La Grande, OR 
Eastern Oregon University Share
Uploaded By: kaiser flippin Hole #6 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great For The College Crowd!

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course at Eastern Oregon plays around the campus and across a volleyball court and then an athletic field. This course plays as a beginner type course which is quite perfect for college students just out looking for a little recreation.
It has simple little metal signs which give the hole #, distance and says Eastern Oregon University on them. The baskets are DGA double chained models. The tee pads are mostly made up of patio blocks.
# 5 is a wide open 250' throw across an open practice field but the tee pad is nicely engineered set in RR ties.
I liked # 7. It's just a simple little 183' downhill but the basket is perched just to the right of the corner of a dorm building. Fun little ACE run!
Cons: Sign is missing for # 4.
Some or all of the course might be unplayable when students/classes/activities are present.
Beginner distances and challenge.
# 9 has been moved due to new construction. I was never able to locate the new tee pad for 9.
The new # 9 basket sits out in the open main lawn of the campus. Would be filled with students during peak hours.
Other Thoughts: What I like about this course is it's easy playability for the students. The designers didn't go crazy trying to make this a Pro caliber course. They kept it simple and in doing so, reached their target audience, the students of Eastern Oregon University. They might as well enjoy their disc golf course as there can't be many other entertainment options here in LaGrande, Oregon!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

EOU Review

5+    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: LGFrolfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept course! Since it is one a college campus, the grounds are well maintained. The tee pads are in great condition and the baskets are great! The course style itself is a great for beginners. There is some variety between wide open holes and some lightly wooded areas.
Cons: The short tee boxes probably should be listed as par two. During the day, students are walking around which can cause some long waits to tee off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

1    11/21/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: used disc seller
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained. Easy to find. Flows well. You don't need many discs to play this course. One mid range and a putter works. Great for beginners and newbees.
Cons: no long holes where you can really open up. You can use your putter on most of the holes from the tee pad. I played when there was no one around. I could imagine if you played when it was nice out or between classes there could be a lot of people out and about causing a slow speed of play.
Other Thoughts: Just a really short course but for what it is and if its all you got not bad. Baskets are nice and grounds are kept nice.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home town course

5+    9/8/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: Idahomtnhigh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find and great place to learn the sport. We always play the paths as a penalty, this make for a lot more challenge.
Cons: Finding the #6 tee is a little tough for first time players. This is the only course for 50 miles.
Other Thoughts: Some alternate tee boxes could be made to make this more challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Campus Golf

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing around the campus of EOU this course has lots of short and fun holes although mostly open. I took the advice of playing all of the concrete paths out of bounds and on a couple of holes like number eight playing it as an island hole and I think this makes the course a little more fun and challenging. Hole number six (If I remember correctly) was the most wooded hole and it was a short turnover hole with a gap between the inside trees and also the outside trees playing over the out of bounds road and parking lot. We were playing Superclass here and having a good time.
Cons: The course isn't much of a challenge and the holes are a little too wide open for my tastes as well. Only holes three and six had a tree at all. I can see this place being almost unplayable at certain times of the year or even certain times of the day or days of the week as the course plays right on the campus grounds.
Other Thoughts: This is pretty neat little course for the students of the college as you can play all nine holes very quick which could be nice in between classes or during lunch time but watch out for other students and the buildings! I really like the little pole in the middle of the fairway on hole nine, it's right in my ace line.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little nine on campus course

2-4    6/23/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *well maintained course
*trash cans & cigarette butt containers provided
*open to the public
*flows very well
*beautiful plateau's surround the city/campus
*friendly locals/students/facility members
*beginner friendly, has a few challenging holes
*great new dga mach baskets
*hole signs with hole lengths provided
*many resting spots IE tables/benches provided
*restrooms available in many campus buildings
Cons: *tee boxes are wood chip and in poor condition
*basket locations are almost always next to paths
*many buildings & other structures come into play
*small town & not many know what disc golf is
*nearest course is 99 miles away
Other Thoughts: all in all its a fun little nine w/ an average of 200-250 ft holes it flows very well and its a neat setup that guides you throughout the campus offering both simple and challenging holes.

its great for beginners, campus students, and the folks from the small town of La Grande to be able to have something to do.

i wouldn't recommend driving a long distance to play the course, how ever if you happen to find yourself in the city of La Grande and want to bang out a few quick nines then this is the only established public discgolf course out their

locals talk of mountain lion and bears that have been known to come out during day and night and walk the streets of the 12400 populated town. (i didn't see any while there).

after my friend mary did some research on the local d-golf community she was able to hunt down a "Bird feeder shop" that sells disc's... they had both innova and discraft in decent selections... as well as a few ching discs and even some wheels (that funky roller disc i believe by whamo) a few bags and phoniex straps. all items were a tad over priced compared to Portland Or shop prices... but hey its a start in a small town in the middle of nowhere eastern oregon.

The store is called Bobolink located at 1102 Washington Ave. La Grande, Or 97850. Hours of operation Tue - Sat. 12 pm - 4 pm and by appointment. phone 541-963-2888

Trent Bray is the owner of the store and was kind enough to inform us of monthly tournys held at different locations using 18-21 port-a baskets and even talked of an old tone pole course near by. he was a very kind person and eager to talk about d-golf. so if your in this small town he's the man to know.




7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.