Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA 
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Unrealized Potential

2-4    7/27/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: austoroc
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The primary thing I thought was very positive is the fact that there are variety of hole designs and the throwing techniques that you may want to employ. It certainly makes up for the weak spots.

Even though there were holes that are too close to each other, I particularly liked the back nine. They are more fun to play than the first few holes.
Cons: First of all, the navigation is, at times, tedious. The course wouldn't be able to be navigated by first-time players without consulting the printed map repeatedly.

Secondly, Some of the paths leading to the next tees are just awkward. There are quite few opportunities that you will have to wait for people to get out of the way or finish up the hole before you can even consider throwing.

Third, since this is the second time I have played here, I still find the hole #15, #16 to be creative, but I can imagine they will be unplayable when it's wet and soggy.

Fourth, the walk back to the car from the 18th tee is just a bit awkward. After a long round, especially when it's crowded, I don't think many of you would want to have to walk too much back to your cars.
Other Thoughts: I don't want to knock this course too much because it was still fun for me to play with my family. I consider this course to be decent because it definitely give you some fun, and potentially aces for the better players.

This course, for the more advanced players, will be fun for birdie/ace runs or just an excuse for an easy round.

If the holes #15 and #16 aren't going away soon, it would be awesome if they had some heavy, natural stones put in so it would be easier for people to walk on them rather than these planks.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little throw-around.

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: rpcvlawson
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some wide open shots, especially the front 4.
-Technical shots as you move into the wooded area.
-Tee boxes are part of the city space (i.e., some are the city sidewalks or bus stop pads).
Cons: -no maps at tees
-no numbers at tees (unless you count spray-printed numbers on tee boxes, which are hard to see)
-difficult navigation after hole #7 (print out the map!!!)
-no practice pins.
Other Thoughts: When I went, locals were using holes #1 and #2 as practice pins...over and over. Not that that really interfered with our play--though we did let them play through twice as our group was playing. Just speaks to the needs for a practice pin here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Super fun

1    2/12/2011   2/13/2011
Review By: Pottersmash
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of wide open shots to let it rip, short shots, fading blind shots, and wooded shots.
-With the map that you print out from this site it was easy to find everything and see what the throw was going to look like.
-Locals were really nice to let me play through
-weather was warm and sunny, we played around 2:30pm and wind wasn't bad at all.
-beginner friendly, yet challenging enough.
-my wife got her first par here!
Cons: -there definitely is a group of stoners that hang out between 7 and 8. I read that in someone else's review on here and just laughed when i saw it in person.
-the walk back is kinda long
-it got fairly busy, but we never waited longer than a few minutes at one hole. no biggie
-there's crossing fairways between 10-13, but its not that bad because everyone else knows that. so people are pretty cautious most of the time and take their turn at the right time. This was honestly my biggest concern coming to the course but it wasn't bad at all.
Other Thoughts: I can see how some really experienced disk golfers may see this course as not being SUPER challenging, but for me it was a gold mine! I have around 6 months of experience and I had such a blast. The mixture of somewhat challenging elements, yet not too bad to where it's frustrating was nice. I ended the day with +1 which is the best i've ever done playing a course for the first time. I'm definitely coming back to this course next time I come through SB.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/20/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great variety of holes and hazards

- The park is clean

- Well used but not totally over crowded

- Other park users are present, but mostly out of the way

- Good DG vibe, locals more than happy to help lost visitors

This course offers a good mix of hazards that will affect your shot selection, especially towards the back. It has some thick wooded holes, some significant elevation holes and a bit of black murky creek meandering through the park.
Cons: Navigation is tricky, but I was warned right there on course info page to print out the map. Also it's usually crowded enough to join or follow another group.

Some of the tee boxes have seen better days, you can see where some have been replaced, but there are still some bumpy ones out there.

There are some serious safety issues on some crossing fairways 10-13, but apparently it's better than it was.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoyed this course. It offers a lot of birdie opportunities for the average disc golfer, but it packs just enough hazard to get you in a lot of trouble when you don't expect it.

It isn't the caliber of Casitas or Waller, but it's a decent challenge and worth the stop.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/22/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first "pro", of course, is the locale. You're in the Santa Barbara area, which is absolutely loaded with great places to visit like the ocean, State Street, the mission, etc. Fantastic day-trip from anywhere in the LA basin - you can leave the family downtown and go hit this course while they spend your paycheck.

The course itself combines a good variety of holes, some downright malicious but mostly an enjoyable challenge. Lots of challenges, including significant elevation change, trees, and a creek slash swamp running through the whole thing that keeps life interesting.

You start with four more-or-less open holes before diving into the forest for some technical holes. Then it's back out into the open for a few long bombs, leading up to a series of blind annies, one of which skirts the edge of the swamp again. Then you're out in the open again for the finisher, which is a nice gentle hyzer shot that follows a dirt road.

Cons: Overall this is a good course, but it's got a few serious flaws that knock a full disc off the rating.

First, there's one place (holes 10-13) where four fairways cross each other in the same open field. This is flat out dangerous, especially when the course is crowded: you walk out there and discs come flying at you from all directions.

Speaking of which, there are NO directions anywhere. Without a map or a guide, you'll be lost in 60 seconds, especially on the back nine.

Then there's the overall layout. As mentioned in other reviews, #18 does not end anywhere near the first tee, which means that when you've finished your round you still have to hike a quarter mile to get back to your car.

Lastly, the tee pads are a tad short and some have extremely rough (eroded) surfaces, which make for uncertain footing on drives.

One more note: our guide (Zenbot) told us that during the rainy season the creek really does become a swamp and can make some of the back nine pretty much unplayable.
Other Thoughts: We played on a Sunday afternoon in summer, and the course was very crowded. Everybody moved along, but waits were common. Go during the week and you'll have a better experience than we did. Also be sure to print a map or connect with a local so you don't spend an extra hour trying to figure out the layout!

Overall, this is a good course if you're in the area but if you're traveling through, I'd recommend giving this one a pass in favor of Casitas, which by all indications is a true West Coast DG Mecca.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

2-4    5/15/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 151  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete or Paved Tees
Variety of Hole Lengths
Requires Multiple Shot Types
Clean
Locals were Friendly and Helpful
Mix of Open and Wooded Holes
Cons:
Poison Oak Throughout the Course
No Tee Signs
Last Hole far from First Hole
Older Baskets
Other Thoughts:
Great course located a couple block north of the 101 in Santa Barbara. Course is tucked away in a nice quiet neighborhood, off of Evergreen Drive, with plenty of on-street parking near the first tee.

The first few holes play around tennis courts, baseball field, and playground and while there was no one using them while we were there, the designers seem to keep the flight paths out of the way of other park users. One piece of advice I have is to print the map before you go. Not only can the layout be slightly confusing, a couple of the tee pads, 2 and 6, are on sidewalks and are not really marked.

After the first few holes (5), all of which are open and longer, you will get into the shorter more technical holes. Not only are they moderately wooded they also made use of the elevation changes to add even more difficulty. Once on the middle holes and back nine be sure to keep your eyes out of poison oak, it seems to be a big problem on the course, but not enough to deter playing.

The last few holes are a nice mix of open and wooded holes as well as more elevation changes, the designers did a really nice job of making each hole different from the last and you never get the feeling that you just played the same hole. The only real cons are the lack of signage, and the baskets being older. Another thing to keep in mind is when you finish 18 you are going to come out on a side street further down Evergreen Drive. Just head to the intersection,(street dead end in a cul-de-sac), and make a left on Evergreen to get back to the first tee.

All-in-all if you are in the area play this one. For one its the only real course in town, and two its pretty damn good. Its a nice course, with nice people, and has a nice classic feel.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/31/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: prosmotter
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has open long shots AND wooded technical shots
-uses its elevation nicely
-cement tees
- lots of variation of difficulty
-not crowded
Cons: -not the easiest course to follow, find a local to guide you if possible
-some pads are on sidewalk and poorly marked
-poison oak
-windy often

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 92  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course has a variety of unique holes in open and closed areas, with and without elevation changes. Cement tee pads for most holes, with a few others having pavers. Hole 2 is a favorite, a fairly wide open drive with some rolling hills and tree obstacles. Hole 7 also ranks highly, with a defined fairway near a creek that is a challenge for RHBH drives, making forehand drives or lefty throws advantageous. Holes 8 and 9 are tight and technical, resembling some back nine holes at Chavez Ridge in L.A., but are longer. Hole 10 is a downhill bomb shot with a deadly water hazard to the left of and below the basket. Holes 11 and 12 are mostly wide-open drives with elevation changes and some tree obstacles to add challenge. Hole 13 features a creek hazard and thick brush that requires a big throw to clear. Overall this is a decent course with a fairly high fun factor.
Cons: No signs anywhere to speak of. Holes 3 and 4 are questionable, with non-fairways encroaching on tennis courts and soccer fields. Old baskets that spit out good putts could be replaced. Last few holes (16-18) are a little too close to each other. Hole 15 traverses a low lying area guaranteed to get your shoes wet after recent rains. Grass on Holes 1 and 2 was grown over significantly and needed some maintenance. Not a lot of 'open space' despite the name. Clay banks of creek near Hole 10 are more perilous than they appear at first glance. A long walk from 18 back to the main parking area.
Other Thoughts: An average course, and one of few in the surrounding area. Not a place to plan a vacation around, but good enough to not crave playing elsewhere.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Technical course

5+    7/1/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is where I learned the game and was a local for 2 1/2 years. This is a great course to learn every type of golf shot with a long hole, short hole, hyzer, anhyzer, forehand, thumber, and elevation holes.

Not a very long course even for So Cal standards but requires very technical shots. Would be considered a "birdie" course as the locals have the course pretty wired in it's normal setup with a 10 or 12 down popping up here and there.

Great local vibe with regular rounds teeing off twice an afternoon (3 and 5pm when I lived there.) It was these pretty good golfers that taught me.

New layout at 10, 11, 12, 13 solves much of the crossing fairway issues, and new teepads greatly improve the experience.

Hole 8 becomes a monster through the woods, and the old easy thumber 13 is now a tough anny/flick across the disc eating forest. Much more difficult as a whole with the updates.
Cons: Can be a little crowded at peak hours. Course is 10 mins. from the college campus so you get a large mix of golfers, mostly new to the sport. Overall there's minimal problems and everyone's respectful, it's just a few knuckleheads who have disturbed the local neighborhood in the past.

The course can be a disc eating monster. Errant throws can call for ultimate punishment with man discs either sinking in the swamp, digging into the ivy, or hiding in the forests the define the fairways. Lots of tall trees to send discs into. It's an expensive lesson, but you learn.

The multi-purpose factor of the course and the ease of the lost disc are what drop the rating below a 4 for me.
Other Thoughts: I have a special place for this course as it was my first. Yes its a little crowded and the course is tough when it's wet but more people playing is more exposure for the sport and how many courses are that playable in the rain?

I go up to Santa Barbara every other month and make sure I get in at least 1 round.

Can't wait to get back and play.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    7/1/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of long and short holes, great use of elevation and natural topography, beautiful setting. Friendly locals, plentiful parking and great weather.
Cons: Pretty isolated in a residential community, far from restaurants and things like that. Can be somewhat tough to find off the freeway if you've never been there. Tees are poorly marked and can be confusing without a map or a local. Hole 8 should be at least a par 4 - it's much, much more difficult than any of the other holes. No variation in pin placement. When you finish the round it's a long walk from 18 back to where you parked on 1.
Other Thoughts: My home course, where I first learned how to play. I play this course 2-3 times a week and never get bored.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.