Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA 
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #11
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long tees are better

1    4/13/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 751  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a multi-use park, though most of the holes have little conflict with other park users. There is a little bit of elevation, especially in the middle section of the course, and it's used pretty well to add some fun and variety. There's a decent mix of more open shots and holes where you have to hit a gap or place your shot well to have a good look at a protected pin location. Several holes have enough rough that you'll really pay for an errant shot, and they force you to choose between going for the pin or laying up and knowing you'll stay out of trouble.

The lengths are fairly short from the main set of tees, there is more variety from the longs the locals have marked. The short tees are concrete or pavers, and seemed to be in good shape. The baskets are in fine shape and catch well.
Cons: The course had a lot of right turning holes, I threw the same turnover shot a lot and I would have liked a little more variety. The longs offer a nice challenge, but are not well marked and add some extra crossing fairways and safety concerns. Even from the shorts there are several places where holes play over one another or throw blindly into other fairways.

The walking path is in play on several holes. It didn't seem to be heavily used, but there's still some potential for issues. There is no signage, and the flow of the course is not easy to follow. Without a guide I would have spent a lot of time figuring out where to go next. The grass was overgrown in many areas, making discs tough to spot even in the middle of some fairways. There is a lot of poison oak here, keep an eye out whenever you leave the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the lengths and challenge appropriate, though the overgrown fairways might be a little frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of variety or challenge from the short tees. The long tees are much more challenging, but still lack a little in variety and are not easy to find without a guide. If you're in the area, this course isn't a bad place to get in a round, especially if you can get a local to guide you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An OK City Course

1    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Open & Wooded Holes
-DISCatchers
-Defined fairways
-Very few blind holes
Cons: -Thick, swampy brush with poison oak and spiders
-Multiple major fairway crossings
-Long walk from end of course
-No vertical signage (bring a map and you will be FINE)
-Concrete tees can be deceivingly slippery. Watch your step, even in dry weather.
Other Thoughts: Evergreen Open space plays through a city park that first plays through an open, grassy part of the park; then continues to an area that is partially wooded with thick brush and eucalyptus trees next to a swampy stream. The course ends with a section that is both grassy and woodsy.

The first five holes give the player an opportunity to warm up their throws as very little plays in the way of your throw. There is not any tee protection or fairway protection, and in nearly every case, very little pin protection. A good section of the course to hone in on your lines, as you will need them later.

As you are introduced to the wooded part of the course, a couple of birdie holes play through a secluded yet fairly open area below some homes. Beyond these is fairly difficult hole 8, which is an S curving fairway though some substantial coverage.

Holes 10 through 13 all play in a bowl shaped area of the park that is mostly grassy, but has a few trees scattered about. The bottom of the hill is home to the swampy creek, as well as some reeds, smaller trees, and intermittent poison oak. Discs accidentally thrown this direction are not always hard to find, but not necessarily easy to get to. These four holes fairways literally play right over each other. The pins and tee pads basically form a circle around the bowl.

Hole 13 is a fairly difficult shot over the creek into an area where holes 14, 16, and 17 play. While the fairways are not cris-crossing each other as in the previous bowl, they certainly play right on each other fairly tightly.

Hole 15 plays in a wooded area that was swampy at the time of our visit and we decided not to play it. A very narrow boardwalk is the only means of transportation through the swamp and any step off of it is a guaranteed wet foot and maybe leg. Hole 16 begins in the swamp but it is a very safe throw to return it to the grass.

Hole 18 plays down a road and ends near a bridge. Cross the bridge, follow the trail up the hill, walk down the street, make a left, and walk another 5 minutes or so and you will return to your vehicle.

The course plays well under par for any golfer that knows what they are doing, and can be a very competitive fun round for those just starting out. There were very few complaints from us as we played, and the environment seemed nice enough. We played in the morning and saw a few other groups but fortunately there were no backups and nobody was playing the other holes where they all cross each other. I don't know if this is the norm but I would imagine the back half of the course being a nightmare with any population on the course at once. This is a great course for the community of Goleta and provides all of the variety necessary for a memorable 18 holes; however the traveling golfer has very little reason to stop by considering the other road trip worthy courses in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unrealized Potential

2-4    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The primary thing I thought was very positive is the fact that there are variety of hole designs and the throwing techniques that you may want to employ. It certainly makes up for the weak spots.

Even though there were holes that are too close to each other, I particularly liked the back nine. They are more fun to play than the first few holes.
Cons: First of all, the navigation is, at times, tedious. The course wouldn't be able to be navigated by first-time players without consulting the printed map repeatedly.

Secondly, Some of the paths leading to the next tees are just awkward. There are quite few opportunities that you will have to wait for people to get out of the way or finish up the hole before you can even consider throwing.

Third, since this is the second time I have played here, I still find the hole #15, #16 to be creative, but I can imagine they will be unplayable when it's wet and soggy.

Fourth, the walk back to the car from the 18th tee is just a bit awkward. After a long round, especially when it's crowded, I don't think many of you would want to have to walk too much back to your cars.
Other Thoughts: I don't want to knock this course too much because it was still fun for me to play with my family. I consider this course to be decent because it definitely give you some fun, and potentially aces for the better players.

This course, for the more advanced players, will be fun for birdie/ace runs or just an excuse for an easy round.

If the holes #15 and #16 aren't going away soon, it would be awesome if they had some heavy, natural stones put in so it would be easier for people to walk on them rather than these planks.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kind Locals

1    5/1/1999   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting layout with some challenging shots. Nice mix of short and long and some incredible big trees in the middle.
Cons: Difficult to follow, with some blind shots. Not a particularly exciting course. It helped to have locals.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while attending a conference at UC Santa Barbara. That week is the reason I moved to California, so it has a sweet spot in my heart.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    7/2/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course that winds its way through a city park. There are a few challenging holes, especially when you get into the backside of the park. The locals are very nice, and there are some good players around to meet and watch.
My favorite holes were the ones going through the woods in the middle of the park...teeing off and navigating the disc around big old trees was a good deal of fun.
Cons: There is not a lot of topography at this course, many holes are open with few obstacles, and many feel a bit repetitive. There are a lot of holes that would easily qualify as par 2.

Some of the holes are impossible to find or figure out unless you ask the locals or follow a group ahead of you...this is somewhat easy to do, since the course is quite busy.
Other Thoughts: I was there when wildfires were burning their way downhill toward Goleta. I knew the city would be OK, but it was an awesome sight to see.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.