Emory, VA 
Emory and Henry College Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 10/2008)
3 / --   3 / 174ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
WARNING! Avoid at all costs!

1    7/30/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros:
- There are a few holes that are playable. I recommend walking the course and as you find a hole that can be played with ease, give it a shot.
- If you are willing to take the risk of losing a disc and skipping various holes throughout the course, you might be able to get in an adequate 9-hole round.
Cons:
- Difficult to locate from the start. From there forward, regardless of the presence of signs, it is extremely difficult to navigate from hole to hole.
- The biggest con is the course conditions! Brush and tall grass run rampant at Emory and Henry. There is a high risk of losing a disc on almost every hole.
- Frustrating course. If the difficulty balanced out the course conditions then a fun round is certainly possible, but here one cannot have a fun time even when throwing a good round.
Other Thoughts: I am not the most familiar with the Southwest Virginia area, but I certainly recommend playing at Virginia Highland Community College any day that you might be considering to play at Emory & Henry. From the start this course is aggravating and unfortunately does not improve as the course progresses. Last word of warning, the course tries its hardest to eat your disc. Only play if you have a bag with discs you are willing to lose. As entitled, avoid Emory & Henry DGC at all costs!

Let itself go

1    10/13/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: The course has a decent mix of wooded vs. open holes. It still has a few signs on the course. There were only 2 tee pads I couldn't find. The short holes can still present a challenge.
Cons: Hole 15 is gone. All we found of it was the sign post with no sign laying next to a trail. We had a map and looked all over for the basket before moving onto hole 16. We also didn't find a tee for the first hole that resembled the other tees on the course so we used what I assume to be a golf tee box. The under growth is almost out of control. Unless you put your drive in the middle of the thin walking paths (when there were some) you were going to be in a mix of briars and vines. With most of the tee signs gone and the ones that remain being so vague you'll want take a course map which as noted on the map is still fairly general but is much more helpful than the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I didn't really have a problem with tee pads like other reviewers have had, but I can understand how the rubber tees can be very slick when wet. Most of the tees were carpet instead of rubber and I don't know how they would work when wet. I thought they were fine though.

I believe that this course could be rated 3 if they cleared out some of the brush and tree or 2 on a few holes. I also didn't encounter much poison ivy, but that is why I like playing this time of year. It can always be gotten rid with spray if it becomes a problem though.

 Dont go there

1    8/10/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: gcanter2376
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -About 3 or 4 holes were really good.
Cons: - The wooded holes had no line to throw through. Looked like they just stuck a teepad on one end of the woods and a basket on the other.
-Navigation was not very good. It was very hard to find first teepad and several others as well.
-Teepads were made of a rubber mat that was maybe 2 inches thick and very slick.
-Course condition was very poor.
- Most wooded wholes were more about luck than skill do to dense overgrowth.
-Spiders and spider webs EVERYWHERE! This was very bad.
Other Thoughts: I played there in August and course condition was very bad.Not sure if it would be better when school is in. If course was maintained better and woods were cleaned out a little bit this would be a pretty good course. I went with 4 other friends and we were ready to go by hole 12. We all agreed it was the worst course we ever played. Pass this one up.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finding the course is half the battle

2-4    7/31/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 274  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The Open Holes. The few open holes on this course were definitely the best thing about it. Beautifully manicured grass and the surrounding Ball Golf course make these holes feel more traditional.
- Forced Shots. A few holes on the course forced you to throw specific shots to get them. Hole 17 - A forced anhyzer 30' off the tee to a fairway that's straight for another 200+ feet. Hole 2 - A forced S-Turn through a blind 20' wide gap (perpendicular to you) 150' off the tee.
- Use of Elevation. Almost every hole had some elevation issue… whether in vertical feet gained or lost, or in the opportunity to be punished with vertical feet for poor shots. Not severe, but enough.
- Signage. The signage was remedial at best… but with 9 Blind pins, they were a big help. They also aided in locating the next hole because you could usually see them from the previous pin. There were also some large yellow arrows pointing the way to the tees with longer walks. I didn't have any trouble with navigation.
Cons: - Poke and Hope Holes. Four of the holes were Poke and Hope at best. Just throw at a gap and hope you make it through.
- Unplayed? Judging by the number of spider web facials I took and the overgrowth of the undergrowth, it didn't seem like this course gets too much traffic.
- Tee Pads. The tee-pads were thin, 2' wide, rubber strips laid on uneven ground and were extremely slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: - Directions. The courses Home Page Directions were OFF. First off all, the directions said Exit 27… there is no Exit 27. You want Exit 26. They also said to go straight on the gravel road after going under the RxR tracks… but, there was no gravel road going straight, only one going left. (Not the road you need to take).

I found some maintenance workers and asked them… they pointed me the way to Hole 10. So I started there (both times I played here).

The Real Directions: I-81 Exit 26. Toward the college. Before going under the RXR tracks, make a right into the school (Gamand Dr). Follow the road as it winds around through the school until it starts flanking the ball golf course on your right… then, memorize the way this pic looks so you can find your way to the correct parking lot http://maps.google.com/maps?q...6968&z=18
Note: I didn't park in this parking lot either time I played here and everything worked out.
- My Score: -6

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Timber!

1    10/21/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: Torrible
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful campus! Great use of elevation changes. Variety of shots are necessary.
Cons: Tee pads were a lawsuit waiting to happen (very slippery on wooded holes), lack of defined fairway on some of the wooded holes, poison Ivy (i know, there is not much you can do about that, just come prepared)
Other Thoughts: This course does have a lot of potential. However, there is work to be done. New tee pads are a must, that or yank out the slippery rubber that is there. I agree with a previous poster, some of the wooded holes are a little too congested. Clearing just a few trees here and there would really define a fairway with out giving up the technical aspect of the course. Easily would be at least a 4 star course with these adjustments.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Walk on the WILD Side

5+    8/23/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: jackrbailey72
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros:
This course is a good mix of woods, open, and technical. I like that you have to be able to shoot straight, heizer, anheizer, roller, tomahawk, etc etc etc. You have to be VERY creative becase there is no telling where you may wind up (especially on holes 3-6 and 16-17). Signage is very good and the course has a natural flow, with some exceptions....Distance wise, you have a good mix of short technical and long non-technical. The overlength of the course is a little short, but the techical aspects make up for this.
Cons: Single tee pads and MANY of them are beginning to show wear and a few can be a safety issue in the best of weather. Finding the actual course CAN be tough if you are not from here. A couple of arrowed signs would do the trick. The wooded holes need to be de-tangled...like Hole 6, there is no degree of technical that can even get you close to the hole...these type of blind shots do not go with the course's personality. Hole 11-13 is EASILY missed for the first time player (or even second time)...Post a sign or mark the trail entrance (like the 16 sign,,,that is perfect). Final Over the past while, I believe the E&H folks have let this course go. MANY large trees down from recent storms, Hole 3 walk down path needs IMMEDIATE ATTENTION. Holes 4-5 are so overgrown or full of debris that I have skipped these holes for the past 4 rounds. Holes 16 and 17 are in BAD SHAPE with debris and trees blocking the trail. The grass fairways and by-ways need attention, It just seems like the upkeep has seriously slipped.
Other Thoughts: It seems like I am banging on E&H, but guys, you have a GREAT course here....take care of it. Another SUGGESTION....please install a true "practice/warn-up" basket. The 18 basket is okay, but you can get in the way of both players on the 18th hole AND the ball golfers who overshoot their tee shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging for a College Course

1    7/1/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
About 2/3rds of the holes were wooded, 1/3rd relatively open. Nice blending of left/right/straight and up/down,/flat shots. Signs with distance and hole diagram at every hole but #1. Easy-to-see baskets. Nice views from top of hill.
Cons:
Single basket, single teepad, which were narrow, short, worn. A few of the wooded holes were bordereline as being the close-your-eyes-and-hope/random effect type. Nearly-invisible remnant of barbed-wire fence to left of #13 basket - I plowed right into it! :-(
Other Thoughts:
Distance-wise, the lengths of the wooded holes were primarily in the upper 100s to mid 200s range. The more open holes were in the upper 200s to upper 300s range.

To find the parking lot closest to tee #1/basket #18, follow the entrance road as it bends right, then passing Doyle House on your left and nearly passing the entire football field on your right. As the road bends right again, instead go straight and up a small paved driveway. You'll see a paved lot and white sheet metal building in front and to the right, a small gravel parking lot hard to the left, and a small graveled opening slightly to your left - take this opening to another gravel parking lot, park there, and find tee #1 slightly up the hill.

The course is fairly easy to follow and has a natural flow to it, with one exception: after completing hole #10, walk up the hill towards a tee at the top, which is actually #14. About 1/3rd way up the hill, there will be an opening to a path on your left - that will lead you to holes 11-13. There will be some signs leading you towards the farther-apart holes, like 15 to 16.

Longer and more challenging the the other college courses I've played to date.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great course for anyone.

1    9/27/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course that plays well if technical is your game. I found it to be a quiet peaceful place to play. Part of the course is played on the college golf course and is great. The rest is played in the woods.

I found getting around here not very difficult. The flow is natural and the paths are easy to recognize.

The baskets are in great shape and the ground around them is well maintained.

There is plenty of elevation usage here. You will throw up hill, downhill, and across the ravine to the other side.

My favorite was 8. It is a downhill throw through an opening and then a hard dogleg left.

The personality of this course really appealed to me. It is quiet and serene. With a aura of solitude.
Cons: Some of the baskets had so many trees between it and the basket that any reasonable chance at a decent drive is very minimal. Many blind shots which is hard on first timers. Directions for some of the tees was lacking.

There are no bathroom facilities available.

When you get here the the directions to the parking lot can be a little confusing. But it is on a parking lot behind a building. If you make the wrong turn and go up the hill you went to far. Use this link and go to the arrow. That is the parking lot. http://maps.google.com/maps?q...6968&z=18 The first tee is right around the hedges.

It needs someone to do a map. 1 through were findable. 11,12, and 13 are a bit of a pain.
Other Thoughts: That said, this is my favorite course in Southwest Virginia. I will play it again. I played early in the morning and could not have had a better time or cardiovascular workout.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the time unless you go to school there

2-4    9/18/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/13/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Field holes were okay. Big downhill shot was neat but no real hole to shoot for. Nice campus to have the course on. Maybe a good putter game course.
Cons: Woods holes were walking paths. really nasty brush!!!!!!!!! most holes were short. Played on way back from warriors path so maybe in comparision that's why I really didn't like this course. no real fairway definition.
Other Thoughts: If I was driving by again I would probably play. course did play fast. (I drove by and played again I wouldn't again) Baskets were in good condition. Not really much signage but only got lost on one stretch of holes so that was good. (signs up now but nothing going from one basket to the next. ) Nothing really to remember the course by. Pretty Plain Jane. I would like to call it a good beginer course, but it really isn't a resounding advertisement for disc golf, due to the rough and the real luck aspect of the woods holes. Course really doesn't require shotmaking (lots of luck really). Passable I guess.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a hidden gem

1    10/17/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rubber mat tees
13 of 18 in woods, technical course
Easy to follow course
Innova baskets with visibility in the woods
Cons: No overall map, could get off track once or twice
Tees could be wider and longer
little bit of a walk from 9-10 and 15-16
Fairways could use definition in the woods
hole two the tree in front of the tee could be cut to allow an easier shot.
Other Thoughts: I played 11 course in 3 days in south west VA and this was my favorite. Starts and ends on a par 3 ball golf course, then heads in the woods for most of the round with a good mix of the occasional open shot. Uses the elevations greatly although the fairways could use some more definition. Great mix of distance and technical. a solid par 3 course. 16 and 17's maps a little deceiving just follow the path you you a fine. Beautiful course. Open fairways keeped amazing. a highly over looked course worth the drive if your close enough, i'm sad i'm a little to far.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.