Newberg, OR 
Ewing Young Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #1
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Jekkyl and hyde!

5+    12/30/2013   3/19/2014
Review By: thegeneral13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my favorite courses to play in the area. Virtually no crowds (I'm almost hesistant to rate it, I don't want too many people to show up) and the variety of holes, some short some long some dog leg left or right, and even elevation changes. A great course for beginners since there are manageable holes, and a good course for intermediate or even advanced disc golfers.
Cons: it does not appear to be taken care of enough. It can be kind of jekkyl and hyde, some days when it is mowed and taken care of it can be the nicest course you've ever played, other days the tall grass takes over so much so that you can lose your disc right on the fairway if you aren't careful. Depending on what day you get there, it will be your best friend or your worst nightmare.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ewing Young

5+    9/27/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pin locations
-Variety of hole types with a few downhill and a few uphill shots.
-Longer holes for the long thowers
-Lots of elevation change
-Mach 2/3 baskets are still in great condition
-Tee pads are so big you could have a picnic on the back of one and not interrupt the person taking their drive
-Never waiting on a teepad
Cons: -Needs better signage. Current signage is old and not really useful right now.
-Grass can get very tall in spring/early summer
-Holes 4/5 are disc eaters. Lots 3 in one round.
-Holes 4/5 are probably the least creative on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is the newer of the two courses in Newberg. It is set in a park with a dog walking area, skate park, bmx course, and remote controlled car course. Every time I've played this course it has been just me and a few other people so crowds are not a issue. Make sure you play with someone else so you can have a spotter. Watch where you walk when trying to find discs as well. I ran into multiple wasps nests and one huge bee hive while playing this course over the summer. This course is a diamond in the rough in my eyes. If there was a few more people willing to do work parties at this spot it could be a 4* course. Plenty of room to expand into a 18 hole course as well. I see big things for this course in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 First course I ever played

2-4    7/1/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Holly
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well marked pins and tees. Varied terrain, wooded, field.
Cons: Grass was really long.
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again. Dog friendly. Make sure to go check out the skate park while you are there. Even if you don't skate, the skaters there are generally really good and fun to watch.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great general variety for a 12 hole course on a relatively simple piece of land, Ewing simply has a very intelligent layout.
Variety of distance from ~175 to 400+
Variety in elevation, as well as left to tight shots.
Variety in tight forested holes and wide open bombing holes.
Course is kept up well, nice tee pads, baskets, and benches, signs, the little things.
Multiple placements also add variety.
Cons: Course can get a little unruly, long grass, and in the winter it gets very tough to play with all the sogginess and mud.
On certain holes if youy stray the course you can quite easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Ewing is a very fun course, the fact that it only has 12 holes can be remidied by playing Hoover down the street and possibly Champoeg if your making it a trip from the Portland area, definitely an underplayed course, it often gets overshadowed in the Portland metro area by other more well known courses. Even if you only get to play it once, the variety of shots makes it worth it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy Hills & DG

2-4    12/10/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in real good shape. Tee Pads are made of concrete. Tee Signs at every tee. A big map sign at the beginning of the course and paper maps and score card right there too. Porta-potties are next to the BMX track
This course flows well, no back tracking or anything like that. The whole course is set up with long dense grass. It is not the kinda grass you mow much. There is brush along the creek side. Should be no problem unless you throw a wild one. The right side has houses on it but you really never get near them. I sure would like to own one of those big houses overlooking the course on both sides. There are young trees throughout the course. Some them will be a benefit to the course once they get bigger. Baskets 1 and 2 are planted in the middle of some pine trees, that adds to the difficulty.

This course has some elevation going for it. Holes 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9 play into that. 8 has some ace opportunities if your your into that. (Who isn't?) Put some control on that or you might be down in the creek looking for a disc. The holes are laid well for the space available. They can range from 195 feet to 430 feet depending on the basket positions. The rec player will have fun here. The pro maybe not so much.
I had fun playing this course. With the elevation changes and some good distance mixed in. You get near the end of this course and you think you have it figured out, then you hit #10. The open grass course changes to a great big tree 25 feet in front of the tee and you have think about DG again. Then #11 you get a narrow straight slot through the trees.
Plenty of parking available on the days I have been there. Definitely not crowded. Not yet at least. One of the great things about this place is there are no walking paths. No dog walkers, no mommies with children in tow, just disc golf!
Cons: Not the most difficult course, but it will get better when some of the young trees get bigger.
I wish it had more space for more baskets.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Newberg's Twin Pleasures!

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 668  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a sweet little piece of land for a course. Lots of rolling hills give you many big air shots and two soft downhill "touch"shots, possible aces. And somehow the course designer planned it with only two uphill holes and six downhills, an excellent ratio! It's well marked with the same small laminated signs like Casecade Gateway in Salem. They're easy to replace if vandalized. I thought the pads were fine. This course had the nicest resting benches I've seen. Not some log or something broken a golfer has donated but really nice benches.
Cons: The grass is long and longer. The day I played (had the course by myself) there were 5 prisoners in orange jumpsuits out there with weedeaters cleaning things up. That helped. What the course really needed was one farmer with a tractor with a mowing attachment on the back. I don't know, it might be too steep to mow in places.
Other Thoughts: I found the park no problem. If you happen to ask a local teen, ask him for directions to Skateboard Park. That seems to be the more commonly used local term. What this park could use would be about four pet sheep to take up residence and keep the grass down. Newberg disc golfers are very lucky with this course, Hoover and Champoeg State Park all in such close proximity.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 156  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Grippy tee pads
-Baskets in good shape
-Fun tee shots
-Good mix of big arm bombs, and shorter techie holes
-Lots of fun elevation change, up, down, and traversing tee shots!
-Beautiful green grass park
Cons:
-Seems most tee pads aren't level
-Pretty soggy during the wet season
-A bit of poison oak in a couple spots, not a lot.
Other Thoughts:
Ewing young is a very enjoyable 12 hole course. There is quite a bit of elevation change, shooting up down, and alongside the hills. Also the wind can pick up adding to the challenge.

The course is easy enough to be enjoyable for all levels, and it doesn't seem to get too crowded.

My only complaint with E.Y. is the tee pads. The tee pads are all unlevel. A local told me that when the tee pads were made, they didn't use enough gravel or pack it down enough or something when they poured. Anyhow, when you're trying to throw 400'+ and the tee pad is slanting slightly downhill, it's difficult and irritating.

Ewing Young is definitely worth playing, and as soon as the wet season starts to end, I'll be out there a lot more.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.