Indiana, PA 
IUP College Lodge Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 210ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Elevation Baby

1    9/21/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is a ton of awesome elevation changes. There are a bunch of holes where you can let it rip. There are also a fwe very technical holes. So this course basically pleases anyone. The baskets are great so is the signage. The fairways will rival some golf courses.
Cons: The tee pads are a bit skeptical because they are wood chips. Other than that there really are not any cons.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course I highly recommend it to anyone who likes the sport. I would drive an hour and hit this one plus Getty Heights and pine ridge. It makes for a great full day of disc golfing.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

1    9/21/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The massive elevation changes and variety of holes make this course a must-play for any disc golfer in the area. Good signs and the most carwfully cared for fairways I haveever seen on a disc golf course.
Cons: No major cons to speak of. Wood chip tees make for uneven footing at times. A couple of holes share a common open field, so on a busy day things could get crazy.
Other Thoughts: Plenty of holes for big armed veterans to enjoy, but also chances for new players to not get left behind. Anybody could play here and have a good time.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 (IUP) Insane University Posse

1    7/5/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful ski hill course with 18 baskets with dual pins and dual natural tees marked with sign/post and wooden block in ground. Excellent use of elevation and terrain. The grounds are extremely well kept like a ball golf course and not much underbrush in the rough so it's fairly hard to lose a disc here. Two loops of 9 holes back to the parking lot. Two portapotties and a soda machine by the parking lot.
Cons: Not much to complain about here. If it was crowded I'd probably keep my head on swivel on the slope to watch for errant flying discs. I'm ok with the natural tees and they were fine, I know that is a con in some people's book. lacks signage for current pin placement. Navigation wasn't too bad, but a few extra signs to the next tee would be great.

Note to get to hole 13 tee walk over the tee of hole 17. After hole 14, the tee to 15 is the woods to the right.
Other Thoughts: This course titers between a 3.5 and 4.0 for me but the last shot bumped it up. Hole 18 is quite epic down the ski hill 800'+. I also really enjoyed hole 14 downhill through the woods. I think most the baskets were in the short pins, and can see how the B pins make it play really sweet. I guess they keep the pins short as it is more of a beginner course due to its location on a college campus. Part of the beauty of this course is that you can take a rank beginners here and they would not be overwhelmed and more experienced veterans will still have a blast here.

I'd highly recommend a stop if traveling anywhere close by in season. I detoured my trip to Pittsburgh from Baltimore to play and it was well worth it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Under-Appreciated Jewel

2-4    12/4/2008   9/22/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-designed course that makes superb use of the space. College Lodge will push seasoned players to consistently make a wide variety of shots in order to post a good score. At the same time, the course is welcoming to less experienced players, affording playable tees and holes that aren't out of reach.

The scenery is top notch as well. The course is almost worth a trip through even without tossing a disc!

#18 is probably the best final hole I've ever played on a course. A long downhill shot, it's a fun and beautiful way to conclude a round!

You'll also never have to wait to play here. Even during the school year, IUP students don't seem to take an interest in the course, so it's free and clear at almost any time.
Cons: There's a couple blind shots, particularly on #9, so it might take a round or two to get properly acquainted with the course.

Some holes might be considered too simple for higher-level players, but there's still a solid challenge for most of us.

It's also in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for a weekend trip, don't spend the night around Indiana. There's also not going to be many players to bump into at any given time, which takes away a social aspect of the game that I find appealing at other courses.
Other Thoughts: College Lodge is a great course with plenty of appeal for a wide variety of players. The major drawback, at least for me, is its location. If you're coming to play this course, make sure you check out other courses nearby, such as Moraine and Deer Lakes. They're much closer to civilization, and of slightly higher quality.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  breathtaking views

5+    8/15/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: DiscinBB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IUP college lodge is such a beautiful course. Disc golf doesn't seem to be very popular among the students at Indiana U of Penn which equates to thick, beautifully manicured grasses with almost no trash around the course.
All different varieties of shots needed: long arrow shots, dog legs, uphill, DOWNHILL, etc. There aren't more than two holes on this course that i would consider "weak". If it is your first time playing this course, make sure you do your best to stay under par during the easier front nine. The back nine will eat you alive. Holes 14 (down a gently curving path) and 15 ( 180 foot alley of pines) can really add a few strokes to your round if you loose concentration. Of course 18 is my favorite. Its very hard to resist emptying your bag when you approach this monster.
Cons: Limited trash cans around the facility

Park closes at dusk

Natural tee pads
Other Thoughts: IUP college lodge is a very beautiful course in the mountains of Western PA. For stunning views of fall foliage, try to schedule a round in early October.

This course could honestly be a 4.5 if the tee pad situation was taken care of. Just like most courses, I am sure that these will be upgraded when some money comes around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of Central PA's finest DG Courses!

2-4    7/26/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety is what makes this course very special. With the exception of some of the holes on the ski hill, no two holes are exactly the same. There are hyzer shots, anyhyzer shots, downhills, uphills, blind shots, tight wooded fairways, a 700+ft downhill drive, and many others.

This course is clearly maintained well. Signage, parking, the absence of litter, trails, and super manicured greens are evidence of this! (Seriously, though: how do they keep the grass so nice?) In addition, the course is easy to navigate and I had no problem getting around the first time or subsequent times.

Another plus is that the course is in the college town of Indiana. Plenty of establishments and lodging is available.

Some notable holes include:

#2 = a wooded fairway that runs along a very shallow stream, which makes the hole very cool and relaxing.

#9 = blind shot down the ski hill; easy birdie opportunity if you drive correctly.

#14 = Requires a very straight driver or a slight anhyzer if you want to par. Hyzer and you'll see your disk go off a very steep bank!

#15 = very tight fairway passage through a bunch of pine trees. In addition to being a tight drive, the putt/approach requires concentration because the basket is on a slight hill. Definitely a risk/reward shot.

#18 = The last hole may not necessarily be the best, but it's definitely memorable. The slope of the hill allows the discs to go forever! This is a chance to see just how powerful your drives are!
Cons: There's a fairly decent sized pond when you first arrive in the park. I wish this was used as a water hazard, but with the rich biodiversity in the body of water (frogs, toads, fish, etc.), I understand why they may not have used the pond as such.

The fact that this course is closed during the winter months is also a bummer.

I can perhaps see the ski hill being a challenge for people who aren't in the best shape. Even I, a distance runner, puffed a little bit going up some of the holes.

Concrete tees would also improve the rating on this course.
Other Thoughts: IUP students and local residents are really lucky to have this course. It's unequivocally, in my opinion, the crown jewel of DG courses in Central PA. It's just one of those courses that you know is going to be good when you start and it exceeds your expectations when you finish.

I've been here four times now and I've seen very few people playing here. I'm not sure whether this is the case all the time, but more people should definitely check it out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IUP is UP UP and AWAY!

1    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most perfectly maintained course I have ever played. Manicured like a ball golf course on the slopes. The woods are well taken care of as well. There are at least 9 holes that will challenge the pro in you and the other 9 are just as much fun without the challenge. Holes 4,7,8,9,10,11,12,14,15, and 18 are very challenging holes that leave an impression. The others are fun but not as difficult. Excellent drainage here..I have played ski hill holes where the base holes are a swampy mess...not here. Natural tees are as good as natural tees can be. First three holes play the base and then you ascend up hole 4, switchback the hill on holes 5 and 6 then hole 7 is a pro challenge down a tight fairway to a big ample green...apparently nasty shule does not grow atop the mountain, just trees and low ferns...AMEN! I was in the woods a bit and never dealt with any bad weeds or thorns. 8 and 9 are fun drives down the mountain. 8 has a fast green and 9 is just an empty your bag hole! Then your back at base and rising back up 10 and 11. 11 is a real treat throwing straight uphill through a wooded fairway! 12 is a long uphill tight drive. Eventually you get to 14 which is an amazing drive down the back side of the mountain its a tight but fair chute like fairway through the woods and then back up the valley on the other side to the basket perched on a steep grade. This hole would be a signature hole on other courses. 15 is a pretty cedar grove that requires a skillful drive to negotiate. The cedars are on a slight hillside so if you get whapped you could be in serious rolling downhill trouble. This all brings you to 18 which is an amazing 800 foot crush from the top of the mountain to the base. Words don't do it justice and the pictures don't either. Its another empty your bag hole. Unlike other ski hills this one is no longer a ski resort so the ugly lifts and wires are all gone. There is no evidence of it's ski hill past really evident. The fairways are pretty grass and not filled with snow making equipment lines and equipment. The hill is not so huge to be overly taxing and the hills are not so huge that the hill will shrink your drives. That is a good drive could make it pretty far down the mountain. This is unlike many courses built on ski hills where you just drive off a mountain side and watch your disc eventually turn and then fade back into woods to the left of the fairway. It's like the distance is big and just the right size for disc golf. Peaceful setting here and good mix of open as well as wooded holes. Love the challenge of half the holes with the pleasure of the other 9 makes for a great day.
Cons: 3 base holes are nice but pale in comparision to rest of course. Hole 1 uses the street as a hazzard to the left. This raises the challenge but is so ugly compared to whats available. I'd rather see a little pooch shot over the little pond to start the day. This would be another memorable hole and add a true water hazzard to the course. Two of the holes atop the mountain criss cross a bit. I believe holes 13 and 17 seem to confuse people...just be careful and make sure you play the correct basket. The course gets pulled for sledding which is cool but make sure you don't go there during the wrong season. It's a long trip to make and the course not be available. The averageness of half the holes keep this course from being elite. (still a lot of fun here though)
Other Thoughts: I really was pleasantly surprised by the amount of fun and challenge this course provided. I am sure if it was in a more populated region it would garner more national acclaim. This course is well worth a detour if your playing Western PA courses. Play the long tees for a challenge and your less experienced friends can play the short tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    4/23/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Jeff McCullough
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: College lodge is a great course. The first 9 holes are fairly easy and great for beginners. The last 9 prove to be a good challenge even for the most veteran players. The variety created by having the course on a huge slope is amazing, ranging from the grueling uphill tee on number 4, to the insane gliding tee on hole 18. Mixed with some quality woods holes the course is ideal for anyplayer that wants to get a great variety and a little excersise at the same time:)
Cons: Throughout the years I have played the course, most of the glaring concerns have been fixed. It would still be nice to have some type of soda machine in place because it does involve a great deal of walking up large hills.
Other Thoughts: Great for players with all levels of experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Large and in charge

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained, has bathrooms in the parking lot and at hole 10, and very friendly locals if you need help. Once I found were 1 was It was very easy to follow the course. 18 was everything that I a read and more. Multiple tee boxes allow you to choose your poison and the course is great even if you are just beginning. The holes will challenge you in every way and keeps you sharp or you will end up in the brush.
Cons: I really don't know if there are any except it would be nice to have running water.....
Other Thoughts: I drove from State College to play and it was worth the almost 2 hour trip. At this point I don't have a big arm and still had a blast. I truly recommend this course to everybody of any skill level

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1/2/2008   1/2/2008
Review By: kUrTp
Played: 69  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You might need to use every shot in your bag on this course. Short little technical shots and long bomber shots will be used at the Lodge. One of the best finishing holes in DG. Excellent signage. If you play in the evening hours you'll have a good chance of seeing widelife. Please don't throw at the deer.
Cons: Would be nice to have concrete tee pads. Be prepared to hike. Hole #4 is straight up the former ski hill. Baskets get pulled between Dec and April every year for sled riding.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned to play. Since the land is owned by IUP, the local college, there are strict rules about alcohol and whatnot. Please don't mess around!!! The baskets have been pulled in the past because of people not following these rules.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.