Charleston, IL 
Eastern Illinois University DGC Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2010)
5 / 735ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Marker



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

1    9/1/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26 Years
Pros: I give it ***'s its got these nice HUGE stone tee signs. giving it a super, "This course is not going anywhere feel"
9 holes in a user friendly fashion.
decent tees
decent baskets
nice college campus course compared to what I know... it serves its purpose, you can play a round in between classes or lunch, if you have the time.
Cons: None....It is what it is.... definitely made for the new players that need a fair chance to learn.
no elevation change... get a bobcat and make some hills...
Other Thoughts: I was in a rush, and played it about 40 mins... I enjoyed it and thought of Miami's missing course... :(

 Open

5+    8/2/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: wtrace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open, good for long throws.
Never have an impossible throw
reasonable par values for the most part
Cons: Not many trees in the way so it isn't very challenging
Other Thoughts: Its not very challenging for the long throwers, but its the best within 15 minutes or so.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open

1    12/20/2010   1/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through flat, mostly open fields with some trees in play. A tiny hill is used to make one elevated green, which is a nice little bit of challenge. Many holes use the limited trees to make the green area interesting, so you do have to think a little bit about where to place shots to have a good look on several holes.

There are nice concrete tees with some texture to them. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. There are garbage cans and tee signs at every hole, and the signs are descriptive with distance and layout.
Cons: Though there are some trees in play on several holes, nearly every drive is wide open which makes the course feel a little repetitive. There is a lot of length here, which does make the course a little more challenging, but it also makes it a little less beginner friendly. On a college course where many new people will have the chance to try the sport, it's nice to have a course (or at least a set of tees) that won't frustrate beginners and discourage them from coming back.

The placement of the tee signs and trash cans is a bit ridiculous. They are installed on the back corners of the tees, which really limits run ups and makes the tees feel cramped. I don't know what the parking situation is, I played during the holidays so it was no problem.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad place to stretch your legs and your arm if you're passing through. It's not ideal for newer players, with a little too much length. More experienced players will find some places to go for big drives, but otherwise won't find much variety or challenge. I do like seeing courses on college campuses, it's a great way to grow the sport.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on the campus of Eastern Illinois University. It's located in the athletic section and plays between several fields. I saw several groups of college kids playing the day I was there.

This course has some of the coolest tee signs i've ever seen. They are rocks that have been engraved with hole descrption. It has distance and par on it. They are very impressive.

The tee pads are long, flat, and roughed up nicely.

There is a garbage can at every tee.

There is a good variety of distances with 2 par 4's for adv/pro players. I was able to throw some bombing drives on a few holes. You could also practice rollers out there too.

This course is very beginner friendly with nicely mown grass. There is no where to lose a disc.
Cons: The course is very flat and open.

The tee signs and garbage cans have been installed on the back of the tee pads. They didn't really bother me but some players may find them bothersome and in the way.
Other Thoughts: Although the course isn't awesome it's a great setting being right on campus.

I did not get a ticket parking on campus but this may be an issue.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 long niner

1    11/4/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete pads and waste cans at almost every tee and score cards available on hole 1
-cool stone tee signs
-a lot of long holes, something you don't see often on 9 hole courses
-hole 3 has a nice raised green on it
-openness of the courses allows you to throw different types of throws without worry of going in the schule (kind of a weak pro, I know) but you can try out some rollers.
-A couple decent holes 8 is a long 720' hole where you start on one side of the tree line and end on the other side. 9 is a shorty that end tucked into a copse of trees to the left.
-Ample parking (although it is permit required, but I don't think it's something to worry about.)
-Nice and windy here
Cons: -SUPER flat, the only elevation change is the raised green on 3
-the course is a bit boring, the shots change slightly each hole but essentially they are all pretty similar since it is so open. You can pretty much throw straight shots on every hole and be fine.
-the tee signs are actually on the pads, so you may need to change your run up to accomodate for the rocks.
-Multiuse area, the area has several sports fields and a running path, so you may have to wait for people to cross the fields. As always be careful.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is so-so, nothing too unique about the course, but nothing overly bad either, just kind of blah.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice simple course

1    9/18/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course map and scorecard provided at front.
Nice maps, carved into stone, at each tee.
A nice range of distances (par 3-5)
Nicely mowed grass, very few rough areas
A few interesting tree obstacles
Cons: No elevation changes
No complex doglegs
No convenient parking
No alternate tees
Very few rough areas
Other Thoughts: The course is basic, but is a good start. If another 9 holes were added, it could be a really good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: panther550
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is my home course, I play it alot. It gets boring after a while but it is great training course. Open for rollers, sidearm, and bh. Always windy so its a good test of putting skill. I have shot 6 down all par 3's; thats the course record.
Cons: Very rogh tee pads, as they have wron down a little. I think this course need some alternate pin placements.
Other Thoughts: I know the school is thinking of adding another 9 which will be alot better than the first. With the finale going over the pond.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ok course...

2-4    11/12/2007   1/12/2009
Review By: rudibaughs3
Played: 122  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There are some fun throws, has some length, and with the insanely flat terrain, there is often LOTS of wind. Good practice for wind play and rollers.
Cons: Pretty boring course. It isn't terrible to play, but it is a boring layout.
Other Thoughts: It was ok. Worth playing at least once.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.