Gillette, WY
Energy Rotary Club DGC Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #7 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket is behind thick tree patch on gentle dogleg left.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 AIR-it-Out

1    9/11/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 246  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- That it's There. This course was a great course for me to break up my road trip with, but not a great course. I wasn't mad at it, it was fun. It just had some flaws that keep it from being really good… even though it's pretty good. It also appeared to be a good thing for the town of Gillette as many locals were out there playing (90% of them with only 1 disc).
- Air-it-Out. This course really allowed you to air-it-out. There was a 600+'er, several 400'ers, and several other fairways where a big air shot (spike hyzer) was the best way to go.
- Use of Vegetation to Create a Putting Situation. The course designer really did a good job utilizing the vegetation to make sure you put a premium on shot placement. A few feet to the right or left and you might have a thick cedar in between you and the chains. This was a good way to make you throw shots, and think about shot placement. It also made the wide open holes more challenging.
- Nice Sign and Tees. The course had professionally designed tee-signs (except for the "yards" part) and huge concrete tee-pads.
Cons:
- Airways, not Fairways. Because the course was situated in a park that has an "arboretum" of sorts, they were limited in the way that they could design the course. Apparently the land used to be an experimental piece of property where they tested to see what types of trees could grow in this type of environment. Because the park had so many mature trees, and that seems to be rare in the region, the course designer wasn't allowed to cut any of the trees. Therefore, all the fairways are really "AIR"ways… where you're pretty much forced to throw a huge shot over the tops of the trees.
Other Thoughts:
- I got to play with Tom (the course designer) and Wayne and his son Shad. Extremely nice guys… and Shad will be quite a player soon. I even traded a disc with Wayne at the end of the round, one of my local discs for one of his Gillette stamped discs. Hope to see those guys next year in Charlotte.
- I forget the name of the place we ate lunch… but it was good. It was a sports bar/pizza joint on the edge of the main street in town (had a beach volleyball court). Great wings for a decent price and the pastrami sandwich was really good. ALSO NOTE: the Taco Bell that is mentioned in my Diamond X review is in this town… do not eat there and then travel to play a Diamond X!
- My Score: -3

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Gillette

1    9/20/2010   4/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Energy Rotary course combines an interesting collection of small trees and bushes with moderate hole distances to make for a semi-challenging play fit for players of all skill levels. The mostly unrestricted high ceilings allow big arcing lines on most holes for more advanced players with sky hyzers and tomahawk shots being obvious first choices on many holes. The lack of really punishing rough means that beginners will be able to throw without too much concern for lost discs or thorny lies.

Nice views: If you live in Wyoming or Montana, you are probably quite used to the expansive views of the plains but for two travelers just passing through, the difference in scenery was really cool and the vastness of the surrounding area was beautiful. We played here right through sunset which is a spectacular bursting of colors due to the nearly 360 degree view available at the course.

Memorable: The course is memorable because you almost feel like you are playing through some kind of strange orchard or arboretum. There are tons of different types of interesting trees and shrubs all around and there are rows of trees rather than a natural scattering. This all makes for some unique images that have burned in my memory from this course.

Solitude: We played Rotary on the same sunny late summer day as Dalby and found this course completely empty of both golfers and any other park users with the exception of a few cars driving through. The solitude made for a really peaceful, quiet round with only the sound of the wind whipping through the trees.

Tees/Baskets: Nice big concrete teepads and solid baskets are another upgrade that Gillette has on the neighboring Dalby course.
Cons: While comparatively, the Rotary course far, far exceeds the challenge available at the only other Gillette course, very experienced players aren't going to get all that much out of this course. Because of the nearly exclusively low-lying tree obstacles and bushes, anyone with a good amount of power can throw sky hyzers up and over obstacles. In this way, players will likely only have to control distance and manage wind direction. These big hyzers, even if poorly thrown, at the very worst will leave experienced players with easy par approaches because they negate most of the available course obstacles and leave the player with very short distances to the hole. Course variety is plagued in much the same way, with players too often being able to have their choice in route to the pin rather than being pushed to throw new shots.

Filler holes: There are several filler holes which are nearly entirely wide open and serve mostly as connectors to other sections of the course. Because the space is so large and many areas are nearly treeless, I can understand why these are necessary although filler holes are never an ideal course characteristic.

Maintenance: Nothing too bad here, but when we visited the grass was getting pretty high in some places meaning you had to search around a bit to find longer drives into the deep grass.
Other Thoughts: On the whole, the Energy Rotary course makes for a nice way to break up a long trip and its location right off of the highway means you'll be back on the road in no time. It isn't a course that anyone needs to go out of the way to play but does have a lot more to offer than the nearby Dalby course which I would skip altogether.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Sleeper course

5+    7/2/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: thortracy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/30/2010
Pros: Like the other reviews said, The front nine has got mad tree and bush hazards and wide open spaces on the back nine, Multiple placements on almost all pins. All but one tee pad are nice big concrete slabs Northern Wyoming can be a desolate area, This course is like a little oasis!
Cons: Quirky basket placement on a few holes, Too many slobs not using the numerous trash cans, Finding errant discs can be tough
Other Thoughts: New chains and new Tee pads, New holes added. Waters scarce, Bring your own. The league people, Although not a large group are pretty active and a good bunch of folk.

 Fun course

5+    9/15/2009   2/14/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Front nine is quite wooded with great layout, if you can find the holes and tees. Great the second time played.
Cons: Back nine is wide open prairie. good for long distance, bad for challenge and beauty.
Other Thoughts: Best course in the town.

 Suprisingly fun!

1    11/27/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: trw83
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality baskets and concrete tee boxes. Multiple pin location for each hole, signs marking distance and direction to next tee box. Elevation change and a variety of different terrain keeps things interesting.Fairly easy course navigation as well.
Cons: Thick brush on a couple holes could cause the loss of a disc, wind will usually be present in some form (though I played when it was calm).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and would play it often if I lived in the area. Definitely worth the time to check out and play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/17/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: Justin L
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wooded and relatively tight front nine with an open windy back nine gives good variety. Locals were happy to help me find a few baskets. Course is very active when the weather is clear.
Cons: Finding the baskets from the tee, especially on the front nine, can be difficult. Some basket placements seem illogical, completely shielded from any approach except "huck it into the tree". Large trees guarding a basket are one thing, but dense foliage all the way to the ground level is another. The only approach to whole 1A is from the rear. You have to climb into the bushes to putt. Maybe this is only a problem in the spring at this course and it plays better all other seasons?
Other Thoughts: This course was a pleasent surprise. I didn't expect an above average course in Gillette. I also noticed on the bulletin board that a PDGA B-Tier was in the works, huge kudos to the local players for bringing disc golf to the powder river basin!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 trees to prairie

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: dosahl
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: first nine is vaired. Trees are in play at every hole. Consistiant lenghths of holes. (could also be a negative.) Nice natural setting.
Cons: Back nine is hindered by Wyoming wind. Back nine is also not very well maintained. Fairways are mowed but off of that will require some alphalpha searching to get discs.
Other Thoughts: Course is a nice play. Once the basket is discovered from the tee, it can be a challenging course. I will play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.