Newberg, OR 
Ewing Young Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #6
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Topsy Turvy

1    6/19/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 28  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a 12-hole course set in a secluded park in the town of Newberg, Oregon. The park includes a nice picnic area and a very large skatepark. There's also a BMX track.
-The property is nice. Rolling hills and occasional trees make for fun shots. There are several fun downhill shots. #s 3, and 8 demand a downhill precision shot, and #7 is a huge downhill crush shot. The course was designed expertly so as you don't have to throw many uphill shots. Also, the holes were separated nicely. 18 holes could have been crammed into the property but I'm glad the designer didn't.
-It is very quiet. The course is in it's own little valley, guarded by hills on three sides and a deep wooded ravine on the fourth. There is water down there, though. Watch out.
-The baskets were older DGA models that worked fine, and the teepads were nice, but #1's seemed to be slanted.
Cons: -The first and foremost issue is the grass. It is not a pleasant type to walk on. It's the tall type that grows in clumps. Combined with the hilly terrain, it is easy to slip and turn an ankle. The grass was cut, but this type can't be cut low enough. It needs to be torn up and replaced with typical grass.
-The holes near the middle of the park (1, 2, 7, 8) are OK, but on the rest of the holes are guarded on at least one side by thick blackberry bushes. Holes 5, 6, 9, and 10 have a steep drop off and a ravine filled with water on the right side. On #6 I put too much anhyzer on my disc and it sailed down to God knows where. Courses are never fun when you can lose a disc on two thirds of the holes.
-#s 10 and 11 may be two of the most stupid holes anywhere. On 10 you can try to thread it through a tiny gap with an anny or risk a hyzer over a truckload of blackberrry bushes. Hole 11 you just have to throw a 200 foot tunnel shot through more blackberry bushes. I skipped this hole.
-There's no good signage. All there is are numbers painted on wood posts. But it wasn't too hard to find my way around by looking where the grass had been tramped down.
Other Thoughts: -I don't know what this course used to be, an overgrown farm field, maybe? Most of the trees seem to be no more than 15 years old. The course will get better as the trees mature.
-Hopefully some massive brush removal and grass replacement is in this course's future. But until then, I don't think I'll come back. This is the type of place that is fun once, but not more than that. If you're in the area I'd recommend Champoeg State Park instead of Hoover Park. Hoover Park is even worse than this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but not great

5+    8/1/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: Puddy47
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses elevation change, a small wooded area, and a couple longer holes to use the parks potential well, but it could definitely be improved. Very fun to play with buddies, has a couple holes that offer a challenge for intermediate players.
Cons: Nothing really exciting. Very tall grass in some areas, blackberry bushes are encroaching on several fairways, and a couple of the holes become boring, such as holes 4/5.
Other Thoughts: Fun trip with buddies, especially with Herbert hoover nearby, but it's not worth making to long of a trip for. I play it often, but only because it is close to Herbert hoover so I can play 2 parks in one trip, and it isn't to far away. Overall? It's okay.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ewing Young

1    6/5/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 199  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Ewing Young was the second course installed in the quaint city of Newberg, Oregon and just miles away from Herbert Hoover Park. Although both courses incorporate plenty of elevation, they are complete opposites when it comes to design and location which makes them compliment one another.

This moderately hilly and lightly wooded 12 hole course utilizes the landscape with multiple pin placements allowing players to face hyzer/anhyzers as well as straight on approaches directly off the tee. Most of the holes are open with the exception of holes #10 and #11 and range anywhere from 195-429 ft. making the course length anywhere from 3,414-3,771 ft. depending on pin locations. The course is well maintained for the most part, with large cement tee pads, Mach II baskets, benches, and a large kiosk/map near the entrance. The course is much more remote then HH Park which means that it is less frequented and therefore easier to play without many interruptions.

Best Hole/s: #2 and #7
Cons:
As others have stated, Ewing Young tends to be heavily impacted during different times of the year. During the wetter months the course tends to get bogged down and muddy considering it plays along hillsides and down near a creek. During the spring and summer the tall grass makes it very difficult at times to find a disc so make sure you use a spotter, especially on holes #6 & #9.

New tee signs would be a nice addition to the course considering the ones they have now are old laminated pieces of paper that are barely hanging on and have become faded over time. Hopefully through some weeklies or local tournaments the club can raise some funds to eventually get those installed. The ones they have currently work, but in the northwest they won't last long!

Worst hole/s: #4 and #5
Other Thoughts:
Newberg has done a nice job incorporating dg in to the local community by installing courses in unique locations and catering to all skill levels. Although I really enjoyed HH Park because of its location in the center of town, I tend to prefer more isolated courses due to the nature aspect and the abundance of wildlife. The fact these two courses are so close allows players like myself to get the best of both worlds without having to spend an entire day to do it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

2-4    8/7/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tees and pins. Fair amount of variety and challenge from hole to hole. throwing up hills, down hills, and across gullies, short and long holes, some trees to avoid, and some trees to thread.
Cons: Several holes can be disc eaters (#4, #5, & #8). The first time I played there was grass up to my knees so w/o pathes or a good map of the course it was dificult to navigate from hole to hole in a few places. (thanks to some of the locals for showing us visitors around) So I wish it was better maintained and marked.
Other Thoughts: NOT a good place for beginners or first timers. Great place for experienced players to be challenged. And if you play here you may as well check out Herbert Hoover less than a mile away. 2 for the price of 1.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.