Brunswick, ME
Enman Field - Beast Share
Uploaded By: Jonny_Dread Hole #9
4 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Beast in Brunswick

1    3/18/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: sunnysomers19
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the layout, flow and all the thought that was put into this course, The Beast. The course has a beautiful design and a challenging element to it with all of the trees intertwined in the layout. I liked the challenge it presented, especially with the sharp dog-leg routes. If you have a forehand shot, you won't struggle too much. I can tell the owners take pride in their courses (Beauty is on the other side). I showed up when the pro shop was closed but there were plenty of scorecards below the honor box and a map on the back of the scorecards. This was certainly handy since no one was around.

Hole 14, "The Beast", is 666 ft. down a narrow fairway. Fun, but some ridiculous trees could be cut down to make it tolerable. I understand why they call it The Beast and it gives the course originality and "special something" that every course should have. After that, the rest of the course is a real ego booster. A couple eagle opportunities on 16 and 17 for the experienced players.

I loved this course and all of the tunnel shots. It's a great place for any players to come and practice throwing in a straight line. If you've got the time, go out of your way and come check it out. I'm sure the owners would appreciate some new faces out on the course and some reviews or comments in return. The course will not disappoint you or waste your time. Bring some friends and grab a scorecard/map or catch up with some locals. In the way of discs to bring, bring ones that you won't mind banging on a few trees. I used a Rival fairway driver most of the time for the short, straight shots. I used a Tern a couple times for the holes that required more power. And also make sure you have a disc you can forehand with. It will come in handy more than you think.
Cons: This course could use some good maintenance. If you don't have a map, it is very easy to get lost or shoot to the wrong basket. Trash cans would be a good investment to clean up some of the bottles lying around. The course wasn't messy, it just could use some trashcans as a preventative measure.

The trees can really get on your nerves if you do not have control on your drives. I recommend a disc that you can hyzer flip and get to go straight. Otherwise, you will be hitting every tree out there. Although it makes for a good challenge, there are some trees that shouldn't be in the middle of the fairway. It sometimes makes the fairway seem like the rough.

I noticed a lot of the Maine courses have some high par scores. I'm used to everything being a Par 3 unless it's over 550 ft. in California, even if it does have trees surrounding me every which way. But getting an eagle on holes 16 and 17 shouldn't happen. Call me crazy, but I'd like it to be a more challenging par score. Earlier, another golfer said he'd be thoroughly impressed if I shot below +10. I thought I was in for a real challenge or rough time but ended up shooting -6 without too much trouble except for one OB on 11. But, just food for thought. Not really a con for the course.
Other Thoughts: Is this a course worth stopping at? Yes.
Can players get better every day by playing this course? Certainly.
Is it as bad as some people may make it sound? Not really, but it depends on how much experience you have.

Take the time and play it. It is worth the time and the drive. Play The Beauty for a warm up round if you have extra time. This is one of the better and challenging courses in Maine. Kudos to the owners for putting up two great courses next to each other.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what it used to be

1    6/10/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: Ringthembells
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
Pros: As everyone else states this is one, if not the, oldest course in mi-coast to southern Maine. Super well-designed, mostly wooded, and some really fun holes all over the both courses.
Cons: This used to be a pretty well-maintained course, but now there doesn't seem to be much being done. Usually high grass, lots of really soggy spots, and just not up to snuff compared to the competition. They seem to open about 10am these days, and if you get there before they open, there's an honor box, but rarely any score cards.
Other Thoughts: This used to be an absolute favorite and while it's still a really cool, well designed course, but not a lotta love these days.

 Holy....!

1    2/9/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was an absolute pleasure to play, even if we played the last 3 holes in pretty much complete darkness. The variety of dog-legs, straight shots, tree-hazards, and distances make this one of my favorite courses to date. This is a course that will test your ability to control your discs but not completely anger you!
Cons: The only negative here is the ability to find the correct basket to throw at. We had a hard time because some of the hole maps didn't show 2 baskets or were't too accurate to basket position. Also, this is a par 70.... But saying you shot -15 sounds good anyway!
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be back here to play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Labor of Love

1    8/17/1996   9/17/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 30.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like woods courses this one's your huckleberry. Once you enter the woods you stay there for 15 grueling, challenging and fun holes. This course is literally carved from some of the densest evergreen forest you'll ever see. Get your birdies early on holes 3,4 and 5 because you're going to have to work for them after that. Each hole you are presented with a tight, clearly defined fairway that you MUST stay in. Each will have either a dogleg or a few strategically placed trees in the middle to navigate. I played on a weekday with no one else around, it was truly serene and a little bit eerie in that beautiful forest. Once you leave the woods there's a short birdie opportunity followed by a couple long field holes situated on an old grass landing strip.
Cons: If you get off the fairway you pretty much have to pitch back out as the forest is so thick There are very few alternate lanes which makes it hard to get creative. Pay-to-play is not a con to me, The privacy afforded by this place goes well with the peaceful forest. Also when you think of all the work that went into this place you're paying mouse nuts relative to the labor costs. I imagine deadfall keeps Bob and family busy too.
Other Thoughts: I played here before the Beauty went in so I didn't have the pleasure. My favorite hole was #15, long, tight beauty that wends its way down the hill to the back of the course. I was thinking about this hole all the way back to Virginia. If you're in the area you really owe it to yourself to stop in, this is a unique experience, kind of an east coast version of Par Infinity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The course that gave me a love of disc golf

5+    9/4/2008   9/17/2009
Review By: ahaas
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Wide variety of shots needed. Friendly staff. It is a fun course to play. The course has uphill shots, dogleg (left and right), and many trees that love to knock discs down. Great variety of long and short holes. The signature hole "The beast" is over 600 feet, with a long narrow fairway that is lightly wooded, and then heavily wooded outside of the fairway.

Great community of people with respect to lost discs. I've lost a disc around 6 times. For all but one, someone had found my disc and returned it. Most of the fairways through the woods are wide enough so that beginning players will not feel too overwhelmed. This is more true of the companion course "The Beauty" than this one "The Beast". Though there are enough holes for the beginner to enjoy, this course is more geared towards the advancing intermediate player. For the skilled players there are holes with longer distances and frustrating features so that they can shine. Subjectively the overall technical difficulty is moderate.
Cons: There should be better signs directing you to the next hole, and also showing where the basket is with respect to the tee. Getting disoriented is real possibility.
Other Thoughts: "Beauty" and the "Beast" are two enjoyable courses. "Beauty" is a great course for introducing people to the game. It has all the features needed to addict. You just look forward to the next time you get to play it. The "Beast" is more challenging while maintaining the same sense of fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uncrowded and enjoyable ME course

1    5/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
Pros: This course has a nice tight and long layout that emphasizes accuracy but also allows a few open opportunities. This is one of the few places that has a majority of par 4's (many of the pars are generous -see cons). The owners have put much love into this place - it's a beautiful, peaceful layout that they've put a lot of sweat into. I hear a chainsaw every time I come here! The facilities (pro shop , teepads, trash cans with hole #'s, and course map) are great!
Cons: I give them props for having par 4's and 5's - it's what makes it golf. I found that a good portion of the pars were too generous (I never thought I would ask for harder pars). I would say that the par should be fair but earned and double for birdies. I felt for my 914 rating that many birds came too easily. This is however a minor complaint, but worth consideration.

The pro shop has potential but does not have much merchandise or enthusiasm from the people working there. You have a captive audience - so why not carry and sell some product? The person working there last time did not even play disc golf!
Other Thoughts: Another idea that would just take this course to the next level would be tee signs with yardages and hole layout. It's much easier than pulling out the scorecard.

 Enman Field - The Beast

5+    7/7/2006   1/14/2009
Review By: MaineCGgolfer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent course for anyone past beginners (beginners should use the Beauty Course co-located at Enman Field) The course is regularly groomed and often changed for those who play regularly. The course is open 365 days a year but its free on Christmas!
Cons: Can be crowded at times especially in summer afternoons. Spring time in Maine means unavoidable mud
Other Thoughts: Dogs are not allowed, plenty of parking is available, Pro shop on premise with Snack and drink machines available at the Pro shop and in the middle of both courses along with port-o-potties. Various creeks flow through both this course and The Beauty which presents the oppurtunity for lost discs but the creeks are pretty shallow so you should be able to get them out with a chance of drenching you lower half in the process, but its all part of the experience. Overall this is an amazing, well groomed course which anyone can love to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

2-4    6/1/2007   9/1/2008
Review By: buzzman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of two awesome courses at the same site.
Well marked, good tee boxes.
Good mix of trees and open shots.
Good for a beginner to learn on.
I just like playing here.
Cons: Can get crowded, but its ok.
Other Thoughts: One of the first really nice courses to Come to Maine which has really raised the bar for other courses which have followed.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home sweet home

5/15/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: Markgs22
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tremendous course. In terms of variety, it's one of the best I've ever played. There are open fields, wooded holes, narrow lanes, doglegs, giant rocks, ravines, streams, uphills, downhills, par 3s, par 5s, you name it. Especially if you include that the whole establishment features 36 holes? You can't go wrong. Although I do recommend Beast over Beauty, both are solid. Great for all skill levels, well worth the visit.
I grew up nearby, have played probably over 200 times. I didn't realize until I left and played other courses that I was spoiled, that most other courses are NOT as good.
Cons: Sometimes a bit crowded (because it's an awesome course).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 BEASTLY

4/29/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: NewEngland DiscGolf
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long exciting throws are everywhere. The drives are very important here.Technical course.Flat with an AWESOME hole called the BEAST check it out!
Cons: Not for beginners or kids under 10
Other Thoughts: No dogs allowed on premises

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.