Plumtree, NC 
Elk Mountain Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 146ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 worth the drive

1    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: aurprise landing areas, great hike.
Other Thoughts: WOW. awesome course. I had to walk some holes first, just to see them, but awesome. One basket hangs from a chain and one is in a 6' tree stump. VERY creative and bring your A game.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 nice workout

2-4    7/16/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What a great course! not much more I can add to what others have said.
Cons: -tee signs need a little work
-thick underbrush, consider wearing long socks or pants
- If you play in summer bring mosquito repellent
Other Thoughts: This is a rigorous mountain course, be sure to wear good shoes and carry lots of water. I love this place and look forward to going back next year.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Destination

2-4    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: Rook
Played: 81  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I have to hand it to Will and his associates. This place is awesome! The course layout is very well thought out. The front 9 take you winding up into the mountainside (a moderately strenuous hike), then the back 9 is downhill and tons of fun. The whole course is just technical enough to make for some challenging approaches, but if you stick to the fairways, you'll do just fine. All in all, I had a blast and I will definitely be back for another adventure before too long.
Cons: Bring some spare discs. I had a beautiful drive sailing down the fairway on hole 12. I missed the basket by only a couple feet (thought it was gonna be an ace) then the disc went careening over the hillside and lost in the underbrush. Didn't really care too much, it's just part of the game, but this is the only "con" I could think of. The whole place is fantastic.
Other Thoughts: A special shout out to Brewmeister Aaron! By far the best home-brewed beer I have ever sampled. Also, if you are going to Plumtree to play disc golf, you should consider the zip-line canopy tour as well. It's really fun and 100% worth every penny.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Plum Tree Paradise

5+    6/26/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: Sloanwilliamson
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Most importantly the people at Elk Mountain are some of nicest I've met here in the High Country. Much thanks to Will and his wife, and also his entire family. They all work extremely hard to make this course such a special place. The Course itself is a very diverse and challenging 18 holes. Great variety from the front nine to the back. A wonderful hole is #5, a worthy par 5 that can work you over if you fade to the right on your drive. The course has lots of elevation change. The front nine is almost completely uphill. The back nine gives you a break from the hike but replaces it with the opportunity to severely overdrive the holes and throw away the bird. A great course overall and also a great weekend for the family or for any couple. It's really got something for everybody.
Cons: If you aren't used to mountain golf this course can be very challenging. You can two to four many of the holes due to precarious basket placements. Also the hike could be quite strenuous to a flatlander. The front nine is very steep in many areas.
Other Thoughts: Between the camping, yurts, trout, zip lines, bed and breakfast, brewery (some very tasty brews, thanks Eric), disc shop, and the course, this is definitely one of the best places to play golf in the state! Get out there and play!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Weekend

1    5/2/2010   5/6/2010
Review By: tarheel93chris
Played: 55  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Creative hole placement. #11 is cool and my only 2. My first hanging basket every played-very cool! Facilities are top notch. Beautiful mountain scenery. Challenging and beautifully simple all at the same time. Great hike that will give you a workout. A lot of thought and care went into this course.
Cons: 50 minute drive from Boone and not in my back yard.
Other Thoughts: Disc Golf camping weekend was so much fun. The family that runs this place are super friendly and have put in a lot of hard work so that others may have a good time. Rent a yurt! I can not wait to go back. They have so many fun weekends planned for the summer.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Vacation in the mountains

2-4    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 90  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The disc golf course is just one part of this camping paradise. The course is a tough challenge probably best sutied to the int/pro player. It is in the mountains so it is a bit of a hike. Great scenery abounds. Large, sturdy wood benches at most holes. Tee signs & cigg. butt cans at each hole. Good flow with 'next tee' arrows & well worn paths. Lots of variety with uphill, downhill (both steep & gradual), rights & lefts, long & short, blind & open etc. There are a couple of mando's & a water hazard or two. Lots of trees & roll-away hillside pin placements. Lots of variety with #11 basket elevated 15' in the air on a pole & #8 basket hanging from a tree. Instep style baskets with double-chains. Bright orange flags top each pin making them easier to spot.
Cons: Tee pads are a mix between wood-framed paving stones to dirt. Tee signs are basic. Could use a bit more description of routes to holes, etc.
Other Thoughts: The hosts are ever accomodating. The choice of camping styles range from basic plot of land to full on bed & breakfast. Even the most basic plot has electric outlets & restrooms close by with showers.
The have zip lines, climbing tower, trout pond (pay $ per pound). The place is beautifully landscaped with material grown on site. Full commitment to sustainability & recycling/re-use. Great destination that I will recommend to family & friends!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain discs at its finest

2-4    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 100  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.8 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An ideal location, nestled away in the rolling North Carolina mountains.
Navigation is easy, with white markers placed to indicate where to find the next tee.
Red baskets and orange flags make the holes very easy to find, right from the first round.
Lots of elevation changes requiring a range of shots. Uphill, downhill, tight threads, lefties, righties, straights, and true 4s and a 5(true in my opinion).
Some of the most picturesque holes you'll ever find. The pin at the long hole 5 is perfectly placed against a lone rock wall, some 30 feet or more above your approach shot. The views all around are excellent, and feels secluded from the rest of the world.

Hanging basket at 8 is a great touch, as is the basket on top of the 5' stump at hole 11.

A lot of thought has gone into the design of this course through some tricky terrain, and it shows. Inlaid brick teepads on some holes are impressive. Benches and stairs also prove the level of work into making this course truly enjoyable.

Camping, private yurts, and a bed & breakfast accommodate all types of travelers.

Winery, restaurant, souvenirs, and cold drinks in the lodge.

The Blind Squirrel Disc & Brew Shop is such a great addition. A great selection of used plastic and brand new discs. Add in the smell of mash, hops and barley and it's a true slice of heaven.
Cons: Some holes play near the campsites, but only a couple, really only 17 and 18, and it's not all that close.
Needs tee pads on all holes.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played mountain disc golf, or you already know you love it, come hit this gem! Just walking the path is a hike, but actually playing the course, climbing to the pins to retrieve your putts, climbing back down, etc -- you will get a full body workout. I played two rounds, back-to-back, and that was by FAR the deepest muscle burn I've ever had from playing any course twice in a row. Well worth it!

Course will be constantly updated and improved. Expect some holes to change/ move over time. Also, talk of adding another 18-hole course, which would really make this place unavoidable for any disc fan.

The Youngs and everyone on site are friendly and great hosts. We met Will as we entered, he showed me what to look for on a couple holes before letting me throw a round, then met me for my second round, and we had a great time. Plumber John, Edie, Aaron, everyone here welcomed us like family. The Youngs are doing great work for anyone who loves this sport. Go have a great discin' getaway weekend!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Rossaroo

1    3/19/2010   3/20/2010
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is a placement course with beautyful mountains and streams. Very easy to get from hole to hole. Course is a must play course with camping, zip lines, trout pound, and good mountain cooking. I would recomend wearing hiking boots.
Cons: Need more parking spots.
Other Thoughts: Would be an awsome HGT course.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    4/25/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: buddy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: You're surrounded by beautiful mountains. The course requires a nice variety of shots including a number of holes with severe elevation change as this is a true mountain course. The course is difficult & long enough to challenge the serious player. There are a number of really fun holes. Nice benches on several holes that come in handy. Primitive camping sites available at the course. The Vance Toe River Lodge & Restaurant is a couple minutes away and provides great food and disc golf supplies. Rob the course pro & Plumber John will show you around & make you feel welcome.
Cons: The course is still a work in progress so a couple of the hole designs could be improved i.e. #12 & the fairways that consist of gravel roads. There aren't rubber or concrete tee pads but it wasn't too much of an issue. It should be kept in mind that this course is continually being improved.
Other Thoughts: Me & some buddies found this course through this website & decided to make the road trip & give it a try. We ended up camping & were very pleasantly surprised by how awesome the course was & by the hospitality shown. Props to Will for his unbelievable cooking skills at the Toe River Lodge Restaurant. If you're considering playing this course, DO IT.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A disc golf destination in Plumtree, NC

1    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Riverdog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging, physical, fair, fairways fit real disc flights, unique pin positions, camping on site, lodging on site, restaurant within minutes, general items within minutes, very nice hosts and course owners who have along with PJ and Rob Hurley have worked very, very hard getting this course in shape and should be commended.
Cons: A few places where transition to next hole is difficult, but this is mountain terrain and cannot necessarily be helped. Other than this nothing that won't be rectified by time and use and continued maintenance.
Other Thoughts: Please, please get up to Plumtree and support the Young family in this disc golf destination project. You'll be tired but you'll definitely enjoy yourself.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.