Indiana, PA 
IUP College Lodge Share
Uploaded By: timbur3 Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 154ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Great Variety

1/2/2008   1/2/2008
Review By: kUrTp
Played: 69  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You might need to use every shot in your bag on this course. Short little technical shots and long bomber shots will be used at the Lodge. One of the best finishing holes in DG. Excellent signage. If you play in the evening hours you'll have a good chance of seeing widelife. Please don't throw at the deer.
Cons: Would be nice to have concrete tee pads. Be prepared to hike. Hole #4 is straight up the former ski hill. Baskets get pulled between Dec and April every year for sled riding.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned to play. Since the land is owned by IUP, the local college, there are strict rules about alcohol and whatnot. Please don't mess around!!! The baskets have been pulled in the past because of people not following these rules.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One big adrenaline rush

10/20/2007   10/24/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 52  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tees are well marked, the baskets are numbered, and signs are everywhere they need to be to make navigating this course a breeze. This is great since I finished each hole completely psyched to find out what kind of hole would be next. The course has big uphills and big downhills, both in the open and in the woods. This place is a disc golf roller coaster.
Cons: There is some overlap of the disc golf course with an exercise trail, but it wasn't too crowded so not much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: While it doesn't quite have the technical pedigree of nearby championship courses, the fun factor more than makes up for it. If you can handle some big time up and down hill hiking, play this one, and have a blast.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Recreational Course

1    10/13/2007   10/13/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent signage. Nice recreational 18 hole course. Hole 18 makes a nice end to the day with a downhill 800 ft shot. good mix of woods and wide open. Nice use of elevation and landscaping.
I had the whole course to myself the entire time.
Cons: Many blue tees were hard to find or missing. I had to switch from blue to white frequently to keep up the pace of the game.
Other Thoughts: when packing your bag be ready for some narrow areas. Hole 15 is really narrow, bring a straight shooter.
There is a 9 hole course very close by if you want to turn this into a 27 (but don't expect the same quality)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet and Challenging

7/21/2007   7/24/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 290  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun and long downhill shots as well as some challenging holes in the woods. Very well maintained.
Cons: Lots of hill climbing (but it is a lot of fun coming back down).
Other Thoughts: IUP has to be one of the hilliest and quietest courses I've had the opportunity to play. Holes #9 and #18 are the types of holes where you'll just empty your bag throwing down the huge hills. The only thing that could have made those two holes more fun is if the old ski lift was working so I could play them again without walking up the hill!

Hole #15 also stood out in my mind. It was as if someone built a hallway out of trees, definitely a pretty cool hole. Overall I really enjoyed this course. The quiet and peaceful atmosphere there made for a fun and relaxing round. If you have a chance to stop by IUP then by all means do it, I will definitely try to get back there at some point to throw a few more down the slopes.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center