Ft. Lauderdale, FL 
Easterlin Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscgolfGreg Hole #16 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 185ft.   3 / 223ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Trees Make the Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is all about the trees. "Don't hit wood and you do good" is my slogan. Most pins give you Birdie opportunities if you manuever between trees.
A good course for the finese player and those who can't throw 300 feet.
Shade is welcome during hot Florida summers. Good drainage following rain.
Scenic, with wildlife living there.
Multiple basket positions keeps course interesting.Discs easily found,except if they go in lake

Cons: Terrible pads. Carpet with roots under them or holes in dirt at end can be dangerous. Impossible to find Pro pads. Takes time to learn tees and pads, Woods full of spiders, beware of webs in back 9. Murky lake is shallow but discs can't be seen even if 3 feet from shore.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to have discs that float-Dragons, Hydra, etc as at least 2 holes (3 and 5) force you to throw over lake. That's about the only chance to "let it rip" as trees stop long shots at other pins.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: mfgator
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of long, short, trees, left, right, water. For the 45+ crowd most of the holes can be reached for a birdie opportunity. Many heavily wooded holes so great for accurate golfers.
Cons: Not just because it is my home course, but I can't really find any cons...maybe no elevation change if you want to be a stickler
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Broward County! Compared to tradewinds, it has a much more technical and shorter layout and for the "older" arm it is much more fun because you can reach most of the holes. Beautiful wooded area with Jesus lizards, Blue Herons, and Hawks for additional entertainment. Huge spiders too!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for local arborists or individuals wanting to work on accuracy...

1    3/7/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Nice signs at each hole
2. Course map at office
3. Lots of shade for the summer months
4. Multiple basket positions
5. Friendly local disc golfers
Cons: 1. Majority of holes are shorter distances
2. Course map at office has error where tee pads for 8 and 6 are swapped and mixed up #'s 11, 12, & 13
3. Baskets don't have numbers on them
4. Tee pads are carpet pads, not cement
5. Crowded areas around holes 5-8 due to picnic areas, park patrons, and slight mixing of fairway for holes 6 and 7
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing the course, and I had a nice round with my wife and parents. We found the locals to be quite friendly and helpful. The course layout was good (takes advantage of limited space), but not great as there were a few holes where fairways were shared (6+7 & 11+12).
The water holes were fun (due to limited amount of water and shorter distances to throw over it) and not as stressful as some of the ones at Tradewinds Park.
While carpet tee pads are not my fav, it didn't have much of an impact on the play because most holes don't require any steps due to shorter distances.
I thought that the tee signs were helpful, but there were a couple of areas where the basket was difficult to find and/or nearly impossible to find without assistance (#9 was in the middle of some palms, preventing you from seeing it from less than 20 ft out). It really would have helped if the baskets had the hole numbers on their tops for first timers or casual players, but after getting a round or two in on the course, I don't think you'd have trouble finding your way.
While I enjoy the shade, some of the "fairways" required shots between windows that were less than 6ft wide...some holes lacked even that much space from tee pad to basket. There were tons of trees on the back nine, which made for a lot of laughs and some frustration. Without the trees, however, the course would be much too easy.

In the end, I happen to prefer Tradewinds Park over Easterlin Park, but if you're in the area or the park is close to home you really can't lose by giving it a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Can't just review the great courses

1    12/19/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A tight little course in an area with very few options for disc golf. Easterlin Park is a multi-use park which offers an enjoyable day of golfing.

Each hole has a very descriptive tee sign displaying hole number, par, distance, diagram and arrow to next tee. Restrooms on site, located in close proximity to holes 9-13, and another to holes 14-18. Alternate tee pads on some holes, but had a hard time finding them. Baskets are in very good condition, and I believe there to be alternating pin placements, with the baskets being moved to different positions at various times.

Overall pin placement and dense trees on the back 9 brings a little bit of a challange. Tree cover would also give a much needed break from the hot Florida summer sun.

Water comes into play on hole #s 3-5 and 8. OB comes into play on hole #s 2, 10-12, 16-17.

Maps/scorecards provided at park office, which is open during operation hours.
Cons: Carpet mats as tee pads may be a con to some, but shouldn't affect tee shots as a run-up approach isn't necessary on most holes.

Course length is quite short on the back 9, which contradicts most course setups I've played, which usually string together a few tougher holes towards the end.

Holes are extremely condensed, which could pose a problem if the course is busy. An arrant drive could easily cross fairways and tees of other holes. Be vigilant of other players and exercise patience. Pedestrians stroll through park, so keep an eye out and respect the fact that it is a multi-purpose park.

OB on #s 2, 10-12,16-17 is over a chain link fence which is tough to find and retrieve a disc, especially on #17.
Other Thoughts: The course at Easterlin park is a short course that will test your mid-range arsenal. Tight/no fairways on the back 9 will test your ability to shape shots. I would rate this course as a beginner course if it wasn't for the water in play, but still a good choice for players who are learning the game. If the water is that big of a deal you could always set up your own alternate tee on hole #3 and skip #5 and #8.

IMO, hole #s 6-8 and 11-13 should be reversed which would make the course flow properly. In my only experience here, we accidentally played #13 as #11 and had a real difficult time finding #13...because we had already played it!

As much as I am opposed to courses shorter than 18 holes, I feel this area is better suited for a layout of either 9 or 12 holes. The course is rough, but with limited courses in this area it is a "must play" by default. Even though a great review cannot be written for every course, I am always greatful to be able to play any playable course. Thank you to the local club for making this course available.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: Shepack
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its nice to be in the trees for a change. Fun course watter adds a chalange. Peaceful place nice local disc players.
Cons: No elivation which is the norm down here.
Other Thoughts: I like it much more then Tradewinds you feel like you are on a disc course insted of a park alot of the time. Short holes make for many birdie attempts which i feel adds excitment.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course, odd park....

5+    12/28/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good design
*Nice flow
*Good variation: lefts, rights, straights, over water, along water
*Most of the course is through the trees, and the open holes are made more interesting by wind and water...
*Pretty short, allowing for quick, easy rounds
*Challenging enough to punish errant shots
Cons: *The park is a little sketchy, there seems to be a lot of middle-aged men that like to sit in their cars for hours on end, which for some reason, seemed a bit too "George Micheals" for my liking...

*The water is a stagnant, murky pond that makes you feel dirty just looking at it. I threw a sweet champ sidewinder about 10 ft from the shore, and in most other instances, would have waded out, but there was no way...
Other Thoughts: On a trip home, I played this and Tradewinds a bunch, and I like this course better of the two. I liked how technical, but forgiving this course seemed to be. I also enjoyed how much time this course spent in the trees.

This course is short, so if you're looking to "grip-n-rip", go up to Tradewinds. I pulled out a mid or a putter more often than a driver, but that doesn't mean its easy-breezy all the way through.

The front-9 starts out fairly easy with two shortish holes through the trees, then introduces you to the water by having you throw right over it (about 170 ft. carry) then going around the lake, finishing with a couple of easier, open holes.

The back 9 is entirely in the trees, some holes have more defined fairways, some are nearly a crap-shoot, but all are fun, and birdie-able with a good / lucky drive.

Most of the other players I ran into seemed pretty cool, and even though I got a weird vibe from some of the park patrons, I'd highly recommend this course, especially on windy days when Tradewinds would be a bear....

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easterlin

5+    6/20/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 66  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Overall a really good course. Holes 3,5,6 play over a lake in the middle of the park. Nice locals and campers. Not the longest course but very creative layout with the front 9 more open and the back 9 more wooded. Will force you to get creative and use different shots. Mutiple pin locations. Lots of shade.
Cons: Entry fee on the weekends. Not that many chances to open up and let it fly. Hate losing discs in the water. Couple holes play through each other. Tee pads are inconsistent.
Other Thoughts: Best shorter course Ive played. But I am biased because I live so close.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in a Small Space

1    6/18/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: PDXDuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Signage
Multiple Pins on Some Holes
Multiple Tee Pads on Most Holes
Varying Hole Layouts
Water Hazard (over on 3, 5A & 6 - Behind 4)
Open, Tightly Wooded & In Between Holes
Great for Honing Your Accuracy
Cons: Some Tee Pads too Narrow
Carpeted Tee Pads (May not be con for some)
Tee Pads Can be too Close to Other Fairways
No Elevation Change
No Number Plates on Holes
Not Going to Rip Long Drives Here
Other Thoughts: Was on vacation and had to get a little DG in. A nice little course given the amount of space they had to work with. I was able to get a course map at the office and had little trouble navigating the course (although a couple of the numbers on the map didn't seem to match the course layout). I recommend noting the walkout path before you move past the tee as you won't find a walkout sign to guide you to the next hole (Only an issue b/c of the close proximity of holes). While my game caters more to open holes with longer distances, I still enjoyed the finesse and accuracy required to shoot low scores on what is a shorter than average course. Had the pleasure of talking with one of the local club co-directors who was out working on the course - didn't catch his name, though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for what they have to work with

1    1/23/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is nice that they fit in 18 holes on such a small area. The park is well maintained. Tees have signs that acurately show the hole and the next tee.
Cons: Because the park is small all of the holes are short, I dont think there was one over 300 ft, which means you cant really let loose. There are a LOT of trees, pretty much every hole has trees in the way, and often its hard to find the holes. Also they are palm trees so the brances are very hard and even the limbs will make your disc bounce as if it hit a wall.
Other Thoughts: I can see how having to play around the trees adds difficulty, otherwise the short holes would be too easy and be boring. But to me the trees were just a pain, they made getting birdies almost impossible but getting par almost garunteed. Ultimately it is a decent course and is fun if you dont get upset about hitting the trees.

PS: The map provided by the front office had the holes shown out of order, I believe holes 6 and 8 were swapped as were 11 and 13.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/7/2008   12/7/2008
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short course with some interesting layouts and multiple pins and tee pads on several holes.
Cons: Some of the carpet tee pads are torn or have tree roots growing under them. Be aware of spider webs on some of the heavy wooded holes on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: Course is not for the first time player but is not a very difficult course. This course will challenge your game and will require you to use some shots that you don't normally use including some big hyzers off the tee. This is a great course for work on your short game and for adding some shots to your bag.

Notes about the park: Easterlin Park is free during the week and costs $1.50 per person on the weekend. The park is closed on Tuesday (due to buget cuts). League night is on Wednesday at 4:00.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.