Rocky Mount, NC 
Englewood Park Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #13
3 / 361ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wacth out for that tree!!!

5+    12/21/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, easily navigated, well-marked signage. Great place to hone your technical skills. Easy to locate the course, and plays very quickly for that lunch round crowd! Not an easy place to lose a disc.
Cons: Warmer months bring other users to the picnic areas, which can cause loss of play on holes 17 and 18, possible even 15. Hole 11's tee sign is gone, and I would love to see that replaced. LOTS OF TREES on front 9.
Other Thoughts: Though it is a great course for beginners, I would advise that they avoid it until they have some grasp of throwing techniques such as the thumber and tom-a-hawk, and a flicker. I played this course my first week in disc golf, and shot a +22... VERY discouraging. I returned 2 months later and shot +10, and with-in another month of that, I shot a -1.

It's a great course if you are looking to throw a round during your hour lunch break. I play with a friend and we finish a round in about 30-35 minutes.

For the most part, it is always very peaceful here when I have played. No one has bothered us, with the exception of a young boy who was walking the fitness trails on the front 9, and he kept picking up my buddies discs! *lol* He meant well...

I have known of 1 disc to get lost here during the summer and warmer months when the under growth is high, but that is cut down as the weather cools off.

The back 9 can get really windy in the winter.

Picnicers or pick-up soccer games can cause a loss of play for a few holes, but only been half issue for me on one occasion. I had to wait for an inflatable bounce house to be taken down in order to play 17 and 18 in the summer.

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This course is literally less than 5 minutes from 2 other courses, and only about 10 minute drive from a 3rd!! Rocky Mount NC has 4 nice course are huddled rather close together making it possible to play all 4 courses in a day during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ajbower2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Good for a quick game. Very good combination of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Hole 3 has no fairway. Just accept the fact you will destroy your disc on a tree and just aim for the closest tree...There is no hope.
Other Thoughts: Be wary of sketch people at the park. My car window got broken out while I was playing here. Losing my wallet was not fun. Lock your car, and have a car alarm.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Everything you could want in a Pitch & Putt

5+    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: sonny
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. Concrete pads. Perfect for introducing newbies to disc golf. Very low potential for lost discs. On hot summer days, most of this course plays in the shade (all of the front nine).
Cons: On occasion, other park users conflict with the disc course. The course holds water if there's been a lot of rain. No benches (but it's a short course).
Other Thoughts: I've rated this course high because it does what it's been designed for so well -- this is an excellent short, neighborhood course. Very beginner friendly and a great place to work on your game. Only two holes over 300 feet (and they are wide open), with the rest around 200 feet. Experienced players can score well with just a putter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favorites

5+    4/10/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: FACTSHACK
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a good mix of short but creative wooded holes and long, open holes
-really nice trees for scenery
-usually not crowded, though people might be barbecuing or playnig basketball/tennis!
Cons: -only 3 holes over 300' and no holes over 400', so not too challenging lengthwise
-only one tee per hole (red/white level)
Other Thoughts: -can get muddy if it has rained recently because the first 10 holes are in a low area
-one of my favorite courses because even though many of the holes are short, they allow many different shot lines to be played

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Solid beginner course

5+    2/1/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: oldpirate
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They made good use of the area. The front 9 it tight but fair with plenty of variety in the shots. The back 9 allows you to stretch out you arm on a couple of holes.
Cons: There are a few holes that can get swampy after a hard rain. They usually keep the area fairly clear but there are times the front nine can get grown over.
Other Thoughts: It is what it is, a beginner course with a few technical holes to keep you on you toes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.