Indiana, PA 
IUP College Lodge Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 256ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  breathtaking views

5+    8/15/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: DiscinBB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: IUP college lodge is such a beautiful course. Disc golf doesn't seem to be very popular among the students at Indiana U of Penn which equates to thick, beautifully manicured grasses with almost no trash around the course.
All different varieties of shots needed: long arrow shots, dog legs, uphill, DOWNHILL, etc. There aren't more than two holes on this course that i would consider "weak". If it is your first time playing this course, make sure you do your best to stay under par during the easier front nine. The back nine will eat you alive. Holes 14 (down a gently curving path) and 15 ( 180 foot alley of pines) can really add a few strokes to your round if you loose concentration. Of course 18 is my favorite. Its very hard to resist emptying your bag when you approach this monster.
Cons: Limited trash cans around the facility

Park closes at dusk

Natural tee pads
Other Thoughts: IUP college lodge is a very beautiful course in the mountains of Western PA. For stunning views of fall foliage, try to schedule a round in early October.

This course could honestly be a 4.5 if the tee pad situation was taken care of. Just like most courses, I am sure that these will be upgraded when some money comes around.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of Central PA's finest DG Courses!

2-4    7/26/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety is what makes this course very special. With the exception of some of the holes on the ski hill, no two holes are exactly the same. There are hyzer shots, anyhyzer shots, downhills, uphills, blind shots, tight wooded fairways, a 700+ft downhill drive, and many others.

This course is clearly maintained well. Signage, parking, the absence of litter, trails, and super manicured greens are evidence of this! (Seriously, though: how do they keep the grass so nice?) In addition, the course is easy to navigate and I had no problem getting around the first time or subsequent times.

Another plus is that the course is in the college town of Indiana. Plenty of establishments and lodging is available.

Some notable holes include:

#2 = a wooded fairway that runs along a very shallow stream, which makes the hole very cool and relaxing.

#9 = blind shot down the ski hill; easy birdie opportunity if you drive correctly.

#14 = Requires a very straight driver or a slight anhyzer if you want to par. Hyzer and you'll see your disk go off a very steep bank!

#15 = very tight fairway passage through a bunch of pine trees. In addition to being a tight drive, the putt/approach requires concentration because the basket is on a slight hill. Definitely a risk/reward shot.

#18 = The last hole may not necessarily be the best, but it's definitely memorable. The slope of the hill allows the discs to go forever! This is a chance to see just how powerful your drives are!
Cons: There's a fairly decent sized pond when you first arrive in the park. I wish this was used as a water hazard, but with the rich biodiversity in the body of water (frogs, toads, fish, etc.), I understand why they may not have used the pond as such.

The fact that this course is closed during the winter months is also a bummer.

I can perhaps see the ski hill being a challenge for people who aren't in the best shape. Even I, a distance runner, puffed a little bit going up some of the holes.

Concrete tees would also improve the rating on this course.
Other Thoughts: IUP students and local residents are really lucky to have this course. It's unequivocally, in my opinion, the crown jewel of DG courses in Central PA. It's just one of those courses that you know is going to be good when you start and it exceeds your expectations when you finish.

I've been here four times now and I've seen very few people playing here. I'm not sure whether this is the case all the time, but more people should definitely check it out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 IUP is UP UP and AWAY!

1    5/18/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most perfectly maintained course I have ever played. Manicured like a ball golf course on the slopes. The woods are well taken care of as well. There are at least 9 holes that will challenge the pro in you and the other 9 are just as much fun without the challenge. Holes 4,7,8,9,10,11,12,14,15, and 18 are very challenging holes that leave an impression. The others are fun but not as difficult. Excellent drainage here..I have played ski hill holes where the base holes are a swampy mess...not here. Natural tees are as good as natural tees can be. First three holes play the base and then you ascend up hole 4, switchback the hill on holes 5 and 6 then hole 7 is a pro challenge down a tight fairway to a big ample green...apparently nasty shule does not grow atop the mountain, just trees and low ferns...AMEN! I was in the woods a bit and never dealt with any bad weeds or thorns. 8 and 9 are fun drives down the mountain. 8 has a fast green and 9 is just an empty your bag hole! Then your back at base and rising back up 10 and 11. 11 is a real treat throwing straight uphill through a wooded fairway! 12 is a long uphill tight drive. Eventually you get to 14 which is an amazing drive down the back side of the mountain its a tight but fair chute like fairway through the woods and then back up the valley on the other side to the basket perched on a steep grade. This hole would be a signature hole on other courses. 15 is a pretty cedar grove that requires a skillful drive to negotiate. The cedars are on a slight hillside so if you get whapped you could be in serious rolling downhill trouble. This all brings you to 18 which is an amazing 800 foot crush from the top of the mountain to the base. Words don't do it justice and the pictures don't either. Its another empty your bag hole. Unlike other ski hills this one is no longer a ski resort so the ugly lifts and wires are all gone. There is no evidence of it's ski hill past really evident. The fairways are pretty grass and not filled with snow making equipment lines and equipment. The hill is not so huge to be overly taxing and the hills are not so huge that the hill will shrink your drives. That is a good drive could make it pretty far down the mountain. This is unlike many courses built on ski hills where you just drive off a mountain side and watch your disc eventually turn and then fade back into woods to the left of the fairway. It's like the distance is big and just the right size for disc golf. Peaceful setting here and good mix of open as well as wooded holes. Love the challenge of half the holes with the pleasure of the other 9 makes for a great day.
Cons: 3 base holes are nice but pale in comparision to rest of course. Hole 1 uses the street as a hazzard to the left. This raises the challenge but is so ugly compared to whats available. I'd rather see a little pooch shot over the little pond to start the day. This would be another memorable hole and add a true water hazzard to the course. Two of the holes atop the mountain criss cross a bit. I believe holes 13 and 17 seem to confuse people...just be careful and make sure you play the correct basket. The course gets pulled for sledding which is cool but make sure you don't go there during the wrong season. It's a long trip to make and the course not be available. The averageness of half the holes keep this course from being elite. (still a lot of fun here though)
Other Thoughts: I really was pleasantly surprised by the amount of fun and challenge this course provided. I am sure if it was in a more populated region it would garner more national acclaim. This course is well worth a detour if your playing Western PA courses. Play the long tees for a challenge and your less experienced friends can play the short tees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    4/23/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Jeff McCullough
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: College lodge is a great course. The first 9 holes are fairly easy and great for beginners. The last 9 prove to be a good challenge even for the most veteran players. The variety created by having the course on a huge slope is amazing, ranging from the grueling uphill tee on number 4, to the insane gliding tee on hole 18. Mixed with some quality woods holes the course is ideal for anyplayer that wants to get a great variety and a little excersise at the same time:)
Cons: Throughout the years I have played the course, most of the glaring concerns have been fixed. It would still be nice to have some type of soda machine in place because it does involve a great deal of walking up large hills.
Other Thoughts: Great for players with all levels of experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Large and in charge

1    4/14/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: Brida
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained, has bathrooms in the parking lot and at hole 10, and very friendly locals if you need help. Once I found were 1 was It was very easy to follow the course. 18 was everything that I a read and more. Multiple tee boxes allow you to choose your poison and the course is great even if you are just beginning. The holes will challenge you in every way and keeps you sharp or you will end up in the brush.
Cons: I really don't know if there are any except it would be nice to have running water.....
Other Thoughts: I drove from State College to play and it was worth the almost 2 hour trip. At this point I don't have a big arm and still had a blast. I truly recommend this course to everybody of any skill level

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

1    4/20/2008   4/20/2008
Review By: ebonaz
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I have played this course more than any other course, so I guess I'm probably biased, but I think it is a very underrated course. There are a variety of hole types with many uphill, downhill, wooded, open, and narrow fairways requiring a variety of different shots. The tee signs and other signs do a good job of directing you through the course and two different basket positions allow the course's character to change. The course is built on and around an old ski slope, so drainage is pretty good and the course is generally quite playable even after massive amounts of rain. Hole 18 is gorgeous.
Cons: Personally, I like natural tees, but I know lots of people prefer concrete, so I guess the natural tees are a con. They take the baskets out in the winter due to sledding that takes place on the old ski slopes. Check with a local from mid-November through early April to see if the baskets are in.
Other Thoughts: I've played around 60 courses and this is definitely on the short list of my favorites. The two basket positions allow for variety, but the course is owned by the college and most of the baskets stay in the easier positions most of the time because students tend to complain about some of the harder B-pins. Do not bring alcohol on this course. It has been temporarily removed in the past due to drinking.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!.

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A nice course tucked in the middle of Pensylvania. Plays up, down and across an old ski hill used by the college in the Winter time. Plenty of variety where you have a few holes playing through woods, a few holes playing up the hill, and a few holes playing down the hill and a few holes playing across the hill. Long tees are a bit tougher but fair overall. Very fun course!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all

5/4/2007   1/24/2008
Review By: Crawdaddy
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for elevation, distance, shot selection, you can't help but want to empty your bag on 18. Good mix of terrain use. Very hilly and some holes play down a path(14) or an alley of pines(15). Fairways are well groomed and just beggin you to try a roller a two around the stands of pines. Indiana County is the Christmas tree capital of the world after all.
Cons: Be prepared to hike! Long course from the blue tees throws add up quickly if you go off the fairway. Tee areas in wet weather are dangerous, as well as non discers utilizing the the courses other amenities. finding all your discs after you emptied your bag on 18!!!
Other Thoughts: I will be returning to College Lodge for the PA state championships again and looking forward to it. The 4 hour drive from Harrisburg sucks though, but 18 is calling!!!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 IUP College Lodge

1/23/2008   1/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course that you will be telling your buddies about for a while. Obviously, being on a ski hill, be prepared to hike. A lot. The signs are very nice, and the variety and challenge is never ending. Very picturesque as well.
Other Thoughts: I have made it to The Lodge for two tournies, and am planning on going back. It is such a fun course to play, demanding quite a few shots that most golfers don't have the privilege of throwing everyday. Not many places offer an 800ft closing hole! There can be some conflict with other IUP students depending on what's going on at the time, but it is usually avoidable. I know sledding prevents permanent pads, but if you play here in the rain you'll wish for them. I tell everybody that asks about this course, it's well worth the trip, but you better pack a lunch!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1/2/2008   1/2/2008
Review By: kUrTp
Played: 69  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You might need to use every shot in your bag on this course. Short little technical shots and long bomber shots will be used at the Lodge. One of the best finishing holes in DG. Excellent signage. If you play in the evening hours you'll have a good chance of seeing widelife. Please don't throw at the deer.
Cons: Would be nice to have concrete tee pads. Be prepared to hike. Hole #4 is straight up the former ski hill. Baskets get pulled between Dec and April every year for sled riding.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned to play. Since the land is owned by IUP, the local college, there are strict rules about alcohol and whatnot. Please don't mess around!!! The baskets have been pulled in the past because of people not following these rules.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.