Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #8 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Sweet Course, odd park....

5+    12/28/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good design
*Nice flow
*Good variation: lefts, rights, straights, over water, along water
*Most of the course is through the trees, and the open holes are made more interesting by wind and water...
*Pretty short, allowing for quick, easy rounds
*Challenging enough to punish errant shots
Cons: *The park is a little sketchy, there seems to be a lot of middle-aged men that like to sit in their cars for hours on end, which for some reason, seemed a bit too "George Micheals" for my liking...

*The water is a stagnant, murky pond that makes you feel dirty just looking at it. I threw a sweet champ sidewinder about 10 ft from the shore, and in most other instances, would have waded out, but there was no way...
Other Thoughts: On a trip home, I played this and Tradewinds a bunch, and I like this course better of the two. I liked how technical, but forgiving this course seemed to be. I also enjoyed how much time this course spent in the trees.

This course is short, so if you're looking to "grip-n-rip", go up to Tradewinds. I pulled out a mid or a putter more often than a driver, but that doesn't mean its easy-breezy all the way through.

The front-9 starts out fairly easy with two shortish holes through the trees, then introduces you to the water by having you throw right over it (about 170 ft. carry) then going around the lake, finishing with a couple of easier, open holes.

The back 9 is entirely in the trees, some holes have more defined fairways, some are nearly a crap-shoot, but all are fun, and birdie-able with a good / lucky drive.

Most of the other players I ran into seemed pretty cool, and even though I got a weird vibe from some of the park patrons, I'd highly recommend this course, especially on windy days when Tradewinds would be a bear....

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easterlin

5+    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 60  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall a really good course. Holes 3,5,6 play over a lake in the middle of the park. Nice locals and campers. Not the longest course but very creative layout with the front 9 more open and the back 9 more wooded. Will force you to get creative and use different shots. Mutiple pin locations. Lots of shade.
Cons: Entry fee on the weekends. Not that many chances to open up and let it fly. Hate losing discs in the water. Couple holes play through each other. Tee pads are inconsistent.
Other Thoughts: Best shorter course Ive played. But I am biased because I live so close.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in a Small Space

1    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Signage
Multiple Pins on Some Holes
Multiple Tee Pads on Most Holes
Varying Hole Layouts
Water Hazard (over on 3, 5A & 6 - Behind 4)
Open, Tightly Wooded & In Between Holes
Great for Honing Your Accuracy
Cons: Some Tee Pads too Narrow
Carpeted Tee Pads (May not be con for some)
Tee Pads Can be too Close to Other Fairways
No Elevation Change
No Number Plates on Holes
Not Going to Rip Long Drives Here
Other Thoughts: Was on vacation and had to get a little DG in. A nice little course given the amount of space they had to work with. I was able to get a course map at the office and had little trouble navigating the course (although a couple of the numbers on the map didn't seem to match the course layout). I recommend noting the walkout path before you move past the tee as you won't find a walkout sign to guide you to the next hole (Only an issue b/c of the close proximity of holes). While my game caters more to open holes with longer distances, I still enjoyed the finesse and accuracy required to shoot low scores on what is a shorter than average course. Had the pleasure of talking with one of the local club co-directors who was out working on the course - didn't catch his name, though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what they have to work with

1    1/23/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is nice that they fit in 18 holes on such a small area. The park is well maintained. Tees have signs that acurately show the hole and the next tee.
Cons: Because the park is small all of the holes are short, I dont think there was one over 300 ft, which means you cant really let loose. There are a LOT of trees, pretty much every hole has trees in the way, and often its hard to find the holes. Also they are palm trees so the brances are very hard and even the limbs will make your disc bounce as if it hit a wall.
Other Thoughts: I can see how having to play around the trees adds difficulty, otherwise the short holes would be too easy and be boring. But to me the trees were just a pain, they made getting birdies almost impossible but getting par almost garunteed. Ultimately it is a decent course and is fun if you dont get upset about hitting the trees.

PS: The map provided by the front office had the holes shown out of order, I believe holes 6 and 8 were swapped as were 11 and 13.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/7/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course with some interesting layouts and multiple pins and tee pads on several holes.
Cons: Some of the carpet tee pads are torn or have tree roots growing under them. Be aware of spider webs on some of the heavy wooded holes on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Course is not for the first time player but is not a very difficult course. This course will challenge your game and will require you to use some shots that you don't normally use including some big hyzers off the tee. This is a great course for work on your short game and for adding some shots to your bag.

Notes about the park: Easterlin Park is free during the week and costs $1.50 per person on the weekend. The park is closed on Tuesday (due to buget cuts). League night is on Wednesday at 4:00.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I give it a 6 on the fun meter... but it's not going to teach you anything

2-4    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 30.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's good tee signs on all of the holes. Pay attention to where the tee sign says to go for the next hole or you will be wandering around looking for a while. The course is crammed in to a little park but there are some good holes here. You'll be straddle putting and using trick shots to get out of trouble a lot. Unfortunately those trick shots will not require you to throw far because the holes are all very short.
Cons: The tee pads are kind of weird. They're just pieces of carpeting attached to the ground but they work ok. Just a little weird. There are many holes here with no fairway. Just trees all over the place. Some of the basket positions are way too close to the trees. This is a muti use park so there's always a chance of hitting someone here. Especially with all the trees around.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe they fit 18 holes in to this little park. There's only 1 hole that I can remember that's over 300 feet. Everything else is short but that certainly doesn't mean it's easy. This place is pinball waiting to happen. The holes in the woods are super tight.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

4/12/2008   4/12/2008
Review By: jilwab
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: short course (great for short game practice), extremely well shaded (a must in FL), most of the underbrush has been killed off because of the canopy of trees (close to impossible to lose disc), tight fairways (good for working on control), good natural flow of course.



Cons: No map of course available at entrance of park
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if there were maps available with the park ranger at the main entrance. That is about the only drawback I can think of.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.