Newberg, OR 
Ewing Young Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #9
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 One Of Newberg's Twin Pleasures!

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 994  Reviewed: 941  Exp: 38.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a sweet little piece of land for a course. Lots of rolling hills give you many big air shots and two soft downhill "touch"shots, possible aces. And somehow the course designer planned it with only two uphill holes and six downhills, an excellent ratio! It's well marked with the same small laminated signs like Casecade Gateway in Salem. They're easy to replace if vandalized. I thought the pads were fine. This course had the nicest resting benches I've seen. Not some log or something broken a golfer has donated but really nice benches.
Cons: The grass is long and longer. The day I played (had the course by myself) there were 5 prisoners in orange jumpsuits out there with weedeaters cleaning things up. That helped. What the course really needed was one farmer with a tractor with a mowing attachment on the back. I don't know, it might be too steep to mow in places.
Other Thoughts: I found the park no problem. If you happen to ask a local teen, ask him for directions to Skateboard Park. That seems to be the more commonly used local term. What this park could use would be about four pet sheep to take up residence and keep the grass down. Newberg disc golfers are very lucky with this course, Hoover and Champoeg State Park all in such close proximity.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Treasure

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little 12 hole course that doesnt get played much (kinda hard to find). Park by skate/bike area and hike acorss field South through little opening right of house/buliding to hole 1. You can rip almost any type drive at most holes (RHBH, LHBH, Hyzers, ANYZ, Forehands, Thumbers etc) and be rewarded. Its a great place to practice drives in relatively open area. Good course to hit if in the area. Not crowded expect for dog walkers from neighboring homes etc. Tees are pretty well marked.
Cons: Grass/weeds do get tall and not often mowed (at least last summer 2007 when I played it frequently). Watch for dogs/owners as they apparently do not know what disc golf is and will walk right in front of folks driving.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy hills

4/28/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course with the pins tucked away in the trees. Decent one to practice on.
Cons: High grass, not good for your shoes after it rains. You can pretty much garaunte your socks will be wet unless you bring waterproof shoes.
Other Thoughts: Little hidden spot in the community

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Grippy tee pads
-Baskets in good shape
-Fun tee shots
-Good mix of big arm bombs, and shorter techie holes
-Lots of fun elevation change, up, down, and traversing tee shots!
-Beautiful green grass park
Cons:
-Seems most tee pads aren't level
-Pretty soggy during the wet season
-A bit of poison oak in a couple spots, not a lot.
Other Thoughts:
Ewing young is a very enjoyable 12 hole course. There is quite a bit of elevation change, shooting up down, and alongside the hills. Also the wind can pick up adding to the challenge.

The course is easy enough to be enjoyable for all levels, and it doesn't seem to get too crowded.

My only complaint with E.Y. is the tee pads. The tee pads are all unlevel. A local told me that when the tee pads were made, they didn't use enough gravel or pack it down enough or something when they poured. Anyhow, when you're trying to throw 400'+ and the tee pad is slanting slightly downhill, it's difficult and irritating.

Ewing Young is definitely worth playing, and as soon as the wet season starts to end, I'll be out there a lot more.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.