Newberg, OR
Ewing Young Share
Uploaded By: gwillim Hole #8
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mixed feelings

2-4    8/7/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good tees and pins. Fair amount of variety and challenge from hole to hole. throwing up hills, down hills, and across gullies, short and long holes, some trees to avoid, and some trees to thread.
Cons: Several holes can be disc eaters (#4, #5, & #8). The first time I played there was grass up to my knees so w/o pathes or a good map of the course it was dificult to navigate from hole to hole in a few places. (thanks to some of the locals for showing us visitors around) So I wish it was better maintained and marked.
Other Thoughts: NOT a good place for beginners or first timers. Great place for experienced players to be challenged. And if you play here you may as well check out Herbert Hoover less than a mile away. 2 for the price of 1.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ewing Young

1    8/13/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ewing young is a great course on a nice piece of unused land (other than the disc golf course) that sits between a skate park and a river behind what looks like someones backyard. The park plays up, down and across rolling hills so there is alot of elevation shots as the designers did a great job with this one. I am glad they put twelve really good holes in here instead of trying to fit eighteen holes which would of sacrificed how good this little course is. Navigation was a breeze after the only other group on the course pointed us to hole two. I was surprised at how well maintained the course was from the stand point of the grass which looks like if unkept it could get very long and unruly. The entire course was in good shape with little to no litter and vandalism except for one bench which serves the purpose of holes three and seven, it was broken and had spray paint on it.
Cons: Someone could say that this course is a little too wide open and doesn't have enough obstacles. The pin placement for a couple of holes were very close to the edge of a small cliff that led to a river so if you ace run or birdie run you have a chance of losing your disc. If thrown off the fairways there is some thick bush and stickers that could eat your disc or if you are wearing shorts could tear your legs up.
Other Thoughts: I believe the hole distances for this course on here are the length of the short position. When I played here they were all in the long position and there were many 400'+ throws involved with this course with many throwing into headwinds or crosswinds which make this course a pretty good challenge. After hole five or six I kept saying that this course needed a few technical wooded holes to round it out and holes ten and eleven delivered in that regard. This is one of my favorite courses with less then eighteen holes and I would gladly come back here to play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/7/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great general variety for a 12 hole course on a relatively simple piece of land, Ewing simply has a very intelligent layout.
Variety of distance from ~175 to 400+
Variety in elevation, as well as left to tight shots.
Variety in tight forested holes and wide open bombing holes.
Course is kept up well, nice tee pads, baskets, and benches, signs, the little things.
Multiple placements also add variety.
Cons: Course can get a little unruly, long grass, and in the winter it gets very tough to play with all the sogginess and mud.
On certain holes if youy stray the course you can quite easily lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Ewing is a very fun course, the fact that it only has 12 holes can be remidied by playing Hoover down the street and possibly Champoeg if your making it a trip from the Portland area, definitely an underplayed course, it often gets overshadowed in the Portland metro area by other more well known courses. Even if you only get to play it once, the variety of shots makes it worth it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun time

2-4    2/11/2009   2/12/2009
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lot of elevation. with both up down and side hill.
Some longer hole to let you air it out.
Some nice tight holes that make you find the gap then hit it.
Cons: can get windy.
The river, disc goes in and it is gone.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice afternoon course that I always have fun playing. It can make you think and work to hit your spot so you can drop your strokes. if not watch them go up and up.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grassy Hills & DG

2-4    12/10/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are in real good shape. Tee Pads are made of concrete. Tee Signs at every tee. A big map sign at the beginning of the course and paper maps and score card right there too. Porta-potties are next to the BMX track
This course flows well, no back tracking or anything like that. The whole course is set up with long dense grass. It is not the kinda grass you mow much. There is brush along the creek side. Should be no problem unless you throw a wild one. The right side has houses on it but you really never get near them. I sure would like to own one of those big houses overlooking the course on both sides. There are young trees throughout the course. Some them will be a benefit to the course once they get bigger. Baskets 1 and 2 are planted in the middle of some pine trees, that adds to the difficulty.

This course has some elevation going for it. Holes 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9 play into that. 8 has some ace opportunities if your your into that. (Who isn't?) Put some control on that or you might be down in the creek looking for a disc. The holes are laid well for the space available. They can range from 195 feet to 430 feet depending on the basket positions. The rec player will have fun here. The pro maybe not so much.
I had fun playing this course. With the elevation changes and some good distance mixed in. You get near the end of this course and you think you have it figured out, then you hit #10. The open grass course changes to a great big tree 25 feet in front of the tee and you have think about DG again. Then #11 you get a narrow straight slot through the trees.
Plenty of parking available on the days I have been there. Definitely not crowded. Not yet at least. One of the great things about this place is there are no walking paths. No dog walkers, no mommies with children in tow, just disc golf!
Cons: Not the most difficult course, but it will get better when some of the young trees get bigger.
I wish it had more space for more baskets.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Newbergs Beauty

2-4    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful 12 hole course w/ lots of ups and downs terrain wise. Very clean park w/ beautiful scenery. Nice tee boxes. Great baskets in very nice shape w/ alternating locations. Some benches were provided. Trash buckets at every tee box. Hole maps/guides at every tee box. Course map at entrance of the park which helps decently navigate you around. Great workout for your body.
Cons: Some blackberry bushes and other shrubbery that were dense. Very possible to loose a disc in these areas. Medium length grass. Very damp during winter months.
Other Thoughts: The directions are very confusing my 1st time trying to locate the course I was given directions to Ewing Young middle school…. Do not follow those directions as it will take you very far out of your way.

Tip: N Blaine street turns into S Blaine street so if coming from Portland Tigard area follow hwy 99 into Newberg. And turn left on " N Blaine st" once you cross first st that is when it changes to "S Blaine st" the whole time on this street you are driving on a rail road that share the pavement keep following that until the road turns into gravel this is the entrance to the skate park the Disc golf course is off to the right jus past the house.

Hole #8 is very fun and offers Ace potential be careful not to over shoot the basket as there is heavy woods that drop off into a river just behind the basket.

Holes #10 and #11 are very wooded and are some what challenging.

On the same plot of land is a wonderful sk8 park and a bmx track. Offering multiple sport activities for the whole family to enjoy. Herbert Hoover and Champoeg course are very close by, making it very possible to play 3 courses in one day.

When I went I was the only person playing I defiantly plan on returning to this wonderful course!!!


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Friday the 13th

6/13/2008   6/14/2008
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Scenery, Not crowded, Nice design, cement pads are great, the baskets are well maintained, benches are a welcome addition.
Cons: Blackberry bushes, trash, grass is getting a little high, swampy in a couple places.
Other Thoughts: Great course, worth the trip to Newberg!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

6/12/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes!
Nice signs and map!
Great variety!
Nice tee pads!
Benches to rest on!
Excellent Baskets!
Multiple pin placements!
Great practice for all types of shots!
Other courses are very close!

Cons: There is always a safe shot but an aggressive player has several holes where a disc can be lost.
The tee pads aren't level.
The grass isn't mowed very often so it is often long.
Other Thoughts: A great course. I'd definitely rank it in the top courses under 18 holes of all the courses I've played. A few of the holes can be burning hot on a nice day but the few holes in the little valley are much cooler and very peaceful. The elevation changes are great and the course is set up near perfectly.
Other disc golf courses are a short drive away.
One of the biggest and best skateparks in the NW is right next to the course.


9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One Of Newberg's Twin Pleasures!

5/26/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just a sweet little piece of land for a course. Lots of rolling hills give you many big air shots and two soft downhill "touch"shots, possible aces. And somehow the course designer planned it with only two uphill holes and six downhills, an excellent ratio! It's well marked with the same small laminated signs like Casecade Gateway in Salem. They're easy to replace if vandalized. I thought the pads were fine. This course had the nicest resting benches I've seen. Not some log or something broken a golfer has donated but really nice benches.
Cons: The grass is long and longer. The day I played (had the course by myself) there were 5 prisoners in orange jumpsuits out there with weedeaters cleaning things up. That helped. What the course really needed was one farmer with a tractor with a mowing attachment on the back. I don't know, it might be too steep to mow in places.
Other Thoughts: I found the park no problem. If you happen to ask a local teen, ask him for directions to Skateboard Park. That seems to be the more commonly used local term. What this park could use would be about four pet sheep to take up residence and keep the grass down. Newberg disc golfers are very lucky with this course, Hoover and Champoeg State Park all in such close proximity.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Treasure

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little 12 hole course that doesnt get played much (kinda hard to find). Park by skate/bike area and hike acorss field South through little opening right of house/buliding to hole 1. You can rip almost any type drive at most holes (RHBH, LHBH, Hyzers, ANYZ, Forehands, Thumbers etc) and be rewarded. Its a great place to practice drives in relatively open area. Good course to hit if in the area. Not crowded expect for dog walkers from neighboring homes etc. Tees are pretty well marked.
Cons: Grass/weeds do get tall and not often mowed (at least last summer 2007 when I played it frequently). Watch for dogs/owners as they apparently do not know what disc golf is and will walk right in front of folks driving.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.