Plumtree, NC
Elk Mountain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #14 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket: Dragon's (and bats) in the cave!



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
I Have Seen the Mountain Top, and it is Good!

1    7/8/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 193  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elk Mountain DGC is a KILLER 18 hole course on some of the most extreme terrain I have seen yet. Don't get me wrong, it's not Everest, but extremes in elevation change is a strong theme. It seems like uphill holes outnumber downhillers 2 to 1. The fairways are fair, but numerous trees will make you define a line and hit it on most holes. This course starts with a couple of uphill holes that take a good long drive to get a chance for two, but they're relatively open. Three takes you uphill even steeper, and into the trees. Then the lengthier holes with woods and elevation begin. Pin placements also start to get more and more interesting: rocky hillsides, hanging basket, down in a hole, atop a 5 foot stump, and finally down to the banks of the creek. Hole 11 is the crescendo of pain on a 770 foot monster. After this, the back 9 gets back to more average distances, and trends downhill. Get your shots in the bank where you can. I could only manage two birdies, both on par 3's. My girlfriend, her two tween girls, our dogs and I all enjoyed the hike around the campground and mountain side. Beautiful land and nice people working at the lodge and campgrounds. The layout and the physical challenge of the course was quite formidable.

The equipment is not the finest, but is totally adequate. The tee pads are not consistent, but they are flat and generally all roomy enough. The baskets are pretty good, but not top of the line by any means. Posts mark most tees, and arrow signs point direction to the next hole nicely. I understand the course has evolved to this point, and will continue to do so. I'm sure it will only keep getting better.
Cons: You have to pay $5, and sign a release form to play the courses. The remote location doesn't make for quick access. The tee pads, baskets and signage could all be upgraded. Physical exertion is a must to finish this bad boy, wimps and geezers beware.
Other Thoughts: For once, I finished a great new course, and didn't want to play it over again right away. This was a great one, but too hot and physical for back to back on this summer day. Wish I could have talked the girls into letting me play the other shorter course, though. Lace 'em up tight, cause this Elk Mountain's a real doozy. As well as disc golf, camping, fishing, and zip lines, are on this site. The other course is just over a mile away at the lodge, which offers discs, food and drinks, and more for sale. Very unique, matched by few other courses I have played in terms of difficulty, and totally worth checking out.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I love mountain golf!!

5+    7/19/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The new layout is extremly long and challenging! I love getting out there for a good workout and this course fits the bill having holes 1-11 going uphill with number 8 being like a 50 degree angle up the hill to a hanging basket. A tomahawk is the way to go on this one, was playing two weeks ago and a buddy of mine tommyed off the tee and was still about 100-125ft out. decided to tommy again and flew it right in the hole! One amazing birdie I will not soon forget!! Good sinage on the new design and the length has to be a total walk of like 3 miles. Even though the fairway on most holes is an old logging road, it is still ultra challenging. I have yet to break par on this course, and im always trying to do so but it is really tough.
A great course always makes you use all of the shots you have, and I guarantee you will play many left-to-rights, right-to-lefts, over the top shots, shots from your knees, everything...
Cons: Number 11 is quite ridiculous. A 770 ft uphill par 5 with a mando in play about 200' away from the basket, be ready for the best bogey of your life and thats even if you can make a 6.
-Some of the brick tee-pads can get slick so watch your step, especially if it has been raining within the past couple of days. Was playing with a buddy that turned his ankle on hole #4 and tore several tendons and was out of DG for nearly a year. We all want to keep playing so anytime you are playing mountain golf (Simple Pleasures, Elk Mountain, Sugaree, Ashe County) always be aware of your rocky/steep/slick footings.
-In spring and summer wear pants cause their is stinging nettles everywhere.
#16's green is insane, most likely you will get a rollaway with no roller barrier to stop it..
#14 will make you or break you, a short downhill ace run really but if you drift right 5 ft of the pin your literally off the side off a STEEP mountain with no chance at salvaging par, bogey, or maybe even double
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes-- 5 is a great uphill legitamate par 5, if you dont hit a tree at some point you will proabably have a look at bird at a pin nestled in front of a HUGE boulder, one of the most epic holes in WNC in my opinion
8- Although I cant say the elevation is my favorite, this is still a very picteresque hole.
12- Basket perched atop a stump provides a difficult, but super fun putt
17-There is just something about this hole that I love, I cant quite figure it out. Its your basic hyzer off the tee hoping you clear a tiny collection of water that Will said is a hazard. Left is dead, and right is no good and there is a couple of boulders mid-fairway all the way to the green. Its just a downright good for real par 3, you wont see to many two's on this one.
Overall Elk Mtn is a great disc golf course if your in the mood for a challenging workout and course. Im not so sure the course itself is as tough as the neighborly mountain course Sugaree, but the terrain is most defiantly

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course !!!

1    3/22/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: gburggolfer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is definitely a true mountain course. Love the par 5 and all the unique pins. Accuracy is a must. Hoping to go back when there are leaves on the trees. I'm sure it will play tougher.
Cons: The only cons might be the short tee pads on some holes. Oh yeah maybe the rollaways possible on many holes could also be frustrating.
Other Thoughts: Courses like this one make you a better player so just keep throwing!!!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/9/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: war4171
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 33.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Really fun up/down mountain course.
Narrow fairways and sloping lies make hole distances longer than posted length
Cons: Short tee pads
Difficult to see baskets from tee - required extra walking to overcome blind shots
Other Thoughts: This is a cross between disc golf and backpacking

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First Mountain Golf Experience

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: Kettnet
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well marked for first time play. Amazing elevations and design. Extreme workout during first 12-holes with majority steep up-hill climbing.
Cons: Going it alone first time requires extra hiking to spot pin placement, but really not a negative to my personal overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Being a DG player for only 10-months, and only playing in FLAT South Florida, this was certainly a treat, and I imagine a very good taste of what mountain golf is about.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain disc golf at its best (and getting tougher)

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elk Mountain is the ultimate mountain disc golfing experience. Be prepared to battle the mental and physical grind while playing.
- Elevation, elevation and more elevation. No extreme drop-offs like High Country (Jefferson, NC), but plenty of dramatic up or downhill shots, or major drop-offs just off the fairway. #3, 5, 6, 9 & 11 all have major uphill shots, highlighted by #9. It's a relatively short hole (187 feet), but the elevation is so extreme that even throwing a drive (I'm in the 300 - 325 range), left me 30 feet short. A buddy had a putt hit the basket, then roll 200 feet downhill, right past the tee, so yeah, elevation plays a factor.
- Woods, woods and more woods. #1 & 2 are open, and then you're in the woods the rest of the round. Fairways range from extremely tight (some fairways are actually roads up the mountain) to wider open, despite being surrounded by trees.
- Great variety of layouts. From tight to wide(r) open, up & down holes, and up-and-down holes. Plenty of shorter, birdie chances to longer par 4s and 5s that force you to throw multiple good shots. #5, 10 & 11 will challenge anyone with their mix of length & elevation.
- Great scenery throughout the course. This is mountain beauty at its finest. Some holes were still a work in progress, but once they're completed and cleaned up, you'll get even more of the nature feel.
- Clubhouse has a great selection of new and used discs. Some of the used discs looked brand new. The Vance Toe River Lodge, which is where the clubhouse and sign-in point is located, overall is a solid place. They brew their own beer, and make their own wine. Wish I was able to sample a couple of their crafts.
Cons: This course is not for the faint of heart, both literally and DG-wise.
- On the DG hand, the course is tough. At some points, I felt it was bordering on unrealistically tough. I think Will is turning into a younger version of Stan McDaniel with some of his evil hole layouts.
- On the physical side, I've never been as worn out playing a course as here. This is much more of a grind than Sugaree, High Country & Richmond Hill. My bag felt like an anchor by the end of my round. Anyone not in good physical shape is really going to be struggling, or playing a 5 hour round with all the breaks involved. Along those lines, you better bring plenty of water and energy drinks. You'll need them.
- A couple holes were poorly designed. The two that stood out to me as needing the most tweaking were #14 & 16. Neither had a good fairway (#14 was a narrow road, #16 several narrow routes through trees) and both severely sloped off to the side. If you didn't keep your shots low, they could easily sail a couple hundred feet away, somewhere deep into the woods. On both holes, you were better throwing 100-150 foot straight tee shots, 50-100 foot second shots to the basket and tap in for your par. I just feel any time you can throw two junk shots and still get an easy 3, something needs to change.
- A lot of blind tee shots. Part of it could be aided by having maps at the tees. On most holes, not a major problem, but it does reign in some aggressiveness, especially for first timers.
Other Thoughts: As stated, be prepared for a grind while playing here. It took more than hours for 3 of us to play a round. Our course guide said his last group played a five hour round.
- Some people may have mixed feelings about a course guide. With all the work/improvements taking place, the map is incorrect, and a guided is definitely needed. Down the road, with tee signs, updated map, etc., you probably won't need one.
- I'm a fan of the changes they're making to the course. Based on the pics, the new holes are longer, tougher and better. Now, if they could replace the several weak holes, it'd be even better.
- My favorite hole is #10. It's one of the new holes, so don't go by the info on the site. The hole is in the 500 - 550 foot range (they haven't measured yet), with a slight uphill tee shot, second shot playing around several big rocks to a basket that is a 20 - 30 drop-off. If you go for it in two, you could easily sail past the basket. If you lay-up, you should have a short third shot from the edge of the drop-off to the basket, and an easy tap-in for 4.
- I'm probably underrating the course by giving it a 3.5. When all is said and done, I have no doubt it'll be in the 4 - 4.5 range. It's in the road construction phase right now. Once the road is widened and the construction cones are gone, you see how good things are.
- I'm looking forward to playing here again in another year or so, to enjoy all the fruits of labor going into the course. Everyone should check it out as the course stands now, so soon, this will be a must-play for everyone.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 worth the drive

1    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: aurprise landing areas, great hike.
Other Thoughts: WOW. awesome course. I had to walk some holes first, just to see them, but awesome. One basket hangs from a chain and one is in a 6' tree stump. VERY creative and bring your A game.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 nice workout

2-4    7/16/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What a great course! not much more I can add to what others have said.
Cons: -tee signs need a little work
-thick underbrush, consider wearing long socks or pants
- If you play in summer bring mosquito repellent
Other Thoughts: This is a rigorous mountain course, be sure to wear good shoes and carry lots of water. I love this place and look forward to going back next year.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Destination

2-4    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Rook
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I have to hand it to Will and his associates. This place is awesome! The course layout is very well thought out. The front 9 take you winding up into the mountainside (a moderately strenuous hike), then the back 9 is downhill and tons of fun. The whole course is just technical enough to make for some challenging approaches, but if you stick to the fairways, you'll do just fine. All in all, I had a blast and I will definitely be back for another adventure before too long.
Cons: Bring some spare discs. I had a beautiful drive sailing down the fairway on hole 12. I missed the basket by only a couple feet (thought it was gonna be an ace) then the disc went careening over the hillside and lost in the underbrush. Didn't really care too much, it's just part of the game, but this is the only "con" I could think of. The whole place is fantastic.
Other Thoughts: A special shout out to Brewmeister Aaron! By far the best home-brewed beer I have ever sampled. Also, if you are going to Plumtree to play disc golf, you should consider the zip-line canopy tour as well. It's really fun and 100% worth every penny.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Plum Tree Paradise

5+    6/26/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Sloanwilliamson
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most importantly the people at Elk Mountain are some of nicest I've met here in the High Country. Much thanks to Will and his wife, and also his entire family. They all work extremely hard to make this course such a special place. The Course itself is a very diverse and challenging 18 holes. Great variety from the front nine to the back. A wonderful hole is #5, a worthy par 5 that can work you over if you fade to the right on your drive. The course has lots of elevation change. The front nine is almost completely uphill. The back nine gives you a break from the hike but replaces it with the opportunity to severely overdrive the holes and throw away the bird. A great course overall and also a great weekend for the family or for any couple. It's really got something for everybody.
Cons: If you aren't used to mountain golf this course can be very challenging. You can two to four many of the holes due to precarious basket placements. Also the hike could be quite strenuous to a flatlander. The front nine is very steep in many areas.
Other Thoughts: Between the camping, yurts, trout, zip lines, bed and breakfast, brewery (some very tasty brews, thanks Eric), disc shop, and the course, this is definitely one of the best places to play golf in the state! Get out there and play!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.