Rocky Mount, NC 
Englewood Park Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #2
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    9/13/2015   9/18/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 265  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine plays through a small parcel of woods. It's not spectacular golf and some holes don't have true golf lines but beginners should enjoy attempting to thread discs between the trees. A creek runs through the plot and comes into play on several of the holes. There isn't much space but they certainly made it work to get nine distinct holes into the area. Easy play, easy navigation, quick round. Near the highway.
On the back nine, two holes are fairly interesting One plays with tee backed up to an outfield fence and into a section of woods. The following hole plays out of the same woods, with a decent gut shot required to clear the woods and get into open space.
Cons: The back nine is pretty much along athletic fields, around the playground or parallel to a real street. Open holes without much in the way of real obstacles. With the exception of the two holes mentioned above, the back nine is basically a pass.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A tale of 2 nines

1    6/7/2015   6/27/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 53  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: Good concrete tee pads and signs on every hole. Set in a small park and a quick play. Does require a variety of shots, from tight tunnel shots on the front nine, to mostly open air it out holes on the back nine.

Unbelievable how they got nine holes in the small wooded section of the park. There is a crushed gravel path winding through this part, but doesn't appear to get a lot of use. (One fairway even runs down this path.)

After a couple of semi-wooded holes on the back nine, it does open up and uses limited obstacles (tennis fence, creek, parking lot) to force shot shaping. This worked out OK on the Sunday I played it, but would definitely be a Con if this park was busy.
Cons: With no online map, a little tough to find the first tee. (Across the B-ball court from the parking, you first come to #10, then keep going for #1.)

The wooded nine was kind shabby, trash laying around, weeds overgrown, this part is not kept up very well.

Most of the back nine were around other activities, #11 runs along a ball field, #13 runs the length of a soccer field, #15 plays around the tennis courts, #16 brings another parking lot into play, and #18 (while a cool hole, downhill with a left to right bend across a green guarding creek) plays right across the main sidewalk to the large picnic shelter in the park. If there is a big group there, you probably have to skip this hole.
Other Thoughts: Since this park only has Port-a-Potties, I'm guessing it doesn't get a lot of use. The short holes on the front nine can be played quickly and the open holes on the back nine don't present a lot of obstacles. It looks like this was the first course in Rocky Mount and that makes sense, a good course to get started on. But the others over more length and are more fun to play.

 Change of Pace

5+    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Roc'n that Wolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads.
-good quality baskets.
-almost every hole has tee signs.
-pretty clean course.
-great lunch-break course.
Cons: -holes 15-18 will most likely be full of people for barbecues, family gatherings, etc. on good weather weekends.
-four maybe 5 trashcans total on the course.
Other Thoughts: I would have rated this higher, but a course where the front nine is as short and as quick as this one is just doesn't, to me, deserve that high of a rating.
This course is great for the city of Rocky Mount which has three other 18-hole courses and a 9-hole course as well.
It is located conveniently between the Farmington course and the Sunset Park course.
Those two courses are for more seasoned players, while this is a pitch-n-putt until the back nine.
The back nine is for the big arms. Nothing too long but it is a great change from the tight, wooded front nine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Englewood then open

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a tale of two cities and both stories aren't that great.

The first 9 is all in a sparse piney type forest with no real defined fairway or rough. All the holes are in the 200' or below range.

Most are straighter shots with a semi tight gap. It mixes it up decently with a few fairways that move left or right.

The back 9 is more open and where there are trees you're throwing around them or in to them mostly. A majority of these holes offer no real challenge other than distance or some OB spots.

There's a creek in play on the front 9, no real disc loss potential. Where there are interesting basket locations it's usually due to OB which is the creek on the front and some fields/courts on the back.

It does offer a nice balance with the open and wooded factor. Course flows well and offers up a quick round.

Atmosphere - Looks to be a heavily used park by other park goers. There's basketball/baseball/tennis going on as well as common BBQ's from what I was told. Probably a good place to bring the family while getting a round in.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads, teesigns with map and distance where they still exist, some are gone.

Trashcans in parts of park and it's pretty clean so that's a plus.
Cons: Layout - The front 9 is boring and some of the holes are plinko. It all feels kinda the same with only a few holes standing out. There's not enough change in distance on the holes really.

The back 9 offers up more fun but less challenge. You can throw a big hyzer on half of the holes and a FH or thumber on the other half.

Some of the holes have you throwing pretty close to other areas of the park that get used. On one you throw over/right next to a fenced in tennis court.

No real elevation of consequence.

Nothing that really stands out which is one of the worst things you can say about a course.

Atmosphere - It's not a scenic place by any stretch. Looks to be pretty old and run down in parts. No real seculsion feeling anywhere.

The other park goers can pose a problem in areas as the back 9 weaves through parts that get heavily used.

Equipment - Some of the tee signs are gone and all of them are old and look outdated. The baskets are getting old and rusty.
Other Thoughts: As I said the front 9 is just boring, if I lived nearby I'd just play the back twice or go somewhere else since they have 2 better courses right down the road.

17 is a fun slightly downhill big bomb, signature hole for sure. 10 was probably my second favorite hole, it's a big anny.

I don't suggest this course unless you're just racking them up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 47  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - You start off in the woods struggling a little bit, than have the opportunity to open up and get your strokes back
- Park for the kids if they tag along with you
Cons: - TREES, but you can't do anything about that. It was also quite marshy I am not from Rocky Mount so not sure what the weather has been like, But it was really bad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dr. Engle and Mr. Wood..

1    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 59  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starting off I like to let everyone know what Im personally looking for in a course. I love the scenic aspect of disc golf (this includes boulders, lakes, wildlife, and plantlife- I do study horticulture). With that being stated, I rate a course based on a combination of the scenic factor and the overall course aspects (this includes layout, fairway lines, divesity of holes, and amenities)
Would be a quick play
Great access between two other decent courses
Has a totally different feel from the front to the back,
You go from super tight short holes on the front to holes of average length with a little more room to air it out on the back which is nice but..
Cons: There is absolutly no scenic factor here at all, as on every part of the course houses or a busy road can be seen or heard
Both 9s are very repetive.. You are faced with the same un-inspirng un"fairway" on the front
Whenever you step up to two holes back to back that a forehand roller thru a 5' gap is the shot, something needs to be changed (there was a RHBH line according to the small sign, but it was dominated by ghost trees.. Threw the forehand roller and banged a 15' for birdie haha, thats terrible!)
Teepads are kind of short, but there is no real long distance holes that require a huge run-up
Other Thoughts: On a one-day disc golf outing from Raleigh my group got in three of the rocky mount courses. Started off at Sunset and it was a really good open course, then played Farmington (hands down the best one in the area) and finsihed up at Englewood, possibly the worst in my opinion.
Nonetheless it was right in between the other two and was worth the hour it took to play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wacth out for that tree!!!

5+    12/21/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, easily navigated, well-marked signage. Great place to hone your technical skills. Easy to locate the course, and plays very quickly for that lunch round crowd! Not an easy place to lose a disc.
Cons: Warmer months bring other users to the picnic areas, which can cause loss of play on holes 17 and 18, possible even 15. Hole 11's tee sign is gone, and I would love to see that replaced. LOTS OF TREES on front 9.
Other Thoughts: Though it is a great course for beginners, I would advise that they avoid it until they have some grasp of throwing techniques such as the thumber and tom-a-hawk, and a flicker. I played this course my first week in disc golf, and shot a +22... VERY discouraging. I returned 2 months later and shot +10, and with-in another month of that, I shot a -1.

It's a great course if you are looking to throw a round during your hour lunch break. I play with a friend and we finish a round in about 30-35 minutes.

For the most part, it is always very peaceful here when I have played. No one has bothered us, with the exception of a young boy who was walking the fitness trails on the front 9, and he kept picking up my buddies discs! *lol* He meant well...

I have known of 1 disc to get lost here during the summer and warmer months when the under growth is high, but that is cut down as the weather cools off.

The back 9 can get really windy in the winter.

Picnicers or pick-up soccer games can cause a loss of play for a few holes, but only been half issue for me on one occasion. I had to wait for an inflatable bounce house to be taken down in order to play 17 and 18 in the summer.

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This course is literally less than 5 minutes from 2 other courses, and only about 10 minute drive from a 3rd!! Rocky Mount NC has 4 nice course are huddled rather close together making it possible to play all 4 courses in a day during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/20/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: first course i ever played and i love it! i live in rocky mount so i play all the time. really nice wooded front 9. nice open back 9. pretty easy and fast course. favorite hole is 15.
Cons: could use some more concrete tees. weekends during summer and spring can be hard to play on 13-18 bc of family events bbqs and such. woods could be trimed up some. water can be annoying right after a good rain. watch out for crazy homeless guy around hole 7 he talks to his bike and can be very annoying but also funny!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ajbower2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Good for a quick game. Very good combination of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Hole 3 has essentially no fairway. My car got its window knocked out in the parking lot so Its sometimes better to park in the tennis court parking lot where your car is more likely to be near people.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Wooded holes are pretty easy and the open holes aren't too long. The designer of this course did a great job with using the little bit of land he had.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Everything you could want in a Pitch & Putt

5+    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: sonny
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 31.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. Concrete pads. Perfect for introducing newbies to disc golf. Very low potential for lost discs. On hot summer days, most of this course plays in the shade (all of the front nine).
Cons: On occasion, other park users conflict with the disc course. The course holds water if there's been a lot of rain. No benches (but it's a short course).
Other Thoughts: I've rated this course high because it does what it's been designed for so well -- this is an excellent short, neighborhood course. Very beginner friendly and a great place to work on your game. Only two holes over 300 feet (and they are wide open), with the rest around 200 feet. Experienced players can score well with just a putter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.