Santa Barbara (Goleta), CA 
Evergreen Open Space Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Classic

2-4    5/15/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Concrete or Paved Tees
Variety of Hole Lengths
Requires Multiple Shot Types
Clean
Locals were Friendly and Helpful
Mix of Open and Wooded Holes
Cons:
Poison Oak Throughout the Course
No Tee Signs
Last Hole far from First Hole
Older Baskets
Other Thoughts:
Great course located a couple block north of the 101 in Santa Barbara. Course is tucked away in a nice quiet neighborhood, off of Evergreen Drive, with plenty of on-street parking near the first tee.

The first few holes play around tennis courts, baseball field, and playground and while there was no one using them while we were there, the designers seem to keep the flight paths out of the way of other park users. One piece of advice I have is to print the map before you go. Not only can the layout be slightly confusing, a couple of the tee pads, 2 and 6, are on sidewalks and are not really marked.

After the first few holes (5), all of which are open and longer, you will get into the shorter more technical holes. Not only are they moderately wooded they also made use of the elevation changes to add even more difficulty. Once on the middle holes and back nine be sure to keep your eyes out of poison oak, it seems to be a big problem on the course, but not enough to deter playing.

The last few holes are a nice mix of open and wooded holes as well as more elevation changes, the designers did a really nice job of making each hole different from the last and you never get the feeling that you just played the same hole. The only real cons are the lack of signage, and the baskets being older. Another thing to keep in mind is when you finish 18 you are going to come out on a side street further down Evergreen Drive. Just head to the intersection,(street dead end in a cul-de-sac), and make a left on Evergreen to get back to the first tee.

All-in-all if you are in the area play this one. For one its the only real course in town, and two its pretty damn good. Its a nice course, with nice people, and has a nice classic feel.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/31/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: prosmotter
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Has open long shots AND wooded technical shots
-uses its elevation nicely
-cement tees
- lots of variation of difficulty
-not crowded
Cons: -not the easiest course to follow, find a local to guide you if possible
-some pads are on sidewalk and poorly marked
-poison oak
-windy often

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2010   2/23/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course has a variety of unique holes in open and closed areas, with and without elevation changes. Cement tee pads for most holes, with a few others having pavers. Hole 2 is a favorite, a fairly wide open drive with some rolling hills and tree obstacles. Hole 7 also ranks highly, with a defined fairway near a creek that is a challenge for RHBH drives, making forehand drives or lefty throws advantageous. Holes 8 and 9 are tight and technical, resembling some back nine holes at Chavez Ridge in L.A., but are longer. Hole 10 is a downhill bomb shot with a deadly water hazard to the left of and below the basket. Holes 11 and 12 are mostly wide-open drives with elevation changes and some tree obstacles to add challenge. Hole 13 features a creek hazard and thick brush that requires a big throw to clear. Overall this is a decent course with a fairly high fun factor.
Cons: No signs anywhere to speak of. Holes 3 and 4 are questionable, with non-fairways encroaching on tennis courts and soccer fields. Old baskets that spit out good putts could be replaced. Last few holes (16-18) are a little too close to each other. Hole 15 traverses a low lying area guaranteed to get your shoes wet after recent rains. Grass on Holes 1 and 2 was grown over significantly and needed some maintenance. Not a lot of 'open space' despite the name. Clay banks of creek near Hole 10 are more perilous than they appear at first glance. A long walk from 18 back to the main parking area.
Other Thoughts: An average course, and one of few in the surrounding area. Not a place to plan a vacation around, but good enough to not crave playing elsewhere.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Technical course

5+    7/1/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: backswing_aplenty
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is where I learned the game and was a local for 2 1/2 years. This is a great course to learn every type of golf shot with a long hole, short hole, hyzer, anhyzer, forehand, thumber, and elevation holes.

Not a very long course even for So Cal standards but requires very technical shots. Would be considered a "birdie" course as the locals have the course pretty wired in it's normal setup with a 10 or 12 down popping up here and there.

Great local vibe with regular rounds teeing off twice an afternoon (3 and 5pm when I lived there.) It was these pretty good golfers that taught me.

New layout at 10, 11, 12, 13 solves much of the crossing fairway issues, and new teepads greatly improve the experience.

Hole 8 becomes a monster through the woods, and the old easy thumber 13 is now a tough anny/flick across the disc eating forest. Much more difficult as a whole with the updates.
Cons: Can be a little crowded at peak hours. Course is 10 mins. from the college campus so you get a large mix of golfers, mostly new to the sport. Overall there's minimal problems and everyone's respectful, it's just a few knuckleheads who have disturbed the local neighborhood in the past.

The course can be a disc eating monster. Errant throws can call for ultimate punishment with man discs either sinking in the swamp, digging into the ivy, or hiding in the forests the define the fairways. Lots of tall trees to send discs into. It's an expensive lesson, but you learn.

The multi-purpose factor of the course and the ease of the lost disc are what drop the rating below a 4 for me.
Other Thoughts: I have a special place for this course as it was my first. Yes its a little crowded and the course is tough when it's wet but more people playing is more exposure for the sport and how many courses are that playable in the rain?

I go up to Santa Barbara every other month and make sure I get in at least 1 round.

Can't wait to get back and play.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home

5+    7/1/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: Vince Klortho
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing variation of long and short holes, great use of elevation and natural topography, beautiful setting. Friendly locals, plentiful parking and great weather.
Cons: Pretty isolated in a residential community, far from restaurants and things like that. Can be somewhat tough to find off the freeway if you've never been there. Tees are poorly marked and can be confusing without a map or a local. Hole 8 should be at least a par 4 - it's much, much more difficult than any of the other holes. No variation in pin placement. When you finish the round it's a long walk from 18 back to where you parked on 1.
Other Thoughts: My home course, where I first learned how to play. I play this course 2-3 times a week and never get bored.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course requires a good range of shots. There are some beautiful narrow Eucalyptus protected fairways, a wide open hole that would benefit from a good roller (which I do not have), and some well thought out blind shots that have a high risk vs. reward factor. The course is kept clean and the locals are great.
Cons: The layout can be confusing, there are several crossed fairways, and there aren't tee signs. Several holes are swampy after wet weather. If your shot strays expect that you'll pay for it. Lots of "walkers" and kids on bikes that halt play.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. It's not necessary to have a big arm to do well. It's a great place to learn or brush up on your mid-game. Poison Oak is a factor here. Be sure you know what you're walking into.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kind Locals

1    5/1/1999   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting layout with some challenging shots. Nice mix of short and long and some incredible big trees in the middle.
Cons: Difficult to follow, with some blind shots. Not a particularly exciting course. It helped to have locals.
Other Thoughts: I played this course while attending a conference at UC Santa Barbara. That week is the reason I moved to California, so it has a sweet spot in my heart.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 local course- good

5+    12/3/2008   12/5/2008
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: so this is my local course. i play very often and am recent to the sport. the holes range from longer holes on the front and very back with several mid range holes inbetween. wind is never much of a problem. rang from some hills and trees. the local stoner, drinking kids on 15 were kicked out by the cops and have not been there for over a month. most locals are nice, although some a pre-Madonnas
Cons: so local's take for ever to play, and others come in groups of nine which slows down the game play. also holes 10,11, and 12 overlap each other. some stoners do take puffs in the woods on holes 8/9. 13 is difficult for beginners, you cannot see the hole from the tee. it is over some swap land, known for swallowing disc. hole 15 is hard to find, and difficult to play after rain. hole 18 is difficult for it curves to the left and once again you cannont see the chains.
Other Thoughts: i play this course 3 times a week. i get together with buddies and play a round. all time low of -4 for our group, a couple of us average under par. some disc have been lost also found and good people return or at least found disc.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/9/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: flash86
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice pleasant course that works its way through a city park. Mostly open fairways with some tight wooded fairways mixed in. More or less easy to follow. Nice neighborhood.
Cons: The middle and back sections of the course are the worst parts. There are criss-crossing fairways that can slow down play and create safety hazards. After it rains, a few of the holes are virtually unplayable.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

2-4    7/2/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice course that winds its way through a city park. There are a few challenging holes, especially when you get into the backside of the park. The locals are very nice, and there are some good players around to meet and watch.
My favorite holes were the ones going through the woods in the middle of the park...teeing off and navigating the disc around big old trees was a good deal of fun.
Cons: There is not a lot of topography at this course, many holes are open with few obstacles, and many feel a bit repetitive. There are a lot of holes that would easily qualify as par 2.

Some of the holes are impossible to find or figure out unless you ask the locals or follow a group ahead of you...this is somewhat easy to do, since the course is quite busy.
Other Thoughts: I was there when wildfires were burning their way downhill toward Goleta. I knew the city would be OK, but it was an awesome sight to see.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.