Wexford, PA 
Knob Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timbur3   (Taken 4/2013)
Park Sign

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Great Spot!

5+    7/17/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: Glenn
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A great layout. Very scenic. Challenging hills. Open, but a couple of tight holes. Great views. Good condition. Clean. Nice people.
Cons: Tees can have puddles. Rough can get real high, making it very hard to find discs. Not a huge diversity of holes.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I've played it many times. I love it. It's a shorter course with many birdies to be had.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Strong with the Best

1    4/30/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set mostly in wooded areas of a nice, town park.
- Nice entrance - after passing playgrounds, pavillions and large parking lot, you see a sign for the course pointing you along, you pass a couple baskets/holes and there is a small parking lot at the end of the road with bulletin board, restroom and practice basket
- Playgrounds, baseball fields and pavillions show that it's a multi-use park, so other activities around for non-golfers and/or kids
- Of the 5 course I played in the area, this one was closest to "civilization", so you're not far from gas, food/drink, etc.
- Large grassy areas appear to be mowed and maintained, while the wooded areas have pretty defined fairways and pathways in between holes
- Parking also availble down below basket location for #7 if main parking is really crowded
- Apart from holes 16-18, you seem to be off on your own in otherwise unused areas of the park, so not a high chance for interference
- 3 tees on each hole (flypad for longs/blues, concrete in good shape for mids/whites and natural for shorts/reds)
- 3 basket positions on each hole, some with significant variance between positions, giving completely different hole experiences
- Nice Mach 3 baskets in good shape
- Detailed, colorful tee sign at each white tee (probably the most commonly used tees, if I had to guess) showing par, nice hole map, location of all 3 tees and pin positions, flight paths, nut/bolt system to designate current pin position, next tee arrow and distances from each tee to each basket
- Post at each blue tee (and maybe some red tees?) with a sign indicating hole number and lengths only, I think
- Course flows very nicely and there aren't really any long walks between holes (a little bit of a walk from parking to tee #1, but not too bad)
- Nice hole setting variety - some holes are open (#7, #8, #18), some are heavily wooded (#2, #3, #4), many are a mix with room to drive, but enough trees to keep you honest
- Hole designs present you with a lot of shots - uphill on #4, #8, #16; downhill on #6, #9, #17; left on #10, #16; right on #2, #5
- While this course didn't really have the "wow factor" holes of other top-notch course, there were plenty of just really solid golf holes - I really enjoyed hole #6 - downhill hole where you have to avoid some trees close to the tee, then it opens up where your disc needs to settle near the pin perched on the edge of a fallaway/little cliff - real nice hole to let a mid-range/fairway driver float out and turn from left to right all the way - hole #13 was also pretty cool, with 2 fairways separated by a clump of trees in the middle - take the right and it's a more direct path to the basket or take the left and it's open for a while longer (not the whole way), but you have to get your disc to turn voer left to right to get in close - you're greeted with the basket down in a little shallow gully with stone pavers acting as steps to get you down there
Cons: - Hole #16 always crosses over the main entrance road, as well as the white tee crossing hole #18 (depending on pin position, I think) - definitely not a good design considering the crowds that this course apparently gets
- Pretty muddy in some spots in the woods, but it had rained a few days before I played
- By having the main tee signs at all white tees, along with varying teeing surfaces, it's pretty obvious which tee you're on, but it would be nice to have the full tee signs on the other tees as well
- Red tees are natural and although I wasn't playing them, I did try to look for them as I was walking and couldn't find some of them
- While the nut/bolt for pin location on the tee sign is a great feature, a few of the indications were not accurate and a couple holes were missing the bolt altogether
- Even though it's very short and meant to be this way, hole #16 is a bit too plinko-like for my taste
- I don't think there was a course map on the bulletin board - I like having the map there in case you don't have a printed one or you don't have a smartphone to pull it up online, you can take a picture, sketch your own quickly or at least get an overall look (I didn't have great service, but already had the map pulled up on my phone)
Other Thoughts: - You're not anywhere near the parking lot after 9 holes (a feature I like), but the course layout is such that you could skip a handful of holes (6-10, for example) without any extra walking, in order to cut your round shorter down to 10 or so holes if you're in a rush
- Trash cans and benches near a handful of holes, but a small amount of trash was out on the course anyway
- I generally like the bands on the Innova baskets due to visibility - on the open and slightly wooded holes, these baskets were very easy to pick out, but obviously tougher on the heavily wooded holes
- No next tee signs that I remember, but as mentioned above, it flows pretty nicely and the map is very accurater and helpful (almost played #11 before #9 and #10)

This course was a great addition to my Pittsburgh trip. For what appears to be an "old-school" course, it certainly didn't feel that way (especially after playing Schenley). It must have been truly incredible back in the day and even now stands up to the best of the best that have more recent/modern designs. I love the variety and hope to get back to play it again. Thanks to those who designed, installed and maintain this great course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Average at Best

5+    5/1/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: Yeti08
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is close to Pittsburgh and attracts a lot of players. It has some good holes, with various challenges. Baskets near steep declines present a particular challenge.... The tees are nice (concrete / rubber). The course is well marked (yet last time I played the screws on the signs were not updated). Also despite being in a community park there aren't many people walking through the course.
Cons: As mentioned in the pros the pins next to steep declines....yeah we get it, 1 or 2 would be cool. The drainage on the course is awful. After even a light rain half of the holes contain a spongy swampy muddy mess.
Other Thoughts: This course always leaves me wanting more and wishing I had gone somewhere else. It's decent, but needs some work. That being said, it's ok and close.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Yet Another Solid Pittsburgh Course

1    10/14/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is nicely marked out and has three good solid tees and three pin positions on each hole, with a variety of options and lines required.

Though every hole is a par three, the course offers a variety of shots. If you're capable, you'll throw forehands, rollers, hyzers, anhyzers, and whatever else you've got.

The baskets are clearly marked with bright orange tape around the pole. I wish more courses had such easy-to-see baskets.

The layout was fairly obvious, but the maps printed on the back of the free paper scorecards at the entrance still came in handy once or twice.

The baskets are in great shape, and the tee signs are all you could ask for - clear and easy to understand. The cement teepads on the white tees were nice.

The fairways are clear of obstructions and debris. Every few holes there were wastebasket AND recycling baskets, which meant there was little to no trash on the course itself.

The course makes good use of the available land, often putting baskets on severe slopes or protecting the basket locations with trees, but rarely both or neither. It's a solid design.

We played mid-day on a Sunday and the course was not crowded. We let a few players through and they were courteous and nice. The holes are just about the perfect distance apart so you feel separated enough from any other groups but groups won't sneak up on you, either.
Cons: These are nit-picks so even though there are a few of them, each individual one has very little weight.

- I read in other reviews that there are "Pindicators" on the tees, but I didn't see any, and on a few holes we weren't entirely sure which way the hole went. Not a big deal - we would walk ahead or sideways until we saw the bright orange tape. (Update: I may have misunderstood what the Pindicators are. Apparently they're like Q codes on the tees. So never mind this one. :D)

- Red tees are natural tees. I bet eventually they'll change that. We couldn't find the red tees on #9. There was no post.

- Could use a little more variety in hole length. Some holes could have been nifty par fours if some lines or length were different.

- The course does not drain particularly well. This is particularly true around #9.

That's it for the cons! And like I said they're pretty small.
Other Thoughts: I played with my brother-in-law, wife, and daughter. We played the white tees while they played the red.

Just outside the parking area to the park there's a nice wooden playground for kids.

Of the three main Pittsburgh area courses, Moraine and Deer Lakes reign supreme. Knob Hill is nice, but doesn't match up to those two. Still a very, very good course. Just not in the upper echelon.

I recommend eating at Monte Cello's in Cranberry after playing. :)

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/29/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: wolfsblood
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.8 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challanging...with elevation changes and blind holes.Fair length with acceptable tee pads.Multiple pin locations.Nice workout with the hills. Descent mix of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Muddy.....very muddy in spring and after rain. Could use better "next tee" signs.Some holes have mud 1 foot thick in places. The complaint i have with the blind holes is with the different pin locations..youll have to look to see in u need a hook or turnover drive.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/18/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 92  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is probably my favorite course. There is a good variety of long holes to short holes. There are also a good mix of wooded holes compared to wide open ones that you can just rip it. All 18 holes have poured concrete teepads for the white tees.
Cons: Not many cons. The biggest problem might be signs. If you are new to the course, it can be a bit tricky on a few of the holes to get to the next one. Overall it is pretty straightforward to get from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely tell anyone to play this course if they have a chance to. It can be a pretty quick round, especially if you want to sneak in a round on a weeknight after work before it gets dark.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    7/16/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 81  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Has great signs to tell you where the holes are. Has a nice mix of long and shorter holed. The shorter holes are not too easy either. Move the pins around a bunch to change up the course.
Cons: On some holes it is easy to lose your disc if you throw it in the woods, especially on hole #11. Other than some blind throws there are not many other cons.
Other Thoughts: Used to get super wet after rain but since they installed drains it has improved a lot. It is easy to get a decently quick hour hour and a half round in any night. It is a great 18 that will test every part of your game.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun and beautiful course

1    6/23/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is very close to Moraine and deer lake. It is just as the ratings suggest a great course but not quite as good as moraine or deer lakes. The course is not as tiring as the other two either. The shots are a bit more open here and make for more friendly play and more forgiving shots. There are also quite a few birdie shots on this course and ace run holes.
Cons: There are three possible pin placements and you cant tell which one to throw to unless you see the basket or walk the hole.
Other Thoughts: We played a mix of the whites and the blue tees.

The best camping ground we found after 3 hours of driving was Breakneck campground right next to moraine on cheeseman road. It was $8/ night per person with tent. My moraine review gives greater detail on where the campground is.

I wouldn't say any of the three top courses in the area are beginner courses but Knob Hill would be the most beginner friendly in my opinion.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Knob Mountain

1    7/6/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 baskets with multiple pin placements and 3 sets of tees for each hole with natural, concrete, flypad in order of short to long. Decent tee signs on the short tees. Excellent use of the rolling and extreme elevation and terrain. Good variety of woods and open space and calls on some good shot making. Can play fairly easy in the short pins and fairly hard in the long pins. Course is well maintained on fairways and rough is not too bad. Restrooms in parking lot.
Cons: Lacks tee signage for long tees and next tee, and current pin placement. A few fairways play a bit close together. Crossing fairways on 16 and 18. Some blind landings. It did take awhile to find the tee for hole 1. Missed hole 10 and went to 12(go back uphill to tee 10).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed Knob Hill more than I thought I would. It's hard for me to realize this is an older course because it can play quite long. It was hot as hell(100+) when I played and basically nobody else on the course, so that may have helped the experience. I'd imagine it can get crowded and the close fairways could be an issue. I wasn't quite expecting extreme elevation like that with the hill part in the name, should be mountain, and it was brutal in the heat. Hole 9 was a blast throwing a huge downhill ski slope type shot with woods on both side and overhanging canopy. One of my favorite holes all time. Then hole 10 you play straight back up which is a killer. A lot of great holes and variety here.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Highly Recommended if you're in the area

1    5/26/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 193  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Three sets of tees (red =natural w/toe boards, white = concrete, blue = flypad) not only change distance, but some of the blues have tough routes to hit. Course can play differently depending on your choice of tee.
Three pin locations: can impact your game more than which tee you drive from. When I played (from white tees), the pins were in the 'C' config, which were usually the longest and definitely the trickiest, least accessible of the three. IMHO the 'C' pins were a bit LHBH/RHFH friendly. 'B' locations were usually more accessible from all pads and occasionally a bit longer than 'C' depending on the tee. The 'A' pins were unquestionably the shortest and friendliest layout. As a result of these drastically different placements, Knob Hill may offer the greatest variety from round to round of all the courses I played in this area. Factor in the three tees and the result is a course that kind of allow you to custom tune your round (if the pins are in the positions you desire), and you just gotta love a course that offers 9 different ways to play it.
Challenge is HIGHLY variable. Blue to 'C' would be a true championship caliber layout. Red to 'A' would be great for beginners or even an Ace Race.
Mostly wooded with enough open holes to provide a nice balance. Solid design with a pretty good mix of fairway shapes that's largely dependent on pin location. A few fairways really limit you to one or to specific lines, but most holes present a few possible lines from the tee, but pin location and personal preference will pretty much dictate the shot thrown. Rough is nasty enough to make you pay for bad shots, and can really hurt your score or steal a disc.
Course is set on very hilly terrain and elevation is well utilized on both fairways as well as putting greens. There are a few holes where the risk of rollaways.
Nice tee markers. Concrete pads were brushed and spacious. Baskets and were good shape and a non-issue. Scorecard/maps available at near the 1st tee area. I wasn't paying close attention, but I do recall a few benches and trash cans during my round.
Except for a bit of a back-track from basket 1 to tee 2, navigation seemed alright and flow is quite good for the most part. The scorecard/map should clear things up should you run into trouble.
Park seemed clean and well-maintained. Has a nice playground for the kiddies, a couple of pavilions and a restroom (didn't use it, no clue as to condition/cleanliness).
Close to plenty of restaurants and gas/convenience stores if you want to grab a bite or drink before/after a round
Cons: Didn't find much to list here (that happens when they get things right):
Three possible pin placements means you'll have to walk some fairways to see what's in play. A small price to small price to pay unless you're healing up a foot/leg injury.
16 plays across a road. Didn't seem like a major issue, but probably depends on traffic volume.
A few holes are crammed pretty tightly together. Shouts of "FORE!" have to be common on busy days.
Other Thoughts: As a result of some TLC from the local DG community and good maintenance from the city Parks & Rec, this well established course has aged quite gracefully, and remains a gem to play after close to 20 years. Not sure if they ever present a mix of A, B, and C baskets at the same time, but that could really make things interesting.

I highly recommend the trilogy of Moraine (1st), Deer Lakes (2nd) and Knob Hill (3rd) to anyone looking for a great weekend of discing. Coming in behind those two shouldn't reflect poorly on Knob Hill. Really enjoyed this place and after playing 18 here, I can honestly say it's an excellent course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.