Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Pittsburgh's Classic Course

5+    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: vslaugh
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Knob Hill was Pittsburgh's main disc golf course project during the 1990s, and it shows some of the promise the has produced more recent gems. Specifically, elevation is used creatively on the courses "knobby" terrain, resulting in many very interesting greens and engaging tee shots.

A good variety of shots are required, with young shrubby trees forcing you to make shots on the more technical holes.

Three sets of tees and three pin positions per hole make it both a good recreational and tournament course and a worthy host to the Pittsburgh Flying Disc Open.

Although one of the simpler holes, my favorite is #7, which is a 300+' slight uphill drive for the 'A' pin position with a big tree 200' out and a tree-line the right side. It's just a really fun drive with my teebird that I look forward to every time I play the course.
Cons: Par isn't well defined (i.e., tweener Par 3.5 holes) for certain combinations of tees and (far) pin positions. Although hole lengths vary, I found it mentally tiring to face these holes where you're just trying to play conservatively to make a 3 because a 2 is unrealistic.

With the shrubby trees and hillsides, I didn't find the holes to be framed as well as Deer Lakes or Moraine. The fairways just didn't feel as natural, and the holes just aren't as memorable. (Changes in disc technology might be partially to blame.)

Course can get very muddy.
Other Thoughts: Nice autumn colors and a good course to play in the winter when the ground is frozen and the couple patches of underbrush aren't a factor.

Your course experience can vary wildly depending on the pin positions you face. Playing a round with mostly 'C' pins (the hardest pins) gave me new respect for this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Average Course

1    6/17/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 152  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Having three sets of tees was good to see and a big pro in my book. The course had some good elevation and seemingly gets a lot of play. The park is very beautiful and in a nice part of town. The course featured two awesome downhill holes in the middle of the course that stood out from the rest.

The tee signs are extremely helpful and beautiful. For someone who travels to a lot of courses I can't stress how much value a good tee sign adds to a course. Too many courses have terrible or incorrect tee signs and that leaves players frustrated. These tee signs are some of the best I have ever played.
Cons: The course had serious design flaws. Some of the holes were just really confusing with decent fairway routes but poke and hope routes near the basket.15 in particular had literally no route to the basket, and my shot hit the top of the basket by pure luck. Hole 2 was another example of just a "throw it and hope to get lucky." I am a firm believer in having fair but challenging holes but when a green is full of obstacles and tough to access with a good shot it becomes frustrating. Luck should never be the determining factor in a hole. Not all of the holes had this feature but it was enough for me to remember.

Holes 16 through 18 were just confusing, with fairways criss-crossing. The park seemed super busy and I just felt it was a safety issue to have criss-crossing fairways. I think fixing this issue would immediately raise the rating of the course in my opinion. Some of the walks between the holes were pretty long - also, each hole had three pin locations but you could never tell which location the pin was in. Once again, this may not be a big deal for a local but for an out of town player it can be frustrating to have to walk down the fairway to see which location the pin was in. Having a simple washer system on the tee sign to indicate the current location of the hole would solve this problem.

Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential. I feel like the course is probably very enjoyable to a local player but for an out of towner it is tough to enjoy a course with guesswork on the location of the pins. Fixing that issue and also addressing the criss-crossing fairways would immediately raise this course rating to a 4.0.

UPDATE: I originally gave this course a 2.5 but after playing it again I raised the rating to a 3.0. Keep in mind that this rating indicates a "Good" rating. This course has great potential and is in a very nice park that is very busy. I just think its important to keep in mind that not everyone that plays this course is a local.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A nice place

5+    9/23/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course, with both wide open fairways, and some 'chutes' off the tees. Constant pin relocation makes it different every time I've been there.
Cons: There are 3 killer hills, each one getting more severe (16 may require older people to take a break climbing). Some of the red tees difficult to find
Other Thoughts: The park is constantly maintained, and some of the nicest people frequent this course

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Knob Hill

5+    8/17/2009   1/17/2010
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy playing this course each time I'm down this way from Rochester, Ny and I think thats the biggest endorsement. There's a lot of challenge on this course and while there are a fair amount of chances for a duce, each of them really makes you earn it. The fact that they have flypads on the pro tee's and cement on the white tee's is such a great job thats been done by the local club. The first time I played the course I just walked up to a group of locals to aske about where a basket was and they envited me to play with them which was great. The course was really well maintained which makes coming down for the PFDO really great. I can't recall seeing any trash at the course or signs of vandalism any of the times I've been there. There aren't many chances to really air a disc out on this course but the technical challenge makes up for that ten fold. I played this course for the first time last spring and again at the PFDO and couldn't believe how they had cleaned up one of the holes to really make it a gem.
Cons: hmmmmmm...I think it was a little wet on some of the holes at the bottom of the hill when I played in the spring. ***If your not playing the long tee's to the long baskets this course can be really easy.***
Other Thoughts: I can understand others rating this higher then a 4 but there wasn't anything that had a WOW factor for me. Still a super solid course and a must play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Northern Pittsburghers!

2-4    11/18/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course has tremendous variety with tightly wooded and technical holes vs. long, wide-open expanses. Uphill drives contrast downhill drives.

-Each hole is adequately signed and the trails are well blazed, leading to the next hole with little confusion.

- Particular care is given to the maintenance of the course with litter and debris at a minimum. The grassy fairways are often cut and well-trimmed. I'm sure this is partially due to the PFDS presence here.

- The topography of hole #11 in particular, with some blind shots between the tee and basket, makes for a memorable shot.

- Several large trees make for challenging hazards on long open drives. Hole #7 comes in mind.

- frequent pin rotation makes the holes interesting and unique

- study cement tee pads for the red and white holes accompanied by wooden stumps that serve as benches

- a nice long course with white and blue holes that well exceed a mile in total length. Your arm will get a decent workout here!
Cons: - This course can get incredibly crowded -- even at times when traffic on most courses is usually at a minimum. I've gone on Tuesdays at 1pm and I'll run into 20 people playing. While I'm elated to see people playing disc golf, waiting for people to tee off can be an encumbrance.

- As mentioned in other reviews, the first hole can be a little difficult to find at first; after the first hole, however, there are little to no issues navigating

- The course can get a little muddy and slippery after wet days due to a lack of drainage. Watch your footing on these days!

Other Thoughts: I've played many courses in the Pittsburgh area and Knob Hill is one of the best. Not quite the caliber of Moraine or Deer Lake, but certainly better than Schenley or Old Economy. For those living in northern Pittsburgh, you can't really beat this for a home course!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well kept and close

5+    11/14/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: HarkeyPuck
Played: 86  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2015
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well designed and well maintained par 61 course, that has a good flow and variety of holes. Will test your shot making skills with open bombs, R to L, L to R, uphill & downhill shots. Course gets a lot of use so paths between holes are well defined.

Concrete white tees are the most used. Newley installed concrete Blue tees are big & grippy. They make playing the difficult blue layout much more inviting.

3 pin placements per hole for the new Prodigy DGT1s.

Lots of work has been done in the months leading up to the 2015 PDGA World Championships and the course is that much better for it. Holes 13 & 14 have been lengthened to make them par 4s. New signage is great. This course has been a part of the annual PFDO for many years and it still shows why.
Cons: Can get very crowded with lots of 2-3 disc frolfers.

Will get very wet/muddy in the spring.

Red tees just grass/board in the ground. Almost non existent.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best "par 3" in Pittsburgh. You can get whatever you want out of this course. The red tees offer beginner friendly looks at the baskets, especially in A pins. Whites offer lots of fun while still challenging golfers of all ages. The Knob Hill Blues tees might be the toughest Blue tees in the Pittsburgh area. Now that they are concrete they should get played a lot more. The Park is very pet friendly as many take their dogs golfing with them. Bathrooms by the practice basket & 18 blue tee.

C pins can be VERY challenging especially when combined with the blue tees!

If you're looking for a fun, challenging round, take the time to play 18 at this great course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great All Around Course

5+    8/7/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, Knob Hill is one of the few disc golf courses that could be considered mainstream. Holes are designed to be accessible to a variety of skill levels and also reward players with strong shots and strategy. Fairways are laid out very well, and construction from tee pads to signs is first rate.
Cons: Crowded. This course is the star of the immediate Pittsburgh area and attracts huge numbers of people, particularly on weekends. A lot of families can make play tedious for the speedier veterans.
Other Thoughts: Update: A lot of improvements have been made to this course in recent years, and they've vastly improved the quality of play. Added an extra .5 stars!

A great course all around, just difficult to play an entire round without having to wait a bit. Moraine's Lakeview course is further from Pittsburgh (another 20 minutes up Route 19), but is a superior course with far less crowding.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 up and down we go

2-4    8/10/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: hotdam
Played: 55  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A great course it asks alot of you ...you need to be on top of you game the wind and the hills well make you smile or cry but it's a fair course in all words
Cons: well cons none on buy me
Other Thoughts: it's a great park just to walk around in ..Me and my wife walked around the park for about 5 hours it's just a great park

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pittsburgh's Original Favorite

1    5/11/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many devoted and friendly players here. Multiple tees and alternating basket locations. Perfect combination of field holes, moderate woods and tight woods. Elevation is evident but is never too much or too little. Concrete tee on each hole. It's an old course but is aging nicely due to the designs emphasis on elevation and trees to temper disc technology. I particularly enjoyed the uphill climb of hole 5? (Picture seems wrong on this site) The rollercoaster drive down hole 9. (funny the best hole on course is not on the photos here). Not many bad holes here and there really is a good variety to shot and disc selection here. Fairways are well groomed and undulating terrain comes into play on many of the holes which is fun. Alternate tee position for hole 16 looked pretty wild I wish I played that one.
Cons: It's not as World Class as I expected based on this site. I was prepared for something amazing. I was mildly disappointed. I think there is a great Pittsburgh Scene and many there must cling to this course and hence it gets a lot of points based on reputation which was probably established years ago. Still a quality course and if you have time while playing Deer Lakes and Morraine, please play here. But don't dare skip Morraine or Deer Lakes to play here. Holes 1 and 2 are shorties that faceoff at one another. Hole 16 and 18 criss cross one another's fairways. Hole 15 is a technical hole, but c'mon I mean really is it more luck or skill to get a deuce? Often the long tees seemed to just stretch the drives without really adding anything to the shot. Kind of like just requiring a midrange placement shot off the tee because a drive from these tees would be too reckless? Maybe I'm just not that good. fairways are nice but shule off to the sides of these are often quite thick and unforgiving. I don't mind trees but bushes, thorns, and overgrowth make for a frustarting afternoon.(OK I lost my Star Valk on Hole 9 I'm negatively biased) A bit muddy/soggy in places but that occurs on all wooded and hilly courses.
Other Thoughts: I really felt like I trashed this course. It's a fine course indeed. I was just expecting so much more based on all of the 4 ratings and above I saw on this site. Knob Hill has a bit of everything and you won't get bored at all here. You just won't remember it as an amazing course because chances are if your in the region you will have played Morraine and Deer Lakes which blow this place away. If I lived near Knob Hill I would love to play it on a regular basis. It's just not a destination course and I don't feel the attraction to return here like I do with World Class courses. Hole 1 is beyond the rear of the lot and a walk way up the gravel path. Ask a local it can be tricky to find.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


1    4/26/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Easy to walk. Hills are just right. Good hole locations. Right amount of trees and open fairways. Rewards good shots. Family friendly even pets.
Cons: A little wet. "It's spring"
Other Thoughts: Easy to get to. Alot of ameneties.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.