Warrendale, PA
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 351ft.   3 / 477ft.   3 / 549ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent Course

1    10/2/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: Slicktm
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout. Good Challenge and cool placements of Tee and Holes. Good variety of wooded and open holes. I liked the use of terrain to make the holes more interesting.
Cons: Lots of underbrush, my friend lost his driver (though it was getting dark at the time). There are a few areas that you can lose a disc with a off throw as with any course but there are some spots that you dont see that are deep spots etc.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Stalwart of the Pittsburgh Region

1    9/5/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 114  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three Tees: blue/rubber/long - white/concrete/medium - red/natural/short
Tee signs at white tees
Multiple pin positions available
The balance of heavily/moderately wooded & open/semi-open holes combined with available elevation made for a sensible flow and required a variety of shots to score well.
Easy to navigate even without a map
Course well used and broken in so very little punishing rough (except for ridiculously errant throws on some holes) resulting in low disc loss possibilities
Clean & well maintained
Park is multi-use and has bathrooms, etc.
Cons: Finding first tee not obvious - disc golf sign has you going over bridge through some woods to a path that splits with no directional info on which way to go. Would be easier to point players up gravel pathway away from parking area as first tee is just up there a short distance. There's a map at the info board for reference however.
Not crazy about design of holes 16-18 which are fairly close to one another and play near to/over the road leading to DG parking lot. Saw many non disc golfers walking up/down this road so caution is warranted.
Three pin positions per hole but no way of telling what position pin is in (most pins you can see from the tee, others you'll have to scout)
Red tees on some holes are wood boards on the ground so players using these may find them difficult to locate
Other Thoughts: With 25 reviews on site, going into detail here seems unnecessary and excessive so I'll stick to some general thoughts:

It's always interesting playing a mature, well established course designed in the early 90's and seeing how it withstands the test of time. Knob Hill seems to be enduring quite well as it appeals to a wide range of players, is challenging but not overly long or technical & has extremely strong support from the surrounding community -and for good reason - this is a fun place to enjoy a relaxing, low stress round in a pleasant park setting. If I lived in the general vicinity, I'd be playing this one regularly.

Some of the reviews/ratings on the site seem to be somewhat inflated as the course doesn't quite have all of the qualities I would have expected to justify the rating. Even so, it's a more than solid course and I cannot fault those who play it regularly for showing their devoted appreciation.

Therefore labels like 'championship quality' or 'a must play destination' are not applicable here. Nevertheless, it's totally worth a play if in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Heinz 57

1    6/27/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three tees per hole - rubber at blue, concrete at white, natural at red. Signs at blue and white tees - only distance info at blues, breadth of information on signs at whites. Three pin positions per hole. Scattered benches and trash cans.
Cons:
Current basket location pegs not used. Red tees on back nine marked by hard-to-find in-ground boards. Numbers 16&18 have crossing fairways. Boggy in places - 2,9,12,15 were on the damp side the day I played.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in the woods, fairways defined by pockets of forest, and wide-open spaces, of a public park built on one very large hill and surrounding flat spaces. Nice mixture of elevation changes - flat, moderate, a couple quite steep. Fair blend of tightness - course cycles through tight woodwork, then scattered, larger hardwoods at random points, to fairly open, then repeat. Lengths are "typical", i.e. the tighter the hole, the shorter the hole. Variety of turns needed, a bit more emphasis on right turns.

Navigation: If you find yourself in a small parking lot with a baseball field to your right, you can start here - basket-7/tee-8 is just up the hill - or jump back in your car, find the main entrance about a half mile away, and find the kiosk at the end of the shaded parking lot there. Taking a digital photo of the map at the kiosk proved useful - follow the obvious path out the back of the parking lot to find tee-1. After basket-8, the most obvious tee is #11 - #9 is farther down to the right, and the hole plays down the hill, and then #10 will return you to the top of the hill for tee-11.

Favourite hole: #10 Long and uphill, pockets of trees on both side. Eventually need to make a sharp left-turn (if too sweeping, you'll catch some trees towards the back), finding the basket a bit farther up the hill, in an opening between two rows of trees.

With three tees and three pin positions per hole, and the variations in tightness, distance, and elevation, this course should appeal to many different types of players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pittsburgh's Classic Course

5+    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 17.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill was Pittsburgh's main disc golf course project during the 1990s, and it shows some of the promise the has produced more recent gems. Specifically, elevation is used creatively on the courses "knobby" terrain, resulting in many very interesting greens and engaging tee shots.

A good variety of shots are required, with young shrubby trees forcing you to make shots on the more technical holes.

Three sets of tees and three pin positions per hole make it both a good recreational and tournament course and a worthy host to the Pittsburgh Flying Disc Open.

Although one of the simpler holes, my favorite is #7, which is a 300+' slight uphill drive for the 'A' pin position with a big tree 200' out and a tree-line the right side. It's just a really fun drive with my teebird that I look forward to every time I play the course.
Cons: Par isn't well defined (i.e., tweener Par 3.5 holes) for certain combinations of tees and (far) pin positions. Although hole lengths vary, I found it mentally tiring to face these holes where you're just trying to play conservatively to make a 3 because a 2 is unrealistic.

With the shrubby trees and hillsides, I didn't find the holes to be framed as well as Deer Lakes or Moraine. The fairways just didn't feel as natural, and the holes just aren't as memorable. (Changes in disc technology might be partially to blame.)

Course can get very muddy.
Other Thoughts: Nice autumn colors and a good course to play in the winter when the ground is frozen and the couple patches of underbrush aren't a factor.

Your course experience can vary wildly depending on the pin positions you face. Playing a round with mostly 'C' pins (the hardest pins) gave me new respect for this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

1    6/17/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 103  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Having three sets of tees was good to see and a big pro in my book. The course had some good elevation and seemingly gets a lot of play. The course signs were very beautiful. The park is very beautiful and in a nice part of town. The course featured two awesome downhill holes in the middle of the course that stood out from the rest.
Cons: The course had serious design flaws - I rated this course comparatively to other courses I have played in the nation and not compared to PA courses. I imagine the ratings for this course are inflated because of the lack of good courses in the area and state, besides Moraine State Park. Some of the holes were just absolute disasters, with decent fairway routes but poke and hope routes near the holes. 15 in particular had literally no route to the basket, and my shot hit the top of the basket by pure luck. Hole 2 was another example of just a "throw it and hope to get lucky." Holes 16 through 18 were just confusing, with fairways criss-crossing. Some of the walks between the holes were pretty long - also, each hole had three pin locations but you could never tell which location the pin was in. The course is situated in a beautiful park, and had serious potential.....but unfortunately that potential was not seen.
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed with this course. I expected a lot after reading the ratings and really found nothing special about the course.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A nice place

5+    9/23/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course, with both wide open fairways, and some 'chutes' off the tees. Constant pin relocation makes it different every time I've been there.
Cons: There are 3 killer hills, each one getting more severe (16 may require older people to take a break climbing). Some of the red tees difficult to find
Other Thoughts: The park is constantly maintained, and some of the nicest people frequent this course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Knob Hill

5+    8/17/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy playing this course each time I'm down this way from Rochester, Ny and I think thats the biggest endorsement. There's a lot of challenge on this course and while there are a fair amount of chances for a duce, each of them really makes you earn it. The fact that they have flypads on the pro tee's and cement on the white tee's is such a great job thats been done by the local club. The first time I played the course I just walked up to a group of locals to aske about where a basket was and they envited me to play with them which was great. The course was really well maintained which makes coming down for the PFDO really great. I can't recall seeing any trash at the course or signs of vandalism any of the times I've been there. There aren't many chances to really air a disc out on this course but the technical challenge makes up for that ten fold. I played this course for the first time last spring and again at the PFDO and couldn't believe how they had cleaned up one of the holes to really make it a gem.
Cons: hmmmmmm...I think it was a little wet on some of the holes at the bottom of the hill when I played in the spring. ***If your not playing the long tee's to the long baskets this course can be really easy.***
Other Thoughts: I can understand others rating this higher then a 4 but there wasn't anything that had a WOW factor for me. Still a super solid course and a must play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Northern Pittsburghers!

2-4    11/18/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course has tremendous variety with tightly wooded and technical holes vs. long, wide-open expanses. Uphill drives contrast downhill drives.

-Each hole is adequately signed and the trails are well blazed, leading to the next hole with little confusion.

- Particular care is given to the maintenance of the course with litter and debris at a minimum. The grassy fairways are often cut and well-trimmed. I'm sure this is partially due to the PFDS presence here.

- The topography of hole #11 in particular, with some blind shots between the tee and basket, makes for a memorable shot.

- Several large trees make for challenging hazards on long open drives. Hole #7 comes in mind.

- frequent pin rotation makes the holes interesting and unique

- study cement tee pads for the red and white holes accompanied by wooden stumps that serve as benches

- a nice long course with white and blue holes that well exceed a mile in total length. Your arm will get a decent workout here!
Cons: - This course can get incredibly crowded -- even at times when traffic on most courses is usually at a minimum. I've gone on Tuesdays at 1pm and I'll run into 20 people playing. While I'm elated to see people playing disc golf, waiting for people to tee off can be an encumbrance.

- As mentioned in other reviews, the first hole can be a little difficult to find at first; after the first hole, however, there are little to no issues navigating

- The course can get a little muddy and slippery after wet days due to a lack of drainage. Watch your footing on these days!

Other Thoughts: I've played many courses in the Pittsburgh area and Knob Hill is one of the best. Not quite the caliber of Moraine or Deer Lake, but certainly better than Schenley or Old Economy. For those living in northern Pittsburgh, you can't really beat this for a home course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well kept and close

5+    11/14/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: HarkeyPuck
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed and well maintained course, that has a good flow and variety of holes.

Course gets a lot of use so paths between holes are well defined.

Cement pads on white tee and rubber fly pad on the blues.

3 pin placements per hole.
Cons: Can get very crowded.

Finding some tees are a bit hard the first time around.

Even in A pin placement, not very beginner friendly.

Red tees are a board in the ground and almost non existent.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best par 3 in Pittsburgh. The Park is very pet friendly as many take their dogs golfing with them.

C pin location can be VERY challenging.

If you're looking for a fun, challenging round, take the time to play 18 at this great course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great All Around Course

5+    8/7/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, Knob Hill is one of the few disc golf courses that could be considered mainstream. Holes are designed to be accessible to a variety of skill levels and also reward players with strong shots and strategy. Fairways are laid out very well, and construction from tee pads to signs is first rate.
Cons: Crowded. This course is the star of the immediate Pittsburgh area and attracts huge numbers of people, particularly on weekends. A lot of families can make play tedious for the speedier veterans.
Other Thoughts: Update: A lot of improvements have been made to this course in recent years, and they've vastly improved the quality of play. Added an extra .5 stars!

A great course all around, just difficult to play an entire round without having to wait a bit. Moraine's Lakeview course is further from Pittsburgh (another 20 minutes up Route 19), but is a superior course with far less crowding.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.