Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #18
3 / 274ft.   3 / 274ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Local Place

5+    9/20/2012   11/9/2013
Review By: SDtoSB
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Quiet course with typically short waits (quick but fun round)
-Worth playing 2 rounds back-to-back
-Above average terrain and tree density variation
-Above average ground conditions (except the swamp hole)
-Fun for all skill levels (except the swamp hole)
Cons: -The swamp hole
-Finding the basket can be difficult if you've never played it
-Can be difficult to locate a disc at twilight
Other Thoughts: This was the course I learned on both when first starting out, and when I broke my right wrist and learned to throw left-handed. Was a fun course when shot -4 (after a year's experience) and still fun when I shot +27 (1st left handed round).

P.S. If you find my Starfire on the swamp hole, please call the number on the back!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Forehand Course

5+    4/29/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: rakemucker
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of short and longish (400ft) holes, in a public park, but the public is usually easy to avoid.
Cons: No signs, slow play by large groups, poison oak, difficult to navigate without a guide or map.
Other Thoughts: Great course for forehand drives. Hole # 8 is a bear.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Long tees are better

1    4/13/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park, though most of the holes have little conflict with other park users. There is a little bit of elevation, especially in the middle section of the course, and it's used pretty well to add some fun and variety. There's a decent mix of more open shots and holes where you have to hit a gap or place your shot well to have a good look at a protected pin location. Several holes have enough rough that you'll really pay for an errant shot, and they force you to choose between going for the pin or laying up and knowing you'll stay out of trouble.

The lengths are fairly short from the main set of tees, there is more variety from the longs the locals have marked. The short tees are concrete or pavers, and seemed to be in good shape. The baskets are in fine shape and catch well.
Cons: The course had a lot of right turning holes, I threw the same turnover shot a lot and I would have liked a little more variety. The longs offer a nice challenge, but are not well marked and add some extra crossing fairways and safety concerns. Even from the shorts there are several places where holes play over one another or throw blindly into other fairways.

The walking path is in play on several holes. It didn't seem to be heavily used, but there's still some potential for issues. There is no signage, and the flow of the course is not easy to follow. Without a guide I would have spent a lot of time figuring out where to go next. The grass was overgrown in many areas, making discs tough to spot even in the middle of some fairways. There is a lot of poison oak here, keep an eye out whenever you leave the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the lengths and challenge appropriate, though the overgrown fairways might be a little frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of variety or challenge from the short tees. The long tees are much more challenging, but still lack a little in variety and are not easy to find without a guide. If you're in the area, this course isn't a bad place to get in a round, especially if you can get a local to guide you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An OK City Course

1    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open & Wooded Holes
-DISCatchers
-Defined fairways
-Very few blind holes
Cons: -Thick, swampy brush with poison oak and spiders
-Multiple major fairway crossings
-Long walk from end of course
-No vertical signage (bring a map and you will be FINE)
-Concrete tees can be deceivingly slippery. Watch your step, even in dry weather.
Other Thoughts: Evergreen Open space plays through a city park that first plays through an open, grassy part of the park; then continues to an area that is partially wooded with thick brush and eucalyptus trees next to a swampy stream. The course ends with a section that is both grassy and woodsy.

The first five holes give the player an opportunity to warm up their throws as very little plays in the way of your throw. There is not any tee protection or fairway protection, and in nearly every case, very little pin protection. A good section of the course to hone in on your lines, as you will need them later.

As you are introduced to the wooded part of the course, a couple of birdie holes play through a secluded yet fairly open area below some homes. Beyond these is fairly difficult hole 8, which is an S curving fairway though some substantial coverage.

Holes 10 through 13 all play in a bowl shaped area of the park that is mostly grassy, but has a few trees scattered about. The bottom of the hill is home to the swampy creek, as well as some reeds, smaller trees, and intermittent poison oak. Discs accidentally thrown this direction are not always hard to find, but not necessarily easy to get to. These four holes fairways literally play right over each other. The pins and tee pads basically form a circle around the bowl.

Hole 13 is a fairly difficult shot over the creek into an area where holes 14, 16, and 17 play. While the fairways are not cris-crossing each other as in the previous bowl, they certainly play right on each other fairly tightly.

Hole 15 plays in a wooded area that was swampy at the time of our visit and we decided not to play it. A very narrow boardwalk is the only means of transportation through the swamp and any step off of it is a guaranteed wet foot and maybe leg. Hole 16 begins in the swamp but it is a very safe throw to return it to the grass.

Hole 18 plays down a road and ends near a bridge. Cross the bridge, follow the trail up the hill, walk down the street, make a left, and walk another 5 minutes or so and you will return to your vehicle.

The course plays well under par for any golfer that knows what they are doing, and can be a very competitive fun round for those just starting out. There were very few complaints from us as we played, and the environment seemed nice enough. We played in the morning and saw a few other groups but fortunately there were no backups and nobody was playing the other holes where they all cross each other. I don't know if this is the norm but I would imagine the back half of the course being a nightmare with any population on the course at once. This is a great course for the community of Goleta and provides all of the variety necessary for a memorable 18 holes; however the traveling golfer has very little reason to stop by considering the other road trip worthy courses in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Evergreen Open Space

2-4    11/18/2010   9/5/2011
Review By: Fishdisease
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in hole design, some wide open, some more challenging.
Not very busy at all, however both times I played I was able to throw with a local.
Cons: There are some places where it is easy to loose a disc.
Signage is a bit lacking and some holes cross each other.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, I played it immediately after playing Morley Field in San Diego and I still liked it. Don't let the first 4 holes fool you, it gets much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Unrealized Potential

2-4    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The primary thing I thought was very positive is the fact that there are variety of hole designs and the throwing techniques that you may want to employ. It certainly makes up for the weak spots.

Even though there were holes that are too close to each other, I particularly liked the back nine. They are more fun to play than the first few holes.
Cons: First of all, the navigation is, at times, tedious. The course wouldn't be able to be navigated by first-time players without consulting the printed map repeatedly.

Secondly, Some of the paths leading to the next tees are just awkward. There are quite few opportunities that you will have to wait for people to get out of the way or finish up the hole before you can even consider throwing.

Third, since this is the second time I have played here, I still find the hole #15, #16 to be creative, but I can imagine they will be unplayable when it's wet and soggy.

Fourth, the walk back to the car from the 18th tee is just a bit awkward. After a long round, especially when it's crowded, I don't think many of you would want to have to walk too much back to your cars.
Other Thoughts: I don't want to knock this course too much because it was still fun for me to play with my family. I consider this course to be decent because it definitely give you some fun, and potentially aces for the better players.

This course, for the more advanced players, will be fun for birdie/ace runs or just an excuse for an easy round.

If the holes #15 and #16 aren't going away soon, it would be awesome if they had some heavy, natural stones put in so it would be easier for people to walk on them rather than these planks.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little throw-around.

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some wide open shots, especially the front 4.
-Technical shots as you move into the wooded area.
-Tee boxes are part of the city space (i.e., some are the city sidewalks or bus stop pads).
Cons: -no maps at tees
-no numbers at tees (unless you count spray-printed numbers on tee boxes, which are hard to see)
-difficult navigation after hole #7 (print out the map!!!)
-no practice pins.
Other Thoughts: When I went, locals were using holes #1 and #2 as practice pins...over and over. Not that that really interfered with our play--though we did let them play through twice as our group was playing. Just speaks to the needs for a practice pin here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Super fun

1    2/12/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: Pottersmash
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of wide open shots to let it rip, short shots, fading blind shots, and wooded shots.
-With the map that you print out from this site it was easy to find everything and see what the throw was going to look like.
-Locals were really nice to let me play through
-weather was warm and sunny, we played around 2:30pm and wind wasn't bad at all.
-beginner friendly, yet challenging enough.
-my wife got her first par here!
Cons: -there definitely is a group of stoners that hang out between 7 and 8. I read that in someone else's review on here and just laughed when i saw it in person.
-the walk back is kinda long
-it got fairly busy, but we never waited longer than a few minutes at one hole. no biggie
-there's crossing fairways between 10-13, but its not that bad because everyone else knows that. so people are pretty cautious most of the time and take their turn at the right time. This was honestly my biggest concern coming to the course but it wasn't bad at all.
Other Thoughts: I can see how some really experienced disk golfers may see this course as not being SUPER challenging, but for me it was a gold mine! I have around 6 months of experience and I had such a blast. The mixture of somewhat challenging elements, yet not too bad to where it's frustrating was nice. I ended the day with +1 which is the best i've ever done playing a course for the first time. I'm definitely coming back to this course next time I come through SB.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/20/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of holes and hazards

- The park is clean

- Well used but not totally over crowded

- Other park users are present, but mostly out of the way

- Good DG vibe, locals more than happy to help lost visitors

This course offers a good mix of hazards that will affect your shot selection, especially towards the back. It has some thick wooded holes, some significant elevation holes and a bit of black murky creek meandering through the park.
Cons: Navigation is tricky, but I was warned right there on course info page to print out the map. Also it's usually crowded enough to join or follow another group.

Some of the tee boxes have seen better days, you can see where some have been replaced, but there are still some bumpy ones out there.

There are some serious safety issues on some crossing fairways 10-13, but apparently it's better than it was.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. It offers a lot of birdie opportunities for the average disc golfer, but it packs just enough hazard to get you in a lot of trouble when you don't expect it.

It isn't the caliber of Casitas or Waller, but it's a decent challenge and worth the stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first "pro", of course, is the locale. You're in the Santa Barbara area, which is absolutely loaded with great places to visit like the ocean, State Street, the mission, etc. Fantastic day-trip from anywhere in the LA basin - you can leave the family downtown and go hit this course while they spend your paycheck.

The course itself combines a good variety of holes, some downright malicious but mostly an enjoyable challenge. Lots of challenges, including significant elevation change, trees, and a creek slash swamp running through the whole thing that keeps life interesting.

You start with four more-or-less open holes before diving into the forest for some technical holes. Then it's back out into the open for a few long bombs, leading up to a series of blind annies, one of which skirts the edge of the swamp again. Then you're out in the open again for the finisher, which is a nice gentle hyzer shot that follows a dirt road.

Cons: Overall this is a good course, but it's got a few serious flaws that knock a full disc off the rating.

First, there's one place (holes 10-13) where four fairways cross each other in the same open field. This is flat out dangerous, especially when the course is crowded: you walk out there and discs come flying at you from all directions.

Speaking of which, there are NO directions anywhere. Without a map or a guide, you'll be lost in 60 seconds, especially on the back nine.

Then there's the overall layout. As mentioned in other reviews, #18 does not end anywhere near the first tee, which means that when you've finished your round you still have to hike a quarter mile to get back to your car.

Lastly, the tee pads are a tad short and some have extremely rough (eroded) surfaces, which make for uncertain footing on drives.

One more note: our guide (Zenbot) told us that during the rainy season the creek really does become a swamp and can make some of the back nine pretty much unplayable.
Other Thoughts: We played on a Sunday afternoon in summer, and the course was very crowded. Everybody moved along, but waits were common. Go during the week and you'll have a better experience than we did. Also be sure to print a map or connect with a local so you don't spend an extra hour trying to figure out the layout!

Overall, this is a good course if you're in the area but if you're traveling through, I'd recommend giving this one a pass in favor of Casitas, which by all indications is a true West Coast DG Mecca.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.