Chicago, IL 
Edgebrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: erickmj   (Taken 8/2012)
Course Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Big Arm Paradise.

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured. The golf greens can give your discs unique skips and slides.
Marks to tell you how far you have left to the golf flag.

8 and 16 had nice elevated tees.

10 was an interesting shot over a swamp, but the basket is to the right while basket 12 sits infront of you and appears to be the correct basket.

Flow is relatively easy, the pro shop warns you about potentially confusing area.

As a single player I did not need a tee time for an early morning weekday round (however I called for reservation anyway to be safe)

Golf carts can add to the fun for an additional $9.00

Cold delicious water and cups were spread out through out the course in igloo coolers.

Bathroom in the clubhouse, but there were porto-potties on the course as well.

Air conditioned clubhouse that serves snacks is always a pro. Employees were top notch and treat disc golfers just like ball golfers.
Cons: I will not complain about the actual distance. You have to know what you are getting into when you come here. This is a very long, open course that favors big arms, but I did get tired of using the same shot over and over on a majority of the holes, sometimes twice on the same hole.

Many of the distances on the score card are off by hundreds of feet. Hole 13 for example says 662. After 2 drives I landed by the marker that said I had 600 feet to go to the golf flag.

Baskets in rough shape. Some are tilted because the concrete they used to lock them is not flush with the ground, so the baskets lean to the left or right. Basket 1 was demolished, but still in use.

Baskets are unmarked, so it is easy to shoot at the wrong basket (which I did twice).

Hole 5 is infested with poison ivy if you do not make the hill. I lost a GL River that hit the tree on the right and fell straight down into a dense patch of Poison Ivy.

$11 a round (to walk) is a bit excessive considering the condition of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you play early (6-7am on Friday) there will be workers all over the course and they will stop, but not move out of your way. It is a bit of a distraction, but they must get ready for the rush of weekend golfers.

Know what you are getting into before going. This is a big arm course that costs over $10. If you do not like that, than this may not be a course for you.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: Rupe_there_it_is
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: you get to use golf carts
Cons: holes are very long and wide open. Every basket is trashed (bent or leaning). They are even missing a basket on hole 12
Other Thoughts: I would never go back. $20 for a round with horrible baskets. I would recommend putting the $20 in gas and play a nice course for FREE.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Way to spend an afternoon

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: RAW32728
Played: 223  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The people in the pro shop are helpful and knowledgeable. The course is wide open and lets you see just how far you can rip it down a golf fairway. The course is pretty well maintained and having the option of a cart is nice to see.
Cons: The course is wide open. It doesn't test a lot of different shots from your bag. I could see how it might be difficult to play this while a lot of golfers are on the course. Long course. Bring the Ibuprofen!
Other Thoughts: Use the golf markers and you'll have an idea of how far you are from the pin (approx) and how far your throw was from the tee. Enjoyed the course and will try to play it again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Looooong and open

1    10/1/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays the same layout as a flat fairly open golf course. The fairways are wide and grassy, great for learning and practicing distance rollers. There are scattered trees if you miss your line and end up off to the side, and a few holes have some woods on a really errant shot. A creek and a pond come into play on a few holes, and these holes also have some good elevation changes to mix things up a bit. Most holes are very long, and give you lots of opportunities to rip a drive or two.

The longest set of tees have nice asphalt surface, and benches. There is water scattered around the course to refill on a hot day, very nice with this long a walk. You can rent a cart if that's something you'd enjoy, kind of a fun perk. Having some water and the golf greens ob adds a little bit of 'risk' and makes you think a little more on some holes. There are scorecards with maps, and the flow is easy to follow. Most of the baskets are visible from the tee, the rest are usually right where you'd think they'd be.
Cons: Playing here gets really repetitive. If you want to work on your distance or practice rollers, this is an awesome place to do it, otherwise, you're throwing a pure distance shot off basically every tee, and often another long drive after that. Lots of baskets are out in the open, so the only challenge is the length. We play at a very different pace than ball golfers, so you might do some waiting if it's a busy day. It would get expensive to play here very often, though it's cheaper in the evening on weekdays. It would be nice to have actual disc golf scorecards, you have to guess at the distance by how much longer or shorter it is than the golf pin.
Other Thoughts: This is a totally different kind of course that's worth a round or two. It's a little expensive to be a regular stop for me, and gets too repetitive to really test many different skills. Beginners will be quite frustrated by the length. More experienced players won't find much variety, this is purely a big arm air it out type course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/2/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: branvigne
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The golf cart made it the least exhausting round of DG I've ever played. Super long open holes which was great for practicing distance. Huge asphalt tee areas. No searching for discs in woods, as it is so open.
Cons: Can feel repetitive with so many looong OPEN holes. Single row of chains on baskets. Pricey.
Other Thoughts: Hey it was a good time. Got to drink beer and drive a golf cart. Great course for big arms, or anyone needing practice throwing for distance. Saw lots of deer which my female friend enjoyed. Course was pretty wet after a rain but with the cart our feet didn't even get wet. The ball golf greens are OB, which would have been nice to know before the round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/14/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The golf carts and ball golf atmosphere is the best quality of this course. With a par of 76 and only 3 par 3s, this course will make you throw a few good shots on each hole to score well. You get to tee off from the asphalt tee area that surrounds the ball golf tee.
Cons: Every drive is nearly identical, and will require players with 400 ft or less distance to throw full power every drive. There are little to no trees that come in to play, and therefore shot shaping is unnecessary. Unfortunately the course is rather expensive for disc golf, but it should be a little fun for those who can throw over 400 ft consistently. Those who cant throw over 300: I wouldn't advise playing here. There is only one hole under 400 ft after one of the baskets has been moved.
Other Thoughts: I rented a cart, I would advise you do too. At 12,566 ft, its one of the longest disc golf courses, and there is alot of space between some of the holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 challenging and enjoyable

1    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: fractalzoom
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has a well manicured course and the holes are long and challenging. Having a cart helps you stay fresh... which is necessary - because this course is incredibly long. It's a different kind of challenge. It will reward the player that can throw long drives and there should be courses like this. There were a couple pro-level, super super fun holes that really made you think how you want to shape your shot. It was very different disc golf experience. The ball golfers that were around were very nice to us. Creative use of the OB gave us the option of a high risk/reward shot. As open as this course is - it challenges you because it's incredibly windy. Going into a 999 foot hole with the wind just ripping into your face is a real challenge. I will be back.
Cons: It's a little repetitive. It's long. This would not be fun for someone who couldn't throw a certain distance.
Other Thoughts: Dear Smyith,

I don't think you saw this coming, but I'm afraid I cannot stay in this relationship any longer. You were never very good to me. And oh my god, you were such a cheapskate. Seriously, dude. Plus, it just wasn't working out between you and my mother. It was very strange, let's just say that and be done with it.

The thing is... I trusted you. For months I took your suggestions to heart. I avoided Edgebrook for as long as I could. You suggested I should not. With disdain you relegated a meager rating of 1/2 stars and immediately brought to my mind a post-apolcalyptic pitch n' putt with rusty old baskets. The more you forbid it, the more obsessed with it I've become. I've suppressed my urges for about two years, but I couldn't hold back any longer. I gave in to the temptation and played Edgebrook today. It was a thrilling and liberating experience and I wallowed in my naughtiness.

I realized then that your advice was worth no more than a small bucket of pond scum. I grew to resent you. I knew I could never look you in the face again. I'm going to put all of the stuff you left at my place and put it in a bag and have Tony drop it off.

That's it, I'm serious.

fractalzoom

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/22/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: kmoon122@hotmail.com
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Golf carts are the only thIng going for this course. One fun hole to play on throwing over a creek up a hill and over the green. You need a spotter for this hole. Great course to practice your drives.
Cons: Really long holes, follows the entire fairway from tees to the green. It takes 2-3 monster drives per hole, so be prepared to blow your arm out. The course was flooded and very wet. Long wait times for golfers. There are only 14 holes to play which is good because it will take about a while just to play those holes.
Other Thoughts: I will not waste my time playing this course ever again.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fly 18 Golf--Grip & Rip

5+    8/15/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Golf Carts!

Pay to Play amenities that a golf course offers. Pro shop, snacks/food, drinks and clean restrooms.

Pro/Advanced level course. If you like to bomb you will love this course.

Long. This is true par 4 and 5 golf. There are only a few shorter par 3's on the course.

Solid course design. Some well placed baskets near greens. (Greens are OB in Fly 18 Golf)

Excellent terrain for rollers.

Some minor elevation and water comes into play on several holes.

New Discraft Chainstar baskets.

Nice asphalt superlong tee areas.

1 of 2 courses within the city limits of Chicago. It's not too far from the train station.

If you have never played Fly 18 style disc golf it's a unique experience.
Cons: Pay to play. Depending on what time you play it can be pricey for disc golf.

This course can be very crowded with golfers and play can be slow. It's a hack golf course so lots of beginner golfers are on the course.

Pro/Advanced level course. This is definitely not a beginner course.

Since this is a golf course there are very few tree obstacles. Lots of long and open shots.



Other Thoughts: Call before playing to make sure baskets and course is open for play.

Fly 18 disc golf is not for everyone. If you cannot throw the disc near 300 feet you probably will not enjoy yourself.

If you play this course rent a cart!

If you are looking for a challenge this is the place for you. To score well you have to be able to throw long and there is a premium on approach shots and putting.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Novelty

2-4    4/30/2008   3/29/2009
Review By: shanagins80
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Its on a ball golf course, so there are golf carts, and the holes are very long (and if feels like you can just drive farther on this course for some reason), one hole with serious elevation change and water, being able to throw a disc farther than some of the ball golfers drives :)
Cons: Shared course with ball golfers who may not like DGers (BTW, the baskets are not on the ball golf greens, usually nearby). It is a pay course and not terribly cheap, so I usually only play here once a year or so. Pretty wide open, so not technically challenging, though it is fun to throw a bunch of bombs.
Other Thoughts: This course is a novelty. Its one of very few courses in Chicago (and you can even take a train from the city and walk there). Its also fun to ride around in a golf cart. Certainly not a fantastic course, but I have fun everytime I play here (though I guess I have fun pretty much everytime I play).

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.