Orangeburg, SC 
Edisto Memorial Gardens DGC Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #16
3 / 249ft.   4 / 389ft.   3 / 530ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc Golf

1    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 85  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This park is ginormous and is Disc Golf only!
-This course had a little bit of everything with the 3 distinct 9's. The Cypress 9 is decently wooded and well shaded, The River 9 is very open and makes for some longer shots, and The Fire Ant 9 is lightly wooded with a few mounds to add elevation.
-Nice DISCatcher baskets
-Interesting variety of shots challenge most parts of your game.
-Port-a-potty located by course sign.
-Signs galore! Every hole has a sign with a map and everything is clearly labeled.
-Pretty secluded. I had the course to myself on a Friday evening.
-The 9's play as 3 separate circles that all meet next to the pavilion.
Cons: -The lack of trees on 2 of the 9's make the course feel somewhat redundant.
-There are TONS of mosquitos in the woods where holes 15,16, and 17 play. The bugs are so bad that these holes are nearly unplayable.
-The wooded holes listed above are littered with garbage. I found myself questioning if the course was put in on top of an old landfill.
-The Cypress layout was very flooded! It was nearly unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Such a large park devoted completely to Disc Golf is amazing. I think this was the first time I have ever seen signs that said, "This area is for disc golf only". I would be ecstatic if this was my home course. Unfortunately this course does not come without issues (namely those listed above. If the flooding, trash, and bugs were taken care of this would be a solid 4-Disc Course.

In my opinion, this course is definitely worth a visit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Finally got to play Orangeburg

2-4    5/21/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Addendum: I haven't played here since it became a 27 hole course. Next time I'm back in the area I plan in sneaking up for a round on the new 27 hole layout. I'm looking forward to it and will updates review at that time!

I played on the New relocated front 9. It was relocated due to the water issues on the front 9. The first tee is still the same, but you cross the road and go to the left for number 2. Look for the Blue/White markers.
-Tee's: Concrete Tee's, Maps w/Signs (Back 9 only at the moment)
-Multiple Tee's
-Well maintained and manicured.
-This course had a good "Fun Factor", I'm looking forward to play here again.
-Good for beginners, and the multiple tees will offer a challenge for the advanced player.
-Garbage cans located throughout the course.
-Porto near first tee
-Excellent distance shots, with an 125ft Ace run on the first hole. (Nice way to start a round)
-Course layout is figure 8 style back to the parking lot. This allows for a quick 9 hole play on either front or back 9. As well as a stop off at the car for a break.
-Front 9 houses the distance holes. Wide open, "Let her rip" shots. Plus a Mando around a house on 9. (Which I thought was fun challenge!)
-Back 9 requires more strategic approaches. 3 targets on are on tall mounds, which require a specific placement. Finishing out with an narrow but not overly tight 505ft shot.
-There was a place for scorecards at the billboard, but it was empty. This may be due to the transition. I'm assuming it will be refilled once the changes are finalized.
-The back 9 has signs that alert people that Disc Golf is being played, this should reduce the "Wandering park goer"

FWIW:
-Places to fish here
-Playground available
-Places to eat nearby
-I put a bug in the ear of the CVS next door, that they should consider selling discs. Feel free to help the cause by stopping in and asking. The more people that ask, the more likely they might be to start carrying Disc Golf discs and equipment.

Cons: -People tend to park there cars in and along the #2 Fairway.
-16 and 17 can get a little confusing. The old narrow 16 tunnel shot, has been relocated. I didn't learn this until after I played the hole. The tee signs were still in the old location. This was kind of frustrating.

I'm not holding the following against the course, because I realize that the front 9 is in a transition phase. I do feel it is worth noting.
-A map would be very helpful for the front 9 for first timers. But once you play it, it'll be easy to remember.
-No tee signs or teepads on the front 9 yet. Look for the Tee markers. They're usually Blue and white, with a red marker for the shorter tees.
-The tree on 9 needs a mando sign on it, because the arrow that was spray painted on is faded. I just barely saw it. Plus a Mando sign will make for a nice touch.

Other Thoughts: I drove about 50 miles to play here, and I personally felt like it was worth the drive. This was a fun course, I had a great time and I felt I was met with a challenge. If you happen to be in the area, this course is worth the stop. I'm not sure if I'd go out way out of my way to play here, but the nice thing about Orangeburg is that its right off I-26. So if you are traveling up or down 26, it would be a convenient stop.

The last time I tried to play here, I was shocked to learn that the front 9 had been submerged. This has been remedied by relocating the front 9 to the other side of the road. The new front 9 offers good distance challenges. I would love to see the measurements once they are posted. I'll post the holes I had a little trouble locating.

*Tee 2: Standing at the first basket, face the shelter house, and look towards the left (around 10 o clock). Look for the Blue and white tee markers. (I posted a photo with directions)
*Tee 3: The Tee's are located on the left side of the house, across the road from the 2nd basket.
*Hole 9, I've seen where this one throws people for a loop. You'll see the basket, but the tee faces 90 degrees opposite the tee. This hole is a Mando, where you have to throw around the house, in a horseshoe fashion. Look for the faded arrow on the tree near the back of the house.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Estido MG DCG - Not 2 Bad!

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: rpitt08
Played: 95  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had heard this course if always very wet but it had not rained significantly in two or three weeks so it was dry as a bone. The front was covered in low weeds so it was very hard to skip so you could really go at the basket on drives and upshots. Where it hit was where it finished.

The first hole was only like 100 ft so I was like wow!... this is gonna be a joke. Then things got a little longer. I am a 905 rated player (perhaps I am a bit better than my rating) and I was 1 down playing all par three) after the front nine. There is really only one hole that is a tough par (3) for me. There is a righty and lefty rout for many of the holes A long arm is not required but you are definitely at a disadvantage if you cant throw 300+.
Hole 9 is completely screwed up. We found the basket bit could not find a definitive tee, so we used the only tee that did not play on the front but did not face the basket (actually it was perpendicular). There were many birdie opps...

The back is much, much harder than the front and feature two or three legit par 4s. I'd say par on this course would be 57 or 58 as there are 3 or 4 holes that are unaceable. Hole 10 you throw over a swamp. Its a straight shot and don't even try to go over if you cant throw 300 straight line. The safety shot is a hyzer around it which I ponied out and opted for. (I didn't feel like loosing a disc on a practice round... MEOW!!!). There is one really sweet hole on the back where you can throw 300ft through an outwardly telescoping tunnel straight at it or do a monster hyzer shot (if you have it). Water plays on the aforementioned shot and at least two other holes on the back.

Cons: Tee signs are few and far between. You can tell the course does not get a lot of play. Hole 9s tee is hard to find if it exists. If it has rained recently wear Seal-Skinz or something. I'm sure you need plenty of Deep Woods Off in the summer as it looks like a heavy mosquito breeding area.
Other Thoughts: Don't hate the course, hate the game! Worth a stop if you are passing by. Though I have never played a course I didn't love ('cause I live the game) I wouldn't go out of my way for this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B = Be a little too open and a little too long for me

2-4    5/14/2006   5/1/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up (from the longs):
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B (About half are great due to use of trees and canal. The other half are pretty open and offer no real decision making or punishment for errors in execution)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B (I throw 300' accurately and 350' max. That makes too many of the hole impossible to expect birdie, and makes pars boring/expected.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B (The design milks everything out of the available land, but there are too many straight, open-ish holes. The only terrain is 2-3 baskets perched on smallish mounds.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C- (Very non-Appalachianish. I am not a fan of the coastal plain - sorry. Not a secluded feel either - very open.)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.