course, but I can't really find any cons...maybe no elevation change if you want to be a stickler
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Broward County! Compared to tradewinds, it has a much more technical and shorter layout and for the "older" arm it is much more fun because you can reach most of the holes. Beautiful wooded area with Jesus lizards, Blue Herons, and Hawks for additional entertainment. Huge spiders too!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for local arborists or individuals wanting to work on accuracy...

1    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice signs at each hole
2. Course map at office
3. Lots of shade for the summer months
4. Multiple basket positions
5. Friendly local disc golfers
Cons: 1. Majority of holes are shorter distances
2. Course map at office has error where tee pads for 8 and 6 are swapped and mixed up #'s 11, 12, & 13
3. Baskets don't have numbers on them
4. Tee pads are carpet pads, not cement
5. Crowded areas around holes 5-8 due to picnic areas, park patrons, and slight mixing of fairway for holes 6 and 7
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing the course, and I had a nice round with my wife and parents. We found the locals to be quite friendly and helpful. The course layout was good (takes advantage of limited space), but not great as there were a few holes where fairways were shared (6+7 & 11+12).
The water holes were fun (due to limited amount of water and shorter distances to throw over it) and not as stressful as some of the ones at Tradewinds Park.
While carpet tee pads are not my fav, it didn't have much of an impact on the play because most holes don't require any steps due to shorter distances.
I thought that the tee signs were helpful, but there were a couple of areas where the basket was difficult to find and/or nearly impossible to find without assistance (#9 was in the middle of some palms, preventing you from seeing it from less than 20 ft out). It really would have helped if the baskets had the hole numbers on their tops for first timers or casual players, but after getting a round or two in on the course, I don't think you'd have trouble finding your way.
While I enjoy the shade, some of the "fairways" required shots between windows that were less than 6ft wide...some holes lacked even that much space from tee pad to basket. There were tons of trees on the back nine, which made for a lot of laughs and some frustration. Without the trees, however, the course would be much too easy.

In the end, I happen to prefer Tradewinds Park over Easterlin Park, but if you're in the area or the park is close to home you really can't lose by giving it a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Can't just review the great courses

1    12/19/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tight little course in an area with very few options for disc golf. Easterlin Park is a multi-use park which offers an enjoyable day of golfing.

Each hole has a very descriptive tee sign displaying hole number, par, distance, diagram and arrow to next tee. Restrooms on site, located in close proximity to holes 9-13, and another to holes 14-18. Alternate tee pads on some holes, but had a hard time finding them. Baskets are in very good condition, and I believe there to be alternating pin placements, with the baskets being moved to different positions at various times.

Overall pin placement and dense trees on the back 9 brings a little bit of a challange. Tree cover would also give a much needed break from the hot Florida summer sun.

Water comes into play on hole #s 3-5 and 8. OB comes into play on hole #s 2, 10-12, 16-17.

Maps/scorecards provided at park office, which is open during operation hours.
Cons: Carpet mats as tee pads may be a con to some, but shouldn't affect tee shots as a run-up approach isn't necessary on most holes.

Course length is quite short on the back 9, which contradicts most course setups I've played, which usually string together a few tougher holes towards the end.

Holes are extremely condensed, which could pose a problem if the course is busy. An arrant drive could easily cross fairways and tees of other holes. Be vigilant of other players and exercise patience. Pedestrians stroll through park, so keep an eye out and respect the fact that it is a multi-purpose park.

OB on #s 2, 10-12,16-17 is over a chain link fence which is tough to find and retrieve a disc, especially on #17.
Other Thoughts: The course at Easterlin park is a short course that will test your mid-range arsenal. Tight/no fairways on the back 9 will test your ability to shape shots. I would rate this course as a beginner course if it wasn't for the water in play, but still a good choice for players who are learning the game. If the water is that big of a deal you could always set up your own alternate tee on hole #3 and skip #5 and #8.

IMO, hole #s 6-8 and 11-13 should be reversed which would make the course flow properly. In my only experience here, we accidentally played #13 as #11 and had a real difficult time finding #13...because we had already played it!

As much as I am opposed to courses shorter than 18 holes, I feel this area is better suited for a layout of either 9 or 12 holes. The course is rough, but with limited courses in this area it is a "must play" by default. Even though a great review cannot be written for every course, I am always greatful to be able to play any playable course. Thank you to the local club for making this course available.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.