Orangeburg, SC 
Edisto Memorial Gardens DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #15 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 212ft.   4 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great Disc Golf Only Park

1    3/9/2015   3/9/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 52  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There really are a lot of pros to this course.

28 well manicured holes divided into 3 separate layouts. All 3 nines represent very different play styles that overall are an in-depth test of disc golf. The Cypress nine is a narrow, technical Lowcountry style course which emphasizes tight lines and precision. The Fireant nine has some open holes but is noteworthy for some more demanding green complexes with the manmade elevations on 13 and 17 as well as some baskets guarded in the trees. The River nine is mostly a wide open bomber's paradise. Between the three, you have short technical holes, some difficult greens, and some really long ones where you can let it fly.

Multiple holes that I would consider "signature holes." #8 on the River nine is a really nice narrow hole that plays on an elevated fairway with a canal lining the left. The mound holes on the Fireant nine are definitely the signature of that layout, as well as hole 15 (6th on the side) which is a sharp dogleg left which has a really neat risk-reward window through the trees. Probably the prettiest hole is 25 (#7 on the River nine) which plays right along the river.

The course has a nice kiosk which shows the entire layout with a portajohn on site and multiple shelters available in case of storm. Benches aplenty and great tees and teesigns. Navigation is a breeze with very good signage. There are even posts by the tees to be used for writing on your scorecard (unfortunately no scorecards were available when I went by).

Course was in very good shape when I played with plenty of active maintenance going on. I would love to see what this place looks in its prime.
Cons: A lot of the course seems to be in lowlying area, especially the Cypress nine, and much of it was flooded when I played. There were some attempts to use palettes as bridges but they were a bit rickety.

There are a few throwaway holes on the Cypress nine (1 and 7). Also, the mando on #6 is uncomfortably tight for something that close to the teebox.

The Fireant nine is in desperate need of cleaning in the areas of holes 15-17. 15 is actually dangerous with the amount of half buried trash (including broken glass and rusted metal jutting out of the ground).

The canal/pond thing that borders #8 and #17 is disgusting. It desperately needs some cleaning.

The River nine seems like a bit of an afterthought. Only 1-2 sets of tees and a lot of holes out in the open. I think a bit more work would help it be a much more entertaining layout. The mando on #7 on that side unfortunately takes the threat of the water out of play which may actually make the hole easier overall. Maybe it was put there to keep discs away from fishers or people enjoying the water, but it seems a bit unnecessary.

A few of the baskets have remnants of old hole numbers on them which can make things confusing the first time you play.
Other Thoughts: It is actually pretty cool to see all of the signs that say Disc Golf Only. Its not often that you see that in a park. Most of the time DG is an afterthought in big parks, but here it is center stage.

With some cleanup of the Fireant nine and a bit more time invested into the River nine, this would easily be a 4 rated course, but it is still a very nice place to come play.

Not sure why hole 17a exists...seems like an unnecessary addition to the course. I wonder if it is there for beginners to be able to play a 9 hole layout without major water threats by skipping hole 17.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Weekly Player

5+    11/4/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: Meteorite
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean course. Has an active play group. Also a varity of challenges: water, distance, obstacles, etc.
Cons: Can be soggy on front 9. Very bad ditch on 8 + 17. Some fire-ants and mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: There is also an alternative hole for 17, making it a 28 hole course. Many of the problems have been fixed and the layout has changed since past reviews. Progress is being made.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, Definitly Worth the Drive

5+    7/4/2011   11/29/2010
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course had a lot of different challenges. When we played it was under the new layout and there were some monster holes. This made it so that the two sides of the course played very differently, which made for a nice contrast between front and back 9. We played on thanksgiving morning and the course was barren which was very nice. Some of the woods made seemingly simple holes very challenging. The back nine was very well labeled. The signs and concrete tee pads made the course wonderful...

Update 7/30/2011: I just played this course again while in town and the original front nine was opened and the new third 9? all have cement tee pads. I would love to see some signs up for these, but all in all this is an awesome course with 27 distinct holes. My favorite part about it, is each set of 9 holes plays very differently. With that being said if you only have time to play 18 you can mix and match to get completely different playing experiences. I originally had it listed at 3, but with the front 9 open I'd give it and easy 3.5 signs and making sure all the basket numbers are right makes this an easy 4 borderline 4.5. What a great little course.
Cons: ...the front nine is temporary and the lack of signage made it hard to play. Twice we played to the wrong basket, and had to go restart the hole. We skipped nine because even though I knew it played around the house and was able to find a basket I was never able to find the tee box. Since we did play on a holiday the course was dead but I could easily see how if there were other cars avoiding them could be difficult.

Update 7/30/2011: Just played this course in the summer time, make sure not to go near dusk as the bugs will eat you alive. Best bet is to go in the morning, or take lots of bug spray.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my parents house, about 30 minutes away. I will definitely drive to play a round or two when visiting, but will also consider a longer drive to explore some new courses. It's not quiet good enough to keep me satisfied. I also have mixed feelings about some of the "elevated" baskets. I've never seen a basket built up on the top of a mound solely to elevate the basket. It added a challenge but also resulted in a lot of missed putts ending up much further away than I started. I'd rather they just tucked the basket behind a tree if they really needed to add a challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    11/20/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17.5 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The front and back loop to the parking area, and are distinctly different. Front 9 is a bit shorter, in some trees in a flat area. A few almost mandatory 2's and a few long tight shots. One 550' tunnel, with trees on right and a wet ditch on the left. Back 9 more open, a few shots across the field back and forth to a tree line. Several baskets on small mounds, another long shot along a trench on the right this time.
Well marked for the most part- #16-18 get confusing due to a new layout and a small sign that describes it- but only helpful for those who KNOW the course.
DISC GOLF ONLY side of the park according to signs all over. Get the heck outta my way everyone else!
Great, 99% perfection tee pads- flush with the ground, smooth but not slippery, grippy but not so you can't pivot and a good size too.
Has signs on every hole, showing all tee positions and lengths.
Multiple tees sometimes, color coded.
Good for all skills.
Cons: Front 9 gets some wet, soggy spots and water trenches to walk around which slows play.

The water on the two long shots is black- you go in it's probably gone. (I landed on lillies and ran to get my golden retriever and saved it).

Last few holes confusing now due to new layout change. Possibly a spare basket out there?

Some fire ants.
Other Thoughts: Be careful not to play #18 instead of #9.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.