Rocky Mount, NC 
Englewood Park Share
Uploaded By: bgreen Hole #2
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Change of Pace

5+    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Roc'n that Wolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -concrete pads.
-good quality baskets.
-almost every hole has tee signs.
-pretty clean course.
-great lunch-break course.
Cons: -holes 15-18 will most likely be full of people for barbecues, family gatherings, etc. on good weather weekends.
-four maybe 5 trashcans total on the course.
Other Thoughts: I would have rated this higher, but a course where the front nine is as short and as quick as this one is just doesn't, to me, deserve that high of a rating.
This course is great for the city of Rocky Mount which has three other 18-hole courses and a 9-hole course as well.
It is located conveniently between the Farmington course and the Sunset Park course.
Those two courses are for more seasoned players, while this is a pitch-n-putt until the back nine.
The back nine is for the big arms. Nothing too long but it is a great change from the tight, wooded front nine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Englewood then open

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a tale of two cities and both stories aren't that great.

The first 9 is all in a sparse piney type forest with no real defined fairway or rough. All the holes are in the 200' or below range.

Most are straighter shots with a semi tight gap. It mixes it up decently with a few fairways that move left or right.

The back 9 is more open and where there are trees you're throwing around them or in to them mostly. A majority of these holes offer no real challenge other than distance or some OB spots.

There's a creek in play on the front 9, no real disc loss potential. Where there are interesting basket locations it's usually due to OB which is the creek on the front and some fields/courts on the back.

It does offer a nice balance with the open and wooded factor. Course flows well and offers up a quick round.

Atmosphere - Looks to be a heavily used park by other park goers. There's basketball/baseball/tennis going on as well as common BBQ's from what I was told. Probably a good place to bring the family while getting a round in.

Equipment - Nice concrete pads, teesigns with map and distance where they still exist, some are gone.

Trashcans in parts of park and it's pretty clean so that's a plus.
Cons: Layout - The front 9 is boring and some of the holes are plinko. It all feels kinda the same with only a few holes standing out. There's not enough change in distance on the holes really.

The back 9 offers up more fun but less challenge. You can throw a big hyzer on half of the holes and a FH or thumber on the other half.

Some of the holes have you throwing pretty close to other areas of the park that get used. On one you throw over/right next to a fenced in tennis court.

No real elevation of consequence.

Nothing that really stands out which is one of the worst things you can say about a course.

Atmosphere - It's not a scenic place by any stretch. Looks to be pretty old and run down in parts. No real seculsion feeling anywhere.

The other park goers can pose a problem in areas as the back 9 weaves through parts that get heavily used.

Equipment - Some of the tee signs are gone and all of them are old and look outdated. The baskets are getting old and rusty.
Other Thoughts: As I said the front 9 is just boring, if I lived nearby I'd just play the back twice or go somewhere else since they have 2 better courses right down the road.

17 is a fun slightly downhill big bomb, signature hole for sure. 10 was probably my second favorite hole, it's a big anny.

I don't suggest this course unless you're just racking them up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - You start off in the woods struggling a little bit, than have the opportunity to open up and get your strokes back
- Park for the kids if they tag along with you
Cons: - TREES, but you can't do anything about that. It was also quite marshy I am not from Rocky Mount so not sure what the weather has been like, But it was really bad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dr. Engle and Mr. Wood..

1    12/1/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Starting off I like to let everyone know what Im personally looking for in a course. I love the scenic aspect of disc golf (this includes boulders, lakes, wildlife, and plantlife- I do study horticulture). With that being stated, I rate a course based on a combination of the scenic factor and the overall course aspects (this includes layout, fairway lines, divesity of holes, and amenities)
Would be a quick play
Great access between two other decent courses
Has a totally different feel from the front to the back,
You go from super tight short holes on the front to holes of average length with a little more room to air it out on the back which is nice but..
Cons: There is absolutly no scenic factor here at all, as on every part of the course houses or a busy road can be seen or heard
Both 9s are very repetive.. You are faced with the same un-inspirng un"fairway" on the front
Whenever you step up to two holes back to back that a forehand roller thru a 5' gap is the shot, something needs to be changed (there was a RHBH line according to the small sign, but it was dominated by ghost trees.. Threw the forehand roller and banged a 15' for birdie haha, thats terrible!)
Teepads are kind of short, but there is no real long distance holes that require a huge run-up
Other Thoughts: On a one-day disc golf outing from Raleigh my group got in three of the rocky mount courses. Started off at Sunset and it was a really good open course, then played Farmington (hands down the best one in the area) and finsihed up at Englewood, possibly the worst in my opinion.
Nonetheless it was right in between the other two and was worth the hour it took to play

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wacth out for that tree!!!

5+    12/21/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, easily navigated, well-marked signage. Great place to hone your technical skills. Easy to locate the course, and plays very quickly for that lunch round crowd! Not an easy place to lose a disc.
Cons: Warmer months bring other users to the picnic areas, which can cause loss of play on holes 17 and 18, possible even 15. Hole 11's tee sign is gone, and I would love to see that replaced. LOTS OF TREES on front 9.
Other Thoughts: Though it is a great course for beginners, I would advise that they avoid it until they have some grasp of throwing techniques such as the thumber and tom-a-hawk, and a flicker. I played this course my first week in disc golf, and shot a +22... VERY discouraging. I returned 2 months later and shot +10, and with-in another month of that, I shot a -1.

It's a great course if you are looking to throw a round during your hour lunch break. I play with a friend and we finish a round in about 30-35 minutes.

For the most part, it is always very peaceful here when I have played. No one has bothered us, with the exception of a young boy who was walking the fitness trails on the front 9, and he kept picking up my buddies discs! *lol* He meant well...

I have known of 1 disc to get lost here during the summer and warmer months when the under growth is high, but that is cut down as the weather cools off.

The back 9 can get really windy in the winter.

Picnicers or pick-up soccer games can cause a loss of play for a few holes, but only been half issue for me on one occasion. I had to wait for an inflatable bounce house to be taken down in order to play 17 and 18 in the summer.

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! This course is literally less than 5 minutes from 2 other courses, and only about 10 minute drive from a 3rd!! Rocky Mount NC has 4 nice course are huddled rather close together making it possible to play all 4 courses in a day during the summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/20/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: first course i ever played and i love it! i live in rocky mount so i play all the time. really nice wooded front 9. nice open back 9. pretty easy and fast course. favorite hole is 15.
Cons: could use some more concrete tees. weekends during summer and spring can be hard to play on 13-18 bc of family events bbqs and such. woods could be trimed up some. water can be annoying right after a good rain. watch out for crazy homeless guy around hole 7 he talks to his bike and can be very annoying but also funny!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ajbower2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners. Good for a quick game. Very good combination of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Hole 3 has no fairway. Just accept the fact you will destroy your disc on a tree and just aim for the closest tree...There is no hope.
Other Thoughts: Be wary of sketch people at the park. My car window got broken out while I was playing here. Losing my wallet was not fun. Lock your car, and have a car alarm.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Everything you could want in a Pitch & Putt

5+    6/4/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: sonny
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy navigation. Concrete pads. Perfect for introducing newbies to disc golf. Very low potential for lost discs. On hot summer days, most of this course plays in the shade (all of the front nine).
Cons: On occasion, other park users conflict with the disc course. The course holds water if there's been a lot of rain. No benches (but it's a short course).
Other Thoughts: I've rated this course high because it does what it's been designed for so well -- this is an excellent short, neighborhood course. Very beginner friendly and a great place to work on your game. Only two holes over 300 feet (and they are wide open), with the rest around 200 feet. Experienced players can score well with just a putter.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of my favorites

5+    4/10/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: FACTSHACK
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a good mix of short but creative wooded holes and long, open holes
-really nice trees for scenery
-usually not crowded, though people might be barbecuing or playnig basketball/tennis!
Cons: -only 3 holes over 300' and no holes over 400', so not too challenging lengthwise
-only one tee per hole (red/white level)
Other Thoughts: -can get muddy if it has rained recently because the first 10 holes are in a low area
-one of my favorite courses because even though many of the holes are short, they allow many different shot lines to be played

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/27/2010   3/27/2010
Review By: SteveLancaster24
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plays well, with little effort finding boxes.

Couple holes where you can really test your drive power.

Mix of both trees and open fields make for great mixup for beginners
Cons: Few really technical holes. Retains water easily...in some areas it gets really messy.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.