Layout Extinct

South Boston, VA 
Edmunds Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #17 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 330ft.   4 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 constantly being improved

5+    11/23/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: widespreadpanic
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2012
Pros: Good mix of wide open grip it and rip it, as well as tight wooded holes.

The grand caretaker of this place, Tim is his name I think, is constantly working to improve the course.

Never crowded.

Beautiful park.

This course wasn't setup and forgotten. Look for changes on a regular basis, such as relocated teeboxes/goal placements, etc.
Cons: I don't really mind, but to be fair many people do not like that his course doesn't have concrete tee pads. I'd like to point out however, the rumor is funds have been secured to build them soon.

A few of the holes had their goal placement changed and the signage has not been updated.
Other Thoughts: Overall this place is great. It combines beauty, skill, power, and finesse into one pleasurable round of DG.

I'll be back.

 Clean little course

1    6/10/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18-hole course in a small community park. 2 tee locations for each hole with one basket.

Very easy to navigate and play. First 4 holes play wide open and straight and offer a nice little warmup.

Course is mostly short, but with a few longer, open holes mixed in. Fairways are all fair and offer just enough variety to keep you interested.

Wooded holes have a decent variety of short ace or birdie opportunities, and a few longer technical holes that require some placement.

Some small elevation is used to add some challenge to a couple of the more basic holes. No huge elevation, but it does come into play several times.

Natural tee pads didn't seem all that worn so my guess is this course doesn't get much traffic. Probably a decent place to practice and work on your short game. About an even mix of open or mostly open holes and wooded holes. Not too much lost disc risk.

Pretty good place to go if you need to work on your ace count. Several holes right around 200', and the open holes are mostly short enough to reach with a driver or mid.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty basic and bland. Not a lot of shot shaping required. Most of the open holes don't have enough elevation or risk/reward factors to make them much fun. Heck, even I could birdie them.

Natural pads and very basic signage.

Hole 1 had quite a bit of Goose poop around the ground so check your disc, and watch your footing. Other holes by pond may be at risk too.
Other Thoughts: This is one of those courses that you'd like to have close by for putter rounds and practice. It isn't good enough to attract huge numbers of players, but offers enough challenge to help keep you interested. I'd recommend it as a place to practice or bring newer players to the course. The open holes won't punish you, and most of the wooded holes aren't very long. Great mix for a round with a family or kids too.

Not a course worth going out of your way for, but if you're near by it will definitely give you your disc golf fix.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 They play WHAT in Edmunds Park?

1    5/19/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: grease
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a surprise to find out SoBo has disc golf! Even more surprising was that the course is actually good and the park itself was very nice.. The course was fun and had a good mix of open and wooded shots. Some technical and some longer throws.
Cons: A little readjusting could make this a champion caliber course. Only problem I'm guessing there are not too many locals who play, much less higher end players that can handle a bigger, tougher course. I guess it's fine the way it is.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    9/28/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin! This is an excellent course in Halifax County that offers a wide variety of holes, shots and terrains. Most of the holes are out of the woods in open fields that are well maintained and mowed (mown?). However, there are a handful that make great use of the woods in the park. In the woods, there are obviously trees, but there are nice fairways with wide turns which makes the holes possible. The range of the holes is also a pro: there are a few under 200, but the majority are close to 300 with a couple long shots (hole 16 is a 615 foot monster over rolling hills!!!! A definite favorite!)
Each hole is marked with a sign that gives a diagram of the hole, the distance, the par, and also points to the next tee. The course is well laid out, ending essentially right back where you started.
Cons: There are no real tee pads. There are little concrete circles that show the area you should throw from, but no pads set in stone.
While the signs are nice, some appear to be a little off, pointing in the wrong direction for the next tee. But you could easily see each basket, so it wasn't hard to figure out where to go.
The only other con really isn't a horrible thing: the par for several of the holes was very generous. Several of the holes were par 4 when they should have been set at 3. But this isn't that big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: I must be honest that I was shocked to find such a wonderful, enjoyable course in Halifax county! The course is located in a park with a pond, making for a couple interesting shots keeping the disc away from the water, but not that risky. It would be all but impossible to lose a disc on this course except on one or two holes at the beginning. If you are ever in the area, this is a must play course! A true hidden gem!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Grip It and Rip It!

5+    8/6/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: KenTyburski
Played: 81  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. I just love the look of this course. It's a nice park, always with people around, and ever-increasing amenities.
2. Wide open holes for airing shots out. Some people like their disc golf more technical; I love gripping and ripping this course after knocking around some other forest course like a woodpecker.
3. The course is well-maintained. The woods fairways are fairly well-defined, and the rough is fair but challenging in places (stay away from the right on #7, 8, 11, 15, avoid going far left on 10, and don't do either on 6!).
Cons: 1. Okay, so maybe it's too wide open. Even for me, since I like throwing the bombs as much as the technical throws. A couple more holes in the woods would have been nice, instead of just #5-#11.
2. Clearly defined longer tees, plus an alternate set of pins, would make this course more challenging.
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole: #14. It's just a really nice view from the tee; a small creek with a medium-sized throwing window opens out into a small field before another tree line, and the basket is up on a small hillock. Of course, #16 is a great 615' downhill bomb, but #14 is prettier.

I like Edmunds Park most of all because the first time I visited the course, after playing for only a few months, three regulars invited me to join their group when I stepped up behind them on #1. They showed me around the course, giving me pointers on all the basket locations, and being super friendly. I've seen them a couple more times, and they never fail to greet with a smile. Ah, the brotherhood of disc golf!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/14/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: chrissauls
Played: 98  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is not a bad course. Although it lacks some creativity, I found that I never lost interest while playing. It is a mostly open course that plays over rolling hills with a handfull of shots in or around the woods. It was well groomed when we played which played a huge part in our enjoyment of the course. It reminded me a lot of Elberton or JP Mosely in Georgia. Just much easier. The park is easy to find and has a hugh playground for the kids. The first 3 holes play around a pond but it doesn't come into play unless you bypass the tee for hole 1 at the bottom of the hill and tee from the top. This is where the tee should be to begin with.See cons.
Cons: Missed opportunities in design
Too many short holes in the 200-265 range
Dirt tee pads.
It is a tremendous walk from hole 18 basket back to the hole 1 tee.
Other Thoughts: With the land this course is on, it could easily have a 4 or 4.5 rating. However, I get the feeling it was designed for the rec to intermediate type player. This isn't a problem, but it would get boring after the 3rd or 4th time playing it. If your looking for a course in a quiet country setting that is fun and not too challenging, then this is your place.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/22/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice park and course with no "wow" factor. It's worth a play if you are nearby. There are plenty of pros to list but there just isn't anything to rave about.

-nice mix of distance and open/wooded
-clean and safe
-fairly scenic
-fairways were well maintained
-navigation was easy
-tee signs
-bridges over wet areas
Cons: There isn't anything that seemed too bad to me:

-Natural tees marked with a white, circular piece of metal
-basket placement could have been a bit closer to the water to give a bit more risk/reward factor (maybe even a throw over)
Other Thoughts: The course/ park is down a gravel road behind a church. Go straight down that road until you see the sign for the DG course then park to the right by the pavillion (#18 ends closer to that lot.) That sign you turned at has a course map on it's backside.
I really wish I could rate this higher but 2.5 is listed as "decent" and that's what it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bucolic

1    2/10/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 302  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *You're out in a natural setting in the farmland of rural Virginia.
*There's pretty good length variety. (1 of 185/ 10 of 200-299/ 5 of 300-399/ 1 of 435/ 1 of 615)
*A pond adds some beauty on the first 4 holes, but water doesn't come into play much.
*There are some rolling hills with some mild elevation changes. Hole 16 has an elevation drop of ~25 ft., though. 5 Flat/ 5 Up/ 8 Down
Cons: -Tees: there is only one rounded metal marker. The tees are natural, not framed, and there is no front marker, so sometimes it's hard to figure out where to tee from.
-Navigation: it was hard to see 7 baskets from the tee, especially hole 16.
Other Thoughts: Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)

*There's average fairway shape variety. 9 St/ 4 Left/ 5 Right.
*Holes 1-4 and 15-18 are mostly wide open. The wind can come into play on these holes. Holes 5-14 are mostly mixed terrain with 4 in the woods.

Even though the tees are lacking, on whole there's nothing really bad about this course, but there's just not much that's really memorable either. There's just not much to draw me back again. By the end of the round, especially finishing with 4 bland open holes, my euphoria was low. Time to move on to the next course.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rainy wet and windy

1    10/17/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 437  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation changes, Nice locale, park has playground and a nice pond. grass is thick but a low risk of losing a disk if you keep you eye on it.
Cons: woods holes could use some fairway definition, 6 and 8 are very narrow. Tee pads not defined, you can find the marker but not sure wear they expect you to throw from around it.
Other Thoughts: The setting is a nice little park with a nice playground atop the hill. you play 1-4 around a pond, not much challenge to these holes and not much risk of putting it in the water either. then you head into the woods for i think 5-10, i found most woods holes to need definition. hole 6 was extremely narrow fairway, and 8 narrowed and i felt blocked the basket. 10 i remember the distance being misleading. you then come out of the woods for i believe the rest of the course. 11 has it's basket tucked off to the right so when you tee off you are looking at 12's basket. the rest of the holes are almost all open with the only major challenge being distance and elevation changes up and down the hills. Wind really messes with you on these last holes out in the open. then after 18 yo have to hike a little to get back to the lot.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 sobo, VA

1    10/12/2008   10/17/2008
Review By: Rowdie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great diversity between holes. fun layout
Cons: very overgrown. a machette would be nice for this one
Other Thoughts: a fun course, but bring frinds and a couple of extra discs.........i lost two out in the open

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.