Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #18 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 222ft.   4 / 362ft.   4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Not bad

1    8/10/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 86  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice green cut fairways
Marked pretty well
Concrete pads, and fun shots with elevation and large trees
Cons: Some huffing and puffin type fairways so wear good shoes and bring water.
Lost a disc on the hole with the big elevation change, and the basket by the woods and creek.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug sprat and water
Much better then other courses in the area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

1    8/10/2016   8/11/2016
Review By: AeroPurt
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Prodigy Pro DG T1 baskets
- Multiple tees
- Multiple pin locations
- Beautiful park!!
- Great use of the terrain - I loved Hole 16 (throwing straight up a steep incline over the parking lot).
- Great variety of short/long and left/right doglegs.
- Tee signs on every hole.
- Every hole makes sense...there are no holes that make you feel like you have to get lucky to have a good shot.
Cons: - Lots of thorns in the rough...stick to the fairways as much as possible.
Other Thoughts: - We don't see too many courses like this in OK. I could play this course everyday - to have the chance to play this beautiful course everyday would be incredible. Thanks for building such a nice, well-though-out course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Example of a Pittsburgh Course

5+    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: 8putt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you from start to finish. You will be required to throw every type of throw in your bag whether it be big Hyzer bombs or tight straight backhands or a long sidearm. The course has great variety between wide open holes where you can air out (7,8,18,) or tightly wooded holes (1-3,12-15), knob hill gives players with smaller arms more chances than a lot of other courses. Overall, knob is a great example of the great courses that the Pittsburgh area has to offer.
Cons: Most of the cons that will be listed are going to be quite nitpicky.
- The course can very easily become wet after even the slightest bit of rain so come prepared.
- The prodigy baskets are very unforgiving and require a large amount of precision.
- The course is usually crowded (Usually the people are nice enough to allow fast people through)
- Once you start you pretty much have to finish because there are no places to stop (There are very easily skippable holes though)

These are all very nitpicky and should not distract from the quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are a Pittsburgh native or you are visiting the area, don't cross this one off your list. While you can very easily be distracted by other great courses in the area (Moraine, Deer Lakes, etc.) Knob is equally as great. Definitely a must visit.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome course worth the drive!

1    10/25/2015   10/25/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a hard park to find with playgrounds and lots of other activities. Very nice course with about every shot in the bag(uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn). Very nice layout and good use of the terain. Large cement tee pads that are longer than other courses I've played. Hole placement is marked on tee pad signs so you know of the 3 possible hole options where the hole is at. Course looks well maintained with not much garbage.
Cons: Most holes only have two tee pads, no third for women. Course seems like it is pretty busy all the time. A round might be slower going than one might anticipate. If course is wet, some of the holes at the bottom of the hill's can get a little muddy and slick. Some holes are kinda compact so watch out for others before throwing. There are no
par 5's on this course. Parking lot is rather small.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. Definitely worth the drive in my opinion. Will be playing this course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Worlds Courses, favorite in PA

1    8/15/2015   8/31/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There was a good entrance after passing playgrounds, pavillions and large parking lot, you see a sign for the course, and there is a parking lot at the end of the road with a board and practice basket with yardage markings around the basket
- Playgrounds and pavilions show that it's a good place/park
- Large grassy areas looked maintained, while the wooded areas have pretty big fairways and pathways in between holes (actually saw people maintaining one of the later holes)
- 3 tees on each hole (flypad for longs/blues, concrete in good shape for mids/whites and natural for shorts/reds)
- 3 basket positions on each hole, some with lots of yardage between positions, giving completely different hole types
- Detailed tee sign at each white tee (probably the most commonly used tees) showing the par, nice hole map, location of all 3 tees and pin positions, flight paths, next tee arrow and distances from each tee to each basket
- Course flows good and there aren't really any long walks between holes, a walk from parking to tee #1, but not too bad
- Nice hole setting variety - some holes are open, some are heavily wooded, many are both, but you experience that most with blues
- Hole designs surprise you with a lot of shots
- There were plenty of just great disc golf holes - I really liked hole #6 - the downhill hole where you have to watch out for some trees close to the tee, then it opens up where your disc needs to settle near the pin put on the edge

Cons: - Nowhere near the parking lot until 16
- Seemed too easy for pros on certain holes, pros would completely rip up the course because the challenge factor isn't too hard
- 16 crosses over the road at the start, not good if a car comes
- White tees have good tee signs, but the reds are hard to find and laminated paper stapled to a wood post
- Hard to find the first tee without a local...need more help to find the first tee
Other Thoughts: Great course! I played all of the worlds courses but Slippery Rock and I liked this best. Unfortunately, the pros couldn't play this because it was too easy, but I would like to see someone good play Knob Hill. Great course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I LUV KNOB HILL

5+    8/4/2015   8/20/2015
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 37.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review refers to the Blue Tees layout at the 2015 Worlds. Delightful course featuring tight woods, open field crushes, well designed fairways and well placed pin positions that demand a variety of tee shots and approach shots with plenty of nasty rough and some OB tossed in for added effect. I threw every shot in my bag (and wished I had a couple more!). Will test your patience, especially if you hit early trees (especially hole 3). Work on your forehand roller to help get out of jail. This course demands your full attention. Top players can shoot in the low to mid 50s, but if you are off your game you can easily shoot in the mid 60s.
Cons: Can be muddy (thank goodness no rain during Worlds!). Too much traffic near the mid-point, with the long tees of 9 and 11 close together (and close to the basket of 10 and the fairway of 5). Although it would make the course easier, the short tee of 9 would fix the traffic problems and provide one of the more enjoyable shots on the course...a beautiful downhill ace run where the flight of a disc can be enjoyed (or cursed if it sails into the nasty stuff behind the basket).
Other Thoughts: I first played Knob Hill back in the late 90s, and have always counted it among my favorites. After 15 years I wondered how it was holding up, and I was super happy to see how great the course was looking and how much hard work had gone into preparing it for the Worlds. Super kudos to all of the volunteers for their hard work and dedication!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

"Hill" of a course

5+    7/26/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 6/7/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best. Prior to anouncing the 2015 Pro Worlds, the course was in good shape. The course then put in new baskets, tee signs, next hole signs, benches, etc. the course has exciting twists and turns, wooded holes and open fairways and uphill shots and downhill shots. It's a must play course in the area along with Deer Lakes and Moraine. The course itself has many different kinds of shots needed. You will need many discs to navigate the course perfectly. After renovations the course is a top of the line championship course. If you are in the area, this is a must play. All the tee pads are concrete and on each hole there are three different pin positions to provide a different course almost every time.At the beginning, their is a nice practice basket with measurements to show how far you are putting. All in all, this course is much improved, and quite fantastic.
Cons: During the fall, the tee pads can get a little slippery and covered with leaves. There is no place to stop after 9 holes, but some holes can easily be skipped. No par 5 and only a few true par 4s, this is more a par 3. Not a con for me as it fits my playing style, but some may see it as a con. Some areas can get sopping wet dependimg on recent weather. Usually these are places you don't want your disc anyway.
Other Thoughts: I love the course. Quite Frankly, the cons aren't that bad considering what else there is to say about how great everything else is, Note: there is no place to quit after 9 holes, but if you look at the map thereare some easily skippable holes. Course navigation is easy and the holes are close together making it easy to get around. If you are in the area, you are lucky because western PA has the best courses in the east. There are no water fountains on the course, so BYOW.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great first experience

1    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: groz24
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the holes seemed very well designed. I enjoyed how the course started off in the woods, went out into the open, back in the woods and finished on the side of an open hill.

A great variety of holes and terrain.

A nice mix of challenging and not as challenging holes.
Cons: There were quite a few muddy places, which I found odd since it's been very sunny and over 80 degrees with no rain for almost a week now.

Since it's under construction, it's a little hard to know which pins are in place and they're not always noticeable from the tee areas.
Other Thoughts: Despite the course being under construction, we still had a ton of fun playing our first game of disc golf. I think that once the construction is completed for the world disc golf championships the first week of August, this course is going to be fantastic. With all the hills, you'll be in for quite a hike while you play as well, but the course plays so well you won't mind.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No Frills Disc Golf

1    7/22/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 68  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in a well manicured and maintained community park. There is a practice basket close to a sign that points to hole 1. Good quality signs indicating distance and flight path. A screw on each tee sign indicates current basket placement (A, B or C position). Three tee pads per hole; blue (large rubber pro pad), white (oversized concrete advanced or main pad) and red (recreational tee indicated by a ground level board). A fluorescent orange number atop each basket helps visibility from the tee. Very nice balance of wooded and open holes. Well-worn paths make navigation pretty easy for 1st-timers. Good use of elevation. Most of the course challenges you to hit lines and places a premium on accuracy. Hole 9- a really nice downhill shot to an open basket, and hole 15- a fun ace run between trees over a small creek stand out.
Cons: Though it evens out, in my opinion, the first 9 holes have too many RHFH/lefty friendly "C" position basket placements to the right of the tee. While navigation is not tough, some more "next tee" signs would be helpful, particularly on the front 9. Areas of the course are muddy after heavy rains. Limited parking could be a problem for large tournaments. There are no issues that should prevent one from playing here.
Other Thoughts: My first visit to the Pittsburgh area did not disappoint. Now 20 years old, Knob Hill has aged well and represents disc golf in its purest form without the bells and whistles. There are no 800 foot signature holes, manufactured OB or other gimmicks, just a good, solid disc golf experience featuring plenty of challenges, With three tee pads and three basket placements for each hole, there's plenty here for all skill levels. Knob Hill is probably underappreciated a bit due to the inevitable comparisons with the phenomenal courses at Deer Lakes and Moraine, but make no mistake: the rolling hills and general seclusion of other parts of the course make Knob Hill a first rate play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Don't Sleep on Knob Hill

5+    9/5/2015   10/23/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2016
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill is a superb disc golf course that flows exceptionally well, working its way first into (1-3) and then back out of (4-8) the woods before playing down (9) and then back up (10) a sizable hill, stretching out into some longer wooded holes (11-14) that abruptly end with one of the quirkiest par 3s (15) that I've ever seen before moving onto a mostly open hillside where rollaway opportunities abound (16-18) to finish out the round. The diverse mix of distances, woodedness, and elevation encountered along the way makes for an exceptionally varied round: from tight midrange shots (4) to big open drives (8, 18), huge hyzers (10) to long turnovers (11) to downhill bombs (9), and pins guarded by thickets of trees (3, 14), well-placed out of bounds (15), or precarious elevation (17, 18), this course has it all. It's one of the most diverse courses I've played, and the fact that it nevertheless flows and comes together so well is a testament to its thoughtful design.

Adding to this diversity is the course's three pin positions, which can dramatically reshape a hole. The C positions are infamous for their difficulty, while the As make for birdie opportunities galore. The locals mix and match these positions and change them often, giving Knob Hill an almost innumerable amount of possible incarnations. The course's challenge can vary greatly depending on the layout, but you'll never be bored regardless.

Tees are fantastic size and shape. Amenities are readily available. The park is easy to find and well-groomed. Gorgeous western Pennsylvania surroundings; play it in the fall if you can!
Cons: I don't mean to sound like a fanboy, but: not a lot. It's a very solid course.

I suppose the reason Knob Hill is a bit lower rated than its sister courses Moraine and Deer Lakes is that the wow factor isn't as high here. Whereas I have vivid images of specific shots seared into my mind's eye from these other two courses, my impression of Knob Hill is more of its overall consistency and enjoyment. This isn't to say there aren't unique, standout holes - 9 and 10 down and up the hill come to mind, and 15 is surely memorable, though not a signature hole by any means - but that Knob Hill's ceiling doesn't reach the heights of Moraine, Deer Lakes, and other world class courses. I tend to prefer overall consistency to intermittent oohs and ahs, so this characteristic doesn't bother me, but I can see it standing out to some.

Though the variety of pin positions make it tough to make a general statement on difficulty, I would say that Knob Hill on the whole isn't highly technical when compared to some comparably wooded courses: there's enough space and multiple routes on many holes to be more forgiving than they could be. Make no mistake, this is a very relative statement: this course can kick your butt. It's just not as tight or as long as par 4-focused game-testers. I happen to think Knob Hill's difficulty level sits in a perfect sweet spot, but I can see it potentially losing a bit of edge for some first rate players. This is more a neutral observation than a true con.
Other Thoughts: The more I play Knob Hill the more I love it. I tend to value variety and consistency, and that's Knob Hill's game to a T. Its holes flow well from one to the next, accumulating into what for me is a very satisfying overall experience. It's a must-play course in a must-visit area.

Ratings-wise, Knob Hill teeters between a 4.0 and a 4.5 for me. Its lower wow factor points to the former, its completeness and variety point to the latter. While not quite as spectacular as some other top level courses, it just comes together in excellent fashion. Play it as soon as you can!

Update June 10, 2014: It occurred to me today upon returning to Knob Hill that part of what makes it difficult to rate is that it's almost exclusively par 3, whereas many other what I consider top courses have significantly more par 4s and 5s. Knob Hill is certainly the best par 3 course I've played - it covers an astonishing amount of ground for that format. I still teeter between a 4.0 and a 4.5 but it's all semantics: this is a fantastic course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.