Brunswick, ME 
Enman Field - Beast Share
Uploaded By: Jonny_Dread Hole #9
4 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Holy....!

1    2/9/2012   2/11/2012
Review By: sperry1288
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was an absolute pleasure to play, even if we played the last 3 holes in pretty much complete darkness. The variety of dog-legs, straight shots, tree-hazards, and distances make this one of my favorite courses to date. This is a course that will test your ability to control your discs but not completely anger you!
Cons: The only negative here is the ability to find the correct basket to throw at. We had a hard time because some of the hole maps didn't show 2 baskets or were't too accurate to basket position. Also, this is a par 70.... But saying you shot -15 sounds good anyway!
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be back here to play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Labor of Love

1    8/17/1996   9/17/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like woods courses this one's your huckleberry. Once you enter the woods you stay there for 15 grueling, challenging and fun holes. This course is literally carved from some of the densest evergreen forest you'll ever see. Get your birdies early on holes 3,4 and 5 because you're going to have to work for them after that. Each hole you are presented with a tight, clearly defined fairway that you MUST stay in. Each will have either a dogleg or a few strategically placed trees in the middle to navigate. I played on a weekday with no one else around, it was truly serene and a little bit eerie in that beautiful forest. Once you leave the woods there's a short birdie opportunity followed by a couple long field holes situated on an old grass landing strip.
Cons: If you get off the fairway you pretty much have to pitch back out as the forest is so thick There are very few alternate lanes which makes it hard to get creative. Pay-to-play is not a con to me, The privacy afforded by this place goes well with the peaceful forest. Also when you think of all the work that went into this place you're paying mouse nuts relative to the labor costs. I imagine deadfall keeps Bob and family busy too.
Other Thoughts: I played here before the Beauty went in so I didn't have the pleasure. My favorite hole was #15, long, tight beauty that wends its way down the hill to the back of the course. I was thinking about this hole all the way back to Virginia. If you're in the area you really owe it to yourself to stop in, this is a unique experience, kind of an east coast version of Par Infinity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uncrowded and enjoyable ME course

1    5/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.3 Years
Pros: This course has a nice tight and long layout that emphasizes accuracy but also allows a few open opportunities. This is one of the few places that has a majority of par 4's (many of the pars are generous -see cons). The owners have put much love into this place - it's a beautiful, peaceful layout that they've put a lot of sweat into. I hear a chainsaw every time I come here! The facilities (pro shop , teepads, trash cans with hole #'s, and course map) are great!
Cons: I give them props for having par 4's and 5's - it's what makes it golf. I found that a good portion of the pars were too generous (I never thought I would ask for harder pars). I would say that the par should be fair but earned and double for birdies. I felt for my 914 rating that many birds came too easily. This is however a minor complaint, but worth consideration.

The pro shop has potential but does not have much merchandise or enthusiasm from the people working there. You have a captive audience - so why not carry and sell some product? The person working there last time did not even play disc golf!
Other Thoughts: Another idea that would just take this course to the next level would be tee signs with yardages and hole layout. It's much easier than pulling out the scorecard.

 Home sweet home

5/15/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: Markgs22
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tremendous course. In terms of variety, it's one of the best I've ever played. There are open fields, wooded holes, narrow lanes, doglegs, giant rocks, ravines, streams, uphills, downhills, par 3s, par 5s, you name it. Especially if you include that the whole establishment features 36 holes? You can't go wrong. Although I do recommend Beast over Beauty, both are solid. Great for all skill levels, well worth the visit.
I grew up nearby, have played probably over 200 times. I didn't realize until I left and played other courses that I was spoiled, that most other courses are NOT as good.
Cons: Sometimes a bit crowded (because it's an awesome course).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center