Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 177ft.   3 / 281ft.   3 / 351ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Good Example of a Pittsburgh Course

5+    11/26/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: 8putt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you from start to finish. You will be required to throw every type of throw in your bag whether it be big Hyzer bombs or tight straight backhands or a long sidearm. The course has great variety between wide open holes where you can air out (7,8,18,) or tightly wooded holes (1-3,12-15), knob hill gives players with smaller arms more chances than a lot of other courses. Overall, knob is a great example of the great courses that the Pittsburgh area has to offer.
Cons: Most of the cons that will be listed are going to be quite nitpicky.
- The course can very easily become wet after even the slightest bit of rain so come prepared.
- The prodigy baskets are very unforgiving and require a large amount of precision.
- The course is usually crowded (Usually the people are nice enough to allow fast people through)
- Once you start you pretty much have to finish because there are no places to stop (There are very easily skippable holes though)

These are all very nitpicky and should not distract from the quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: If you are a Pittsburgh native or you are visiting the area, don't cross this one off your list. While you can very easily be distracted by other great courses in the area (Moraine, Deer Lakes, etc.) Knob is equally as great. Definitely a must visit.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Worlds Courses, favorite in PA

1    8/15/2015   8/31/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There was a good entrance after passing playgrounds, pavillions and large parking lot, you see a sign for the course, and there is a parking lot at the end of the road with a board and practice basket with yardage markings around the basket
- Playgrounds and pavilions show that it's a good place/park
- Large grassy areas looked maintained, while the wooded areas have pretty big fairways and pathways in between holes (actually saw people maintaining one of the later holes)
- 3 tees on each hole (flypad for longs/blues, concrete in good shape for mids/whites and natural for shorts/reds)
- 3 basket positions on each hole, some with lots of yardage between positions, giving completely different hole types
- Detailed tee sign at each white tee (probably the most commonly used tees) showing the par, nice hole map, location of all 3 tees and pin positions, flight paths, next tee arrow and distances from each tee to each basket
- Course flows good and there aren't really any long walks between holes, a walk from parking to tee #1, but not too bad
- Nice hole setting variety - some holes are open, some are heavily wooded, many are both, but you experience that most with blues
- Hole designs surprise you with a lot of shots
- There were plenty of just great disc golf holes - I really liked hole #6 - the downhill hole where you have to watch out for some trees close to the tee, then it opens up where your disc needs to settle near the pin put on the edge

Cons: - Nowhere near the parking lot until 16
- Seemed too easy for pros on certain holes, pros would completely rip up the course because the challenge factor isn't too hard
- 16 crosses over the road at the start, not good if a car comes
- White tees have good tee signs, but the reds are hard to find and laminated paper stapled to a wood post
- Hard to find the first tee without a local...need more help to find the first tee
Other Thoughts: Great course! I played all of the worlds courses but Slippery Rock and I liked this best. Unfortunately, the pros couldn't play this because it was too easy, but I would like to see someone good play Knob Hill. Great course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

"Hill" of a course

5+    7/26/2015   8/9/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 6/7/2016
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best. Prior to anouncing the 2015 Pro Worlds, the course was in good shape. The course then put in new baskets, tee signs, next hole signs, benches, etc. the course has exciting twists and turns, wooded holes and open fairways and uphill shots and downhill shots. It's a must play course in the area along with Deer Lakes and Moraine. The course itself has many different kinds of shots needed. You will need many discs to navigate the course perfectly. After renovations the course is a top of the line championship course. If you are in the area, this is a must play. All the tee pads are concrete and on each hole there are three different pin positions to provide a different course almost every time.At the beginning, their is a nice practice basket with measurements to show how far you are putting. All in all, this course is much improved, and quite fantastic.
Cons: During the fall, the tee pads can get a little slippery and covered with leaves. There is no place to stop after 9 holes, but some holes can easily be skipped. No par 5 and only a few true par 4s, this is more a par 3. Not a con for me as it fits my playing style, but some may see it as a con. Some areas can get sopping wet dependimg on recent weather. Usually these are places you don't want your disc anyway.
Other Thoughts: I love the course. Quite Frankly, the cons aren't that bad considering what else there is to say about how great everything else is, Note: there is no place to quit after 9 holes, but if you look at the map thereare some easily skippable holes. Course navigation is easy and the holes are close together making it easy to get around. If you are in the area, you are lucky because western PA has the best courses in the east. There are no water fountains on the course, so BYOW.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't Sleep on Knob Hill

5+    9/5/2015   10/23/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 99  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2016
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill is a superb disc golf course that flows exceptionally well, working its way first into (1-3) and then back out of (4-8) the woods before playing down (9) and then back up (10) a sizable hill, stretching out into some longer wooded holes (11-14) that abruptly end with one of the quirkiest par 3s (15) that I've ever seen before moving onto a mostly open hillside where rollaway opportunities abound (16-18) to finish out the round. The diverse mix of distances, woodedness, and elevation encountered along the way makes for an exceptionally varied round: from tight midrange shots (4) to big open drives (8, 18), huge hyzers (10) to long turnovers (11) to downhill bombs (9), and pins guarded by thickets of trees (3, 14), well-placed out of bounds (15), or precarious elevation (17, 18), this course has it all. It's one of the most diverse courses I've played, and the fact that it nevertheless flows and comes together so well is a testament to its thoughtful design.

Adding to this diversity is the course's three pin positions, which can dramatically reshape a hole. The C positions are infamous for their difficulty, while the As make for birdie opportunities galore. The locals mix and match these positions and change them often, giving Knob Hill an almost innumerable amount of possible incarnations. The course's challenge can vary greatly depending on the layout, but you'll never be bored regardless.

Tees are fantastic size and shape. Amenities are readily available. The park is easy to find and well-groomed. Gorgeous western Pennsylvania surroundings; play it in the fall if you can!
Cons: I don't mean to sound like a fanboy, but: not a lot. It's a very solid course.

I suppose the reason Knob Hill is a bit lower rated than its sister courses Moraine and Deer Lakes is that the wow factor isn't as high here. Whereas I have vivid images of specific shots seared into my mind's eye from these other two courses, my impression of Knob Hill is more of its overall consistency and enjoyment. This isn't to say there aren't unique, standout holes - 9 and 10 down and up the hill come to mind, and 15 is surely memorable, though not a signature hole by any means - but that Knob Hill's ceiling doesn't reach the heights of Moraine, Deer Lakes, and other world class courses. I tend to prefer overall consistency to intermittent oohs and ahs, so this characteristic doesn't bother me, but I can see it standing out to some.

Though the variety of pin positions make it tough to make a general statement on difficulty, I would say that Knob Hill on the whole isn't highly technical when compared to some comparably wooded courses: there's enough space and multiple routes on many holes to be more forgiving than they could be. Make no mistake, this is a very relative statement: this course can kick your butt. It's just not as tight or as long as par 4-focused game-testers. I happen to think Knob Hill's difficulty level sits in a perfect sweet spot, but I can see it potentially losing a bit of edge for some first rate players. This is more a neutral observation than a true con.
Other Thoughts: The more I play Knob Hill the more I love it. I tend to value variety and consistency, and that's Knob Hill's game to a T. Its holes flow well from one to the next, accumulating into what for me is a very satisfying overall experience. It's a must-play course in a must-visit area.

Ratings-wise, Knob Hill teeters between a 4.0 and a 4.5 for me. Its lower wow factor points to the former, its completeness and variety point to the latter. While not quite as spectacular as some other top level courses, it just comes together in excellent fashion. Play it as soon as you can!

Update June 10, 2014: It occurred to me today upon returning to Knob Hill that part of what makes it difficult to rate is that it's almost exclusively par 3, whereas many other what I consider top courses have significantly more par 4s and 5s. Knob Hill is certainly the best par 3 course I've played - it covers an astonishing amount of ground for that format. I still teeter between a 4.0 and a 4.5 but it's all semantics: this is a fantastic course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Spot!

5+    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Glenn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A great layout. Very scenic. Challenging hills. Open, but a couple of tight holes. Great views. Good condition. Clean. Nice people.
Cons: Tees can have puddles. Rough can get real high, making it very hard to find discs. Not a huge diversity of holes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I've played it many times. I love it. It's a shorter course with many birdies to be had.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/16/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 87  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Has great signs to tell you where the holes are. Has a nice mix of long and shorter holed. The shorter holes are not too easy either. Move the pins around a bunch to change up the course.
Cons: On some holes it is easy to lose your disc if you throw it in the woods, especially on hole #11. Other than some blind throws there are not many other cons.
Other Thoughts: Used to get super wet after rain but since they installed drains it has improved a lot. It is easy to get a decently quick hour hour and a half round in any night. It is a great 18 that will test every part of your game.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great All Around Course

5+    8/7/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, Knob Hill is one of the few disc golf courses that could be considered mainstream. Holes are designed to be accessible to a variety of skill levels and also reward players with strong shots and strategy. Fairways are laid out very well, and construction from tee pads to signs is first rate.
Cons: Crowded. This course is the star of the immediate Pittsburgh area and attracts huge numbers of people, particularly on weekends. A lot of families can make play tedious for the speedier veterans.
Other Thoughts: Update: A lot of improvements have been made to this course in recent years, and they've vastly improved the quality of play. Added an extra .5 stars!

A great course all around, just difficult to play an entire round without having to wait a bit. Moraine's Lakeview course is further from Pittsburgh (another 20 minutes up Route 19), but is a superior course with far less crowding.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 45 min drive for us, but worth it

7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 12.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety. Good use of multiple tees. Excellent challenging hole placement. The grassy areas were very well cut. Relatively easy walking for so many hills. I especially liked 5, and 12 - to the right side basket, 13, and 14 (even with the swampy tire tracks cutting through it). My 10-year-old daughter had a great time from the reds. The rest of us found it very tough using the whites - not too surprising at our skill level.
Cons: Some of the holes and tees were hard to find for a first visit. Red tee lines were hard to find on some holes. Area might get very messy after strong rains. Sign at Tee 16 is misleading, but it's kind of obvious to guess where it's going.
Other Thoughts: Not too long from whites - didn't wear out my arm before the end of 18. Water hole on 15 isn't much of a water hole any more. That suited my family just fine. 11 to the C basket was a monster uphill for us. My worst round of the summer score-wise, and I still had a good time. More clear signs to first tee would help, or maybe we missed something. The first visible tee is 18, so we parked before it. That was a mistake. We ended up walking about half the course backward, just to get our bearings and find #1. Next stop will be Deer Lakes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

7/1/2007   7/23/2008
Review By: b13ecker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Cement teepads, more of a open course, trees have sum corrugated piping on them incase of discs hitting wont really damage
Cons: When it rains or day after it is a mud pit, also everything is par 3 some should be par 4s but its a hard course very challenging

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.