Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: PDXDuck Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course, great locals

1    10/4/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 30  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Holes that bend left and right
-Active local crowd of friendly, dedicated golfers
-Color score card and map available at entrance
-Almost every hole has a fair line
-Nice use of water and trees to add challenge to an otherwise flat plot of land
-Plenty of birdie opportunities if you hit your lines
-It's pretty easy to find discs in the rough
-No fire ants, unlike other courses I've played in FL
-While there is only one tee per hole, each hole has multiple pin positions and they supposedly change them regularly.
Cons: -It's pretty easy to lose discs several of the water carries.
-Navigation would have been hard if I hadn't played my round with a really nice group of locals. I can't detail this because I was chauffeured from hole to hole by four great guys.
-The fairways are a little too tight on a couple of holes, but this course is about accuracy, not distance. And you don't get punished that badly for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: I was in the area visiting family. I showed up at 8AM on a Sunday and there saw one group of 10 people and was quickly invited to join another group of 4. I had a fantastic time playing with Dan, Jake, David, and Paul. Great guys and they took great care of me. Hanging with them made navigation a breeze, they showed me the lines on every hole, and helped me look for my disc that went in the lake.

Most of the holes are about 250 feet. Trees and water carries add challenge to the course, which is a nice change of pace compared to Tradewinds. I really like the flow of the course and how there are no long walks between holes. It's scenic and the shade is very pleasant. The cypress roots are really cool. The $1.50 I spent was a total bargain. This makes for a great local course and certainly worth a 30 minute drive for someone in the area. It's right off I-95 and anyone looking to play should make the trip.

This course could easily reach a 3.5 if navigation was improved. The tee signs are good, but it's hard to find the next hole and see some of the baskets.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cypress sanctuary course

5+    5/25/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: Wook1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting little 18 hole course, perfect for playing multiple rounds in a day as well to disc down and leave the drivers at home. This course requires and rewards finesse over distance. 2 pin placements on each hole, layout rotates once a month. Most holes are in the 150-250 range depending on pin placement. Easterlin is on the shorter side,but the tight cypress trees force concentrations and planning lines before each throw. In the last year or two there was a redesign of park roads slightly changing the layout. First hole is one of the changes and IMO the one I see most people going into the drink. Tee off to left of practice basket, really fun throw.It plays over water, a small peninsula, and water again. Option to go for it or lay up to next peninsula for the easy 3 (and no lost plastic).I really like how the water hazards are incorporated here, with each tempting the throw over but also giving you a fair "safer" route over land. Hole 6 is a perfect example, with two distinct options. RHBH hyzer out over the water or a longer RHFH out around guardian plams. Holes 8-11 are all mid/putter shots with a few possible ace runs if your on point. Especially 10, basket is next to OB chain link fence that substitutes for a nice backboard. 16 in B is one of my favorites at easterlin, very tight lines and lets you use a fairway driver off the tee. Pin is nestled back in the corner of fence.

Great local crowd, always friendly & welcoming to new comers.

Perfect for FL summer heat/sun, thick cypress canopy gives valuable shade during rounds.

Very little "rough" & only a few places to deal with the jungle in the event of a poor throw.

Trash and recycle bins throughout the 18
Cons: IMO some holes/fairways are too close to each other, 6-7 comes to mind. If you throw in the pond chances are you probably won't see that plastic again, very murky/brown water. No pin placement info at tee areas
Other Thoughts: I'm always jealous of the locals and all their custom carts/strollers

There is a store at the corner of powerline that sells disc.

$1.50 on weekends & holidays -free all other days

Thursday random draw dubs round @ 5pm

Sunday random draw dubs round @ 10am

Campsites and RV sites available on location.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    2/27/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 265  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's hard not give this course credit for offering something that no other course does in the area. This course has trees. It forcers discers to throw lines. After a full day in South Florida, this was very much needed. I can appreciate a mostly open course, especially if has a lot of water, aesthetic beauty and hopefully some elevation. But for me, it's just more fun when I'm bending a disc around a certain point in the fairway. If I'd played this in North Carolina, I would have considered it average. In South Florida, I was thrilled.
It does have a little water, however. 1 is the best of those holes, it sports a nice carry and a half, with the basket on the left of the second inlet you cross. A safely placed first shot will cross water and leave you with an approach that could traverse the second carry and fade left or approach the basket straight over land. An excellent first drive will carry both bodies of water and fade towards the basket.
5 is monster carry that makes less sense at this course but 6 offers a nice choice between hyzering over the water and approaching safely over land, but the land shot require switching to forehand.
But forget the water, if you're discing here, you're looking for the treed holes. There isn't really a signature hole among them. They are pretty much all solid but unremarkable. Adequately placed, with identifiable fairways and in some cases a choice of gaps.
It's a fun play, but nothing that you will remember at the end of the day. Unless you've never played north of here. Still, probably my favorite of the older courses in the area.
Cons: No way to tell which position the pin is in and the baskets do blend in to the background. It would be nice to add some color there are a system of indicating the position on the tee sign.
Typically, the nest tee is visible from the previous basket but for the few times it isn't, an arrow or colored spoke would be welcome.
There are a few occasions where imperfect shots cross into the fairways of adjacent holes. There is also 17, which runs along a fence that will trouble inexperienced RHBH throwers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1    1/29/2015   2/3/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 146  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is far more wooded than the other courses I encountered in the Ft Lauderdale area. The rough is not bad, and finding your disc is not too much trouble.

The holes tend to be pretty short, so birdie opportunities abound.

You'll have some good technical shots here, and the all-out bomber will not be rewarded on most holes.

Tee pads are concrete. Tee signs are mediocre.
Navigation is decent. although the transition from 13 to 14 wasn't obvious, and going from 1 to 2 was confusing at first.
Cons: The water holes here are strangely designed. I spent a minute or two trying to figure out what kind of shot I was supposed to throw on the first hole. You can't really lay on the little peninsula straight ahead, and unless you have a big arm, there isn't a legit line.

Holes 4 and 5 have big water carries, but the gaps look like you could easily get knocked into the water with a ticky tack branch. All three water carries favor RHBH if you're going for the big throw.

Some of the wooded holes lack a real line.

Hole 17 is right next to a fence with rail road tracks on the other side. Bad design. I just threw a forehand roller and moved on.

No real elevation here.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure who this course is intended for. Rec players will definitely lose discs to the water. Advanced players will find the holes too short to be interesting.

I like that they found a place to put in a technical course, and honestly it was enjoyable. But it all feels a little crammed in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tricky, Wooded Course

5+    1/10/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: AS_Gator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly short holes, but still challenging because of the amount of trees. It also has some nicely set up holes with shots over the lake.
I appreciate this course because it involves throws that are risky but can lead to plenty of birdies.
Cons: Trees. Avoid this course if you get aggravated easily when you hit a tree, because it will happen. It almost seems that there are no true "fairways", but there is enough spacing in the trees for a well placed shot.

It's a small park, so the design can get tight especially on the back nine. Also, some holes are situated too close to the fence, where you can nail the fence off your drive and birdie the hole.

Not the most well maintained park.
Other Thoughts: Unique park that gets the most use from Disc golfers. Located next to the railroad tracks and I-95. It is not the cleanest or nicest park in the area, the lake is an ugly shade of brown.

Overall, I like the challenge to this course. It is unlike any course in Broward County, but it could definitely be better if the park was larger.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/14/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 101  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 21.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New baskets, cement tee pads, tee signs also indicate next tee direction, restrooms. Mix of short open holes and light woods. Large lake adds to aesthetics and challenge with three shots that the lake comes into play. Free to enter park on weekdays.
Cons: Busy multi use park. Watch for walkers, soccer balls, etc.
Other Thoughts: Small park with short fun holes. $1.50 each to enter weekends.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby at all

5+    1/31/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've done well laying out the course with the space they have to work with, while on the weekend you may encounter groups of people and may have to wait on some to get out of your way, I haven't had any unreasonable delays.

Variety; depending on where the pole holes are at the time, there are straight shots, dog legs in both directions, water hazards, and the occasional grumpy goose or psychotic squirrel running around.

The course requires a bit of finesse in some areas, a good challenge

Decent signage
Cons: The back 9 (and some of the front) is very woody; while I personally consider this a plus, I can see many getting quite frustrated at continually whacking trees with discs, as stated above, a degree of finesse is required here - if you're looking to grip it and rip it, go up to Tradewinds.

Closes at 6pm, only enough time to get 1 round in after work.

On weekends in addition to paying the (cheap) $1.50 fee, you may have to deal with groups of kids and families, dogs, etc.

Holes 16 & 17 are close to the fence; be wary on 17 especially as a hard hook left will send you over the fence near the railroad tracks & of course, you aren't *supposed* to climb the fence for retrieval.
Other Thoughts: I'm still new to the sport, and have only played here & at Tradewinds however, I like Easterlin a great deal; while compact and a little confusing in places, once you've been there a couple times you can easily find your way around - rumor has it they'll be installing concrete tees soon too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Round

2-4    1/9/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: J Bird
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs, not bad tee pads (rugs); Great over-the-lake tosses. Well maintained when I played (January 2012), decent flow to the course.
Cons: A little tight on the back nine through the woods, but there are certainly playable lanes to the hole. Tee pads could get messy after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Used to come to this park years ago (pre-DG course); Course seems to have really helped in cleaning up the park - really enjoyed our time here. Would give it a 3.75 if I could.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/24/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: Christianlamb
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Only a couple holes here that I enjoyed. One was over a body of water where the hole was between two small trees. Other things to do at this park and it did seem like a nice place to relax.
Cons: Not well maintained at all. If you don't bring a map of the course you will be lost looking for the next tee. Far too many holes that have no line to the basket. Just clusters of trees that make it impossible to reach the basket. Roll shots are your best option for about half the course and even then there is no guarantee your getting set up for birdie. Very short holes as well. Too many holes under 200 ft. Some holes even had 2 baskets set up that got confusing. I would not play this course again unless someone was to redesign it. Seems like you could cut a few trees down and move a few holes to get a much better experience. Just a thought.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Easterlin Park DGC

2-4    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Disckid
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This disc golf course is a course that has a lot of variaty to the types of shots you need to take. To real have a good round, you need to be able to have a strong strait, hyzer, and anhyzer shot in your inventory to come out on top.
Another thing that also makes this course unique is that there are a variety of different types of holes. Some holes are wide open, some are wooded, and you will also need to throw directly over water on a handful of holes.
Another thing that I liked about the course is that you have several options that you can take to get to the basket on a select few holes. For example, on hole 6, you have the option to throw from left to right around a string of trees or you could risk it to throw right over the water to make an ace run for the basket.
Cons: I could only find a few cons about this course. One thing I wouldve liked would be longer holes. Im only fourteen and I could throw comet or a buzz and easily reach the basket
One other con about the course is the tee pads. They weren't horrible, but having carpet as a tee in the middle of a park was just different if you asked me
Other Thoughts: This course is one that if you live in the Broward County area, this is a course to check out. It`s $1:50 per person, but that isn't a bad price. All I can say is to give it a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.